Kenosha, WI 
UW Campus - The Orchid Share
Uploaded By: Unsourced Hole #19
3 / 330ft.   3 / 387ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
The Beast

5+    6/20/2017   6/20/2017
Review By: Rogheff
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a nice challenge if you want that. It is the complete opposite of the regular Parkside course.

Flow from hole to hole is easy.

This is a great place to find discs, especially in the fall when the leaves come off the trees. I've found many Innova Beasts here.
Cons: What to say? If you can land your disc exactly where you want every time - this is the course for you. It is unforgiving to an wayward disc. Don't play this course alone, you will need a spotter. You will lose a disc here.
Other Thoughts: Play the regular UW Parkside course, you'll be much happier.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated "other" Parkside course

1    6/1/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 254  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set in a mostly grassy, prairie type area of the campus. Its a little tricky to find the first time, but when heading north on G, take the east exit on the roundabout and park near the abandoned looking road heading east. This is basically the divider between the front 9 and back 12. The front 9 is a lot more wooded than the back half and for sure more challenging. Very nice DGA baskets that catch well on all holes. The tees are all natural but due to the slight elevation on the course and the relatively little use this course sees are perfectly adequate. The signs aren't the greatest by far but are better than no signs. This would be the one thing i would like to see upgraded the most. Narrow fairways on pretty much every hole so accuracy is key here. The rough on the front nine is extremely brutal. A spotter is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED on these. The back 12 is better in this regard as there isn't nearly as many trees. This course is completely different than the more wooded course to the west, which is awesome. Two very different courses on site. Although the fairways are narrow the grass in the rough isnt too thick in most spots. However the wooded areas are very thick. The wind here is the main factor. It makes the course play harder than it looks. A few walks up the fairway to locate pins for most first timers will be required on the front nine. They use the limited amount of trees and bushes extremely well on the back 12, especially on 15 through 19. Wouldn't see this course being too busy ever either which makes it nice and peaceful.
Cons: Contrary to some other reviews its nothing like playing in a cow pasture. However many of the holes feel similar due to the lack of trees. Most notably on the back 12 holes. Again the signs leave something to be desired. That being said though, we had no trouble navigating the course our first time here. It's on a college campus so it can be a hassle to play during the week. A parking permit needs to be purchased before 6:30 on weekdays. These can be purchased for $2 at the campus police department so it is a pay to play at certain times. This is not required on weekends.
Other Thoughts: This course alone is worth a trip. Combined with the other 18 hole course here it is a must play stop for serious players. Theres also Hillcrest DGC about 5 minutes south which is a perfect warm up before playing these 2 on campus courses. Also check out Fox River Park's 2 excellent courses and Kenosha makes for an awesome day of disc golf.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 :(

1    8/5/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: nodnarb
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: it's a disc golf course. that's about all i can think of.
Cons: have you ever wanted to play disc golf in a cow pasture without the cows? that's what this course is. you'll wish the cows were there to trample the grass down so you can find your discs after throwing them. it's painfully obvious that they're not maintaining this course at all over the summer. the weeds and grass were knee high in the 2 foot wide fairways, and waist high everywhere else in the rough. this is the only course i've ever played at where i had to search for my discs in the fairway just as much as i did if i threw them into the rough.

you'll only need two discs for this course, a putter and another putter. despite the fact that there are holes over 400 feet, you'll want to throw very conservatively with a putter so you don't lose your mind hunting for it in the weeds. even then, you'll probably lose one anyway, which is why you should take two. seriously, i didn't bother trying to use a driver at all on this course because the fairways are so narrow and so poorly maintained.

Other Thoughts: honestly, my girlfriend and i only played 7 holes of this course because it was so awful. in fact, we ran into a couple of guys and asked them where the tee for hole 1 was since we couldn't find it because everything was horribly overgrown. they said they had given up themselves after 9 holes because it was so bad.

if you do happen to play this course, beware of wasps. there's a wasp nest somewhere around the basket for hole 7. i got stung by two of them while grabbing my putter out of the basket. it was a painful end to an already painful game on a painful course.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    2/11/2012   3/30/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 465  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 14 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a hilly prairie area, further away from the main campus of the college. Nothing else going on out here besides disc golf.
- Best feature of this course are the sloping fairways; a good amount of the holes have a good elevation change going both ways. Holes #2 thru #5 play down, up, down, and up, with some big elevated tee shots and some nasty uphill approaches. Even more noticeable from the long tees. A good mix throughout, #13 is another nice downhill mixed among the rest.
- While most of the area is prairie/tall grass, there are patches of scraggly woods and forest to force some line shaping and shot placement. #3 and #5 play tighter close to the basket, with #5 having a large shrub to get around on the drive, placement is key for an upshot past it. There is also some woods on the back half, with four holes that have baskets in or near the woods. #1 and #9 also play near some bigger trees.
- Lots of hazardous areas here, with some really nasty rough in spots, and a little creek to cross on the way to #13's basket. The elevation changes make things even tougher; the downhill shots will punish poor throws that are way off course in eaither direction, and the uphill shots can punish those that aren't accurate or long enough.
- Some big-time hole lengths here, with 7 over 400' from the long tees. Definitely some bombers out here for everyone, of any skill level. Playing the short tees is still a challenge for those without the big arms, a good option either way. Shorter holes help to mix things up as well; most of them are in the woods of course.
- Good signs and baskets, tees aren't too bad either. Navigation isn't terrible, there are some signs, but checking out the map does help.
Cons: - Even though there are many spots to get in trouble, almost all of them can be avoided. Staying out of the tall grass and the patches of gnarly trees can be pretty easy; throwing a hyzers or straight shot is usually always an option.
- The tall grass here is straight up nasty! I would not want to play here during the warmer months, there is no shade for the most part, and probably lots of time looking for plastic. Especially on the longer downhill shots. Not a big con, but it definitely factors in my decision to play.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, this is a pretty tough course that challenges you to be long, accurate, and even longer from the back tees. Big time punishment for sprayed shots with the tall grass and thick patches of rough. Playing safe is an option, but the scores will reflect that. Lots of fun thanks to elevation changes and some grip n' rip type holes. Beginners might want to stay away when the foliage is in bloom, or at least play from the red tees.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 wind much more of a factor here

1    10/28/2010   11/6/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 860  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 29.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Much more length than original. This is quite a bit more of a chucker's course. (To be fair, original, was mostly in short pins, and so, even though we played long tees there also, original seemed much shorter.) Also, it was quite windy, so that made conditions rather difficult on this more wide open course.
Two set of tees.
21 holes!!!
Good markings to let you know where to go for most of the course. Especially at the area to go to #20, or to play #17, pay attention....
We played three holes (#17, 18 and 19) from short tees and looked at the others. May be more fun for non chuckers to choose to play short tees.
There is some trouble besides the tall grass around. Strategically placed trees and bushes forced me to have an awkward second toss a number of times. Playing partner faced the same on a number of occasions....so, there is some "lay up to the correct area" positioning needed here.
Some "tall" throws are also forced over some of this stuff.
In a two round tourney format, gold level players will probably enjoy the balance of this course to the more technical original.
We played #20 twice (from long tees); and I liked that one quite a bit. A par 3 there, feels well deserved (505 ft. and good amount of obstacles. Good tree/bush grove bunker near pin).
Cons: Tall grass defines the rough here more than anything else.
Natural tees. Some just marked with orange flags for short position. Blue designates longs. These could easily disappear or be mowed. (Tees were in good shape when we played. Flat and mostly grassy looking. Appears this course doesn't get a ton of play.)
There's a lot of throw it 300 ft. and then make a 100 to 200 ft. upshot and try to save par. If you have a 400 ft. arm; you will deuce. If not, there's a lot of par disc here. As noted; in the wind, even pars were rather difficult.
Other Thoughts: First half of the course is played on the left side of the abandoned road. Second half is a little farther down the road, away from the original layout, and on the right side of road (A basic map has been uploaded here and helps especially with finding the Orchid course).
I'm giving the original a 3 rating. I almost want to give this the same; because it is a good compliment to that course. However, there is just not a lot special about this one. Combine the natural tees; the slightly difficult to find beginning, and the fact that as a blue level player; I don't drive 400 ft, and I just can't give it a glowing review. Relatively wide open/chucker golf is probably my least favorite style to play.
With that said, you gotta give kudos to the installation crew for getting this site to a total of 39 holes now.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Beast is unleashed...

1    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: Omnibot
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This review is based on the setup for the Unleash the Beast Open tournament

~Tees were nicely marked today, red posts am, pro blue, some holes share a pro/am tee box
~Nice mix of open holes and use of the natural trees and bushes
~Pro tees are nice and long if you want to add distance to a course that requires mostly accuracy from the Recreation tees
~A good mix of accuracy shots and you see all types, right, left, straight away
~Lot's of hyzer bomb shots if you're into them
~Fairways are actually a REWARD at this course, make them your friend
~21 holes, a bonus 3 holes!
Cons: ~No permanent tee signs or pads as of yet
~No amenities yet (No bathroom or Water I believe, come prepared)
~The deep rough is especially high on the back holes, don't play alone as mentioned
~Always need a spotter
Other Thoughts: Course had some fairways opened up for the tournament rounds I believe. Hopefully the staff will keep these open to maximize playability with all of the tall grass taking discs on a daily basis. This course is fun to play, a bit of a beast, but easy enough to tame from the Rec tees.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Kind of boring...

2-4    5/15/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a fairly flat and open prairie area with some scattered trees and a small section of woods. There are a few holes through the wooded area, and they are all fun little ace runs through the trees. The rest of the course is longer and open with occasional trees (mostly late in holes), and a few rolling elevation changes, which are used as much as possible to add some variety. There are some ace run length holes, and several long bomb type holes, and a few that fall in between.

The baskets are brand new and catch great. There are basic numbered posts at every tee, and markers inn the ground to show the fault line. The natural pads are level and rut free, and offered fine footing to throw from. There were short tees marked on most of the holes with survey flags, offering a shorter option on all of the longer holes. The flow of the course is easy to follow, despite the lack of tee signs, and the one place the navigation isn't obvious has signs pointing the way.
Cons: The course is pretty boring. All but a few holes are wide open grip it n rip it type of holes where the only punishment for an errant shot is searching through tall prairie grass hoping to step on your disc. I hate this kind of punishment, as it doesn't make you work for your next shot, it just costs you plastic and time. Many of the holes are tweener length holes, too long for most players to really have a chance of reaching, but too short and open to ever force many 4s. Few of the holes force any kind of line shaping, so you don't have to have many different shots in your bag other than a long distance shot of some kind here.

The amenities here are in progress, with natural pads and no tee signs yet. I would guess that the locals are working on this, so I doubt it'll be a con for long, and it didn't really affect my rating. It's a little hard to find the course on campus, it's a ways away from the other course, and hidden down an abandoned looking road.
Other Thoughts: This is a course for the big arms, so if you like having the chance to rip some drives you'll enjoy this course. It does offer a contrast to the wooded holes on the original course, and it's great that a college campus has two full disc golf courses available for students and for the community in general, but this piece of land just doesn't make for much variety or very interesting holes. It's worth a round if you're playing the Parkside course (which I enjoyed a lot), but don't drive too far out of your way just for the Orchid.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Long and prarie nasty!

1    4/1/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 344  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 16.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very long and challenging. Anyone who can throw 400+ feet will love this course. There are a ton of holes where you can flat out grip it and rip it.

Once we found hole #1 the course was pretty easy to navigate. We had no issues finding the next hole of the 21 holes. The parkside guys do a great job. This course is very new. By the time it's done there it will be clearly marked.

There are quite a few holes that utilize the elevation. There are several fun downhill shots.

Staying on the fairway is a premium. This course will punish you with nasty rough. The fairways are very narrow on many holes.

This course will teach you how to throw drives in the wind.
Cons: Currently there are natural tee pads.Not sure if there are plans for concrete.

The rough is thick and I cannot imagine playing here in the summer.

I found this course very repetitive and somewhat boring. I need to get back to play it as there were 20+mph winds. I felt there were quite a few 3.5 pars for me. I threw a ton of drives, pitched up, and tapped in. I would have like to seen several more par 4 holes.
Other Thoughts: Finding hole #1 is a challenge. Hopefully a course mape will be uploaded soon.

This is definitely not a beginners course. I did however seen some shorter tees marked.


9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 C = As average an experience as there is

2-4    3/15/2010   3/16/2010
Review By: Dave242
Played: 383  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 23.2 Years
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 and more hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
(The vast majority of holes are wide open prairie type holes. A bunch of holes have some trees surrounding the basket (which only adds punishment/scoring spread in a minor way) and only 3-4 holes of the 21 would be considered wooded. The most ominous "risk" on this course is that you risk losing your disc for long periods of time in deep prairie schule (at least in the summer and fall). That is not the true golf sort of risk I seek out!

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == D+
(This course seems like it was designed for people with 400'+ arms who hate the woods. Those types will probably rate this course pretty high. Most of the holes are too long for me to reach (and leave just a doinker upshot), and the wooded holes can be reached with a putter. There is either no realistic chance of a birdie on many holes or no realistic satisfaction of scoring a birdie on the others. Only 5-6 of the 21 are in a range that are fun/challenging for me, but those are wide open for the most part so that leaves me only fighting distance.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
(As stated earlier, this is a wide open prairie course and the handful of wooded holes are nothing to write home about. Kudos to the designer(s) for milking the limited terrain for what its worth and adding some variety there.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B
(There are large portions of the course that are very secluded and not in view of the hustle bustle of life. The prairie and prairie-type woods have their own beauty and charm. I much prefer this to manicured suburban parks.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (150+ 18-hole, 90+ 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me.....and that's the fun of things here.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/25/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 259  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2010
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Orchid is a nice secluded course on a college campus. The course is set in a field that's mostly open but with enough trees on every hole to keep it interesting. The back 9 is similar to the front 12, but has a lot more trees. The tee pads are grass and the fairways are mowed while the rough is allowed to grow. Most of the holes are medium to long in length, but there are a couple short ones as well. There are some nice elevation changes on some of the holes.
Cons: The course had only been in a few weeks when I played here so I'm sure it will continue to be improved upon.

When I played here the tee markers were wooden stakes in the ground. The tee area on a few of the holes was uneven.

The course is fairly open, but I believe the available land was used to its full potential. Since it's so open, the course favors distance over accuracy.

The shot variety here isn't too good. Because there aren't a lot of trees to shape the shots, most of the holes turn into straight or hyzer shots.

I played here around Thanksgiving and the rough wasn't too bad, but I'm sure it's much worse during the summer. There were lots of thorns here so be careful.

There is a bit of a walk between a few of the holes and because the rough is so tall in places, it could make it difficult to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and I'm sure it's going to continue to improve since it was brand new when I played here.

New players could get discouraged here with the rough and long holes. More advanced players will likely enjoy the challenge the distance and rough presents.

With another 18 hole course on campus, it makes me wish I'd gone to school here!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.