Adrian, MI 
Heritage Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: barnet666 Hole #1 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 126ft.   3 / 175ft.   3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
updated info

1    7/21/2018   7/21/2018
Review By: shiftyjoco
Played: 27  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 32.4 Years
Pros: CONCRETE TEES for white.
Cons: some of the early holes are narrow, and one of the holes, think it was either number 4 0r 5, not a good throwing lane at all.
Blue tees are well over grown in some areas

when entering park you need to cross bridge and go to your right, there is a sign, but you need to veer left at the oil rig and follow all the way to the back and first hole is in the woods uphill
Other Thoughts: rest of course, I enjoyed it. .
challenging, and I FEEL, some pretty long distances.
I have only played it once. TEES say some of the holes are par fours, but on this site they are all listed as 3?

 Solid course with room for improvement

1    9/27/2016   9/28/2016
Review By: leath
Played: 82  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - There are 3 tee locations per hole, providing appropriate difficulty for a wide range of skills. The white tees are clearly marked and have easy-to-find white posts.
- Playing from the white tees, I thought most of the holes offered both a conservative option (with big, safe landing areas) and an aggressive play for birdies (with some risk). Baskets placements were often close to thick brush, water, or the OB gravel path.
- There is a course map by hole #1, with hole measurements from each of the three tee locations. Good signage at the white tees includes a map of the hole that shows the approximate location of each tee. Par and distance are also included.
- The course is at the back of the park, away from the majority of other park users. There's woods all around, though the course mostly plays through some open areas with scattered trees.
Cons: - The white tees are gravel, but the blue and red tees are natural and not marked well. There are blue posts to mark all the long tee areas, and a few had some blue paint on the ground marking the front of the "tee box." I think the red tees are supposed to be marked by unpainted posts, but I did not find them on many of the holes.
- No signs at red or blue tees mean you'll have to walk to the white tee to see the hole map or get distance/par information.
- The grass was a little bit long, making me wonder how often the fairways are mowed.
Other Thoughts: Other thoughts:
- I spent a fair amount of time walking around looking for tees and scouting ahead for baskets. There were a few "next tee" signs, but it would be helpful to have more. If you haven't played here before, I recommend playing from the white tees the first time, since they're the easiest to find and the only ones that have any hole information.
- It was quite dry for my visit, but I could see areas where water flows through the course when it rains. And not just the creekbed - there were clearly areas in the open meadow where water runs down to the creek. These would come into play on a couple holes.
- With some actual red and blue tee pads and a little extra signage, this would easily get a 3.5 rating from me. I really enjoyed playing here.

Family Friendly Rating - 2.0
PROS: There is a playground and restrooms toward the front of the park, as well as a number of open soccer fields. Most of the course could be managed with a jogging stroller, especially if you stick to the gravel trail on 10-18. The layout never takes you too far from the parking lot.
CONS: The course is quite a ways from the playground and restrooms. There's poison ivy around, and some of the basket locations will be very difficult for young or inexperienced players to deal with effectively (near drop-offs, thick brush, tall grass, and creek).
OTHER NOTES: Visit the Spotted Cow for some ice cream. Take M52 south from the park for about 2 miles.
Map of the park available at: http://www.eyeonmichigan.com/...aps.php?map=3

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Slippery when wet

1    3/10/2014   3/10/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 317  Reviewed: 298  Exp: 9.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic- plays through the base end of a very large multi-use park. intercepts some other activity's areas in some areas but it's not overly bad.

Map/Kiosk- Due to the piss poor signage here, the map is almost a necessity. Shorts only have a number on them, longs have nothing. no distances or hole diagrams are present.

Challenge/Variety- This course does make decent use of the available land and elevation. This is most certainly one of the longer courses in the area.

Basket placement- great, the baskets were not in the most obvious places and that made it's more of a challenge off the tee.
Cons:
Routing and nav- Bad. the signage is bad, the map is the only saving grace. I'm sure that during the summer, it's easier to nav but in the winter it was an absolute nightmare. This was WAAAAAAY longer a round than it needed to be.

Teesigns- while the holes ARE marked, the teesigns are relatively terrible. If you want to know the hole number, look at the short tee. If you are playing the long tees, good luck.

Location in park- as stated in the other review, there is one sign that says DG Course===> but that's the end of the signage.
Other Thoughts:
This course seems to be an after thought. and I'm guessing it's not played much. there weren't even decent paths in the snow from use. the snow was 1ft+ in places and very uneven. Teepads were barely recognizable.
I would like to play this course in the summer, and that's why I rated it middle of the road, as the snow has caused most of the uncontrollable issues.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Solid Course

2-4    9/14/2013   9/15/2013
Review By: bcollierfb
Played: 30  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout- the tee for #1 is right next to the parking lot, then the front nine circles around and the basket for #9 is next to the parking lot as well. #10 starts you out towards the river and basket #18 brings you back within 150ft of the parking lot.

Basket Placement - each holes basket used the most of what they could when they could. Baskets where on a slope, near a drop off, close to water or in between trees. Easy open baskets where on the longer holes, where getting there was the challenge.

Location in the Park - I was not obvious to me where the course was. It is all the way at the bottom at the back of the park. However other than possibly on holes 3 and 4 for you won't run into any other park visitors while you play your round. There was a soccer tournament and softball tournament happening the day I was there but didn't even notice them other than holes 3 and 4.
Cons: Signs - the only thing making the tee pads are wooden posts with a number on it. It appears that recently long tee location have been placed, identified with similar wooden posts but do not have numbers or distances on them. I really like to distances on tee pads. I don't need a full map but a basic drawing would be nice as some baskets are unseen from the tee pad.

Shot Mix - short holes, long holes, some trees, yes. I am a RHBH player who likes throwing anhyzer shots but when I was done playing my rounds I realized I had only throw one hyzer, on #18 and could have gone right up the middle if I wanted to. All the shots from the tee finish straight or to the right.

Tall grass/prairie grass - I hate knee high grass to waist high grass along fairways or near baskets. Other than stop you disc from skipping I don't feel it makes the hole any more challenging. It just makes it hard to find you disc. It was only on the back nine but still to much for me.
Other Thoughts: The tee pads from the shorts are a base gravel material boarder by wooden timbers. They were ok. I could see how people would prefer concrete but these work just fine. Not a pro or a con for me. No tee pads form the longs but I get the feeling there is a plan for something in the future. The back has a different feel than the front, the back is more open and longer. Favorite holes #9 long, straight, low ceiling through the window. If you get it through the opening you'll have a chance for a 2. Hit the trees you going to need a good up to save par. Hole #11 throws over an elevated road back down the baskets which is place on the river's edge. This is a solid course. I live about an hour from this course so I will be making my way there a once or twice a year to play something different.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable course!

1    7/28/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: rhelt100
Played: 57  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.5 Years
Pros: Nice mix of shots. Varying hole lengths had me throwing anything from a midrange to my longest driver. Very good use of the terrain throughout.
Very friendly and helpful locals. There was a small tourney going on when my group showed up and the locals were happy to tell us all about the course, explain tricky transitions, and provide scorecards.
Cons: Parts of the course seemed like they were pretty freshly cut and could use some work to get them in tiptop shape. I think once this course has had a few more years to get beat in, the rating will go up a bit.
I played whites on the advice of some locals and the course played pretty easy for me. I'm not used to shooting -2 on any course the first time I play it.
Other Thoughts: I've read that parts of this course are flood prone. When I was there, this area was in the middle of a drought and the entire course played fine.

 It's all about the Disc Golf - bring your walking shoes

1    8/7/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 330  Reviewed: 165  Exp: 15.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only 18 hole course within 25 miles. Features shot variety: Long /short, left/right, long, bomber fairways lined with tall (disc swallowing) grass, some open holes spotted with strategically placed trees, a couple of wooded holes, and some elevation changes make for an interesting round of golf. Top off with a few blind holes, sprinkle in some others where you can see the basket from the tee if someone points it out to you, and you have a pretty complete course that makes for interesting play.

- Good use of local topography: hills, valleys, drop offs, dips, river, trees, clearings in brush, etc.
- Dual tees give different looks on some holes, while only adding more distance on others.
- Clean park, well defined mowed fairways, good baskets.
- Ninth hole returns to parking lot.
- Grass/dirt tee pads were OK by me. Concrete would be an improvement, but I never thought the tee surface was an issue. Besides, pouring concrete isn't where $$ should be spent on this course.
Cons: Course could really be a winner with some work:
- Message board could really use a course map.
- Navigation was horrible, good thing I ran into some cool locals.
- Hole design was quite good, but course layout is tough to follow and illogical in places, (see Other Thoughts).
- Thick and nasty brush on some holes can make you pay dearly for bad throws.
- Extra eyes help on this course, so bring a friend or two. You'll probably lose a disc playing solo.
- You have throw across a road in a few spots - but there's not much traffic..
- Never seen a course that could benefit more from decent tee signs/posts with distance & hole map (even a basic line drawing), next tee signs, etc
Other Thoughts: IMPORTANT TO NOTE: Local score card says "Alcohol not permitted." No clue if it's enforced, just thought you should know.

Dry when I played and the disc golf itself was very good, but I can see how this place would take more than a day to dry out after a soaking. Locals said it's messy after the spring thaw and April showers.

Would have been nice to make better use of the river, but locals told me the land on the other side is owned by someone.

Reading other reviews for this course, it seems opinions differ regarding navigation and course layout. I'll go on record as saying "course layout sucks, but the golf is good." Maybe designers simply "saw" some good holes they thought would play well on their own, but don't necessarily flow well from one to the other as a group, thereby sacrificing navigation and logical course layout for the sake of good disc play. Never got sense that the course flowed well from hole to hole: found the layout tough to follow in spots, and almost random at times. But I found most of the holes themselves to be interesting, well thought out and inviting. You can find the the white and blue markers easily enough, but often, the baskets you can see from them aren't the intended hole. Before I ran into some locals, I actually played from the 11th tee to the 17th basket (it seemed like a decent hole). Holes 6 through 10 play around an open field scattered with trees, and standing at tee 7, it simply isn't obvious what you're shooting for. I don't normally bag a rating too hard for stuff like tee markers, etc, but they can aid in navigation and I would bump the rating from 3.0 to a 4.0 if they get that squared away nicely.

Between course layout, and searching for discs in tall grass or thick brush, plan on spending some time here your first time out. Definitely worth it if you don't mind those inconveniences (or the drive).

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course If You Know Where To Go

2-4    8/10/2008   3/9/2009
Review By: elahti
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.7 Years
Pros: A good course with a lot of variety. Two sets of tees for beginners and pros alike. Quite open with only a few wooded holes. It is very possible to get a good score if you can bomb a few on the long holes. There is hardly anyone on the course. Ever.
Cons: The river can be pretty, but don't throw too hard. Losing a disc in the river is saying goodbye forever. Look out for the soy bean fields too. I didn't particularly like the grass tees, either. Needs signs despite a map available online.
Other Thoughts: It is a nice course, but desperately needed signs. When I first played this course, the river was swollen due to a recent storm, and not knowing where it was on several holes made this course an extreme headache. Play with an Adrian native for directions. One hole in particular has the river running on one side and soy bean fields on the other: damned if you do, damned if you don't (skipping it might make this course a lot more enjoyable).


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.