Adrian, MI 
Heritage Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: barnet666 Hole #6 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 160ft.   3 / 254ft.   3 / 326ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Nicely Marked

1    7/8/2016   7/8/2016
Review By: Caveman1829
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Best mix of hole types I've seen at any course. A few in the woods, but more so out of woods with plenty of hills and trees to make it fun and challenging. Also distances vary nicely some short, some long.
-At each white tee (where everyone seemed to throw from) there was nice detailed signage of the hole with all information--they must have redone this as older reviews said bad signage, but it is GREAT now! There were also arrows pointing to next hole where it might not be obvious.
-I personally like the layout of the course because you can easily play just the front 9 or just the back 9. It wraps around back to parking around then which was nice.
-On a Friday morning it was dead, we had the place to ourself. Though if you like leagues they had a lot of postings at the start about league days/times. So depending day/time you go you can find the crowd or lack of crowd you desire.
Cons: -Tee pads were not concrete so were uneven gravel type.
- No bathrooms anywhere back there.
- I wouldn't personally plan to throw from red or blue tees as those were kind of "sketchy", no pad, over growth near them, etc.
- At times passes over roads & hiking paths...in both cases a very minor issue as the road back there is pretty much dead and the hiking paths don't see enough of a crowd.
Other Thoughts: The printable map they list on this site is off slightly. Hole 3 actually has the hole & tee off spot reversed. Otherwise it was helpful to have that at times. Also hole #13 isn't listed as water, but I would consider it a concern, if you hook it right the woods drop right off quickly into water and if you over shoot there was some water. Not a drastic water concern, but we almost lost one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 It's like 2 different courses

1    4/1/2011   4/1/2011
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 21.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great condition, you get the feeling its a quiet place that doesn't have too many vandals or troublemakers.
-Neat elevation changes on the front nine get you started with a bang.
-Cool scenery. River Raisin twists and turns alongside two holes, with beaver dams and sandbars giving neat scenery. Hole 11 approaching the river has some particularly picturesque trees in the depression containing the basket. You peer out over a wetlands area behind the hole 2 basket and wish they had a budget to put a hole there and allow you to huck off this magnificent hill. Then you go back to hole 3 and toss around a huge mound that begs the safari hole to 4 from the top. Still the hillsides play well.
-A lot of risk/reward opportunities. Do you take the big hyzer around the trees or the window they offer you? Hole 5 provided my favorite window of the course off the tee, forcing you to choose between a gigantic anhyzer or cutting under this low ceiling between evergreens.
-Room to stretch your arms. While there are technical shots, if you need to let loose bombs to feel like a proper day at the course, there's enough holes with good distance to get that. It has some spacious fairways, so you can just enjoy watching that glide.
-Wildlife. Frogs were abundant and chirping, and huge cranes overhead. I can't guarantee they'll show up when you're there, but I wouldn't be surprised.
-Friendly locals. We encountered two separate groups here who made conversation, one providing a map, and everyone eager to know how we were enjoying our round. The townsfolk off the course were unusually hospitable as well.
Cons: -The end of the course just doesn't measure up to the beginning. Where you start off with elevation and finesse, you finish with flat and wide. And wet. I was told it dries out, but there was a good portion of the last few holes that was not quite water hazard, but bog hazard. The bugs will not be good there later on when it is wet, so pay attention to the weather if you care about that sort of thing.
-Wicked thorns. There's some plants at some spots that had spines on their spines. Watch yourself.
-Dirt tees. They were in okay condition today, but will likely be worse later in the season and when wet.
-Navigation isn't the most intuitive, but the first 10 are easy enough without a map, as the numbers are on the baskets and most tees. There are a few holes where you can't see the basket from the tee, and you will likely need to spend a few minutes scouting to make sure the basket is where you think it is. It probably will be. Still, this could definitely be improved.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course at first. If the back continued to live up to the promise of the beginning, and there were concrete tees and consistent drainage, this course would be a 4.5. Unfortunately, there's a pretty large section of uninteresting land prone to wetness between the hills and the river. There's no real way around it, and the awesomeness of the river holes justifies sending you down there, especially with the soccer fields in the other direction, but it definitely peters out. Hole 18 tries to bring it back with an island green of sorts and some trees on the left, and to some extend succeeds, but overall its not quite enough to make this a course to go out of my way for. Which is a shame, because it _is_ out of my way, and I'd sure like to throw those first 13 again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/19/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: RiverBandit
Played: 51  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of different types of shots. Many holes seemed to me to be a great test for big arms with huge drives. At the same time there was extremely tall brush on the sides of the fairways which demanded accuracy also.
Course pretty well marked with a post on every tee.
Great use of elevation, and other natural obstacles.
Course locals were extremely friendly.
Chain Star baskets on every hole.
Pro/Am Tees for every hole. Pro tees didn't just create a longer drive but a completely different shot on most holes.
Park completely free of garbage and vandalism.
Course offers option of playing only Front 9, Only Back 9, or all 18.
Cons: Not to many cons to speak of on this course.
The only minor improvements I could see that this course could use may be a few more benches around the park, and signs marking the holes, but they had posts up and you could tell signs may be coming soon, so I guess it is not really a con.
Grass tees, with corners marked with spray paint.
Other Thoughts: We played Am tees first then Pro Tees, a Local was extremely friendly and played our AM Tee round with us to show us all the pin placements, and tees. All the people we came across were extremely friendly.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Locals, Clean Care Free Fun

1    9/19/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: craftsman
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My group of three met the most welcoming and cool locals I've ever encountered (played over twenty in state). They even sent a guide up for our first round. Perfect baskets, many with hills behind. Clearly mowed fairways. Multiple tees create different shots, not just longer. Possibly the cleanest course, no vandalism, no litter. Wind effects a couple holes and overall keeps bugs down. Painted posts.
Cons: Grass tees. I'll list navigation but if you bring a map or are used to navigating courses it shouldn't be a problem. Hole one across street of posting board. I would suggest Painting one arm of the basket to point to the next tee and number the posts better.
Other Thoughts: I played both sets of tees. Ams first.

CATEGORY 1: 2.5/5
Baskets: 5/5 Excellent shape chainstars.
Tee pads: 1/5 Level grass with spay painted
corners.
Signs: 2/5 Painted post with marker numbers.
CATEGORY 2: 3.5/5
Design: 4/5 Plays quickly, view of the parking
more than twice.
Foliage: 3/5 Defined mowed fairways. Brush can
be tall.
Benches: 2.5/5 Two tables across from hole 1,
one bench with back on course. All are
graffiti free.
Trash: 5/5 Multiple empty large cans. No litter,
not even ciggarette butts.
CATEGORY 3: 4/5
Elevation: 3.5/5 Creative use of bowls and hills.
Epic holes: 3/5 Some really nice ones, not great.
Shot Variety: 4/5 Left, right, and open to woods.
Shot mix: 4.5/5 Open, technical, short, and long.
All nicely spread throughout.
Challenge: 3.5/5 Multiple tees well planed.
Restrooms: Available in summer -Didnt use.
Water/food: 4/5 Running spicket, not at hole 1.
Bakery/gas station at enterance.
Crowded: 5/5 No waiting.
Dog friendly: 4.5/5 Open with little traffic.
Scenic: 3.5/5 Classic Michigan. Red barn visable.
Local Attitude: 5/5 Nicest I've encountered. Very
helpful.


5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Updated Course

5+    4/26/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: DiscGolfDave
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course front nine is fun to play at any skill level and is challenging from the long tees, back 9 is longer than front 9 and is more open for big arms.Course has pretty much no waiting and is free to play which is great
Cons: When it rains hard back 10,11,12,13,14,15 gets flooded
Other Thoughts: Course has been changed somewhat, there are new tee signs going up soon if not already and there has been talk about expanding to 24 holes

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.