Kent, WA 
Lake Fenwick Share
Uploaded By: shawnc65 Hole #16 (Taken 3/2015)
3 / 368ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Balanced Course

5+    10/10/2018   10/11/2018
Review By: antsofthesky
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good layout for intermediate length shots.
-Elevation change.
-Concrete tee pads
-Beautiful course
Cons: -Mosquito central during summer.
-Rough is really rough, stay on course!
-Not much room to air it out.
Other Thoughts: Good course for a day of golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/17/2017   6/21/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 47  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some really cool pin placements! Some signature pin placements as well like the boat and a elevated basket. I really enjoyed this course. Has some okay elevation changes, and crazy hillside. Navigation isn't bad and has tee signs and nice tee pads, and there's some good mixtures of holes and shots.
Cons: Not much lighting, the walk back down from hole 5....this is just small little things overall I thought the course was great.
Other Thoughts: Play it and you should enjoy it

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fenwick: a course with character

1    3/25/2018   3/26/2018
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 54  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 1.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tees are adequately sized, overall good.
-Tee signs are visible from a distance and helpful with hole number and distance
-Baskets are in good condition, 2/18 are Mach V, the rest are DISCatcher
-Fairways are clearly defined as separate from the rough and in good condition
-Elevation, when present is used very well, hole 4 has an unspoken OB created by the massive drop off, many other holes have to be analyzed to prevent roll-aways
-This is a very wooded course, the trees come into play on every hole and are a major defining aspect of this course
-Water only comes into play on one hole, but it is used very well and not extremely daunting
-Nice benches on every tee
-The course's surroundings are beautiful, it is a very nice forest area typical of the Pacific Northwest
-Wide Variety of shots required
-There are two cool features I was particularly excited about, and elevated basket, and an island hole, basket number 6, the island, is also in a boat, kinda cool, i have also never played on a basket that has been elevated with a pole, so that was cool.

Cons: -Tee signs are not helpful with basket location or flight route
-Most shots are blind from the tee, the lack of flight path on the sign makes it really hard to tell where to throw
-Paths are quite nasty, the walk between 4 and 5 might as well be a sledding hill, made of mud
-Navigating this course would be impossible without a map, so you better get it from DGCR, because it isn't on the kiosk
-While the course design is great, the course has an unclean vibe to it, probably due to the obscene drawings and messages on every bench and sign.
-Mandos That are apparently present according to the map, do not show up on the course, or they do, but as a mossy sign that looks like part of a tree.
-Pretty forehand dominant course. There are backhand lines, but they are really difficult to hit, where the forehand lines are easy and obvious.
-18's elevated pin is (in my opinion) too high, I played with my 6'4" friend and even he had trouble getting our discs out
Other Thoughts: Well Worth the half hour drive, I will return soon.
New shoe index: 2.5/4

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fenwick Fave

1    5/11/2017   5/11/2017
Review By: g4ege
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Really beautiful.
Interesting holes.
Lots of elevation.
Full 18.
Nice layout.
Cons: Challenging to figure out the location of tees and baskets. A graphic and a few more markers would make a HUGE difference.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/29/2016   12/29/2016
Review By: PNWTurnandFade
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging
Technical - Meaning lots of "thread the needle" shots in between the trees.
Signs at every tee pad to give you a hole number and distance to basket.
Some signs on the course to help navigate
Concrete teepads.
Good trails maintained by locals, many of them created with trees that fell down and were cut up to frame the trails.
Sometimes has course map pamphlets at parking lot.
Good use of terrain.
Cons: Needs better signs at the teepads, they dont show the shape of the hole or the pin positions, just the distance for either position A or B.
Needs better signs on the course or at baskets to lead you to next tee. Got lost my first time.
Needs a large course map.
High risk of losing a disc in the heavily wooded area or in the pond. (lost one and found one in said pond)
Some holes are close enough together it's confusing like holes 5 and 17, teepads right next to each other.
A few holes that put you out on the fairway of another hole when you are done so heads up.
No bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: A good workout this course, my fitbit tells me I hike 30 flights of stairs on this course, half of that on the first 4 holes. It's a good course, I know I have a lot to say in the Cons but I do like this course, if it was easier to navigate it would be rated much higher.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lost but having fun!

1    7/30/2016   8/12/2016
Review By: tdennis11
Played: 47  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course nestled in mostly shaded park of old growth trees. Was blown away by the beauty of this course and appreciated the variety of shots. If you enjoy traversing small bridges, conquering hills, and standing akimbo from raised concrete platforms--this is the course for you!
Cons:
Signage!
Signage!
Signage!

Oh my God--signage not so great! Being this was my first time here and was solo, I had to rely on other park goers or had to walk ahead to figure out which basket I was throwing to. Pads are poorly marked and the baskets, if marked, have the wrong number posted on them! This is what hurt the course with my score. Still, I will come back here again when heading up to Seattle. I had a blast playing it! Was just a bit lost.
Other Thoughts: Not to harp on the signage thing, but I find it such a shame when such a simple thing like signage detracts from the enjoyability of a course. Just numbering the baskets would have made all the difference to me, just so I am confident that I'm driving and putting at the right basket. Arrows pointing to the next tee pad are always nice too!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Summertime challenge

1    7/20/2016   7/27/2016
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 51  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.8 Years
Pros: Technical course. Good parking. Almost good signs. Bring your 'A' game or you could be looking for disks in all the wrong places.
Cons: Signs need a little drawing showing the general direction of the basket. Had to scout ahead to see the baskets especially the 4 holes criss-crossing the large ravine. Make sure you fly all the way over the ravine shots...heavy underbrush and blackberries.
Other Thoughts: The signature hole, the boat hole, should always be in play. The basket was not in the boat when we visited. Sad :)
I would venture to play it again but probably not in the winter. I think this is a really wet swampy course.

 not a good fit for a sidearm

1    3/13/2014   3/13/2016
Review By: EverettSilvertips
Played: 113  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: i liked how it is based in wooded area. nice tight pathways, has a monster hill that you putt or let it roll down.

teepads are concerte.
Cons: for those who throw sidearms, may disc golf god on your side.

the teepads in some area are unbalanced, and have dangerous step after throwing off.

signs are missing
Other Thoughts: none

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite course in the Seattle area

1    2/5/2016   2/5/2016
Review By: GainesvilleGreen
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very interesting terrain
- Lots of variety with many technical shots and elevation changes
- Wild and rugged feel but still well maintained
- Friendly locals and really positive vibe
- Good signage on every hole

After just one round of 18 holes, this is my now my new favorite course in the general Seattle region (have played 7 of them). There is more variety and challenge packed into the relatively small area for 18 holes than most the other courses in the area.
Cons: - A bit hazardous when wet out due to steep muddy inclines and elevated tees.
-Gets muddy in areas but not as bad as some others in the region (Juel...caugh)
- Going OOB can be quite a nuisance on some holes: brambles, bog, water hazard on a couple holes

If you go over the right side of hole #4 (and to a lesser extent #3), you could be rappelling down a very steep fern "wall" to get your disc. I had to use a clump of vines as a makeshift rope to reclaim my Orc. While a bit sketchy, it sure started the 18 off with quite an adventure:)

If recent rain, expect to get a little muddy and possibly slip since it is very steep in places. Watch your footing on hills and elevated tees.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really great course, and look forward to many more rounds here. If you are in the Seattle area from out of town and only have time to play one course, I would recommend this one if it hasn't rained a lot. It is very unique with the Northwestern vibe, woods and elevation, and the classic boat-basket on hole #6 really adds some flavor to the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great work!

5+    2/27/2015   2/27/2015
Review By: shawnc65
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/2/2018
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Work to improve any issues is constant and almost weekly and certainly monthly there is noticeable upgrades to either holes, paths, placements, etc. (8/2/18) The trail between 4 & 5 has upped the playability of the entire course!
There's more elevation change in this course than any of the other local courses and the challenges are unique and varied. Errant throws are costly. The course definitely rewards accuracy over distance. Not to say there's not a few holes that will test the longer throwers but even if playing with a pro that can regularly outdistance me by 100 ft., I usually have a chance to win the hole with accuracy.
Tee pads are mostly protected from surrounding hole play. Many have benches.
Cons: See: Errant throws are costly. For competition this is a pro, but for good clean fun it can be a detriment. Expect to spend some time searching for your discs. Underbrush can be very thick and there are a lot of places even a good shot can slide under it to be hard to find.
With the elevation differences come the dangers of that element. The course is often wet and even the main paths can become treacherous in the rain despite the efforts of the course managers. I wouldn't trade the 'Pro' for the 'Con', but you should be aware of the higher danger factor.
There could be more signage. It may not be easy for a player coming in for the first time to find the next tee and not all the baskets are in view from the tees. (I've tried to help this problem in the "Hole tips" section above).
The nearest restrooms are up the street a ways at the Park proper.
Other Thoughts: Parking is atrocious and it can be a busy course. This may be the reason there seems to be more garbage on this course than the others I've played. Please pack it out.
The pics here are out of date and I recognize few of the holes. None are numbered correctly. I hope to improve this later in 2015.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.