Galena, OH 
The Player's DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #2 (Taken 9/2011)
4 / 293ft.   4 / 591ft.   4 / 591ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Updates Make for a Quality Course

5+    6/23/2017   6/25/2017
Review By: WildlyMediocre
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Lots of variety. Likely that every shot or disc in your bag has a chance to come out and play.

- Variable difficulty. Multiple tees/pins on most holes let you pick the kind of course you want to play.

- Continued improvements make it more fun to play each year.
Cons: - Drainage still leaves some work to be desired. Wet periods and high water can cut off entire sections of the course.

- A few holes are still rough around the edges, leaving an uneven feel to the course as a whole experience (but still seeing progress).

- Couple tricky jumps from one hole to the next if you're not familiar with the layout.
Other Thoughts: I moved to the Columbus area about 3 years ago. Of course the big name course here is Brent Hambrick. I played it, and I liked it, but it wasn't the kind of course that fit my play. When I first played The Player's Course, it was a solid 3-star for me. Not the most well-manicured course, only about half the holes had a long tee pad. But it was technical and fun. Mixed some length with soft touch shots. So I played it often.

In part due to the Women's Championships being held here a couple years ago, and just general improvements over time, it's earned the extra 1 1/2 stars from me. Is it Maple Hill? Well, no. But the fairways are cleaner, some trees have been cleared out to create actual lines instead of "poke and pray," and the variety is vastly improved. 9 holes now have a second basket placement, and all but 4 holes have multiple tees (5 holes have 3 tees). But like Maple Hill, the vast majority of these added baskets and tees are creating different shots, not just longer versions of the same hole. And that is a distinction that many courses miss when they make "pro tees."

As I put in the cons, sometimes high water days make the course all but unplayable. It's an unfortunate reality of the course's location. I've played at courses that got swampy and some good drainage vastly improved that. I don't think this course will ever have that luxury. The course itself plays through 2 different "peninsulas" (for lack of a better description) on the same lake. Extreme drainage through the problem fairways would only result in permanent water hazards.

Some holes in the middle of the 2nd half (12/13/14) feel a little unfinished compared to the new polish on the earlier holes. Nice wooded holes with decent fairways, but will benefit from some TLC along the way.

14 is especially jarring due to the layout (you can't see the pin really from the tees, and when you do get over the slight rise to the basket you are greeted at the bottom of the hill with a flower cross memorial for what I can only guess is honoring a drowning victim in the lake). Kind of unsettling putting down at the basket, knowing if you miss and go long you could smack right into the memorial. It's a shame because it's one of the best hole layouts on the course, but it's also the only one I would truly like to see revised in terms of pin placement.

In a couple years, I think this could be a true championship quality course that would be a great compliment to the openness of Brent Hambrick.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Alum creek

1    3/21/2017   3/21/2017
Review By: tonyfaurot
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very tricky course to play, i loved the layout, nice tee pads, very nice baskets, signage good, it was the toughest course i have played to date, not because of length but the line you have to hit between the trees on most holes . i loved the challenge. i can't wait to come back again. lot and lots of trees !
Cons: you will lose some disc on holes you don't play well as water comes into play, it was very wet the day i played, some swampy areas, i am guessing its dry in the summer months unless it has rained a lot, maybe some drainage issues in some spots
Other Thoughts: it was a little discouraging seeing a lot of trash laying on the course and i believe it came from disc golfers, lots of beverage containers, i didn't see many trash cans but that's no excuse for not taking your trash with you. stop it !

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

LOTS of Fun!

1    6/22/2016   7/5/2016
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 30  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety. It is, after all, the spice of life, and The Player's has it. Long holes where you can let it rip, short holes where you'd better hit your line -- heck, even the in between holes are a lot of fun. Variety includes shot selection, too - and I used every disc in my bag and pretty much every shot I have (or think I have).

Challenging: The variety would be nothing if the course was a yawner. It didn't kill me (I shot +2 first time playing it, so I was kinda happy), but it DID punish wayward shots. Even on the longer holes, you'd best hit that line, or you're going to be in a bit of trouble.

Scenic: This is an absolutely beautiful setting for disc golf. #7 especially is worth a picture or two (BEFORE you throw that disc into the water, not after lol).
Cons: Navigation was kinda hard in spots, but that's probably the newb in me. I usually like to follow people when I play a new course, but the locals were courteous and let me play through, so I couldn't follow them to see where the next tee was. Not usually a problem, since there are markings on the baskets to point you in the right direction, but I could have used a little more help heading to 8's tee pad.

Other Thoughts: I don't like to mention tight fairways as a con, since I don't really view them that way, but I will warn you here -- the back nine is TIGHT. There are lines there, but they are narrow, and if you miss them you're losing a stroke or two to par. I left plenty of strokes behind the day I played (and a couple of discs, too!), just because I missed my line by even a TINY bit. While there are some long holes here, throwing for power isn't going to give you a good score if you're not accurate. Throw it where you want it to go, and you'll be fine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Slightly above average course, too wooded

2-4    5/10/2015   6/9/2015
Review By: zetterbeard
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -This course has one of the longer holes in the Columbus area. I personally like airing it out, and it's nice to see a hole that I can say is a relatively legit par 5 (hole 2) since there seems to be so few longer holes in the Columbus area.

-A few holes are very scenic, overlooking the lake. An added bonus too if you're toasty and want to cool off!

-The first 9 or 10 holes in this course are great and provide a good challenge without being too hard or easy.
Cons: -Some of the wooded holes are far too wooded. On 11-15, you're pretty much praying not to hit a tree, but it's nearly impossible. It was very difficult to locate a "fairway," and those holes felt like they were plopped in the middle of a forest without much thought to the design.

-Water comes into play a few times on this course. On 7 you're forced to either throw over a beach or around a dense underbrush in order to get to the hole. It's not the end of the world to get your disc in the water, it's a shallow sandy beach after all, but you can easily lose a disc if you don't see where it landed. Hole 10 also plays over a shallow inlet of murky water that I doubt you'd want to go into to retrieve a disc. Perhaps water is a plus for some, but I'm not looking to lose a 20 dollar disc.

-One of the times I played this course, it was so buggy on 4-8 that one of my friends had to wait until we were out of the woods. Depending on what part of the season you come, bring some Off or long sleeves if you can handle the heat.
Other Thoughts: -This course is very average, at best. I like that it tries to put holes in the woods, but they need some work. Perhaps cutting a few more trees down to at least develop a fairway would be a good idea.

-Try this course once or twice to say you did, but if you're already driving 25 minutes from Columbus to play it, do yourself a favor and drive 15 more and go to the course in Delaware State Park.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Fairly Technical

1    9/15/2014   9/15/2014
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 78  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course winding around a fairly picturesque lake. Most of the holes can be reached using mostly a control driver or midrange. I found that I mostly through a Roadrunner of Buzz around the course.

It is fairly technical, but for the most part fair. The underbrush is minimal so errant shots were easy to find.

Water does come into play on about 6 holes (sorry, didn't keep a list) but only one hole - maybe 7? which is a long throw over the edge of the lake. Providing you don't flip the disc, you should be safe.
Cons: Navigation isn't the easiest. Hole 1 wasn't marked, and I had no idea where hole 2 was. Found it across the road with the help of some local players. I found navigating to the back nine tough to find as well

There's a good bit of debris on laying around some of the holes which took my rating down just hint due to being kinda ugly in places
Other Thoughts: Found the course fun to play, add some course maintenance and better signage and definitely a 3.5 course. With a little practice on this course could easily shoot 5 down, so not all that of a tricky course

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Near water and ugly

1    8/3/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: gabetaviano
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Concrete pads, nice baskets. Challenging.
Cons: Hard to find 1st tee from parking lot. Way too many downed trees. For amateurs, a few of the holes are impossible / unplayable.
Other Thoughts: Won't drive up from Westerville to play the course again, when there's Brent Hambrick DGC at Hoover.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful lakeside wooded course

2-4    7/26/2014   7/27/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 296  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Players DGC in Alum Creek State Park is a challenging, intermediate level course that features wooded lanes and a couple of tricky water carries, utilizing nice, level concrete tees and quality discatcher baskets. They've undergone a bit of a redesign in the last couple of years, because the park extended and improved the boat ramp and parking area that divides the course. Along with the removal of numerous ash trees during 2013-14, the course actually opened up a bit to make formerly brutal woods lines more reachable, but still the kind of holes where a well-executed shot can give you a deuce opportunity, but a tree kick can leave you scrambling to save a four.

What makes this fun is the chance to challenge yourself in a beautiful, lakeside, wooded setting. You won't have much opportunity to bomb long drives, so bring your technical game here. Holes range from just under 200 feet to a handful just shy of 300, three under 400, and one 600 footer. Holes 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, & 13 all risk wetting your disc, with 6 being the feature challenge when the wind is coming at you, where you'll need to clear over 250 feet of lake to stay dry.

There are opportunities to shape shots left to right, right to left, S-shapers, and fair, but guarded approaches. What's interesting is that the holes on the East side of the boating lot (9-18) don't have an excessive amount of undergrowth to hide an errant shot. That's not to say you shouldn't keep an eye on some of the other holes (or send a spotter ahead), particularly on holes 1 (if you go long), 2 (right), 5 (right), & 6 (left).

There are some picnic tables, benches, and logs out on the course to sit and take a breather, there is a course sign and practice basket in the middle where the front and back nine loop nicely together, at least three bathrooms adjoining the course, and plenty of parking for easy accessibility. There really don't appear to be any trash cans out on the course itself, so carry in, carry out, please. Finally, there are plenty of activities here in the state park for the non-disc'ers in your party to enjoy a visit.

In all, this is a fun course when they've made it tourney ready (like this past weekend), and it will draw a lot of Intermediate level players who enjoy a technical challenge.
Cons: Though I've drawn up a new Aerial map for dgcr, the pictures (as of July, 2014) are dated, and out of synch with the current hole layout and numbering. Presently, tee signs are simple PVC pipes with hole, par and distance painted on them, so they're visible and basic, but the distances are slightly different than listed here on dgcr (so that, and new pictures, need to be a priority for members who live in the Columbus area to update).

The flow of the course leads to a couple of long walks between basket and tee, particularly on 7 to 8 and 8 to 9. Hole 18 shoots out through the trees just left of the 17th basket and the practice basket, where the likely tree kicks may be a risk to folks on those greens. Use caution going for the big throw on 2 (and 8), because the fairways parallel, and errant shots could spell trouble).

The low lying areas (I'm talking to you, holes 3, 4 & 5) can be a harbor for mosquitoes and other insects in the rainy season.
Other Thoughts: Some courses tend to be a little unsatisfying because you always get a similar result (a hole just out of your reach will always yield a three, for instance, once you've steadied out your game). The Players course is fun, because it's not unusual here to have a great, accurate shot on particular hole one time through, and a tree kick leaves you in trouble on the same hole the next time you play it. The fun comes when it works the other way around!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good layout, needs maintenance

2-4    3/21/2014   3/21/2014
Review By: Rlyehable
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 38.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete pad for all holes. Layout is very nice. Wooded and open holes. Water comes into play on several holes.
Cons: Not all holes with short and long tees have both marked, and few have both tee pads. Listed tee distances are questionable. Course needs maintenance (fallen trees, vandalized signs, etc.).

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Central Ohio's Gem Course

5+    8/22/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: ChuckinDeucesACE
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will require every shot in your bag. It plays very technical and tight with a few breathing holes. Not for the faint of heart and could scare the beginner but boy is it fun. Woods! And, lots of them. Water also comes into play and frames some of the more scenic holes on the course. The baskets are in good condition. The tee pads are in good condition. But, they should be at every tee position similar to the Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC.
Cons: Slight over growth in some areas, although I can imagine up keep on this course would be quite the chore. There are also some holes that could use downed trees cleaned up. Use them to line some of the tunnel shots and fairways. The course can be muddy after weather but that's to be expected. The tee signs are also a little vague. They aren't signs but more of a general direction of the pin.
Other Thoughts: It'd be nice to see a course map on the course welcome sign near the practice basket.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: philio37
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Scenic
Good Variety (Distance, Location)
Clearly Labled Tee and Pin Locations
"Next Tee -->" signs
Cons: Very dangerous water hazards (not for beginners or the un-"clutch")
Too many small trees and obstacles to hit
Other Thoughts: Very enjoyable, but it can easily discourage

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.