Galena, OH 
The Player's DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #7 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 264ft.   3 / 264ft.   3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Center Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 

1    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: philio37
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Scenic
Good Variety (Distance, Location)
Clearly Labled Tee and Pin Locations
"Next Tee -->" signs
Cons: Very dangerous water hazards (not for beginners or the un-"clutch")
Too many small trees and obstacles to hit
Other Thoughts: Very enjoyable, but it can easily discourage

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tight, unforgiving, and fun. Continually improving!

5+    3/28/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All basic amenities present including concrete teepads for long tees and all but 2 of the short tees, bathrooms, abundant parking and high quality baskets

Bonus amenities include a water fountain on the course and a convenience store a mile up the road that sells discs.

Good use of available elevation and water adds an element of interest

As of 7/1/15 10 holes have 2 concrete tee positions, and 2 holes have 3. 1 hole has a second tee made of gravel, and it appears plans are in place to add concrete here too.
Cons: Course is in need of a very minor amount of pruning, as certain holes feel like a crap-shoot as opposed to a test of skill. Update: This has been mostly fixed with recent work done too the course.

Two of the short tees don't have concrete teepads, but the dirt has been replaced with carpet, so that's an improvement. Update, this too has been fixed.

Layout is somewhat chopped up due to recent redesign caused by expansion of the nearby boat ramp. Course forces you to cross the parking area twice, which could be a problem if you aren't attentive.

The course didn't buy me dinner before it f@#ked me.

7/1/15: The new concrete tees are 1-2' shorter than the originals. Given that they are mainly set in longer positions than the original tees and are also slightly elevated, this is a MAJOR drawback.
Other Thoughts: This tightly wooded course is certainly one of the toughest in the Columbus area. There are no truly wide open holes, every one has at least a few trees to force you to hit a certain line. You will need every shot in your bag to have success here. As I mentioned in my Cons, there are a few holes that need to be reconsidered slightly as there are scrub trees that are clogging up already small openings between mature trees (again this has been mostly fixed...)

While the course is challenging even from the short tees, it does lack what I would call a signature hole. Despite this, many of the holes will reward you with a memorable shot if you have the skill to hit it.

As I jokingly alluded to in my cons, this course roughed me up badly, and has continued to do so over time. Overall this is a great course to separate the skilled players in your group from the "lucky chuckers" as it's almost impossible to get lucky 18 times.



3/15 Update: The local club has been doing WORK!!! Many of the downed trees have been cut up and stacked along the fairways of several back 9 holes. These serve to force you to shape shots on some holes, but help keep you out of a nasty swampy area on the 2 holes that play along it. Overall this change is very positive. Otherwise the course is still quite challenging. Bring your A game, you'll need it.

7/1/15 The new tee positions required additional clearing of trees and brush and this is a major positive for this course. The new tee positions are worth a half point bump, and I'm deducting half a point due to the tees being too short. Overall I'm raising my score on this course by half a point due to the clearing of brush that was done in conjunction with the new tees, and the fun new shots the tees open up.

Update 12/5/15. Improvements continue! Not satisfied with 2 sets of tees at most holes, a dedicated group is adding a THIRD tee on holes where there is room. Brush is being cut back, and the entire personality of this course has changed for the better.

1/21/17 update:

Adding half a star to my review to reflect the 9 new red baskets added to the 18 yellow baskets that are already present. With 38 tees and 27 baskets on only 18 holes there are limitless possibilities to play a course that fits your abilities and appetite for challenge.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 review after the changes

5+    10/4/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 113  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Discather baskets
-Good course flow
-Difficulty in holes
-Long bombers and short finesse shots
-Lots of water hazard/Great use of the water
-Half wooded Half mostly open
-If you're not afraid to get wet you can retrieve your disc
-Scenic
-Good use of what little elevation is available
Cons: -No trash cans or benches
-A lot of the back 9's baskets are right next to the water, one hit off a tree and bye bye disc
-No 'Next Tee' signs
- If it rains a lot I have seen 2 baskets underwater
Other Thoughts: This course just got a facelift due to a growing marina which the course plays around. Hole one is now on the other side of the road from the practice basket and is kind of all by itself considering you have to cross the road again to play the rest of the front 9. But all in all this is definitely worth the drive, hole 6 (use to be 7) is a shot where the fairway is the lake! And hole 15 (use to be 16) is an island by OB out of the woods. AWESOME! On that note this course is not a 'learn to play' on but more so for someone who has played a few good rounds.

This course will test you! I was on fire with -4 up till hole 10 and finished out at +4! the front 9 has nice fairways with some great aceruns, the back 9 has wooded fairways with no relief but if you hit the right line it will pay out nice. Also on the back 9, as stated up top, a lot of the baskets are located on the waters edge and being wooded there is a decently big risk of ricocheting in the water. now the water isnt that deep up to 13' feet out so fishing for your disc inst that hard.

Final Thoughts:
PLAY IT, LOVE IT, OWN IT

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Going to be a nice course

1    7/4/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: bigMIKE05
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Tee boxes
*Difficulty
*Makes you use every shot you have
*Water comes into play
Cons: **Recently had work done
*No signs
*Course cover with downed trees
Other Thoughts: This was the first time I had played the course. So first thoughts is that it is a nice course but needs some work. They have recently expanded the parking lot for the boat ramp and thus moving around the first couple holes. Holes 1, 2 and 3 were all different. We spent 10 minutes trying to find the first hole, and then the second. I understand that they are still working on it, so I gave it a 3. Lucky for me, I went with someone who had been there several times before. If he was not there it would have been very difficult to play. There were no signs on the entire course, all they had were tiny little flags with the hole number on it. We had no clue our distance or weather it was a par 4 or 3. So this made it difficult to keep track of the score. There were also trees and limbs down everywhere from a storm a couple weeks back. Will be nice to have them cleared to make easier to move through the course. But all in all, it was a decent course. I will probably go back and play again, but not until late summer or even fall. To give them time to do the final work that NEEDS to be done.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 over the 77 trees in the fairway, nothing but chains

1    9/24/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 43  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 9.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very beautiful and heavily wooded course. The forest here is thick and you feel like you are deep into nature once the road is out of site. The terrain is easy to walk on but because of a lot of roots and bumps you'll find rollers and skip shots hindered.
- Because this course is so technical you really will use a plethora (3 amigos!) of shots to keep yourself out of some of the thick rough and also to get yourself out of trouble once you're in these tight spots. This course has a mix of left and right turning fairways that will have you changing up your angles of attack constantly.
- The distance from all the concrete Tee's to Baskets is most likely around 5100' for 18 holes. The overall distance of this course is short but because of how technical this course is the short distance does not really hold back my rating.
- There are only a few flat holes; otherwise the course is in a constant state of small rolling elevation changes
- The course flows pretty well. Hole #18 ends where Hole #1 starts which is also right at the parking area. There are a few holes that can be confusing to transition to because of a longer walk or a strangely located Tee; #2 to 3, #6 to 7, #7 to 8, #9 to 10, #14 to 15. In those situations the map can be very handy.
- One concrete Tee per hole, all in good condition. Hole #1 also has one natural tee.
- Nice Tee Signs showing location of the pin along with a Next Tee arrow
- Excellent water hazards have you calculating risk vs. reward! Holes #6, 11, 12 & 14 throw directly at the water while holes #7 & 10 throw over the water. WOOT!
- The baskets are in excellent condition and well labeled
- The park had some decent upkeep. The grass was well mowed but there could have been a little more clearing in the heavily wooded areas. Maybe some debris removal and some mulch. The weedeating, however, was done well around the baskets.
- Lots of traffic around the disc golf course but you shouldn't run into too many non-disc golfers on the course itself as the course plays separate from other activities. I'd suspect that the disc golfer traffic is moderate to heavy.
- Signs at the entrance help direct you to the course
- There is a message board at Hole #1 but not much going on there
- Practice basket near Hole #18's basket. Keep your eye open for people driving off of #18's Tee.
- Plenty of parking from Hole #16's basket all the way down to Hole #1's basket.
- Bathrooms located at Hole #2 and Hole #9 (they are kinda nasty but at least they are there. Hold your breath or head to the woods)
- Amenities. This park has a lot! Kids nature walks, camping, beaches, swimming, marina, basketball, horseshoes, playgrounds, nature programs, dog park, hiking trails, rental equipment including golf discs... lots of stuff, etcetera.
- This park is just beautiful and full of nature. Old trees and lush green vegetation and it's all located 5 miles off the highway so it's easy to get to.
- Trashcan at Hole #1. Litter is a common complaint about this course but it was pretty clean when I was there, however, at least one or two more trashcans would help to keep it this way.
Cons: - Safety can become an issue on Holes #2 & #18. Hole #2 you are throwing at an intersection that is very busy with park traffic on nice days. Hole #18 has a clear straight and anhyzer path but the hyzer path to the basket could lead to big trouble as it goes over the parking area & putting basket and a long shot goes into the picnic area where golfers congregate. FORE!
- Map. Handy for your first time out but it is seriously outdated. It shows two tees per hole but only Hole #3 had two Tee's that I could find. Looking at the map these holes had only Long Tees; 2, 3, 4, 7 (center Tee only), 9, 10, 13, 14, 15 & 18. These holes had only Short Tees; 5, 6, 8, 11, 12, 16 & 17. Because of this the course could use a complete make-over on DGCR and possibly getting re-measured in the process would help as well.
- Signs were missing on Holes # 7 & #9.
- Drop Zone is not marked for Hole #16
- A few benches would be nice for those without a simian ::wink::
Other Thoughts: - This course has much more potential. Clear the areas and finish those second Tee's, add some benches and more trashcans and then you're onto something. I would also suggest starting Hole #1 where Hole #3 is. The course will still flow just fine. The reason is because the area where Hole #1 is now is very tight and unsafe to gather at. I was there for a tournament and as the tournament finished we were in a constant state of awareness that a disc could be flying at us any second. There is so much more room to gather at Hole #3.
- I think the tape was still on the baskets directing you to the Next Tee (but my memory sucks so not sure)
- This course is challenging especially for the non-technical player that just wants to grip and rip. This is not a course for those people.
- The most challenging hole for me was Hole #16. Per the Tee Sign, this hole is all O.B. except for the putting area. A very tough shot to make and this hole will make or break a close game that you may be having with a friend.
- My favorite hole is definitely Hole #7! Loved throwing that huge hyzer bomb out over the water to watch it fade back to planet Earth and plop on the green for the birdie putt.
- This was a very fun course but I do not label this as a course to travel a long way to play, however, this course combined with some of the other courses located nearby would certainly be worth a long drive and make a great full day of disc golfing.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Potential?

1    7/23/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
[Baskets]: DisCatcher, Excellent condition, well maintained. Practice basket available near Tee 1.

[Tee Signs/Maps/Markers]: Excellent online map of the course. Amazing detail! Basic signs at each hole including map of hole with distance marking.

[General Course Design]: Course flows well from hole to hole. Next tee signs available on some holes that are not obvious. Course starts and ends close to the parking lot. Course uses a figure 8 design which is nice.

[Foliage Maintenance]: Areas around the baskets were clear. Trees were nicely trimmed and paths were clear with bridges over creeks/low spots.

[Elevation]: Great use of mature trees and elevation changes. The course uses the open and wooded areas of the park to the fullest extent. The lake even comes into play on a few holes, making you choose your shot selection wisely.

[Signature Holes]: Several potential signature holes. A variety of hole distances requiring many different shot selections. The course offers a good mix of tight, technical shots and one or two opportunities for open bombs.

[Tee Pads]: Concrete (pro only), good condition, kind of narrow and not all the same length.

[Restrooms]: I noticed a couple restroom facilities throughout the course, but they looked pretty nasty. The one near the 18th tee has been closed.
Cons:
[Tee Signs/Maps/Markers]: Signs were very small, and hard to see. They were low to the ground and almost always covered in mud and grime. There was no par marking on the signs from what I could tell. Seemed like a last minute afterthought. Hopefully there is a plan to update with more permanent signage.

[Foliage Maintenance]: There were a lot of downed trees through the wooded area. This added to the hazard of the elevation changes, so you had to be careful walking up and down the hills through the woods. The grass had not been cut, but it was manageable.

[Benches & Trash bins]: I did not see any benches or trash cans. There was some trash littering the course and a lot of broken glass.
[Tee Pads]: I was only able to find the amateur tee at hole one. All others were non-existent, even though they are marked on the very detailed online map. Maybe I was blind, but I could not find any other tees, so I ended up playing from the pros or making up a tee myself.
Other Thoughts:
This course was challenging and very frustrating at times. The lack of locating amateur tees made for a discouraging start. When I looked online and found this amazingly detailed map, I was excited to play on a premier course. When I arrived, and the course did not live up to the map's initial impression, I was disappointed.
There is plenty of parking available with a short walk the first tee. Beware of traffic entering and leaving the boat docks as you cross the road.
This course has excellent potential. If the effort put into the online map is put into the tee signs, and concrete pads are added for the other tees, this will be a top rated course. Players shouldn't have to hunt for tees on a top rated course. Fix these things, and this will be a 4/5 easily.
If you are beginner, be prepared for a potentially frustrating round of disc golf pinball as the lanes through the woods are very narrow.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 You have to be kidding me!

1    7/23/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good hole layout!
Excellent baskets!
Plenty of parking.
Very technical layout.
Cons: Very difficult the first time, no map or directions.
Hole signs run down.
Concrete tees for pro but no markings for other tees.
Very littered course.
Other Thoughts: Was very surprised on how bad this course was. Not how difficult it was but how poorly it's been maintained. Looked like no one had done any maintenance for years. That's too bad because the course flow is really good.
If your traveling any distance to play this course forget it, not worth your time. Let's hope someone comes in and cleans things up here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Ohio Course

1    8/8/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: SteveHalsell
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was a great course. There was a great variety of holes in length, complexity, and variation of dogleg right and left. The course flowed pretty easily too. The pin of one hole is close to the teepad of the next one, and if they aren't obvious there are signs. This is a huge positive.

The fairways might be considered slim by some, but I really liked the challenge. The growth on sides of the fairways weren't overcrowded or thick with weeds of shrubs, so if you miss the fairways you should be able to find the disc pretty easily.

I also really enjoyed the course layout at the park. Others mentioned this, but it is really great to have the course designed in a figure eight pattern. Also, it is great to have open plains, deeper woods, and water coming into play all on the same course. You'll have both skill shots and ones you can grip and rip.

Finally, the environment was great. It was a pretty crowded park, but it never hindered my play on the course. Good to see a lot of people out on the lake on Saturday afternoon. Also, since the water comes into play it is nice to play alongside.
Cons: There are a few cons here that kept this from a 4.5 rating.

- No benches and trash cans along the course with and consistency.
- Bathroom facilities are not well maintained and the one at the beginning of the course could literally be the grossest bathroom I have ever used.
- No maps or scorecards available. Each hole has a map, but there was no big map at Hole 1 showing the course layout.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a nice course. Good layout, nice scenery, concrete teepads, professional baskets, and no fee to play.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice job MOOD crew

1    6/29/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 224  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 9.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The Players Course is a solid all around course that will test your entire game. The targets are good quality multi-chain baskets. There are dual tees on most holes and at least one of them is a concrete pad of sufficient length. Practice basket by tee #1. The course is primarily a technical one with lots of trees in play on most holes, a benefit of which is that you get to play in the shade most of the time. The designers have done a good job balancing out the lefty vs. righty holes. There's some minor elevation in play and several holes on which the water is a factor. The configuration played at 2010 PDGA Am Worlds featured #16 as an island green which was cool. Typical state park restrooms are available as are picnic areas. Very nice scenery with older trees and a great lake view.
Cons:
Could stand to have a couple more open bomber holes to give big arm players a chance to air out some drives. Some holes may be considered too tight or fairways too rough, but being a new course this will break in over time and play. On nice summer days be wary of a lot of boat trailer traffic in the park as the course is adjacent to the marina and boat launch area.
Other Thoughts:
Like many Ohio courses it goes by many names: "The Players Course", "Galena", or "Alum Creek". Good figure-8 layout that has the hole 9-to-10 transition close to the parking lot so you can refill supplies if necessary. Props to the MOOD crew getting this course ready to play the 2010 PDGA AM Worlds tournament. I would definitely play this course again if I were in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Work on your accuracy first....

5+    7/27/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: thebuckeyeguy
Played: 125  Reviewed: 17
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mix of shots; 18 concrete pads (from the longer selection); good use of water holes (2 over water, although water is potentially in play on 6 holes); mostly wooded, so nice shade in summer months; tight fairways but they offer a chance; pretty easy to navigate; not a long round time-wise; recently mowed and well-maintained; one of the courses in the 2010 PDGA Am Worlds; plays well for locals, as to really get this course you have to play it multiple times; never seen a crowd; hole 6 turns into a beautiful hole as you approach the pin...in fact, there is a fair amount of nice scenary with sailboats and jetskis.
Cons: If you are a little bit off, you will hit a lot of trees (but again, even though some holes are very difficult, there is a fairway); in the wet season, there is a bit of a flooding issue (not enough to make it unplayable, but count on getting muddy. I won't play it at all next spring); can be frustrating playing in the woods so close to water, as an unlucky strike on a tree can send you into the reservoir; lack of trash cans, benches, water, and updated signs.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my house, so therefore the course I play the most. As an "experienced" Alum Creek player, take this advice: throw as far as you can WHILE STAYING ON THE FAIRWAY, and be aggressive on the water holes! Ive seen more lost discs from timid throws than anything else. As far as a road trip, this is not that course, but it is a fun addition to the growing central-Ohio scene. Considering this course went into the ground last November, it is in excellent shape. And for my money, it is the most difficult "Columbus" course (maintained by MOODGolf, not CFDGC).

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.