Oak Grove, KY 
War Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: tblass1 Hole #1 (Taken 4/2019)
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Really good!

1    1/16/2021   1/17/2021
Review By: Docspanky
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Don' sleep on this course. Sure the holes are shorter. But the PROPER use of a few Mando's and well laid out design makes it just enough to make even a Intermediate player have to really think. The scenery is awesome, and the park that does so much to honor veterans is just awesome.
Cons: They need to put trashcans out in more places. Really hard to find negatives.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Salute To War Memorial Park

1    9/14/2019   9/18/2019
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 714  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 28.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When entering the park and it's spacious lot , you will immediately notice all of the baskets and tees , and a nice Kiosk near hole #1 . There is also a practice basket close by , too . The cement tees here are grippy , but I thought maybe a little small . The baskets are older yellow brimmed Discatchers , but still catch well . The signage is good , with hole # , distance and fairway picture and small hole number at the top . There is a sidebar on each sign either thanking our veterans , or naming the wars that were fought with our soldiers ( very nice tribute ) . As for course design , the gave H B Clark a small piece of flat land next to the park road , and with an average amount of park trees , make the best of it . The disc golf course shares some space with a shelter or 2 , and a cement walking trail that surrounds most of it . The course is fairly easy to follow , but you may want to print the map to save some steps . Clark makes some good usage of the trees in the park . Holes can have either fairway trees lining it or protecting the baskets , or low ceilings . This course plays fast . I did it in well under an hour . Not a lot of hole length variance here . The shortest being 217' ( 6 & 17 ) and longest being 360' ( #2 ) . You will have your fair share of straight , left and right holes . A couple of mandos are here , too . This is not the most scenic course in the area , but it is well kept . No water shots on the course , but a small gully with a bridge over it may come into play on hole 5 . The course was getting a lot of play when I was there on a Saturday afternoon . It is perfect for newbies , casuals , families , travelers and course baggers traveling down rt 41 ,I-24 or I-65 . Especially the travelers , since it is flat and easy on the legs . It might be just ace runs and mega birdies for good ams and pros . Check to make sure you don't show up when the leagues or a tournament is playing . Again . this course has a bit of daily traffic . Disc Risk : Should be about 0 . It's a typical park and cleaned up with no heavy growth anywhere . For a fast 9 , you can either go 1-9 or 10-18 , since both 9 start and end right at the parking lot . This is a perfect place to bring a lunch or dinner and cooler to . Even though hole 5 was the most picturesque hole on the course , My signature hole would be the short tunnel shot #17 . I know the raised basket on this hole was a little gimmicky for this park , but ,,,,,, #18 was a good finishing hole . 340' right to left , with the parking lot on your right and an alley that opens up with mature trees on the right and left of it .
Cons: #1 The course seems repetitive . Because it has no water at the park , no woods and no elevation , the only obstacles are the trees and a couple of mandos . A decent player will eat this course alive . #2 Safety . There was a woman walking her dog that was hit with an off course drive while I was there . Since this course suits casuals and newbies , there are increased chances of being boinked either as a park goer or player . #3 Confusion . A few spots will make you have to search for the right tee since you can literally stand in one spot in the park and see pretty much all of the baskets . Print the map or take a picture of the kiosk . I would mention that there were no alternate pins or multiple tees or the lack of benches , garbage cans ,( Please carry out what you bring in), accessible bathrooms , but ,,,,
Other Thoughts: Yes . I graded War Memorial Park as decent/typical , and it is what you want to make of it , but obviously many like populating it . Hole placements that make you have to pay some attention or you will veer your drive and smack a tree . Even though the play is fast , the park , with it's many activities , beckons you to stay for a while . A great course for introducing the game to the curious , friends getting together at night or on the weekends , and especially for the road weary looking to take a break from driving , grabbing a sandwich and heading here for a round to get the blood pumping back into your legs . I would definitely play this course if I lived near the Oak Grove area . MY RECOMMENDATION : Newbies ,Casuals , Locals , Travelers , Course Baggers , PLAY IT !!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course but not much variety

5+    6/26/2019   6/26/2019
Review By: Mbeal
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good use of the space available
- Well maintained, I have played there countless times and it is rarely in anything but great shape.
- Nice baskets, rare spit-outs
- Nice tee pads
- Good balance between left and right turning holes
- 1 and 10 are near the parking area, and 9 and 18 finish there which allows for a quick 9, playing the back then front, and is just good golf design
Cons: - Lack of variety, every shot is partially wooded and 200 -350 ft
- Extremely easy, this is tempered a tiny bit with mandos but there is no real danger on the course
- The raised basket used to move around as was a decent novelty, now it has been stuck on hole 17 and has taken away any chance of going for the basket. It needs to move, or just go away
Other Thoughts: This is a generally fun course to play, especially for beginners. It's pretty unlikely you'll lose any discs, the holes are easy enough to give a new player some early confidence, and you can get a round in very quickly if the course is empty. Absolutely, if you have someone new to the game, bring them to this course!

It can get a little boring if you play a lot, with the ease and lack of variety, but it will make you feel real good about yourself with the ability to score on a calm day. The mandos on 5 and 8 at least keep a few holes open to bogey, but if you can throw 300'+, you won't have too much trouble.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Club Course

1    11/25/2018   12/19/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 489  Reviewed: 473  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.347 Rating) An easy going Recreational course with likely a big club presence.
- FUN FACTOR AND VIBE - I played 11 courses on a Thanksgiving road trip and this course had the most active scene. At least a dozen players were gathering around tee (1) as I was finishing my round for some sort of mini. War Memorial has all the right elements to draw a big crowd. It's not oppressively challenging or 18 putter runs. Hazards such as thicket, tall grasses and water are basically non-existent. A bucket full of birdies can be had over a round and an ace will get rung-up by a regular Recreational player likely every year. The course flows well and (18) finishes by tee (1). This is the perfect place to bring your three friends Barley, Wheat and Hops to have a relaxing round of disc golf.
- NAVIGATION - Good enough. Nice course map next to the course parking lot. A scorecard box is under tee sign (1). Drum-roll, please........................................ filled with garbage. Good condition tee signs in typical HB Clark fashion. I didn't notice any navigational cues between holes, so I strayed off course a touch a couple of times. However, with a quick check of the map, I got back on track quickly.
- NIGHT GOLF - It was pretty cool seeing night lights on top of all of the baskets. Now granted I played during the day, but these lights seemed to be in working order. This may be one of those few courses that can actually be bagged under darkness.
- CHARACTER - In addition to the noted navigation items, there are a few other extras of note. Practice basket, nearby picnic tables and shelters. The basics of tees and baskets are solid too. DISCatcher baskets and 5 foot by 10 foot concrete tees.
- QUICK PLAY - One of quicker 18s I've played. Figure 45 minutes for a solo and an hour and a half for a quick four-some.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Although recreational challenges, this course should be good for newer players. Little chance to lose a disc and no heavily wooded holes. The length will encourage beginning players to develop more arm speed to reach perhaps 300 feet and beyond.

Cons: A dearth of complexity
- UNIQUENESS - One of the most monotonous nice looking courses I've ever played. Only a few weeks have elapsed between playing and posting this review and the holes have already begun blending together in memory. An average hole length of 270 feet and only 2 holes vary from this number by more than 55 feet. Just about every hole is a tweener between lightly and moderately wooded. There is just about no elevation and definitely no water in play. The only curveball is (17), which is the nicest tunnel shot that is unfortunately ruined by impractical raised basket placement.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Basically middle Recreational challenges start to finish. Every hole should be birdied by a Recreational player in 10 or so rounds. The only holes I felt tested on were (2) and (17). Shot shaping requirements are minimal and big power is not a requirement. There are a few unnecessary mandos that will force shots in one direction or another and it will punish players that miss. I found their use to be an indication of poor design.
- SPACING - The course is a bit of a squeeze job. I could see a player getting hit from time to time with a big errant throw. Not the worst course out there in these regards, but I'd keep alert on this course.
- HOLE (17) - The best and worst hole on the course. Walking up to the tee, I was presented with a wonderful low profile tunnel shot, the first of the day. Then I noticed the basket was in an interesting 6 foot raised pipe placement and on an upslope. Why did the coolest shot have to be the only hole on the layout where it would take divine intervention to ace?

Other Thoughts: War Memorial must be the love-child of Brahan Springs in Huntsville and Lovers Lane in Bowling Green. It looks like a big-time utility course that's probably attracted a huge following. Great for leagues and for those to throw a quick round when an hour of free time opens up. Like Brahan and Lovers, I scored War Memorial at the 2.5 level. This is a very typical style course that I've seen in my travels, and it just doesn't give me the adrenaline rush like on that of the courses I've scored higher. A nice play for those traveling along the Interstate looking for a pit shop and to stretch the legs. However, War Memorial Park shouldn't be anyone's final destination unless friends or family live in town.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - I scored the course average. No major detractors, but it's the same general pleasant city park look hole after hole keeping the score back. No water or rock elements. Elevation is limited to mostly subtle 10 foot changes. As I stated under my Uniqueness con, the course is very monotonous.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and Easy!

1    3/31/2018   4/4/2018
Review By: Nfauce
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes were well maintained and not terribly hard to find for someone out of state, the first time. Variety of throws and one basket being elevated made it a little more challenging than it appears. In a nice family park, providing something to do for the whole family. The memorials of the wars were a very nice touch
Cons: The course is very open and many baskets are spread out almost onto other holes. This made it a little confusing at a distance to determine which basket was the one to throw at. Also most throws were straight ahead of you, so more variety would have made it more challenging and subsequently, more fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course - Has It's Pro's & Con's

2-4    10/25/2016   10/25/2016
Review By: SuperDave1981
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In my opinion, the most appealing aspect of this course is what the park has to offer. There is a nice playground, restrooms, and a very nice walking path that circles the property. The whole family could come and have something to do while you play your round. Overall, the course is very well maintained, which makes it nearly impossible to lose a disc. Each hole has a concrete tee pad with signage that is very easy to interpret. The course offers a variety of throw types and has a moderate number of trees to add to the challenge. It's also relatively flat, which makes navigating the course nice and easy. The Innova Disc catchers are in really good shape and there's even a practice pin located near the entrance.
Cons: Playing the course for the first time might be a little difficult because much of the course is wide open with quite a few pins visible from one location. Each cage has the hole number written on it, but it may be difficult to read from a distance. The course has a nice flow to it, but it would be much easier to navigate if each pin had a sign that pointed to the next hole or if there was a course map to reference. Being that the course is wide open, many of holes are in close proximity to other holes. Throwing onto the fairway of another hole could easily interrupt the play for another group. As previously mentioned, the course is fairly flat, but adding benches in strategic locations would be nice in the event that you have to wait for another group to finish their hole. We played in a group of 4 and let three different groups play through during our round. The only other con that I could think of were the number of other park visitors that might interfere with the game play. Many holes are in very close proximity to the walking path that circles the park. We had to pause when one group walked past, then another group came behind them, and another behind them! This added a lot of time to the hole we were playing.
Other Thoughts: I know it seems like there are more con's than pro's to this course, but overall - I really enjoyed playing this one and look forward to coming back and playing it again when I'm in town! I scouted out Airport Park, which is in close proximity to this one - and War Memorial appears to be leaps and bounds better than that one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My most played course.

5+    7/13/2016   8/14/2016
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 605  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-maintained park with 18 well designed holes. It's short, technical, and can be played quickly. Even though it is short, it's still challenging. There are some unique holes on this course, including the double mando hole 5. Not an easy shot. But, it feels good when you deuce it.

It's a very fun course that will keep you coming back. Mostly flat for an easy walk. A very popular course for families.
Cons: Not many cons to this course. May not be much of a challenge for advanced players.
This course can get very busy and have a lot of walkers on the walking trail.
Other Thoughts: Take time to check out the war memorials along the walking path and brush up on your history!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Safe for first-timers

5+    7/12/2015   8/4/2015
Review By: Miloki
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Clean, landscaped and manicured. What a disc golf course should look like
-Trash cans, benches and beautiful park scenery everywhere
-You can see the pin from the tee on practically every hole
-Great course for first timers, children, anyone who thinks "I cannot play disc golf"; they wont get easy pars or anything, but the course isnt discouraging
Cons:
-Its pretty easy
-Hole 17 is a good place to lose discs, but only if you are careless
Other Thoughts:
-I have played it more than 15x...the trees change throughout 18 holes, but the line really doesn't vary much. If you can drive 275' you will smoke several holes that have no challenge but length, and If you can chuck a mild anhyzer RHBH you are golden.
-Play this course if you are in the area. No better course within a couple hours in my opinion

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt

5+    5/21/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 8.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a VERY nice park. The park is a memorial to our military and pays tribute to all the wars that the USA has been in. You will seee the maint. guys around the park most of the the time. The course itself has a nice layout. I would call this course lightly to moderately wooded. If you miss your line on this course, the problem WILL be the trees. The course is set up as a par 54 and plays very true to par. Most of the holes can be birdied with a well placed drive, but a bogey can be made on any missed line. This course will require you to work the disc. There are several holes that will require a fade,while there are a couple of big turn holes as well. There are 2 mando's on this course. Hole 5 has a double mando. There you are forced to throw the disc between 2 trees. When you first look at that mando, it doesn't seem to be much of a problem, but it is amazing how many times I miss that mando. Hole 8 also has a mando that requires a nice turn to a guarded basket. Holes 9 and 17 are the signature holes for me on this course. Both are very short and tight-lined holes. I can't find the correct line yet on 9, and I don't ever seem to be able to hit the very small window on 17. Holes 2 and 18 are really the only holes on the course that will allow you to really throw the disc. This is a perfect course for those trying to learn how to 'work' the disc in one direction or the other. The course has good signs and the tee pad are in good shape.
Cons: You can have some trouble with those walking around the course. They don't understand disc golf and can remain in the way and they don't even know it. The only thing that I don't like about the course are the short tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I really didn't like this course the first time I played it, but the more I play it, the more it like it. I have grown to love this course. No it won't rival the great courses of the world, but it is a nice little course to play for a quick round. There is some "Evil Genius" in this course. You can shot a great number here one day and the next day be 5-7 shots worse. You got to love a layout like that. Very Nice Short Course. The course is MUCH greener than the pictures on this site show.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great for getting wet behind the Ears!

5+    9/15/2012   2/16/2013
Review By: Stemplejg
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.1 Years
Pros: Good to learn on, it's not very long, it's open every day. It's never really crowded. Great area just off the course to practice drives, and they also have a practice basket.
Cons: Course could have been made more of a challenge, with the space. Bathrooms are closed during the winter, people can be rude when they don't understand what disc golf is and or the people that think the course is just a normal park.
Other Thoughts: For someone just getting started it's a great course. Just enough trees, and mando's to give a person with less then a year of play time a challenge.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.