Huntsville, AL 
Indian Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: MiketheGoalie Hole #12 (Taken 7/2015)
4 / 720ft.   4 / 720ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fantastic course

1    6/23/2018   6/23/2018
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 130  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 8.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Creek blew me away. I was expecting a high-quality course; I was not expecting to have to go back and review my top 5 -- even my #1 overall -- and figure out where to place this track. I ended up placing it 2nd out of the 122 I've played to date...and just a hair below 5.0. There was *one* thing I'd change about it -- the grass is too high and can cause you to lose discs in wide open fields -- but that is literally the only thing I'd change about it. Darn near perfect course, in my book.

+ First and foremost, Indian Creek combines the three most important factors any disc golfer is looking for: fun, challenging and interesting design, and a beautiful setting. I was not expecting that last piece (beautiful setting), at least to this level, in a public park + city course. Most courses that aren't in the mountains or rural rolling hills are not able to achieve what Indian Creek does: just a beautiful course and picturesque surroundings nestled into a city greenway park. Amazing.

+ The design of this course is just off the charts. I wouldn't change a thing. It's got long, open par 4's to bomb drives. But these holes are not just wide open holes where you throw twice as far as you can. They use the topography -- hills, ridges, creeks, OB, guardian trees, and gaps -- to force the issue on each shot. Many of the open holes finish with wooded greens, tricky approaches, and dangerous putts. Not only does the course have a string of fantastic par 4's (mostly) on the back 9, but the par 3's are a mix of open and a few wooded, all with unique qualities, risk/reward elements, fast greens, multiple lines to take, etc. It has hyzer lines, anhyzer, flex, and straight. It has some elevation. It has water hazards on a few holes. It has a manmade island hole with a large area of rocks (for drainage?) forcing a layup or "go for it!" decision. Name something you'd like to see in a disc golf course. Indian Creek has it.

+ Easy navigation. Newbies will have no problem. The tee signs are detailed and accurate, showing layout, yardage, and all pin placements.

+ Nice big, flat, concrete tees.

+ Good-as-new DISCatcher baskets, some with flags on them for better visibility from the tee. Some baskets are placed near water. Some on hills. #17 is an elevated on on a set of stairs.

+ Multiple pin placements for endless variety, new challenges and fun. Some of the placements change a hole from par 3 to 4 (and vice versa). Great element and well executed.

+ Nice amenities at the greenway: playground, paved greenway trail, benches at many of the holes.

+ Besides the grass, which I'm sure is tough to keep mowed, especially in the summer, the park is remarkably well-maintained for how busy it must get. I didn't see any litter.
Cons: I really don't have anything to gripe about. It would be nice to have short, manicured grass. (They probably get that for tournaments.) When it's wet and high, it can be a little annoying--and easy to lose a disc. (If you see a red Renegade near the bottom of the 10th basket hill, please text me!)
Other Thoughts: Indian Creek is a must-play. Period. I would consider this a destination course. I think it's underrared on DGCR and literally one is the best two courses I've ever had the pleasure of playing. Go throw!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Rocket City Must Play

5+    10/21/2018   12/27/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 313  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2018
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.814 Rating) (REVISED - replayed October 2018) Generally regarded as Huntsville's best, offering a good challenge, unique holes and coddling amenities.
- CHARACTER - Indian Creek has the most extras compared to all the other Huntsville courses. Great course map and community board on the way to (1). Seating at every hole and there is also nice signage as well. The tees are concrete and in good condition. They are 5 feet wide by 12 feet long. The Baskets are DISCatchers and in great shape. Three holes have multiple tees and 13 holes have alternate basket placements. Also, shelters with picnic tables and restrooms. Please note, several reviews noted extra baskets on some holes. These are no longer present, except on hole (18) where the extra basket doubles as the practice basket.
- CHALLENGING - IMO, Indian Creek is either the most difficult layout in Huntsville or second most after Monte Sano. To me the course reads as a tweener between Advanced and Intermediate level. It's an even mix of power holes and precision holes. At the recent tourney (2018 Rocket City Blast), an even par 61 netted the pro players a 942 round rating. Those that excel in length over precision will fair slightly better on this course.
- UNIQUENESS - Indian Creek has the best hole type variety in the Huntsville area. Completely open through heavily wooded holes. Water comes into play a couple times on holes (15) and (18) depending on the basket placement. There are some deep twisting pockets to hit and a few full tunnel fairways. Several par 4s and one of them has an over the top play with a row of trees almost completely guarding the basket from normal elevated shots, (12). Elevation is here, but it's a mild factor. The one drawback on this layout though is the over abundance of wider than normal fairways compared to the top rated courses.
- NAVIGATION - Not too bad. There's a great course map that I took a picture of before I started my first round here and I had to refer to it several times (see cons, Discontinuity.) Hole signage has next tee direction arrows on them and there are a few directional cues scattered along the layout. Unfortunately, the hole signage is starting to deteriorate a bit on a few holes. Please note that if you ever make hole signage, putting wood behind Plexiglas traps moisture and it will rot the sign from within. It's a shame, as it appears some coin was spent on these signs.
- SIGNATURE HOLE - Hole (14) is awesome. A 420 foot par 4 (par 3 during tournaments) tunnel shot that plays down around 30 feet. IMO, this is the signature shot of all the Huntsville courses.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Although not a recreation level course or a pro level course, the course somehow manages to provide a prefect middle ground with just the one set of tees on most of the holes. The odds of losing a disc is low, great for recreation players. Several fairways are long enough and tight enough to provide a challenge to lower end advanced players.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - The natural beauty of this course is top notch. Among the better ones I've seen in North Alabama. A few holes have some cool terrain, lots of mild sloping fairways and a few fully wooded areas. A nice looking large creek runs through the layout. I really wish more baskets used this element, but it's a pretty swift current, so I suppose it was mostly omitted for safety reasons.

Cons: No issues of substance with Indian Creek. It's a solid course through and though.
- DISCONTINUITY - This course a has a couple long transitions that exceed 200 feet between holes. Be sure and take a picture of the course map or have a printed one. It's needed to make these longer transitions.
- ELEVATION - Probably the second best course in town in regards to elevation usage, but a far cry from elevation awesomeness. The max change on any one holes is around 30 feet. There's a couple good down shots on (7) and (14). Hole (9) is a lengthy par 4 that runs up probably 30 feet in grade to the far basket.
- TIME PLAY - This course takes the longest to play in Huntsville and it wears me out. Well over an hour solo and 2 1/2 to 3 hours for group of four. Players looking for a quick 18 in town should check out Brahan Springs instead.
- WIND - Several holes have very wide fairways on top of a rolling hillside. Wind will be more of a pronounced issue here than at other surrounding courses.

Other Thoughts: Having played all the area courses, IMO this is the top course in the Huntsville area, with Redstone being a distant second. I have been asking area players their favorite course and I have definitely gotten the most votes for Indian Creek. Even when it isn't a players top choice, it's generally their second favorite. Regardless of skill level, players visiting the area should definitely place Indian Creek high on their list for courses to check out. The course offers almost everything most seasoned and well traveled players want in a destination course, such as fun, challenge, beauty and shot diversity. Overall I have this course as a ratings tweener. I'd give it a 3.75 if I were allowed to do so.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Huntsville's Best

5+    8/7/2017   8/8/2017
Review By: wericsson
Played: 48  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes, Discatcher baskets, concrete tees, quality tee signage and NexT signs where needed, so that ticks all the "basics" boxes. Short/long tees on three holes, and multiple pins on thirteen.

Par 57-62, 6255-8094 feet.

There are no gimme birdies out here. The shortest holes are 260, 275 and 280 feet, and all three of those holes have unforgiving greens - a narrow ridgeline, an elevated pin, and water inside the circle, respectively. From there, the distances go much higher, running up to a 735 foot par 4 with water. Water is present on four holes, and only two lack OB altogether. Elevation is present on several holes, from a downhill tunnel to a 610 foot climb up roughly 50 feet. Additionally, for such a long course, the variety of wooded holes is pretty solid.

Overall, I would call this Huntsville's best offering -
the design tests a variety of lines off the tee, demands accurate placement shots over long distances, has some tricky greens, and does not at all feel repetitive: each of the 18 holes has its own distinctive character.
Cons: The grass grows at an absolutely absurd pace in summer, and it isn't for want of mowing - the city does a commendable job of trying to keep it knocked back, but you'll still probably wander the great grass seas of the middle holes searching aimlessly for your drives at a few points.

Hole 15's green (or the approach to it, depending on pin position) happens to be a popular swimming hole.

The trees in the middle of 18's pond seem to get bigger and bigger every time I visit, as trees often do. Those could get to be a problem over the mid term.
Other Thoughts: This is not really a beginner course, if that wasn't clear, nor would I particularly relish the experience if I wasn't able to tolerate heat - shade is scarce through the middle, and those are holes that could take a while.

I noticed some previous reviews indicated multiple baskets on many holes, not just multiple positions. At the moment, this does not appear to be the case, aside from hole 18.

If navigating by GPS, get directions to Creekwood Park, NOT Indian Creek Greenway, unless you want to enjoy the (admittedly quite pretty) two mile walk up to the course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Creek Speak

1    11/4/2016   12/11/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 413  Reviewed: 310  Exp: 15.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The pros for Indian Creek DGC stack up well. Included in a standard round are 18 holes, fully outfitted with tee signs and Discatcher baskets, most with multiple pin positions and/or multiple concrete tee pads (excludes holes 8, 10 and 16). Some holes have 2 baskets in place at all times as well. Park grounds feature both large grassy fairways ranging from flat to moderate changes in elevation over rolling hills, and more narrow defined fairways through dense woods, sometimes combining the two. Hazards you might encounter are windy conditions, dog doo, OB lines consisting of water, massive rock covered traps, and walking trails. The often lengthy layout and mature stands of trees may require distance and accuracy, and the pin placements will frequently play very fast with approaches and putts easy to overshoot or roll away from. 5 par 4 holes, played consecutively from hole 9 to hole 13. Layout of the course is not too crazy, but it is easier to follow if you print the map linked to the course page, or find a guide. The utilization of the landscape to keep the course from being dull or repetitive is very well done.
Cons: Don't let google maps take you to Indian Creek Greenway, it is parking and access to the walking trail, and a fairly long walk to the disc golf course. Follow the directions on the course home page. Pedestrians are in close proximity to the course at times, notably on hole 4, so take precautions when necessary.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that gave me a tough time. I played on very nice afternoon, and was joined/guided by a friendly local dude named Darren for most of the round. Scored a (+8) 67 with birdies on hole 6 and hole 15, far outweighed by 6 bogies and 2 double bogies. A slow start and that stretch of par 4's put me deep in the red, and poor play in the short game kept me there all day. I found the course to be challenging and still very fun to play. My favorite holes were 5, 7, 9, and 10. Hole 5 is mostly open in front of the hole, but guarded by a hillside that has been anchored in place with piles of boulders. This is farther than it appears, OB, and I threw directly into the center of it. Big arm or bust, the latter for me. 7 is downhill, but there is a line of trees that must be thrown over or around. 9 is the first par 4, hidden from view off the tee by a tall hill and quite a few mature trees, and after you make your way around those uphill a fair distance. Hole 10 is a long drive over an open field of grass, through a gap in the trees that drops in elevation before topping another hill with the basket on top. Worth a trip if you find yourself with discs and spare time in North Alabama.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in the area

1    10/10/2016   10/13/2016
Review By: olmster
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course is part of an overall park area in very good condition although some of the fairway grass needed to be cut. No rain lately so no excuses in not being cut. Multiple par 4's that are tough for amateur players but can be done. Good wall map at the outset which everyone should take a photo of on first time played. Just an overall excellent layout and good scenery in & around a greenway along Indian Creek.
Cons: I didn't take a picture of the wall map and had a hard time locating the 3rd hole. It is a fairly good distance across the creek bridge. Some signage directing you would be good. Several holes are close in proximity to people on the greenway so you will have an audience for your shots. #12 hole is a long par 4 with one gap through a fenced tree line that you can't see from the tee.
Other Thoughts: A very nice course and best by far in the area.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, but approachable

1    8/27/2016   8/27/2016
Review By: Taylor510ce
Played: 15  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -good mixture of "gettable" and challenging holes
-plenty of "3able" par 4's if you really hit your lines well.
-some nice tunnel shots
-some room to roam for big arms
-if you're an am, you can still shoot under par and really enjoy the day!
Cons: needs "next tee" signs
Hole 15 could use a warning sign for the pedestrians


0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Mt. Airy of Huntsville

5+    8/7/2016   8/13/2016
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 447  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 9.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent design. Does not get repetitive! Tons of elevation. A large flowing creek comes into play on 3 holes. OB walking trails, large rip rap rock OB on one hole. Beautiful well-maintained park.
Cons: The only cons I can think of is you have to walk across hole 18 to get to 1's teepad. And I wish hole 15's basket would never move from across the creek.
Other Thoughts: This course separates the men from the boys. I don't have a huge arm, but the challenge of this course keeps me coming back. Need a few more of these in Northern Alabama.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

2-4    7/8/2016   7/8/2016
Review By: Glitch
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a great variety of shots. The course is also very well maintained. On my way through as I played there were workers taking care of the course. They could get in the way, but they are very polite.
Cons: Dispite there being multiple baskets marked, they arent there at times. it can be confusing at times. Theres also alot of walking between basket to tee when transitioning.
Other Thoughts: Great course, I'd want to play it again when it isnt the most hot out

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This place was AMAZING !

1    11/2/2015   11/2/2015
Review By: Tailwalker00
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: EVERYTHING: TEES, Hole design, FLOW, Bathrooms, Alum. benches, HD Tee signs. Well Kept, Green-way there but designed to be accesible but not in the way. IMO, The best in ALABAMA !
Cons: Nothing other than the length which only some people find tho be a con.
Other Thoughts: This place is great and is definitely worth the trip if you love great courses. We played in the rain the day we were there and yet still give it a 5 rating. Drainage and course so great!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/26/2015   9/27/2015
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 100  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 15.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can see why this is the second highest rated course in the state. The course is beautiful and has plenty of challenge. The course is pretty easy to navigate. I took a map and had to use it on a few occasions but would have been alright without it. The course is very pretty...rolling hills with some long bombs and a few tighter holes around the walking track. Tee signs and pads were adequate...it would have been nice to know which pin placement it was in. This required a bit of scouting on a few holes to figure out where I was throwing. There was a really long hole on the back 9 that this really messed me up on throwing toward a row of trees with the pin tucked way back to the left but without knowing I just went straight ahead and lost a stroke or two. All of that speaks to the length of the course. Not a ton of birdies out there as the holes are pretty long with just enough OB to keep things interesting and make you either get creative or stick to the fairway. Undergrowth wasn't bad, which is a huge plus...losing a disc here would be pretty hard, another plus for the course. Benches were very, very handy and also made finding the next tee easier.

Just get ready to do A LOT of walking and you should be fine. It was nice how the course double back to the parking lot and had a bathroom facility at the start.

Just a heads up for first timers...when you walk up to the park and walk toward the course from the parking lot...walk out to the pad for hole 1 and throw along the tree line...the pin is tucked back into those woods, just be careful as there is a creek that runs alongside holes 1-2. You then have to cross the bridge and play a few tight blind holes that required a bit of scouting to figure out where I was throwing.
Cons: No pin markers on the signs. Grass was pretty high preventing rollers, which would have been awesome on this course. Other than that...nothing really to complain about. This is a solid course and one that you definitely need to try out if you are in the area.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play this course again some time. I played it pretty cautiously the first time through to not lose any plastic but now that I see that would be pretty hard to do I would play it more aggressively. Whoever keeps this course up...great job.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.