Austin, TX 
Austin Ridge Bible Church Share
Uploaded By: judson Hole #17 (Taken 12/2009)
3 / 257ft.   3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
What a beating, what a great course

1    3/6/2018   3/11/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 474  Reviewed: 263  Exp: 30.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee sign on almost every hole
short and long cement tee pads on almost every hole
Several 2 shot holes
great use of natural fairways
Cons: The rough is rough, you don't want to be off the fairways
LOTS of rocks to chew up your discs
Alternate holes were rough
Other Thoughts: Wow, Austin has some good courses, this is one of them for sure.

I do not recommend playing this course by yourself, there are several holes you need a spotter for.

This is a Church that has some land they made available for a disc golf course, and what a piece of land. John Houck is a good job (as always) laying out this course. Parking is literally on the dam, There is a kiosk map at the entrance to the course, a short walk down the path (that could use some markings, I walked down the wrong path the first time) to hole 1.

After these first 3 holes, I was super excited about playing this course. I played from the blue (long) because there is where the tee signs were.

Hole one starts off with a reachable shot, don't throw too far off the left or you are down the hill.

Hole two is a true 2 shot hole throwing across a ravine up and to the right.

Hole 3, another two shot hole throwing mostly open with a dogleg to the left and down the hill and across the small creek.

Hole 4 takes advantage of the natural fairways with a little work. A 2 shot fairway running to the right.

Then you get some fun little holes looking for 2's. 5, 6 and 7

Then back to some 2 shot holes, 8, 9, 10, all taking advantage of natural fairways.

11 has you throwing up the hill with a tight fairway.

Then you have two alternate holes.

Hole 11A plays around 300 ft up the hill, this is an awkward angle to throw your drive with almost no fairway. We had to walk up 1/2 way to the basket before we could even see it.

The fairway consist of short shrubbery that is nasty to get into.

Hole 11B is almost the same shot going back down the hill. REMEMBER, your disc is going to float, throw a mid-range and HAVE A SPOTTER. The guys I was playing with threw drivers, both landing way to the left of the basket, I threw a classic rock and landed 20 ft from the basket (but behind a cedar tree) This hole also does not have much of a fairway.

Then to hole 12, a similar shot to hole 11B in that is is downhill and the shot is over the tree's. There is a clear area at 300ft between holes 9 and 10's tee. The basket is past this after another tree line. There is a nice gape between clear areas.

then to the swamp hole #13, watch your step, water table is high here and most of the fairway is muddy.

Hole 14 is another classic John Houck two shot fairway down and too the left.

Hole 15 looks easy enough, till you overthrow the basket with that fall off behind it.

16 is a nice longer tunnel shot with a hill on the left hand side.

17 is a good opportunity for a 2, just don't throw to the right or your in the pond.

18 has some distance but is another open hole, over a walking bridge and to a nice grassy green, but a shot landing to the left of this hole is looking at the pond.

In all, this is a well rounded course that makes you use every shot in your bag. Lots of risk reward shots.

Now for the question, would I play here again?

Yes, This is a course I WANT to play again now that I have played it once. I feel I left a lot of good shots out there. I want redemption. I didn't keep track of my score, but it was not good.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Witness to a skip ACE

2-4    3/2/2018   3/3/2018
Review By: Davesdisc
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 33.5 Years
Pros: The course is great shape. With it being late winter there's little ground foliage and vegetation and nominal overgrowth to contend with which means you should get out and play this gem of a course. Errant discs were fairly easy to find. Not many ant mounds or bugs either. It'll be a lot different in few months.
Cons: Signage could be upgraded. A couple of holes across the street near the ball fields has some water seeping up from the ground due to the nearby underground springs and high water table. The path to the tee-boxes are normally wet and muddy. Not too terrible but will need to be cautious with your steps.
Other Thoughts: I was witness to a skip ACE on # 6 (148' tee-box). My brother scored his third ever hole in one on a fairly difficult short par 3. A very narrow tunnel leading to the hole that is lowered than the tee box with a few trees up near the basket. His disc caromed off the rocks about 20 ' from the basket, tilted vertically as it went into for the ACE. Stupendous Shot!!!

Austin Bible Ridge

2-4    1/7/2017   2/14/2017
Review By: tst3c
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ABR is a great course- it could be the most challenging in the area for me. It has a medly of technical shots, tight windows and some elevation changes that really challenge your repertoire. You'll probably need both BH+FH shots, I needed both for sure. Errant shots will be brutal on most holes, so eat your breakfast with a side of Scambles (bad joke time, sorry)

The variety for the holes themselves is really good! There area many different shapes on holes- not only with doglegs but in elevation changes. Length-wise this course boasts many shorter holes but a ton of long bombers as well. The technicality is the most divisive factor for this course, as accuracy is ridiculously important if you want to stay competitive here. However, the design is truly exceptional.

It's more than worth a visit if you are a very skilled player or if you're down for a major challenge.
Cons: It's pretty unkempt overall, so even some fairway shots can be hard to find in the tall grass. With elevation comes errant shot hell, so one slip-up and it can be awful trying to find your discs. Also, the signage is somewhat lacking, so I had a really difficult time not only finding the course but also where to start.

Despite calm days, there are a few holes in the hills that somehow are always windy for me. It happens, just be aware.

There are some hikers that walk the trails as well as the course. It isn't frequent enough to sway your opinion of visiting for the first time, but it can get annoying.
Other Thoughts: Bring snacks/water. This is a pretty difficult course not only to play but to navigate. The challenge is well worth it for competitive players

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

one of Austin's best

2-4    11/13/2016   12/29/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 314  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -excellent terrain on a beautiful property with lots of hills, trees, a creek, a pond, etc
-concrete tees with dual tees on most holes (13)
-great signage
-excellent course design with lots of challenging holes
-makes great use of the natural obstacles
-the rough is punishing for your score but disc retrieval is not too bad
-several picturesque holes and memorable shots
-two wild bonus holes at the top of the hill
Cons: -some places tend to get a little overgrown, even more so from the long tees
-the rocky ground and hills make for dangerous conditions after the rain
-the walk from hole 9 to hole 10 crosses hole 12 which is a blind, downhill bomb so watch your head
-hole 13 must have some kind of spring underground nearby, it's been wet every time i've played
-the pars are a bit generous for the short tees
-course map is now missing from the kiosk
-definitely not a beginner-friendly course, expect to struggle if you can't throw at least 200' with high accuracy
Other Thoughts: Austin Ridge Bible Church has matured into a great course. This almost entirely wooded track is exactly what you would expect from a John Houck design and the course is getting to be pretty well worn so the lines are fair and the trails are mostly pretty easy to follow. In classic Houck fashion there are tight lines and many holes that require accurate placement off the tee to set up the following shot, plus a plinko hole or two (this course has two, 7 & 15).

The course makes great use of the natural features of this gorgeous hill country terrain. There are small ravines and a creek in the area around hole 1-3 & 6-7, the middle holes 8-12 plus the bonus holes play across a scrubby wooded hillside, the backside features some longer fairways, and the final two holes make use of a small pond. Some of my favorite spots are hole 3 with its picture perfect green next to the creek, hole 17 the green nestled next to the pond, the short but demanding uphill hole 11, and the downhill bomb on hole 12.

The holes are challenging and require accuracy and a good game plan. There are 8 par 4 holes (9 if you count the bonus holes) and each of them requires a well-placed shot off the tee to have a look at a birdie. An eagle doesn't seem likely on any of them either. The short tees have the same par as the long tees but at least half of the par 4 holes should probably be par 3 on the shorts.

I really like this course; it is easily one of my favorites in Austin. It seems like a lot of the early reviews don't reflect the current condition of the course. The tees and signs are great and the lines are fair but tight. It is typical Houck in that regard so if you live in Texas and have played many Houck courses you know what that means and what to expect, although it is perhaps a little shorter and more wooded than other Houck courses. A must play for serious golfers.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of Austin's Best

1    12/20/2015   10/19/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 283  Reviewed: 242  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the most amazing courses in all of the Austin Metro Area. (4.25 stars)
- The thing I find best about Bible Ridge is the layout, the uniqueness of the holes and the raw beauty. All levels of players will definitely be amazed with this course as every hole and shot will require the players mental focus. Precision, not length, will be at a premium and every shot style and launch angle will have to be perfected for a player to slay this course.
- As for the holes themselves, there are true doglegs, pocket shots, window shots, blind angles, overhead plays, water elements (creeks and ponds) a bunch of par 4s, a gimme hole, and a "I cant make that gap" hole. The course is among the most diverse set of holes I've ever played (60 courses played as of this review) Really the only thing that's missing is an wide open hole and a par 5.
- In addition, there are a lot of elevation changes, probably among the most in all of Texas. Some holes probably have an elevation change of about a 100 feet (#11a 100' up and #11b 100' down). Players that are not fans of elevation, should stay clear of this course.
- There are 3 holes that specifically stand out as just plain amazing. #3 and #11B and #12. Hole #3 is a dog leg left par 4 that starts off pretty straight and mundane. after the drive, the fairway then dives 30 foot down a ridge and to the left. the 2nd shot will have to clear a creek at the bottom of the valley to where a basket lies no more 30 past the creek. Players don't have to worry too much about throwing it far as a cliff beyond will stop most long throws.
- The second standout hole is the unquestioned signature hole of the course. Hole #11B, which many unaware players may skip. After hole #11, players have a choice to continue onto #12 or play #11A. Hole #11A looks extremely daunting as it plays up a 30 degree ridge incline with about 100 foot of rise. This is probably why many players skip it. Players that have the physical ability to handle this climb and the time permitting, should play this hole. After finishing the climb and play of 11A has finished, players will approach the next tee, players will then see gap in trees. As they approach further they no doubt will stop in their tracks and pull out their phone to take a picture. Here lies the vista of the ridge looking out and over the central Texas Hill Country. I unfortunately don't have a large enough vocabulary to truly represent the sheer beauty of this hole. To add the cherry on top, they placed a basket at the bottom of this view. Happy Shooting. I personally rate this hole as Greater Austin's Signature hole. Just overtaking my previous personal favorite hole, #15 at Mary Moore Searight.
- Hole #12 is another great down-hill shot. Which actually reminds me a bit of the before mentioned hole at Searight. Be sure to keep your drive low. Players won't realize it teeing from within the trees, but there is more than likely brisk winds above the tree line. Our group of 6 lost a disk on this hole. Plus we spent significant time trying to find 2 other disks. Although listed at over 400 feet, a mid-ridge disc might be all that's needed. I personally babied a low speed driver over the hole.
Cons: - Perhaps the biggest complaint you will hear about this course is the upkeep and overgrowth. Considering all the undulations and elevation changes along the course, I'm not surprised that they only beat back the overgrowth a few times a year. My group was very fortunate to play when fairways had just been cut. My advice is to play during the winter, like my group did, so all the rough vegetation will be dead. Playing this course in the springtime during the late part of the rainy season, is a recipe for disaster.
- Furthermore, the overgrowth was still bad in a bunch of spots during my visit. Our group of 6 probably spent an hour searching with most time spent searching on #12 and #15. Players that are inaccurate throwers or those that prefer to bomb away, will not like this course. Please consider the Met Center or Old Settlers instead.
- The course suffers from some navigation issues. The group of 6 I played with had 2 past players and we still found ourselves lost a few times. I highly suggest printing the map on DGCR. There is suppose to be map out at the course, but I never saw it. In addition, the hole signage is about average for the Austin area.
- The course takes a long to time to play, over 4 hours for our 6 pack. In addition, I feel it is the most body stressing of all the Austin courses. There is no water available on site so please be well equipped with drinks and energy bars.
- Although the course has a few of you typically character items like some seating, holes signage and shaded tees, that's about it. There are no bag holders or practice baskets or trash cans or picnic tables, etc. Players that like to be wine and dined with course pampering items, will find Circle C to be a better fit.
Other Thoughts: Players that find course layout, hole uniqueness or beauty as the most important aspects need to check this place out. Bible Ridge will deliver these aspects like no other disc golf course in Austin. Players looking for a laid back round should check out Zilker Park instead. Beginning players be warned, this course will eat you alive.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Technical Course

1    1/28/2016   1/28/2016
Review By: markmcc
Played: 223  Reviewed: 202  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a short, technical course that rewards precision over distance. Built in the Texas Hill Country through thick "cedar" trees, the fairways are tight and the rough is punishing.

Two tee positions on most holes, and the ability to choose the shorter tee was very welcome. The short tees are plenty challenging, with the long tees bordering on "too" challenging for this 850 rated DG'er!

Half of the holes from the short tees are 250' or less. This would usually indicate a "Pitch and Putt" course, but not this time. These little holes are tight and require that you shape your drive well.

There are five 400'+ holes, and all but one are par 4's. These require a careful drive to a landing area, with a second accurate approach to the pin. Miss either of the shots and you're scrambling for bogie.

Concrete tees and excellent tee signs, along with a few benches and trash cans offer all that you can ask for in a course. Porta Potties near the first tee are welcome.
Cons: Navigation was a little tricky, as there are numerous trails winding through the area. Some lead to the next tee, others do not. Make sure to look at the "next tee" arrow on the tee signs and carry a copy of the map.

The terrain is rough and rocky. This is not a course for base plastic discs, and even your premium discs will get nicked and scuffed.

If you love bombing drives over open ground, this is not the course for you.
Other Thoughts: I think it is remarkable that a church has incorporated this excellent disc golf course into their property and opened it up to the general public. I hope that we will respect the wishes of the church by not littering, watching our language, etc.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of Austin's best

5+    8/1/2015   9/27/2015
Review By: kerplunk
Played: 42  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good teesigns
Concrete teepads on all holes.
Two teepads on most holes.
Good baskets.
Good variety of shots required.
Good variety of hole shapes and lengths.
Pretty isolated, nice scenery.
Houck design, meaning clearly defined lines and landing zones on all holes, even if they are hard to hit sometimes.
Not crowded.
Benches and trashcans on some holes (~1/3 or 1/4)
Creek in play on 4 or 5 holes makes a fun challenge with little chance of losing a disc.
Pond throwover on 18, the long tee is a good challenge and the short tee is reachable for most players. Also, easy to bail out to the right if you don't want to risk the water at all.
Good elevation changes, especially for Texas.
Cons: No water (for drinking)
Limited restroom facilities.
Difficult terrain, rocky and uneven.
Difficult to navigate the first few times.
Discs can be surprisingly difficult to find in the "cedar forest."
Bonus holes 11A and 11B are both blind landings, I don't play either by myself (see above con).
Discs lost in the pond on 17 or 18 are usually difficult to retrieve due to cattails.
Could use more benches and trashcans.
No long open holes (not really a con for me, but I know some people love to bomb).
Other Thoughts: This is generally agreed to be one of the top 3 or 4 courses in the Austin area, and is many people's #1. The level of play is not necessarily too hard for beginners, but due to the lack of water and the difficult terrain this is a course that one needs to be prepared for, whether beginner or pro. Navigation can be a bit tough, so it would certainly help to have a map or guide the first few times. The Houck design means it is often tough but fair. Short and long teepads let you choose the level of challenge, although I have been told the course was "meant to be played" from the longs, and the longs are certainly more epic shots or more strategic shots on many holes.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/8/2015   2/12/2015
Review By: McChains
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: WAY BETTER THAN CIRCLE C
This course is amazing. Great elevation changes with a great mix of long and shorts and up and down shots. This course will challenge every phase of your game. Recent work has been put into this course and is in amazing condition
Cons: Not for beginners but thats what I love about this course
Other Thoughts: This course should be rated better than it is

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Review

5+    1/17/2015   1/21/2015
Review By: Pa3Money
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has great holes. It is very challenging with technical shots. It has great variety with its long and short tees. It is a very scenic layout, and it is fairly easy to find you way around. It isn't that busy so you will not get backed up on it. It is one of the best courses in Austin. I think that it is one of the most underrated courses in Austin
Cons: -No restrooms
-No water facilities
Other Thoughts: This course should be up there with some of the best courses in Austin. Lets get it there!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge Accepted - This Course Will Provide You With It

5+    11/15/2014   12/29/2014
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - tight tunnels
- challenging lines
- changing elevation
- accuracy/consistency is rewarded
- beautiful layout and serene setting
- Hole 11A/11B provides great rewards with scenic views
Cons: - limited restroom facilities at location
- no water outlets on site
- people leave their trash (Pack In/Pack Out)
- better signage to direct from holes 11B towards hole 13+ across the road (follow the paths downhill)
- Basket 11B markings (tall pole no longer visible near basket)
- do not play this course alone unless you have played it before (you can get lost or it simply takes a long time to find your discs in the rough)
Other Thoughts: This is one of the original and challenging John Houck designs, so if you are expecting a "casual" round, you should honestly look elsewhere.
The "Backyard" as it is known is a GREAT course for almost all levels of players; only because I think beginners should avoid these challenges unless they are paying a penance for previous disc golf transgressions.

**Most people put "Cons" noting the long course, the difficulty level, the rocky ground, etc. To me that is not a "Con" it is a "Pro" so that you will know what to expect. After you play here, you will learn what level of disc golf you enjoy most and what you need to improve on or sustain in your DG game.**

The course is challenging with tight fairways, significant elevation changes, rocky walks, uneven ground, and water/OB/rough locations that can sometimes be unforgivable.

Al holes offer there own unique challenges to individual throwers.
Hole 11A/11B are always a challenge since you are throwing up/down a sharp angle.
Hole 17/18 have challenging OB's with the water

Disc golf is not always about the casual round and if you want to strengthen your game while enjoying the serenity of the Austin outdoors, come here and give it a try.

Notes: Bring lots of water and energy snacks because the course is long. RESPECT the area and the course since the church graciously allows players on their property (this is PRIVATE land). Lastly, have fun since this is a true gem of a course that allows you some great disc golf opportunities and fun.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.