Frankstown, PA 
Canoe Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: jblough Hole #1 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Mid-state good 9'er.

1    3/30/2017   3/30/2017
Review By: Jags
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.7 Years
Pros: These are the things that make this a good course:
- nice variety of open to wooded holes
- decent baskets
- ease of navigation through the course
- multiple bathrooms around course
- other amenities throughout park (theirs a concession stand behind #1 tee box if it's in season)
Cons: These are the things I think needs mentioned or could be improved upon:
- better signage & directional signage
-updated tee pads (some of the rubber pads were worn and a couple were uneven)
- a little more clear cutting on the wooded holes
- this course can be down-right muddy in spots
- I imagine this course is usually a windy course being right beside the lake (it blew my entire round anyhow)
- some of the wooden bridges that take you between fairways need replaced

Other Thoughts: This is a good 9 hole course that could be even better given a little more TLC around the edges. Navigation through the course was pretty straightforward but some directional signs and better tee signs on every hole would make it that much nicer. It would also be nice to see this turned into an 18 hole course. Cement tee pads would go a long way but I've never played a 9 hole course that has them. Overall I think this is a good 9 hole course that is worth playing if you're in the area. I believe every hole is a par 3 so it would be nice to see... if they put another 9 holes in, a couple 4's or a 5.

 My favorite course

5+    2/24/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: I_Like_Juice
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great location and use of empty space within the park. Lots of parking close to the first hole. Great signs directing you to the course, and from hole to hole. Nice length of holes, and 2 different sets of tee pads for each hole. The water isn't a hazard unless you get crazy on hole 9. Great for beginners, not too many obstacles, rough isn't overly thick. Still fun to play in the winter, even with some snow on the ground.
Cons: The rubber tee pads are getting a bit lumpy. Sometimes the grass can be a little high, weeds on the sides of holes 2/3 can be very high. On a busy day, hole 8 and 9 could be crowded with park visitors. (particularly speaking of a group of sunbathers right between basket 8 and tee pad 9?? Why??)
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite place in the area to play as of right now. I have been playing for a couple of months, and I am still learning how to increase distance and be more accurate. This course is more forgiving for mistakes, but yet still challenging and fun. I play here every time I get near it! Highly highly recommend it!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A great course in the Altoona area

2-4    10/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: obi1keno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/3/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is in great condition! There is a nice variety of hole types. Some are wooded, some are open, some have trees you'll strategically have to throw around. As a beginner, I found the white tees very intimidating as some trees were planted right in front of them. Perhaps in a year or two I'll be able to tackle those. The red tees were a lot of fun though.

There is a disc golf display board next to the first tee that has scorecards and it also states you can borrow discs if you have an ID (sorry voters) and can return them before 400PM. I didn't confirm this though as I had my own discs.

The holes were in great shape also. I'd play here again in a heart beat.
Cons: I found the hole description signs at the tees difficult to read at times because they weren't clear (in my opinion) where the hole was and what direction you facing. As it was my first time playing here, I had to walk couple holes first to find the holes because the tee sign just wasn't making sense to me and you can't see the hole from the tee. It would be nice if the pictures looked more like a ball-golf layout. At least I could understand that. Some of the holes are near the park road so you may need to wait for traffic to pass before launching one.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in the Altoona, PA area. I found it a little nicer than Valley View Park, but then again on a sunny, calm day in early fall, not much would be better than this place.

The park was hardly populated when I went on a Wednesday afternoon. It would likely be much busier on a weekend.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quality 9

2-4    9/7/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 88  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 10 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has great signs, tee pads, and baskets. It uses the woods that are near and around the park well. All of the holes are long enough to be "real holes" there are not any of those wide open 200 foot holes.
Cons: It is only 9 holes which kind of stinks. Other than that I can not really think of any cons that would prevent you from wanting to play this course.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice 9 holes course. It is in the middle of literally nowhere. I don't think I would recommend driving more than 25-30 minutes to play this course. But if you are in that range it is at a really nice park and a fun course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course with great backdrop

2-4    7/4/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: dm734593
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course has a great atmosphere with the lake in sight and it combines a woodsy feel as well.
-Wide open fairways, with a few short wooded holes as well that test one's accuracy as well
-Good Innova baskets
-Grass was in good length and well maintained
-Bathrooms in close proximity
Cons: -Wooded areas have lots of thorn bushes, so finding a disc that has gone off the path can be trying
-Experienced players may find the course too easy
-Picnic tables near holes 8 & 9, and if you over shoot hole 1, the main road coming into the parking lot is there
Other Thoughts: The park was very busy when I went (albeit it was July 4), but the people were out of reach and not a liability when throwing. Overall, a good course that is close to where I normally play (Valley View Park, Altoona, PA). It was a good change up from playing at Valley View, and I recommend the course to intermediate players like myself and also to beginners who are just learning.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole starter

5+    3/22/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: sloppyeric
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great 9 hole course located in central PA. The multiple tee positions make it possible to play an "18 hole" course. There are a wide variety of holes, with open fields you can bomb as well as tight wooded fairways that require more finesse and control. Plays through the park very well with some secluded holes away from any people at the park and it makes great use of the natural surroundings. Several of the holes have elevation changes that provide an added challenge. A fun course to walk through and enjoy. There are beautiful views of the mountains as well as the lake. It's also usually pretty well maintained as the park employees often keep the grass cut and fields free of liter. Favorite holes: 1, 4, 8, 9.
Cons: There are only 9 holes. They definitely have the space to make at least 5 other holes (use of many of the already cleared woods and trails). It's shortness also means it is played rather quickly. Some advanced players may not find it challenging enough. On nice summer day, especially weekends, the park can be very crowded, which can be hazardous on some of the hole (8 and 9, which are close to the water and picnic/fishing areas, in particular)
Other Thoughts: A great and somewhat challenging course for beginner and intermediate players. Great use of the natural alleys and offers a nice walk through a beautiful park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course in PA

5+    11/3/2011   11/4/2011
Review By: skinrazors
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice surrondings, love playing this course close to home, good disccatcher baskets
Cons: ground was a little bit muddy and they could have cut the grass a little bit better
Other Thoughts: if you have a chance to play don't hesitate

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another Great PA State Park

1    5/30/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: amusedbum
Played: 278  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 39 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual tees make it so you can play 18 holes on this nine hole course. Scorecards and maps are available at the kiosk. Great park to take the family and spend the afternoon or the weekend.
Cons: Even with the map it was a bit difficult to navigate between a few holes. We played on memorial day so the park was very crowded and a few holes had safety issues.
Other Thoughts: This is a beginner friendly course. It is great for the whole family.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great family/ beginner course

1    3/19/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: irishdw
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located just mintues outside of Altoona, Canoe Creek State Park has a beautiful 9 basket course. finding the course was easy once you got into the park via Canoe Creek Rd. Scorecards (with a course map on them) are located right beside the first teepad. The course offers two teepads for every hole (Red- Recreational and White- Pros). The Flypad tees looked brand new and were in excellent shape. The baskets were in top notch shape and easy to spot from the teepad. The course looks well maintained and trash free! Its a great course to introduce someone to disc golf, because of how flat it is and requires no finesse types of shots.
Cons: The teepads were not level, but they were usable. They're not too out of wack that you're going to brake an ankle, but they could use some stone underneath them to level up. Although the course was well maintained, it would be nice to see a trashcan at a few holes to help limit the litter on the course. The flight path signs behind the tee's could use a touch up. Even though this course is easy to navigate with the course map, next tee arrows at the bottom of the basket are always helpful. My biggest con is that it is not an 18 hole course! Eric Jon Keim did a wonderful job designing a 9 hole course for what he was giving, but hopefully in the near future the park will allow another 9 to go in.
Other Thoughts: Safety wasn't that much of an issue for me when I was there. The only ones out at the time I played were the guys fishing. I think the designer did a great job keeping the public in mind while designing the course. If I were to nitpick, I would say #1 (playing in between the parking lots and #4 (overthrows could end up in the road) were the two where safety could come into play. I wish the water was more of a factor than it was. if you overthrow #9 by 50' then it could be an issue of you, but other than #9, water doesn't come into play. There are tons of birdie capable baskets. #5 sticks out where its only 200' literally straight ahead of you with nothing in between.
I would definitely come back to Canoe Creek and I would encourage anyone thats in the area to check it out. Its a great course for the whole family to play!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sabathia

2-4    7/5/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 480  Reviewed: 363  Exp: 8.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two tee locations per hole, each with its own basic sign. When combined with the map, the course is easy to navigate. Great baskets. Bathroom and concessions on site. Jump in the creek to cool off!
Cons:
Natural tees. Single basket. Quite flat. Non-players may come into play! :-(
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in the open spaces and through some batches of trees of a very nice public park. The first three holes are very much straight and on the open side. Holes 5-7 challenge you with small trees and brush to force some turns. #8 has you throw through a window formed by a treeline early and miss one large tree late, and #9 is a right-turner, quite pretty with the creek in the background.

Favourite hole: #4. About 350', basket only approachable from the right side. Too short and you'll have large white pines between you and the basket, too long or too far right, and you'll have brush and/or additional trees to deal with - need a well placed initial shot for a simple approach/putt on your second shot.

Very fun course with options for non-golfers. Would be a challenge for beginners, quite good for intermediates, and fun for advanced.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.