Brentwood, TN 
Fellowship Bible Church Share
Uploaded By: Rondpitt   (Taken 8/2013)
Course Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Bagger Badges Available Inside

1    5/19/2018   8/8/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.724 Rating) A lightly wooded Recreational 9 hole course.
- RECREATIONAL FRIENDLY - Most newer Recreational players thru Beginners should be satisfied by the holes lengths and light obstacle challenges. There are a few fringe overgrowth areas, a pond and some very small creeks to avoid. There is generally ample bail out room to make the hazards manageable. Most fairways have one substantial obstacle to avoid, and this should be enough to keep newer players somewhat entertained and not overwhelmed.
- NIGHT GOLF - This would an ideal night golf course. Spacious fairways, only moderate overgrowth and few water hazards in play.
- QUICK PLAY - For a nine holer this one actually takes longer than normal. I finished in 40 minutes solo. I had estimated 30 before arriving and it made me late for my next round at Seven Oaks. Figure 80 minutes for a foursome.
- LOCATION - Perfect for course baggers as the course is not even a 5 minute drive off of the interstate.

Cons: An underdeveloped 9 holer short on imagination.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - A touch below the average course. The seven par 3s from the back tees average 275 feet and are generally lightly wooded. There are also two open par 4s in the 500 foot range. I think the course difficulty would be perfect for those between a 800 and 850 rating. Those in the 900s will be very underwhelmed by this layout.
- WATER HAZARDS - Although it won't really make an impact on skilled players, Beginners thru newer Recreational players, that this course targets, will have to contend with a pond shot on hole (4). There is also a small creek to throw over on (1) and a few mini ditches that could get interesting immediately after heavy rains. All stated, I'm glad the water features exist and they are more of a benefit in my ratings than a subtraction.
- TEE AREA - Grass surfaces marked by two white stakes. By looking at the hole data on DGCR, there use to be two sets of both red and white stakes on every hole, however I only saw one pair of red stakes.
- CHAINS - Mach IIs I believe as I counted only 18 chains. Not the most generous basket obviously but at least they weren't Instep baskets which seem to populate almost every church course I've played.
- CHARACTER - Well below average. In addition to poor tees and baskets, there are no other extras or amenities.
- MAINTENANCE - The grass was a bit long when I showed up on an early morning May round.
- ELEVATION - The flattest course I've played is Nashville thus far (8 area courses as of this review). Less than 15 feet of change on every hole.
- UNIQUENESS - In addition to no elevation, the overall variety is below average. As stated, a lightly wooded layout. The holes generally require no shot shaping and can be attacked several different ways. Hole distances vary a little, roughly 225 feet to 325 feet for the par 3s and 500 feet for the par 4s. Hole (6) is a nice dogleg right bending hole. There are also a few water elements, but again their impact is not that overwhelming.
- NAVIGATION - Not the best but still manageable. I could not find a map online and there is none posted on site. As stated, there are large white stakes that indicate every hole. Most of these had a readable hole number on them but a couple did not. There are zero directional cues. I aimlessly walked around at least 5 minutes looking for stakes and had to make lots of guesses on where to head next. The only thing that makes the course navigation manageable is the general openness of the layout.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - A touch below average. Mostly just open fields. The pond on (4) obviously spices things up a bit. The pond that fronts the basket has a nice untouched appearance to it. I like the ending of hole (1) which has a nice creek protecting the basket. On the flipside, there's a lot of endless open areas. Also, manmade features such as roads, parking lots and buildings are in view almost the entire time.
- WIND - Calm on the morning I played, but probably not normally the case considering how open the course is.

Other Thoughts: The Fellowship course is in a nice area and I think it will work as a utility course for those in the neighborhood and up to 5 miles away. There is no reason for those in other parts of the Nashville metro area to come here unless they feel the need to try out every course in town. So why then is someone from out of town like me straying here? Well, I had a round planned at Seven Oaks and I thought I could squeeze in a warm-up course since I was passing by here on I65. I got up at 4 AM to make this happen. Does that make me a course bagger?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bland 9 hole

1    7/20/2015   7/20/2015
Review By: RayRay
Played: 122  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Still has some long shots
- A few of the holes (1,2,4,9) have obstacles
Cons: - Grass can be really rough (knee high) on some holes, dirt pads, no signs
- Just open holes without much character
Other Thoughts: The course condition is too rough for casual players to enjoy and too bland for more serious players

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

5+    10/5/2014   10/5/2014
Review By: Vibramterraius
Played: 37  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/28/2016
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in an area that is well maintained there is excellent parking and ease of access.

The course is mostly open yet it has enough balance of trees streams and ponds to add eye appeal. You can air out some discs on a few throws.

Distances are well placed and the addition of alternate tees really enhances the experience for younger newer disc golfers.
This is truly a wonderful family/friends course if you love disc golf you will enjoy throwing here too.

#1: Just off the parking lot the first Tee is between parking lot and Pond. A strong anhyzer from the tee could end up in the parking lot but shouldn't be a huge issue.
Just in front of the target is a small but tricky stream as well as some trees acting to guard the basket. A driver disc needs to thread the needle. If you lay up on the fairway just before the stream it leaves an approach shot / putt but again it must clear the trees to make a birdie.

#2 From tee two a wide anhyzer here could put you on the roadway paralleling the right of the fairway but not really a distraction. Parallel to the left side of the fairway is the same small stream which comes into play on #1 along with trees running right along with the stream banks.
The target on #2 is located jut off of the stream and guarded by trees. Parking your disc on the fairway to the right of the stream will prevent problems and leave you will a better approach shot for Birdie.

#3 Turns you around and leads you back in the direction of the first target the target is set in the corner where pond and stream meet. The same stream and trees on your left but a slight uphill grade and open field on your right. Over throwing #3 will put you in the stream or in some rough stuff. It's open with no obstructions as long as you don't overhyzer.

#4 Over the pond. The basket is on an elevated pole can be seen easily from the tee. Landing zone across the pond is wide and unobstructed. Landing in the cattails can make it very hard to locate your disc.

#5 Has a slight down slope to target. Just enough trees and brush here to make things interesting if the disc lands off a good track.

#6 Air time!!! At just over 500 feet this one is wide open until you get close to the target. So you can open up with a driver here. There is a canopy of trees over the target. The target is very visible from the fairway but a low accurate throw is needed to keep out of trouble.

#7 Seven is another grip it & rip it throw. Terrain masking keeps the target hidden from the Tee until you are close to midway to the target. Nothing special here once you reach the target it is merely a straight up putt in.

#8 Is a little difficult to find from #7 if you haven't thrown this course before. The proximity is simply that if you approaching the basket on #7 then #8 Tee is to the left and just around the corner of the fence line.
The target on 8 is slightly uphill and a to the left. An over throw will put you in a parking lot. The target is guarded somewhat by trees and can be hard to see from the tee.

#9 Target is guarded by a tree which is directly inline and between the Tee to Basket. Anhyzer around the tree is a good line here. You can use a Hyzer throw here too but the parking lot to the right might be an issue if your disc goes awry.

Cons: Needs better Tees
Needs better markings
Sometimes mowing gets a little far behind
Other Thoughts: Some of us have decide to form up and do an update to the course. So in the very near future you will find better signage, tees and such on this course.

This course has quite a bit of potential as there is even room here for another 9 holes if the project gets fueled.



5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Pleasant Course

1    5/3/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: SlamThoseChains
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to follow
Beautiful scenery
Cons: No concrete pads
Other Thoughts: A great course to either warm up with or to get back in the groove after not playing for a period of time.

This isn't a challenging course, so it is perfect if you want a relaxing round of disc golf.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/24/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: sghdba
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: easy to find the course, and quick to play when you only have a short time. Holes are pretty well marked. Not wooded, but there are some trees and a little water to add a little difficulty.
Cons: an easy course, so if you are looking for a challenge this is not the place.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    6/8/2018   2/16/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 303  Reviewed: 293  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2018
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes. Main challenge here is length, avoiding the ditches/creek/pond and dealing with wind.

The Mach baskets are in excellent shape.

Holes 1,2,4 and the basket area of 5 are decent.
Cons: Too many to be rated high.

Tees are natural and marked by short wood posts. Not all were numbered. Many needed painted and were sitting at all kinds of angles- just doesn't look good. Supposedly red and white tees, but any trace of a red tee I saw was a red post at the white tees.

No tee signs. Navigation is tough from holes 3-7. Holes are wide open with just enough tall grass and elevation to make it frustrating for a first-timer. The only way I figured it out was using the pics on DGCR.

With the exception of hole 2 and the basket area of 5 by the house, the course needs mowed more frequently and also could stand to be mowed shorter. Tall thick grass on 500-700' holes makes finding discs tough. (note the area near the ditches, creek, and ponds, had very tall thick grass- throw in there and you will be searching for awhile)

The small ditches were just wide enough where a few bridges or strategically placed rocks could help with crossing them considering you have to several times.
Other Thoughts: I only played this course because it had been redesigned- sadly still not that great. It now uses the pond and has added a couple long holes, but most holes are still mainly just baskets in an open field.

If you know the navigation, this is an ok place to practice and work on your driving.

Course appears to be used for night glo golf, which is actually probably a better use of the course. For normal day play, Crockett and Liberty are nearby so I would recommend playing there instead.

Some upgraded tee areas, tee signs, a course map, and nicely mowed grass and I would probably rate it a 2.0 (Decent), but until then I am sticking with my original 1.0 (Poor) from 8 years ago before the redesign.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.