Charlotte, NC 
Elon Park - Angry Beaver Share
Uploaded By: DiscChucker Hole #5 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 312ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Fairway to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Soaked by the Angry Beaver

5+    3/27/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: cth0mps0n
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course in the Charlotte area but first a disclaimer: I live next door to Elon so convenience has some bearing on my opinion. It's a very difficult course but is generally a fair challenge. I play it about 5 times per week and never get tired of it. Lots of variety from (a few) short birdie holes to several "just-get-me-outta-here-with-a-bogey" holes. Very heavily wooded- might want to leave the soft plastics in the trunk. A series of creeks wind through several holes along with several retention ponds. Moderate elevation changes but nothing of major consequence. It's long, no way around it. For a reasonably adept 4-some I would expect 2-3 hours to get around the loop. Multiple tees on numerous holes give you a lot of options for changing it up as desired. Trash cans, benches and the like are adequate and there are restrooms in two of the buildings at the park. One of the only courses that you won't hear people worried about their car being robbed! The adjacent short course is nice for a leisurely warm up or to lick your wounds after a rough day at the Angry Beaver. Great community of regular players, too!
Cons: The only hole I take issue with is #8. It's not that long for a par 5 but there is a creek that will make you question physics as it eats up every shot that isn't thrown perfectly. You can miss dead right and somehow go OB left. There are three 90+ degree turns on the hole with a sucker pin above another creek to finish you off. I've seen a lot of decent players take a 5-over par on this hole alone. A few holes demand identical shots even if the holes appear different to the eye. You'll need your anhyzers if you are a RHBH thower. The course can also be very, very muddy after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: It feels like you need raw distance here, but that is a mistake. This course will heavily penalize errant shots so focus on accuracy instead. Watch out for snakes in the warm months- there are a tons of them out here! Mostly harmless, of course, but will still scare you when you realize a copperhead or moccasin is at your feet!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 a bit too angry

1    11/16/2013   12/2/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 9.6 Years
15 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It's tough. It's long. It's challenging. It's tight, woods golf in the Carolina tradition. The angry beaver will drag you down over eighteen holes and spit you out exhausted and beaten down.

There are some nice holes here, starting with 1, a downhill tunnel that forces an extremely straight throw to the pin.

There's a ton of variety with shots moving to either direction and a decent amount of elevation on many of the holes.

Also, if you like forced layups, this will be the best course you have ever played, because they are featured on most of the holes.
Cons: But hard does not not necessarily mean good and Angry Beaver is a good example why. While there are courses that are both challenging and excellent, this is an example of a course that was toughened up to make more difficult while ruining anything that was good about it.

A perfect example of this is what has happened to hole 8. The old 8 was probably the best hole on the course, with a long fairway over a meandering creek. It only needed a few trees removed on the approach to make an excellent signature hole. Instead, it was combined with hole 9(a bad hole with a too severe curve) to make the new 8. It's probably the worst hole I've ever played. It's shaped like a damn question mark. Unless your goal is to play courses shaped like sentences, I can't see you liking this change. It's harder, I guess, but only because it's a ridiculous hole in an artificial shape. This is an absolute disaster of a hole design which has warped the entire course in the name of difficulty.

There are an absurd amount of ninety degree turns here. The course encourages placement on drives, but only so that it can make the majority of drives a forced layup. I stopped counting the sharp turns on this course but none of them increase the fun here. It's a groanfest of sharp corners.

When the fairways don't require layups, they are typically overly long shots. This is evident in some of the new tees, where they are lengthened just for the sake of length. 5 is a good example of that. It's not a fun hole. It's just long.

Long can be good. But after a dozen holes of ugh, long is really bad. For a ton of people it will be a tiresome course full of holes that don't really make sense as disc golf holes.

The biggest problem is how much the course drags towards the end. The holes are long and there is little memorable about any of them. For the last last third of the course, I was more weary than excited. That is accentuated by the similarity between most of the holes and laying up to a ninety degree turn seventy feet down the fairway is extremely frustrating for the sixth time.
Other Thoughts: In many cities, I'd advise checking out the Angry Beaver. It has a lot of good qualities. But in Charlotte, there are a lot better uses of disc golf time.

15 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Do what boss?

1    10/10/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: Rob Martin
Played: 258  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Type of difficulty for some holes were unique such as:
Hole 1 - needed very controlled downhill slope shot.
2 - Blind basket, hyzer over briars, pond and slope away in 2 directions.
3 - Another blind hole, OB behind.
Tight, wooded remainder for most of the remainder of the course.
Cons: If the review is meant to be the *current* condition, this course frustrated the bleep out of me. It is in the middle of a redesin. Some of the new holes will be great, others - at this time - just didn't make sense.
Other Thoughts: In general, I'm not a lengthy essay reviewer. I submit a review primarily to balance a Course Rating if I believe it is skewed high or low to the 95+ courses, 15 states I've played so far. At the time of this review, the course was a 3.83 rating. I was disappointed in it.

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Angry Beaver

5+    10/10/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: dndelli
Played: 60  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2020
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you have ever read any of my previous reviews of Angry Beaver, you'll already be aware that I have been a big fan of the course for a long time. Even advocating for the past decade that it was one of, if not the most criminally underrated courses in the Charlotte area. While the course has seen small tweaks and renovations here-and-there over the years, it has recently seen a rather substantial change that I believe is going to bring Angry Beaver right up in the conversation of destination courses in the Charlotte area, alongside Nevin, Renaissance - Gold, and Hornets Nest.

In all of the previous iterations of Angry Beaver, the course gave players three fairly simple birdies to allow them the chance to create a cushion for themselves before the course began in earnest. That cushion is gone, as hole 1 has been extended (actually playing to the old pin placement for hole 18), and old holes 2 & 3 have been removed. So right out of the gate you can tell that this beaver has had its teeth sharpened. If you continue to play you'll notice many holes have had long tees added (though when I last played the concrete hadn't been poured just yet).

The layout has been reworked and retooled to create much smoother transitions between the layouts. It might confuse veterans of the course at first, but I think with time they will realize the layout is much more fluid now. A short basket has even been added to what is now Hole 2, so that the transition to the short pad of Hole 3 quicker. I noticed that some of the pin placements have been pushed a bit further back and a number of other holes retooled to recreate/revitalize the original intention behind the course.

Angry Beaver, like it always has, places a premium on placement and accuracy over a long distance. The course has many memorable holes which manage to be just as beautiful as they are challenging. The course uses the terrain of the park about as well as it possibly could, and features a variety of different holes where hitting your gap and finding the proper landing zones are key in order to score well. The course has always been designed in a way that it tempts you to really go for it, but really just smart, solid golf is needed here. However, the newly tweaked layout offers players a few more chances to really go for it. The course attempts to use what little elevation the land has to offer a bit of variety, and add a bit of extra hidden difficulty into the course.

While the course is still primarily wooded, and features long, tight fairways - the retooled fairways remove the repetition of layup-after-layup, shot-after-shot. While this is still a staple of some of the holes, it no longer seems to be over done in an overbearing manner. The creeks that weave themselves throughout the course add to not only the scenery, but to the difficulty and intimidation factor as well. Fortunately, even after heavy rains, it would be easy to retrieve a disc from them. The retention pond by Hole 3 is a different story.

It is important to note that this course is not the best place for beginners, as it was originally built to test Advanced level players. The new layout still does this, but fortunately there are no longer three relatively tame looking holes right at the start, lulling people into a false sense of security. So if you're a relatively new player or unable to let go of your ego before attempting to tackle this beast, it might be best to head over to Eager Beaver. However, players of all skill levels could enjoy this course, if they understand and are looking forward to really testing themselves against a truly challenging course. This is a long course, and it is refreshing that there are benches at most of the tee pads. This will give players a chance to rest during their round, because this course is very demanding.
Cons: The biggest issue the course still has would be signage. It would be nice if each Tee Pad were given a nice tee sign with a detailed map of the hole layout, ala the rest of the courses in the Charlotte area. With how much work that has gone into this course as of late, I doubt this will be an issue forever. It really is likely only a matter of time until the course is given shiny new tee signs. I imagine the club is waiting for the rest of the details of the redesign to be finished before investing in new tee signs. While the signage has still improved and navigating the course has gotten easier, new tee signs would definitely be nice for first time players.

There are a few spots on the course where the rough can be thick, making disc loss a possibility. However, these places are few and far between. If you are focused on accuracy like this course demands, you'd be hard pressed to find them. The places that are actually rough (like the detention pond on Hole 5), are nothing compared to some of the rough that can be found on courses like Renny Gold, Robbins, Dry Creek, Eastway, etc.

Parking can be an issue at Elon, as Angry Beaver and Eager Beaver share a small parking lot. Other parking exists by the ball fields, but that is quite a hike to get to the disc golf course. More parking is also nearby the course, at the Rec Center. That lot is quite small too though. This hasn't always been an issue, but the new popularity of Angry Beaver (and the sport in general) could become an issue. Especially on tournament days.

I've never bothered heading over to the Rec Center, but I've never been able to find the restrooms or water fountains at the park. I would recommend bringing your own water.
Other Thoughts: In my last version of my review for this course, I said, "I think that Angry Beaver is criminally underrated right now. When compared to other courses in Charlotte, I would put AB in a tier just below the Big Three (Renny G, Nevin, and Hornets Nest), but with a little work it could go toe-to-toe with them. Which is not at all a bad place to be, the fact that those three courses already exist in the same city is pretty insane to me, but this course has always been up there for me - but for some reason many players seem to turn a blind eye to it."

The work that has gone into this course over the past couple years, in my opinion brings it right up alongside those courses as to why Charlotte is a marquee destination for disc golfers. So I am bumping my rating of the course up to 4.5 for now. This is assuming the work continues and tee signs are made for the course. If the land permitted it, one or more open holes could really add to the variety of this course, but for the land that the course has been given, the course is firing on all cylinders.

There will still likely be people who rate the course lower than it truly deserves because it does have such a high demand for accuracy and the ability to identify proper landing zones. This course tests your technical skills, your distance, and your mental skills on a really steep curve. If you are a little off your game on the day you're playing - remember you might want to back off and try to get settled into the course. Angry Beaver is a demanding course and it can punish a player who doesn't respect it, but it is certainly not unfair.

If you try playing Angry Beaver and are finding it too difficult, or if you want a quick warm-up/cooldown round, hop over to Eager Beaver and give it a go.

Favorite Holes: 2, 3, 6, 11, 18

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My review

5+    2/10/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: johngrond
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Long, sometimes tight, mostly wooded. This course has challenges for all! Accurate pars, IMHO. One of the tougher courses in the Charlotte Metro...
Cons: Multiple curves sometimes called for, which I, as a moderately skilled amateur, get beat up on. I can throw a hyzer flip with decent distance, but some of these holes require a pro arm to par. #5 in particular stands out for that. Again, this is just my opinion.
Other Thoughts: I truly enjoy this course. I don't score here nearly as well as I should, but I love it as much as any course in Charlotte.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Rain makes me angry

1    4/27/2013   4/27/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 214  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2018
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great park with a gymnasium, place for fishing, game room, trail for walking, playground and TWO disc golf courses!
-This course at Elon seems to be worked on a little more than Eager Beaver because it has benches and trash cans unlike Eager Beaver.
-I like how this course gives you an opprotunity to score well on the first three holes, once you get to #4 you are like "This must be the hardest on the course." By the time you are on #5 you are thinking "How did this get here?!?!" Do not let the first three fool you because it gets tricky really fast.
-Great mix of holes here. It has elevation used pretty well, a few dropoffs, holes 200+ to 800'+, doglegs, and a few open holes but it's mostly wooded.
-A few short tees from worlds because some holes (particularly #5) can be a lot of trouble. I didn't mind playing the long tees though, I parred #4 but I did blow up on #5 because of terrible approach shots. The hole isn't so hard if you really throw hard.
-On this course, I have two favorite holes, #10 and #16. #10 is a straight downhill tunnel shot par 3 over the creek. Once you are over, the approach shot is pretty open. It says that it's 268' but it think it's about 305', it PLAYS maybe 268'. #16 is a slightly downhill dogleg left par 4. I threw a 320' hyzer and got an easy birdie even though I was in the woods, it's not bad if you are short on this hole, but it isn't pleasant if you overthrow. With that said, I think #2 is the most memorable along with #5.
#2 is an uphill 158' par 3 with the lake 5' behind the basket. I liked the design over the vegetation. It was a bit like #15 at South Mountain, except this hole isn't steep downhill. It's very easy to throw past the basket and land in the water just like an overthrow on #15 at South Mountain will get you in the DEEP woods. #5 was also memorable, it's the longest and toughest on the course close to the road. The big mound is close to it, some people wish the tee for #5 is on the mound.
-Very scenic walk in the woods. Very pretty course! It's VERY well maintained and very well taken care of. I enjoyed the beauty of this course, it's a pretty walk in a nice little forest. It was raining very hard when I played, I felt like I was in a conferous forest. A very pretty one.
-Water is used very nicely around the course. This may be a con for some people but I didn't mind it really.
-Both of the finishing holes end close to the first holes. On both courses. The first tees are both close to the parking lot. To get to the parking lot, just keep going past the white baskets (which are the baskets for this course.) and keep driving, just follow the road.
-At Winthrop University, it has two courses. It doesn't have teesigns that say which course you are playing. It doesn't have teesigns period. This place has teesigns that say angry beaver, and eager beaver on the teesigns so you know which course you are playing. The baskets are also different colors. The Eager Beaver baskets are yellow and the baskets on this course are white. The course kiosk is close to both first tees as well.
#18 was a great way to finish. It's an open dogleg right par 5. It was an easy par for me because I just threw three drives 250' and that left me with a short approach shot. It's long but if you throw decent drives down the fairway, you won't get worse than a bogey.
-Plenty of arrows pointing you to the next tee.
-Lots of uniqueness here. Hole 11 stands out in my mind. It's a deuceable par 4 that's downhill and over the creek. Fairway is tight.
Cons: -When it rains, the fairway (or trail) leading to #3's basket is wet. Bring your old shoes and expect to get dirty because if your disc goes down #9's dropoff, you literally have to jump down six feet into the creek to get your disc. This course is VERY muddy. Do NOT play in the rain. I'm serious! I was extremely happy with my score of +10 in heavy rain. Discs will slip out of your hand and you could have a crappy shot. I had plenty of them.
-The vegetation on #3 is out of control! #2's didn't bug me because it's uphill so you can see the basket, plus it's very short. #3, you can't see the basket from the tee, I lost a cheetah on that hole. #3 wasn't a bad hole but the vegetation is horrible.
-The OB can bother you, a lot. This course has penalization written all over it. It wasn't the water that bugged me but this course has plenty of ropes that if you go past, you are penalized and some people won't like #9's island green rule. The teeshot is narrow and the trees cna give a nasty kick. If you go over the water, you are fine. I ignored the OB today because it was raining.
-#9's teepad is too small, so is #17's. Not the appropriate length for a teepad with holes almost 300'.
-Once again, too many OB stakes. There are stakes past 6's basket that aren't needed, the 8th hole in general is bad. You have to have a ridiculously accurate shot and poke and pray off the pad, not to mention that the ditch is OB. Not just the water part of it.
Other Thoughts: -I loved this course. It was very interesting and very scenic. I would have had a better score if it wasn't rainy today. I enjoyed this course anyway. Every hole is interesting in it's own way. This is the advanced level course at Elon but it's more forgiving than Nevin and Renaissance. It can still frustrate you. I got frustrated because of the rain which really bumped up my score.
-If you want an ace here, it can happen but at Eager Beaver, you have a bigger chance in an ace. #1-#3 can be aced and #13 could possibly be aced as well. #13 is an uphill ace run that goes into the woods. Some people think it messes with the flow of the course but it's a nice break from all the difficult holes you play is what I think about it.
-A warning here would be that OB isn't light. I lost two discs here. The course is scenic but you need to keep your eye on where the disc lands. Particularly #2 and #3. Those are the holes I lost discs on, and if you go into the water on #2, your disc is gone.
-This course doesn't really have a signature hole. Every hole here, you can either love it or hate it. Every hole will save you or hate you, #16 made me. #5 and #6 hated me. I double bogeyed them both.
-I loved this course! It's easy to navigate, it's pretty, the holes are all fair. None of the holes here are unfair, none of them. Some of them are very tough but none of them are really over the top for me. The OB may be irritating at time but none of the holes should really make you furious. The rain did though.
-Tell me if you want to know more.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Angry Beaver

1    11/23/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: tsaksa13
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.8 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The course has a very nice layout. Some short technical shots and some open long shots. Big range of hole lengths from 200 ft to 800 ft. The stream is OB for some holes makes it a bit harder. The course was very clean and clearly marked from hole to hole.
Cons: The retention pond on hole 5 can be a loss of a disc so be careful where you throw.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I've played from difficulty to cleanliness to layout.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    7/16/2012   10/16/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 268  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 12.8 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Disclaimer: I only played the worlds layout.

There are solid concrete tees here and sometimes long tees. I love how the course starts with three birdie holes and then begins to get difficult. It's great that the first three holes are all treacherous greens. Even though they are short, they are not gimmies. Hole 4 is a great forced straight shot with ob on either side of the fairway. Hole 6 is a demanding placement par 4 that is very tough to stay clean on the skinny fairway. 7 is a solid dogleg right par 3. 8 is a good par 4. Even though the hole is only 380' a 3 does feel like a birdie here. Off the tee there are two defined gaps split by a large tree. Anywhere left or ricocheted left here will be OB. It is a tight twisty fairway and at the green there is more OB behind the basket. Hole 9 has a unique shaped fairway. It is a left turning horseshoe that goes up and back down. The drive plays up and over OB making it like an island hole. Again, you will need a gut check as you decide whether to run your putt or not. Hole 10 is a good downhill, tight, tunnel shot. Hole 11 is a great dogleg right par 4. Hole 12 is tight and doglegs left but has a tricky angle to it. Hole 13 is a solid uphill hole. Hole 15 is solid left turning par 3. Hole 16 is solid left turning par 4. 18 is an awesome finishing hole. It is a par 5 with a generous fairway to rip some drives on. Enjoy the finish.
Cons: Hole 5 from the short tee was too easy of a birdie for me. I could just throw two 250 foot hyzers and drop in my 3. It was not worth going for the 2 with the OB so I found it a boring hole. I have not played it from the long tee. Some small branches in the middle of the fairways seemed flukey and unfair when I played there.Hole 14's drive is really short and boring to me. It is a par 4 where I throw two putters to get to the green which is not very fun. Hole 17 feels exactly like hole 7 to me as it requires the same line.

The short par 4s are repetitive to me. Just not what I prefer.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Slightly Irritated Beaver

5+    8/19/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 520  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 9.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Angry Beaver is a very tough course that compliments the eager very well. Much like Nevin this course is about contol and can you throw accurate shots.

There are a few holes where you can bomb like hole 5 short pad and hole 18 but beware there is O.B. or thick woods nearbye.

I love how the course rocks you to sleep as you start because 1 2 3 &4are so straight forward and then you get to 5 and it starts getting tough.

The worlds layout took out my least favorite hole in Long 5!

The fact that there are two completly different courses on this property has to be the biggest Pro
Cons: The biggest con for me is this course just isn't memorable after about hole 10. It seems to get boring. While I do like the holes for the most part they just never really stand out in my mind.

It can be confusing to newcomers which course is which because the first few holes of angry arnt very long so theyre thinking" man I can do this" then holes 4 and 5 hit them hard. We had a group behind us on angry carrying ultimate discs and they had found there way onto the wrong course. They ended up giving up after hole 7

Confusing transitions for first timers. Hole 1 to 2 is marked but still a long strange transition and several places on the back 9 are confusing with multiple tees nearbye

There are a few places that I feel the OB can be a bit much such as hole 8 and the random OB creek halfway down hole 10.

No benches and very few trashcans which leads to litter.
Other Thoughts: Angry beaver is a serious challenge. The style of play is just like Nevin in that it's all about placement off the tee. This one is a tough course so bring your A game if you are traveling through. I definatly recomend this one!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Ouch!

1    7/14/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 112  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some absolutely spectacular holes on this course. The design on the course is good and it makes really good use of the stream that runs through the park. This is a huge park with a second much easier course there for the newer players. There is a very good viriety early on, but this fades away as the round goes on. Hole 18 is rather epic and even though I triple bogied it, it was still memorable in a good way. There are some really nice benches. Nice tee pads. Some of the baskets are aging a bit but for the most part they are still in very good condition. There are sports fields and I am sure more than I saw in the park. There is a very nice parking lot specifically in the disc golf area. The tee signs are really good and for the most part it is easy to find the next hole. This course is really all about the challenge.
Cons: The biggest con here for me was how the course started to feel repeatative about halfway through. Most of these are the holes that a long through tight woods with a dog leg one way or the other. So many of these holes I was just plain sick of them by the end. A bit more creativity would have made this course a 4 easily. Some of the OB lines are ridiculous, especially hole 9. Island green? Isn't it bad enough that you have to hit a tiny gap? There are a few walks from one hole to the next that might be a bit difficult.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend taking a map with you simply because there are a couple of long walks and poorly marked trails from one hole to the next. It looks as if they were well marked recently and just simple use by people who don't care or respect the course have made it not as good as it was. If you come to play this course, I would plan on playing the shorter easier course afterwards just so that you get your good feelings back. This really is a tough one and one I would not reccomend for newer players. This course does compare with some of the top courses in teh area, it really is just about that simple lack of creativity to holds this course back.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.