Chino, CA 
Prado DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #1 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice, but open

1    6/9/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through rolling grassy hills with scattered mature trees. Most holes have a few trees in play that you need to avoid, a few with some low ceilings to contend with. One hole has a nice water hazard on the right, tempting righties with a big hyzer line over the water that's risky but the most direct line to the pin. The elevation changes in the park were well used to add challenge and fun, with a nice mix of uphill and downhill holes.

The park is beautifully maintained, with nicely mowed grass and no trash outside of the plentiful trash cans. The tees are nice grippy concrete pads, with basic tee signs giving the distance to the pin. The baskets were in decent shape and had numbers facing the tee which is always helpful. There's a practice basket near the parking lot with some tree around it and enough open space to practice some approaches too.
Cons: The course is pretty open overall. The available trees are used quite well, but the nature of the park keeps it from being all that technical a course. Because of this, you often aren't pushed to hit a specific line, most holes allow for many different shots so you never have to use a variety of shots. The design obviously tried to compensate with distance, but that means there are a lot of tweener holes that are too long for most players to reach for a birdie chance but too short and open to produce many bogies.

There are several spots where navigation isn't totally obvious, the closest tee isn't always the next one. There are also some holes where multiple baskets are in view, you sometimes have to walk up to be able to read the numbers and figure out where to throw. There are lots of picnic areas in play throughout the course, only a couple were in use the day I played but I can imagine some safety issues on a nice weekend afternoon.
Other Thoughts: There are some nice holes here, but there are also a lot of open shots. It's a great place to throw some nice long drives and work on rollers. Beginners might find it a little long, but outside of the water hole there isn't too much punishment for inaccurate drives. More experienced players won't find a lot of line shaping challenges, but you'll have to throw some accurate drives to score well and might have to contend with wind. It's a little pricey to enter the park, but if you load up a group and split the fee it's not too bad.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Prado Park

5+    6/4/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: treesbeware
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good course layout and difficulty. a good skill tester kind of course.
-Alcohol is allowed here so bring your cooler and some brew.
-Friendly regulars
-Brand new innova baskets
-Clean bathrooms
Cons: -Extreme weather... when its hot its real hot there, same thing when it comes to the wind.
-cow smell... but we are in dairy land.
-holiday and long weekends bring picnicers and fishermen.
Other Thoughts: The park does have an admission fee but to me it is worth the money. The fee keeps the crowds down, you dont usually have to wait on other groups or feel rushed to play. All this course really needs is a course club and a monthly tourny... and maybe a back 18.

Also, this is my home course. So, I redesigned the arial map and uploaded it here for everyone. Enjoy!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Dang Lake

2-4    5/14/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: PDXDisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Extremely well maintained course with great tee pads and baskets. The extra long poles on the top of the basket make it easy to target when throwing over a hill. The fee keeps the crowds down and the course uncrowded. Good variety of long/short, up/down, and getting around the water.
Cons: While it did not happen to me in talking with a couple guys that play this course a lot, the course can get crowded with pic-nic'ers and people fishing.
The dang lake ate my favorite Sidewinder teeing off on 7 - but that's my own fault for letting it drift up and catch the wind.
$10 to drive in is pretty steep and there is a not a lot of parking outside that allow for a walk-in
Other Thoughts: Very nice park with not a lot of people playing the course.
If you are going to play a couple times keep your receipt. The fee only needs to be paid once. You can leave and come back! I played once in the morning and came back later in the day.
If anyone goes weed whackin and finds a blue champion sidewinder please please please call and return it. I'll pay shipping and a pitcher of choice...

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Prado

1    3/2/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: macViciouss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty course
one of the few 18 hole courses around us
pretty empty
concrete tees
lots of other stuff to do in this park
Cons: not exactly clearly marked as to where to go next
if you arent experienced, the lake can prove to be a bit of a hazard, we actually lost a driver to the lake.
Cost 7 bucks on weekdays, 10 on weekends and theres a 2$ walk in fee, but theres really no place to reasonably park outside of the park
Other Thoughts: The people that were working here were very nice. The park was very well kept. The nicest scenery of a course ive been to around here yet. be a nice place for a picnic or something fun after you play. just beware of the lake.Park closes at 5 pm so go early.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/20/2012   2/18/2011
Review By: Mark R
Played: 94  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice public park with several fun holes. Cement tees and big, visible signs with accurate distances posted. A nice 270-degree vista of surrounding mountains is unique(Inland Empire-San Bernardino). Water holes (Holes 5-7) are very nice, in that you will only lose a disc if you really screw up as opposed to an unlucky throw. All holes are 'right-sized' (200-400, with one over 500'). Fairly high fun factor, particularly with some of the drives on the back nine. The best fairways (such 4 and 12) have gently-sloping downhill fairways. Has a more casual, low-stress vibe than LaMirada and El Dorado.
Cons: A couple of 'cheap' holes (3, 10). Seven dollars seems a little steep for potentially unemployed disc golfers, since the bathrooms were locked, and maintenance was only partially obvious. A few unpleasant smells wafting by on occasion. Not a lot of course diversity.
Other Thoughts: Lots of fun, fairly wide-open drives (should remind Michiganders of Begg Park in BC a bit). Also many bird species present (saw a scarlet tanager, bluebirds, and a meadowlark in one round). This area could use a few more courses just like this one, but it falls a little short of the top rank.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little park course

1    1/2/2011   1/4/2011
Review By: Harrishabitat
Played: 175  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of land.
Nice elevation changes.
Uses objects to the best challenge.
Well kept.
Cons: Probably would get boring after repetitive play
some throwing line cross over
might be crowded for a tourney.
Other Thoughts: Nice get away park. Worth the side trip if you are in the area. Fun play to get out and let it rip and score low.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly Surprised

1    9/25/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: puckdevil8
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
Pros: Wide open and beautiful scenerly. The tees and baskets are very well marked. This course gives you several different views and makes you use your different shot styles. I used backhands, forehands and hammers. It is nice when you can bring out the entire gambit of your shots. It's nice to throw around a lake and not lose discs.
Cons: Early in the morning...sprinklers are running and it is pretty wet overall. In addition, it mostly smells like cow maneure.
Other Thoughts: I was thinking it would be further to drive to from Orange, but it was actually only about 25 minutes. I would definitely play this course on a regular basis.

 Worth Your Visit

1    7/1/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: Twinskulls
Played: 74  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Super clean and easy to follow throughout the course. Very grassy, can walk with barefoot. Plenty of trees for shades.
Cons: W I N D Y ! I played in the late afternoon. The course is pretty easy but windy gave us more challenge.
Other Thoughts: We were lucky enough that we were the only four people playing there that time. If many people play there same time, tees and pins are too close. There's may some bumps on the heads. But overall the course is good and I would go and play there again sometime in future.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not to be missed

5+    5/16/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 79  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 9.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - All holes are well marked which makes navigation a breeze.
- New tee pads, New baskets, restrooms, and water fountains everywhere.
- Plenty of obstacles including water, hills, large trees and howling wind.
- Holes are well planned out and require you to use a variety of throws.
- Mostly Disc Golf Exclusive, there were a few fisherman but most everyone stays on the other side of the lake.
- Crowds are light even on the weekends.
- Overall the course is kept in pristine condition. No trash on the ground, grass well maintained.
Cons: $10 entry fee is the most I've paid for disc golf, but it is worth it. Bugs are out in swarms, even in the wind.

Many of the baskets were out in the open, although there were plenty of trees blocking drives the baskets were largely unguarded. A few well placed new trees could go a long way.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the drive and the money.

The combination of high winds and water can really play some mind games with you. Throw an understable disc on 7 and you can kiss it goodbye.

I looked into parking outside the park and walking in (because I'm cheap like that), and I couldn't find any place to park withing a 15 minute walk. So at this time carpooling remains the best bet.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Unique SoCal Course

2-4    4/10/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: fifteen
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Different from the usual Southern California courses. Different lines are required here and that helps you hone your disc golfing skills. Some holes play along the lake which can play mind games with you but they aren't a factor if you choose the right line.

The baskets and the teepads are in great shape and navigation isn't a problem. The signs are unique, wooden signs with the number and distance etched on them.
Cons: The price to enter is quite steep, $10 per car so carpool if you can to cut costs. The park is also a lake and a campground so you'll be faced with a lot of non-golfers walking around. Give 'em a shout for a head up or to get them move a bit.

Some holes have picnic tables smack in the middle of the fairway which is a recipe for disaster should there be a family having a weekend picnic.
Other Thoughts: Came out here for a tournament and am glad I made the trip up from San Diego. Loved hole #7 which is a long hole with a right dogleg to the basket, play it right and you'll easily par it.

Wind picks up in the afternoon which can play with your shots, keep 'em low to defeat the wind.

I definitely will come out here again to defeat the wind!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.