Mount Dora, FL 
Lincoln Ave. Park West Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #4 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 136ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Great fun factor

1    3/17/2017   4/21/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 166  Reviewed: 123  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.945 Rating) A super fun beginners course now with a bonus 10th hole.
- ACEABILITY - You will have a bunch of real good looks at an ace here. I'm sure that the regulars are racking them up. Hole (4) is a real special looking ace run with a massive live oak draped around the basket.
- FUN FACTOR - In addition to the ace runs, this course has all the elements of a rec friendly course. No chance to lose a disc, errant shots are not further punished, no water in play, little to no overgrowth, few other park zombies walking around. I definitely left with a smile on my face.
- NAVIGATION - A cake walk, I had no issues solo and first time as each hole leads right into the next one. There's a course map posted at hole (1) if needed.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - I believe this would be a great beginners and juniors course. The average hole length is about 200 feet.
- MAINTENANCE - Course was in superb shape during my round which is not always the case with course a blanketed by a live oak canopy.
- QUICK PLAY - A single could easily complete a full 10 holes in under 20 minutes first time thru. Groups of four would probably finish in under an hour.
- CHAINS - All the baskets still look fairly new and they are DISCatchers, one of my favorite basket types.
- GROW THE SPORT - No doubt will this course aid in growing the sport by offering easy access to learn the game at a beginner friendly course. Not all courses have to be gems in the eyes of a skilled player. Lincoln Avenue fills the gap from entry level thru rec and will still also entice an advanced player as well.
Cons: Too short for players looking/needing to expand their game.
- DIFFICULTY - Advanced players should have no problem being well under par. Pros and advanced players should be able to shoot all birds from time to time.
- ELEVATION - Among the flattest courses I've ever played. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is on par with an ice rink. No more than 2 feet of elevation change on any one hole.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves in terms variety are very sub-par. All but 1 shot is short and straight and vary from 136 to 233 feet. One or two shots sort of pocket, but really the whole course just needs a putter except for hole (9). There is no elevation and water doesn't come into play either. But if you like the putter ace run format, you'll still very much enjoy it.
- CHARACTER - A touch below average. There is no practice basket, multi tees or multiple pin placements that you'd see at your typical upper tier course. However, the course does have good hole signage, concrete tees and tee shading.
- SPACING - A bit below average. If the course were full, there would be a few tees that could be reached by an errant throw. A few fairways also feel partially shared.
Other Thoughts: A great beginners, junior and rec course. Although Lincoln Avenue won't challenge those with a seasoned skill level, it will provide a shaded ace run opportunity and will put a smile on most player faces. This is the perfect place to introduce disc golf to a newer player.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Little Course For All Ages and Skills

5+    4/26/2016   4/27/2016
Review By: RoscoDog
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The course is always kept clean, parking is always available, and each visit has always been a pleasurable experience. You can play the nine holes in 12-15 minutes...and it's fun because four of the holes offer "ACE" opportunities. I've met some nice people playing there. I also hear that there's a Wednesday evening competition that draws some really good players. Navigating the tightness of this short course that winds through low hanging oaks, forces you to sharpen your "Finesse Game". We're lucky to have it!
Cons: It would be nice if there were a hole or two that require two long shots for par, but hey, you can't have everything, especially for FREE!!
Other Thoughts: This is a terrific place to bring beginners (kids and older people), as its short length is not too challenging and allows them to focus on their FORM rather than how FAR they can throw / flick it.

 Fantastic place to tune up your game.

5+    10/12/2014   10/25/2014
Review By: kedz
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Well laid out. Considering the small footprint of the park, it uses its allocated space as effectively as possible.
* Requires you to use alot of different shots each round. Great for sharpening skills.
* fast to play. Some people see this as a con, but sometimes I just don't have a ton of time to get out to a full course.
* pretty much no chance to lose a disc.
* Beginner friendly. This is the park I bring anyone to, including my own kids, to teach them the game.
It's just flat out a fun course to play.
Cons: No permanent restroom.
The far side of the park has a few shady characters walking around.
Sometimes the holes at the back side of the park have alot of trash nearby.
Other Thoughts: They've been adding more concrete pads recently. Not all 9 are done yet, but it's getting there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/1/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Fun course. There are only nine holes but they have done a nice job of making each of the nine feel different. It's an open property, punctuated by older trees that do a nice job of taking up space. There are a pair of straight shots but the majority make you throw a line with some fade on it, the straight route being blocked by one of the large oaks. 4 is the most interesting hole. It's among the shortest but the basket is between horizontal limbs. The easy shot is a layup that slides under the front branch but the chance for an ace needs to go over the top. However, being slightly off on that throw can lead to a kick off a branch and a lie where the birdie chance is blocked off.

With the exception of 9, every hole provides a chance at an ace. It's a great course for runners as the nine can be played quickly and by looping, a player could easily have a few dozen chances at an ace in no time. The navigation is excellent, with big arrows on the baskets pointing towards the next tee. The tees are adequate for the holes and the signs accurately describe the path to the basket.

It's also great for new players. The variety of shots combined with the short distances makes it a great introduction to the game. The holes require lines, but they are very generous, and there is a ton of room for error, for players to learn how to throw. The aforementioned ease of navigation and the complete lack of underbrush is also a boon to beginners. Being so far from any other course, that's definitely an important quality to have as many people will first be exposed to the game here. The course doesn't really suffer from a lack of challenge because most players should know what they are coming here for. It's on-the-way, it makes for a quick stop and it should be fun enough for local players. And it makes great use of a relatively small property.
Cons: Beyond the obvious limitations, (perfectly flat, most holes under 200 feet, low-challenge)there are really only two issues. First, while there aren't any paths through the course, it does seem to get a bit of foot traffic using the course to get from one street to another. I'm guessing that most of these people walk through the park a lot and only rarely see anyone using the baskets. Second, if the course is crowded, there could be some issues with errant shots crossing into other fairways. I've seen much worse in this regard and the short distances should mean that players are in control most of the time, but there are some areas of potential conflict.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Warm-up Course

5+    9/2/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: TeeRex
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is in the shade 90% of the time and in Central Florida, in the summer, this is a plus. Additionally, it makes you work around a lot of those trees. Easier Par 3, 9-hole course with #9 being a par 4. I have played course 4th time today. All 5 games under par. I have only been playing since May this year, 2013. I GOT AN ACE ON #8, 152FT, USING A DISCRAFT BUZZ/177G. YAHOOOOOOO. I like to go when I don't have a lot of time to play. It is real good for tuning up ones' game.
Cons: Plays too fast. Wish could stretch out a few of the holes. Normal group of 2-3 plays nine in 25-35 minutes. Have met some fellow players here that now play regular with. Older carpeted Tee Boxes but are better than loose sand pits. Usually keep debris from trees policed up.
Other Thoughts: I hope baskets are going to change positions as the new bicycle path coming through park seems a little close in some instances.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect As Is

2-4    8/4/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Course has decent tees, directional signs, and is easy to navigate.
* Property is small, but filled with mature oaks, making for natural challenges.
* Despite its lack of length, real thought was put into the shape of the holes, and I found myself enjoying myself.
* Their are tennis courts and baseball fields, but the course is secluded..
* Distances range from 140ish to 291. You wont pull out your big drivers, but there is quite a lot of line shaping.
* fun factor is good. Experienced players can have ace/birdie races, and the less experienced wont be turned off by overlong holes.
Cons: * Course lacks length and the diversity that comes with it Mind you, the property is small, so this really was a best effort.
* Some of the carpeted tees are lumpy, but, not much of a run up (if any) is needed.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun, little course that we played on the way into Mt. Dora. If I lived in the neighborhood, I would enjoy practicing my putters and mids here. There may not be long shots but you WILL make shots here and take different lines to complete them. Would I drive out of my way for this course? No. But were I heading into MT Dora or coming from an Orlando course, I'd be thrilled to stop here for a fast, fun round. If you're in the area stop on by. You may find something to like as well!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lincoln Avenue DGC

1    7/20/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 95  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of ace potential since many of the holes are under 200 with open hyzer and straight lines to the basket. The course is very accessible being right off Hwy 441 with adequate parking. The course is very shady and what few obstacles that are on the property were used as effectively as possible (basket directly behind trees). Holes 1 & 9 are the toughest holes on the course. Hole 9 plays like it is 315 due to elevation and has plenty of trees in the fairway. After 8 easy holes you finally get something of a challenge at the very end. It is nice that the course brings you back to the parking lot at the end of the round, always a plus! Very nice tee signs.
Cons: Considering this is really the only course around Mt. Dora/Eustis I really wish it had a little more challenge. Only 9 holes and all but hole 9 are short. Lots of people using the tennis courts made the parking area feel safe but back on the course there were people walking around who seemed a little shady. This course needs concrete tees. I imagine they haven't done that as it was originally a temporary course to try out DG in the area. Not really anyone out there on the course when I played it which could be a pro - as the course is tight and you wouldn't want to hit someone or wait for a group to play ahead of you. Also a con...there really isn't anyone out there to get in a round with.
Other Thoughts: Other than that, just appreciative of the effort that went into working with the city to put in another course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Make it permanent.

1    5/9/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: Daddy_Dragon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 26.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Big Shady trees. Course requires some skill.
Cons: The first tee has carpet. The rest has a piece of wood on the ground. It would better benefit the course if all the tees had concrete or at least a well mounted carpet area. Watch out if there are other players, you might get pegged by a disk cause the course is so closely packed.
Other Thoughts: O.K. so the course is not permanent, so it is short, so it isn't a family park included. I would not discredit the place. I feel that it would become a decent place if it became permanent and some work was put into the place.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great place to learn disc golf...

5+    4/26/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: raydancer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
Pros: This is a great course to learn or teach disc golf. The nine holes offer a nice variety of shots and the trees offer a constant challenge. There's very little chance of losing a disc, as there's very little brush. The location is convenient, just off of Highway 441.
Cons: Most of the holes are pretty short and probably do not offer significant challenge to experienced players. The dirt tee areas are starting to get pretty worn and holey. People are always walking their dogs through the course...watch your step.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course weekly and it's always a lot of fun. I just started playing a few months ago, so I am still significantly challenged by the course. I really hope that the City of Mt. Dora chooses to either make this course permanent or set up a full 18 holes nearby.

  Great Little Course

1    2/20/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: jalex787
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course for a beginner and/or young teens wanting to get into the sport. My 13 year old son and I played here on Saturday and had a great time. He commented on the fact that he liked this course better than some of the courses that we have played in the past. This course is I would say 98% shaded due to the mature Oak trees. There is little to no under brush, so losing a disc is virtually impossible. For those of us that live in Lake County, this course is a welcome addition to our area.
Cons: I only have a few things that I would view as cons. One is that I wish the course layout was bigger, however in the defense of the designer, I think they did a pretty good job with the space that was available. This is only a 9 hole course with holes 1 thru 8 being par 3's and hole 9 a par 4. The tee box for hole 3 is about 15 feet from the road (11th Ave), which isn't a real big deal since 11th Avenue is a residential street with little to no traffic.
Other Thoughts: I think we should all go to the City of Mount Dora's website, look under Parks & Rec and send the Parks & Recs Director an email in support of this course. For you dog lovers, there is a dog park within walking distance from the course (walk east on 11th Ave and it's across from the baseball fields). So husbands bring your wives, wives bring your husbands, grab the kids, your disc's and your dog. Have fun and help support our new course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.