Nashville, TN 
Seven Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 12/2016)
3 / 236ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 82
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Nashville's Technical Dream

5+    3/12/2018   3/12/2018
Review By: njgrosser
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many Technical Holes: Once you start entering the woods at #4, almost every hole involves hitting a well-defined line through a wooded fairway. The distances are not too long, offering some potential ace runs and many rewarding shots. As I said before, the fairways through the woods are incredibly well-defined, with no underbrush encroaching into the fairway. Several holes have large, mature trees in the fairway, putting some obstacles in the way. ACCURACY IS CRITICAL!!!

Hole Variety: With the above being said, this course still offers a lot of different looks to the thrower. There are a few open holes with minimal obstacles where long bombs can be thrown. The wooded holes force the thrower to use every disc in the bag, or at least use different throwing styles (backhand, forehand, hyzer, anhyzer, etc.) throughout. Additionally, every hole has at least two pin placements, with some having up to five. I believe I also saw some alternate turf teepads on some holes.

Course "Extras": This course has all the extras that make playing a round much more enjoyable. Every teepad is a permanent concrete slab, and in good shape. Basically every teepad has a bench. The signs on the teepad accurately show the different basket locations. There are several erosion-control measures throughout the woods, preserving the course and keeping it orderly. The small creeks throughout the course have bridges for easy crossing. There's even a wall protecting #7's teepad from overzealous throws at #6.

Beautiful Course: The course is beautiful. It is good to play in the summer, as the trees provide lots of shade throughout the course. There are several little creeks running through it that are flowing in the springtime. The leaves turn spectacular colors in the fall. There are some massive exposed rocks that add a different touch than the trails throughout most of the wood. This course is a great example of how a scenic wooded area can be transformed into an excellent course without losing its natural beauty.
Cons: ***These cons really only apply to someone who isn't very familiar with the course. However, they are still worth noting, and if they were fixed I would add another 0.5 to my rating.

Course Navigation: Most times, the course flow is intuitive from hole-to-hole. However, there are a couple places where the flow is not intuitive, such as from #8 to #9 or from #16 to #17. Additionally, there are a couple places where holes bleed into each other, namely #8/#17, #13/#14-long. #8, #9, #16, #17, and #18 all invade each other to some degree. I couldn't find Holes I-III, but that did not detract from my experience. Again, these are not problems if you know the course well, but they can be confusing for a first timer or someone who hasn't played the course in a while.

Multiple Baskets on Many Holes: When I played, every hole had a grey basket. Most holes had an orange basket. One hole had a blue basket instead of an orange basket. On the sign at each teepad, it appeared that the grey basket was the one marked as in-play. If there was a way to mark that both baskets are in play, then this becomes less of an issue; however, it would be less confusing if there was only one basket per hole. Preferably the orange baskets, as they are more visible in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This is Nashville's most popular course, and it has the pedigree to match. If you are looking for a course with a more classic, established feel, this is the place for you. It is probably not the best place for a beginner, but once you have driver accuracy under control it becomes a lot more fun!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Always come back when I'm around

2-4    10/10/2017   3/11/2018
Review By: ticklethetruth
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4
Pros: super fun course that rewards a variety of shots. The course can get technical but it allows for a number of options on each hole. The character of this place is great. It feels like a disc golf village.
Cons: can be tricky to navigate
Other Thoughts: I love the seating areas around the pads

My favorite course in the Nashville area

1    1/6/2018   1/7/2018
Review By: ebreedon
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most baskets marked, almost all tees marked, logical layout, concrete pads, clean, variety of wooded/open fairways, multiple baskets and tees for many holes
Cons: A little busy. No course map at the first tee. 13 has an alternate tee and basket. There is never a sign pointing you to the next tee, but it it's usually pretty logical, just not between 12 and 13. 14 is currently missing its tee marker.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great but.....

1    8/22/2017   8/22/2017
Review By: cloud
Played: 54  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great topography, beautiful setting, etc.
Cons: So poorly marked I only played about eight holes. (the start is from the north btw) They have multiple basket on most holes and most are there, but some aren't. So you might be playing to one that just isn't there. This could be one of the great courses...... my recommendation to you is take someone you usually can't beat, cause if your both playing to a basket that's not there you stand a better chance.......
Other Thoughts: If you can get to know this course you would probably love it. But if you can only go there once, try to follow somebody or something.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Local favorite

5+    7/31/2017   8/2/2017
Review By: Sheep
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great people to pick up a game with. Open early for early birds. Good baskets but a varity of baskets.
Challanging shots for all skill levels. Cement tee pads. Multiple pin locations and some second tee pads.
Cons: Sometimes grass is long on a few holes but doesnt make unplayable.
Other Thoughts: Good course all around. Maintained by players.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Nice Variety

1    5/15/2017   5/16/2017
Review By: olmster
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good selection of varying holes to test your game. Navigation around course was decent and all but a few holes had signs up showing the multiple pads and pin placements available. Multiple baskets available on most holes. Close proximity to the airport so a good stop if dropping off someone for a flight which is what I was doing.
Cons: Grass needed to be mowed on the wide open first few holes. There are different type baskets and colors used throughout the course with no consistency on one color being the front versus back basket. Silver and red baskets both used.
Other Thoughts: Nice course for sure. Worth stopping by if traveling through the area. If living in the area this would be a course played often.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The heart of Nashville

1    1/20/2017   1/20/2017
Review By: Gropester
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fun array of throws: long/short, right/left, up/down. This course had them all!
- Dual pins and some dual pads add a lot of replay value
- Benches on every(?) hole and some walls put up to protect from errant throws
Cons: - None of the holes really WOWed me, I'm not sure I could identify a signature hole
- Tee pads were super slippery and the steel baskets were not my favorite (Mach 2 I think)
Other Thoughts: - It was pretty quiet when I went but I could see this course getting busy.
- One hole has a yin-yang around the baskets. Love the thought!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

DG how it should be!

5+    10/15/2016   10/17/2016
Review By: Msouders13
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mature, great local scene, good degree of difficulty, fair everywhere, Nashville disc golf store is close.
Cons: Busy, busy... busy?
Other Thoughts: It's a classic of middle Tennessee. One of the more iconic courses and always a good time to be had. Close to downtown and other great courses.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course on a hot day!

2-4    5/23/2016   5/23/2016
Review By: Tan-Vic-Own-Sim-Moon
Played: 70  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course with a great mix of a few open holes and a lot of heavily wooded, shaded holes. Benches every hole and not that busy on a weekday.
Cons: A sign at the front of the course would be nice for new players. Not the longest course.
Other Thoughts: One of the nicest courses I've played.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Well rounded course.

1    5/16/2016   5/17/2016
Review By: jesse_v_m
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open and wooded holes. Clear attention to detail regarding maps of each hole at each tee. Holes often have multiple tees and baskets which give it a nice variety without needed to relocate baskets. The "intercourse" holes are a clever way to work a few extra playable holes. Well groomed course with thoughtful building of steps, disc-catching walls, and protection on some pads from players throwing on the previous hole. Clearly thought through and purposeful course. Also very nice that it's a dedicated course instead of a park with non-players roaming in the way.
Cons: Pay attention to the signage at each tee for info about the next hole's tee. There are signs hanging on the baskets but they aren't always pointing the correct way.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.