Nashville, TN 
Seven Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16 (Taken 12/2016)
3 / 335ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Double The Baskets Double The Fun

1    5/19/2018   8/3/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.726 Rating) A heavily wooded course where comfort is paramount.
- CHILL AREAS - Some off the biggest lounge areas I've ever seen at the tee boxes. Most tees have at least two benches and a few have four of them. A few of these also have the large wood cable spindles taking on a second life as a table. The only course that I can think of in my travels that's done this aspect better, is River City Alpha DGC just northeast of Orlando Florida.
- DUEL BASKETS - There are two actual baskets on all 18 holes out here. I personally enjoy the idea of having two basket options to throw at. In general, but not always, a MachIII occupied the short placement and an orange powder coated MachV was affixed to the longer placement on my play. On top of this, a gazillion of other basket placements. I think I counted 8 placements on (14). I hope they change these regularly. That would get me to constantly come back if I were a local.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - With the double baskets noted above and also a few multi tees, this course will please a wide swath of skill levels, as long as the player enjoys technical holes.
- CHALLENGING - Back tee to back baskets are going to challenge most intermediate level players to stay pace with par. The front tees to front baskets seemed to me to be aligned to lower Recreational level.
- SHOT SHAPING - Any player that enjoys threading the needle with love this course. I personally thought that every hole had at least one basket placement with a plausible line. However, there are a few placements that are hokey. For example, the long basket placement on (13) has a wall of trees blocking the line 275 feet down fairway on a 350 foot hole.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - The first three holes were nothing to write home about, but once my playing partner and I got to tee (4) I started to get giddy. One beautiful hole after another from this point on. Holes (5), (6) and (16) were my favorites but I'm sure that if a poll were taken, a dozen holes would get named as one of the top three holes on the course. IMO, this course is right up there with Cedar Hill and Cane Ridge for the Nashville area's most beautiful course. Note, I haven't played Sharpe Springs which is another highly regarded course in terms of beauty.
- UNIQUENESS - Although mostly heavily wooded technical plays, I personally enjoyed the variety in the twists, distances and elevation change. There are a couple of legit par 4s out here on (14) and (18), a couple of parallel creek plays and a creek clear on (18). Missing features include a par 5 and an open bomber hole.
- BONUS HOLES - There's a three hole bonus loop that apparently can be played after (6). I personally didn't have time to play them but I've heard that they are of respectable quality.
- TEES - Average. A concrete surface in a mixture of sizes. The pads average about 5 foot by 10 foot in size.

Cons: Very few issues with Seven Oaks, but a few personal preferences.
- FORGIVENESS - There are a lot of tight lines out here. Ricochets in the wrong direction could be quite punishing as there are some substantial thicket areas. A few lines are comprised of cedar trees which swallow discs by growing into fairways after it senses a disc was released.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - As per the reasons stated above, this is not a good beginner's course. Way too technical for someone not accustomed to releasing a disc a precise point. I'd only recommend this course to someone who's thrown at least 50 rounds.
- FAIRWAY CROSS - The fairway to the deep basket on (13) and the pro tee line on (14) cross. The long basket on (13) should be removed, it's a bad basket placement anyways.
- TIME PLAY - Showing up at 6:30 in the morning is one way to beat the crowds here. My group of two finished in 90 minutes. Considering that the word on the street is that this place can get very crowded, I would not be surprised if four sums finish in 2 1/2 to 3 hours during prime times.

Other Thoughts: The fifth course I've bagged with DGCR member wericsson. He was whooping me through the first throw of the first hole, but it was all downhill for him after that. If as a group we ten bad breaks, he had nine of them. I was routinely not punished for bad throws. Oh well I'll take it. As for the course, I loved it. I'm a big fan of beautiful technical courses that let you relax at every tee and Seven Oaks solidly checked all those boxes. I'm not at all surprised that this course is popular. The course is very similar to places like the Sinks in Chattanooga and Bowers Park in Tuscaloosa. Seven Oaks however has more way more elevation than the Sinks, but slightly less elevation than Bowers. Overall to me, this course is a rating's tweener. I'd give it a 3.75 if I were allowed to do so. It's a great course.
- NAVIGATION - Adequate enough to not be frustrating, but not ideal. The signs are aging and could use a face lift. They have all the info you need on them; distances to each basket, artistic description of hole and next tee direction. There are pin placement indicators improvised into the metal posts, but they were only 75% accurate on my appearance. This method used screws which takes constant upkeep and the screws used can be dropped and lost. I thought the sign on (8) was especially confusing were wericsson and I both mistakenly assumed (17s) basket placement was (8s) short basket placement. After we both parked our drives, there was no way we were walking back to the tee. Star safari deuce! Oh wait, werricsson just missed his first putt and ended up 5 putting for a 6. Maybe we should have re-teed for his sake?

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

My Augusta National

5+    5/18/2018   6/2/2018
Review By: Nigel_Tufnel
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 7 Oaks is my favorite course. I'm definitely biased having learned to play there, but IMO it's the ideal Southern disc golf course. In any form of golf, there should be a set path from the tee to the hole. A lot of courses, especially in the South, have wooded holes in which you are just throwing a disc and hoping it doesn't hit a tree. Not the case here.

*Great variety of short/technical and long bombs

*Solid tee pads and chains with places to sit down at every hole.

*Extra "secret holes" on the front nine to make a round of 21 if you so desire.

*Additional Pro Tee's at a number of holes




Cons: *Can get very crowded in the afternoons and on weekends

*Can be easy to lose a disc in the Spring and Summer when foliage is thick

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Cedar!

1    5/19/2018   5/19/2018
Review By: wericsson
Played: 48  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Adequately sized concrete tees, with leveled gravel areas for added run up or overrun. Two baskets on most holes, and 2 to 5 pin placements (more for 14, but that was kinda screwy) per hole, excluding the supernumerary holes. All the numbered holes had color tee signs and pin position indicators.

Awesome layout. Holes 1-3 and 18 are half-open holes with light tree guarding, and all the rest are in the woods. With a few exceptions, there are clear, well-defined, but tight lines to each pin. Mid-range accuracy is a big deal, but most players will also have to buck up and throw some drivers with confidence in the woods to attack. There were no repeated holes; each felt unique.

Favorite holes were 5 (split fairway up the hill/along the hill, with pins at each) and 15 (fairway was a mostly dry, possibly intermittent, creek bed carved out of stone, with a deeper stream along the right edge).

Groundskeeping is excellent, especially considering just how much landscaping went into this course: retaining timbers, gravel, you name it wherever needed. Not at all the primitive sort of woods course.
Cons: Navigation was challenging, despite next tee locations being marked on the tee signs. Some arrows had been put out, but they had seemingly all come detached from their baskets at one end or the other or both. This course was much more fun for a second round than a first.

While the orange baskets were Mach V, the older grey baskets were old Mach IIIs. Given as the orange pins seemed to mostly be the more interesting locations, this suggests to me that they're the "main" pins on holes where present (which was not all), though I could be wrong.

A few holes missed the balance and veered off into poke and pray land: for example, to make it to the long pin on 13, you have about a six foot gap to hit, about 225 feet from the tee. For the trigonometrically inclined, this amounts to roughly a 1.5 degree wide window.

A few fairways ran right alongside each other: my playing partner and I played to 17 from 8's tee by mistake, I threw most of the way onto 2 from 18, etc. There were also cases of one hole throwing at the next tee.

Hole 14 was especially screwy in this regard, as the long tee throws across hole 13's green on a right bomber of a hole.

Tee signs were less detailed than ideal, and left a few head-scratching moments on my first play. Furthermore, the supernumerary holes had no tee signs (except III, which had the sad remnants of a former wooden sign), and on holes with multiple tees, only one had a sign.
Other Thoughts: Lovely course for locals/nearby players, I'm sure, but has enough issues at a first playthrough to make it less than top-tier as a destination course. Nonetheless, the quality of the holes made my 2.5 hour drive very much justifiable.

Woods have a higher proportion of hardwoods than the pine forests familiar from my experience in AL. My playing partner (wellsbranch250) took to informing me every time I hit a cedar tree, as through the sharp crack of defeat didn't give it away. From a playing perspective, this makes the rough less forgiving than high-canopied trees like pines.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great for intermediate players!

5+    4/17/2018   4/20/2018
Review By: gamegenie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seven Hills is an excellent course. There is a good mix of holes that are wide-open grass fairways, and technically challenging wooded holes. It seems pretty neutral between right and left handed players. Most holes are fairly straight ahead from the tee box.

Hole 1 starts with a mando on either side of a swampy tree area. Do everything possible to keep your disc out of that area, because it's a muddy mess. Fairly easy to approach the hole in two, very easy to par. An orange hole was just added beyond the grey one if you prefer a longer distance.

Hole 2 is wide open. Hole is straight ahead.

Hole 3 has a small knoll in front of the tee. The hole is around the trees in the middle of the fairway. An orange hole was just added beyond the grey one if you prefer a longer distance.

Hole 4 curves to the left slightly. Better to throw a little left than to end up in the trees straight ahead. An orange hole was just added but is very close to the grey one. Not sure why they have two holes here.

Hole 5 is the first wooded hole. It's a challenge to throw over the hill. I prefer the left tee pad with the turf on it - it's a better angle to avoid hitting trees. Hole is up the hill and to the left a little.

Hole 6 is not just above hole 5, there is an abandoned tee pad there. Walk down the hill to the hole 6 tee pad. If you have a longer drive, this one might be easy to ace. Throw straight ahead.

Hole 7 is around the wooden wall from 6. This is where the course design starts to lose its direction. Hole is far ahead and to the right a little bit.

Hole 8 is extremely confusing. The holes are about 300 feet up, and then very hard right. There is a grey and orange hole. There is also a blue hole but that is for hole 17.

Hole 9 is hard to find. You basically have to walk through 17's fairway. Walk down to the creek and look for the benches on the right. Hole is straight and a little left. Very easy to get in 2 throws.

Hole 10 is to the right. Usually I skip 10-16 and turn back around to 17.

Hole 17 is straight ahead but there are many trees that make for a narrow fairway. Grey and blue holes, but fairly close together.

Hole 18 is to the right of 17's basket. It's a longer hole, wide open grass area past the tee pad. If you've got a long drive, now's your time to shine. An orange basket is on the left, grey is on the right and past the creek.
Cons: This course is fairly busy at all hours of the day. Saturdays are practically unplayable. More groups than individual players. There are benches at every hole if you don't mind waiting. There are cut-through trails if you want to jump ahead.

The layout of the holes isn't very intuitive and it takes a few times to learn where the tee box of the next hole is.

Tee boxes are rather small. They are paved, but surrounded by gravel which is easy to slip on. Hole 2's tee box especially is downhill into gravel, very easy to slip. Usually I just throw from the grass to the right of the tee box. I would prefer if the tee boxes were longer, level with the ground, and surrounded by grass instead of gravel.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course to play. Even though it is busy, everyone is very friendly. Players of all levels can enjoy playing here. I highly recommend it, especially to anyone visiting Nashville.

Nashville Disc Golf Store is also very close by in case you need some new discs!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Road Trip

1    3/18/2018   3/19/2018
Review By: Redleg
Played: 58  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not lots more I can say about layout, baskets, distances, navigation or upkeep. Lets just agree that they have been covered. Grandson (13) and I were on a disc golf road trip from Illinois an this was one he picked out to play. It was everything he wanted!!! Fun location, nice friendly locals, a good selection of holes, lots of fun terrain, and I could go on. This was the star course we played of the ones he picked. This is a solid, established course and I would agree the premier course to play in Nashville.
Cons: Not many cons, Tpads are a bit small but grip well, There are several old cable spools that had been used for tables. Great Idea but some have fallen apart and there are other small build items that need attention or replaced. For as busy as the course is not much trash on course but all the cans were pretty full (must be a monday-friday when they empty them).
Other Thoughts: The over steroided guy that had to express himself after every shot so that everyone within 5 holes in front and back could hear him clearly, should slow his roll. Dude you are going to have a stroke!!!

Nashville Disc Golf Thanks for a great course!!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nashville's Technical Dream

5+    3/12/2018   3/12/2018
Review By: njgrosser
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many Technical Holes: Once you start entering the woods at #4, almost every hole involves hitting a well-defined line through a wooded fairway. The distances are not too long, offering some potential ace runs and many rewarding shots. As I said before, the fairways through the woods are incredibly well-defined, with no underbrush encroaching into the fairway. Several holes have large, mature trees in the fairway, putting some obstacles in the way. ACCURACY IS CRITICAL!!!

Hole Variety: With the above being said, this course still offers a lot of different looks to the thrower. There are a few open holes with minimal obstacles where long bombs can be thrown. The wooded holes force the thrower to use every disc in the bag, or at least use different throwing styles (backhand, forehand, hyzer, anhyzer, etc.) throughout. Additionally, every hole has at least two pin placements, with some having up to five. I believe I also saw some alternate turf teepads on some holes.

Course "Extras": This course has all the extras that make playing a round much more enjoyable. Every teepad is a permanent concrete slab, and in good shape. Basically every teepad has a bench. The signs on the teepad accurately show the different basket locations. There are several erosion-control measures throughout the woods, preserving the course and keeping it orderly. The small creeks throughout the course have bridges for easy crossing. There's even a wall protecting #7's teepad from overzealous throws at #6.

Beautiful Course: The course is beautiful. It is good to play in the summer, as the trees provide lots of shade throughout the course. There are several little creeks running through it that are flowing in the springtime. The leaves turn spectacular colors in the fall. There are some massive exposed rocks that add a different touch than the trails throughout most of the wood. This course is a great example of how a scenic wooded area can be transformed into an excellent course without losing its natural beauty.
Cons: ***These cons really only apply to someone who isn't very familiar with the course. However, they are still worth noting, and if they were fixed I would add another 0.5 to my rating.

Course Navigation: Most times, the course flow is intuitive from hole-to-hole. However, there are a couple places where the flow is not intuitive, such as from #8 to #9 or from #16 to #17. Additionally, there are a couple places where holes bleed into each other, namely #8/#17, #13/#14-long. #8, #9, #16, #17, and #18 all invade each other to some degree. I couldn't find Holes I-III, but that did not detract from my experience. Again, these are not problems if you know the course well, but they can be confusing for a first timer or someone who hasn't played the course in a while.

Multiple Baskets on Many Holes: When I played, every hole had a grey basket. Most holes had an orange basket. One hole had a blue basket instead of an orange basket. On the sign at each teepad, it appeared that the grey basket was the one marked as in-play. If there was a way to mark that both baskets are in play, then this becomes less of an issue; however, it would be less confusing if there was only one basket per hole. Preferably the orange baskets, as they are more visible in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This is Nashville's most popular course, and it has the pedigree to match. If you are looking for a course with a more classic, established feel, this is the place for you. It is probably not the best place for a beginner, but once you have driver accuracy under control it becomes a lot more fun!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Always come back when I'm around

2-4    10/10/2017   3/11/2018
Review By: ticklethetruth
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: super fun course that rewards a variety of shots. The course can get technical but it allows for a number of options on each hole. The character of this place is great. It feels like a disc golf village.
Cons: can be tricky to navigate
Other Thoughts: I love the seating areas around the pads

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My favorite course in the Nashville area

1    1/6/2018   1/7/2018
Review By: ebreedon
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most baskets marked, almost all tees marked, logical layout, concrete pads, clean, variety of wooded/open fairways, multiple baskets and tees for many holes
Cons: A little busy. No course map at the first tee. 13 has an alternate tee and basket. There is never a sign pointing you to the next tee, but it it's usually pretty logical, just not between 12 and 13. 14 is currently missing its tee marker.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great but.....

1    8/22/2017   8/22/2017
Review By: cloud
Played: 65  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great topography, beautiful setting, etc.
Cons: So poorly marked I only played about eight holes. (the start is from the north btw) They have multiple basket on most holes and most are there, but some aren't. So you might be playing to one that just isn't there. This could be one of the great courses...... my recommendation to you is take someone you usually can't beat, cause if your both playing to a basket that's not there you stand a better chance.......
Other Thoughts: If you can get to know this course you would probably love it. But if you can only go there once, try to follow somebody or something.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Local favorite

5+    7/31/2017   8/2/2017
Review By: Sheep
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great people to pick up a game with. Open early for early birds. Good baskets but a varity of baskets.
Challanging shots for all skill levels. Cement tee pads. Multiple pin locations and some second tee pads.
Cons: Sometimes grass is long on a few holes but doesnt make unplayable.
Other Thoughts: Good course all around. Maintained by players.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.