Brentwood, TN 
Crockett Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 12/2016)
4 / 429ft.   4 / 704ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Good Course That Could Be Great with Some Love

5+    1/5/2018   1/16/2018
Review By: XC_Eddy
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A sign within the park indicates where the "frisbee golf" course is. Some disc golfers are annoyed by the use of that term, but the sign is helpful all the same.

-Sufficient Parking near hole #1 at the indoor soccer complex.

-Course map available near the course entrance. I highly recommend first time players of Crockett Park to take a picture for future reference. You'll need it to navigate the back 9.

-Multiple tee pads and pin placements offer variety and opportunities for players of various skill levels to enjoy the course. However, most long tee positions only add distance and do not change the line or add technical difficulty. I play shorts if I want to throw mostly mids and fairways, and play longs if I want to throw similar but longer lines with fairways and drivers. For a barometer, I generally drive in the 350 range on flat ground.

-Course makes good use of available space by utilizing elevation changes and incorporating the obstacles that are available. Many of the baskets are creatively located near obstacles.

-Decent Hole Variety

-Crockett is a generally nice park in the upscale suburb of Brentwood.

Course Walkthrough:
#1 and #2 begin the course open shots, with #2 being sloping down and to the left with woods on the left side of the fairway.

#3 plays slightly uphill to a basket guarded by a clump of trees. At the time of this review there appears to be construction happening on this hole's tee pad.

#4 throws between a thicket and the bike trail before funneling into a wooded green. A bit of a tweener par 4 for golfers who throw 300+ accurately. The gap into the green goes over a small hill, provides a blind approach shot, is reasonable and provides a challenge. One of my favorite holes on the course.

#5 once again utilizes trees near the pin. A wall of trees/bushes stands directly in front of the pin. Golfers must throw either over around said wall of trees. Long tee pad also presents a challenging gap off the tee. Very different looks from long and short tees on this hole.

#6, #7, and #8 are all short technical wooded shots. This stretch provides a fun change from the otherwise mostly open course. #6 appears to only have one teepad, though there are two signs.

#7 long plays over the bike trail, so keep an eye out for other park users before throwing. Different tee pads offer different lines on this hole.

#8 plays downhill through the woods. Short tee has a tight gap immediately off the tee.

#9 plays downhill towards the bike path, and is the first instance where navigation can become confusing. Depending on current placement, you'll likely see #18's basket as well. Neither are currently marked. Play to the closer one. This is a tweener from shorts for players who throw 300+, and a true par 4 for the same player set from from longs.

#10 requires a little bit of backtracking to the tee pad(s). It's a downhill RHBH hyzer shot into the open before bending into the correct gap in the woods. Walk down towards the bike trail for #11's tee

#11 plays uphill around a powerline pole and a clump of trees. Golfers have a couple of options for how they may attack this one.

Get the map out for #12, and figure out which pin placement you're working with. If you can see a basket past the valley that contains a gnarly mess of shrubbery, that's placement C. Placements A and B are over the valley and around the bend to the right. If a basket is there, it's a very long hole. I only play this course intermittently when I'm in the area visiting family. This is the only hole at Crockett where I've seen multiple pin placements up at the same time. Last time I was there only C was in.

#13 includes an elevated basket and 3 possible tee pad locations. the "alternate" tee sits just through the clump of trees behind #12's C pin location. Unless you are playing to #12 A/B or desire to have an unnecessarily long walk in between holes, I recommend the "alternate tee" for # 13. The three tees provide some variation in distance and direction, the latter part only making a difference if it's a windy day.

#14 is a fun open downhill bomber with a thicket behind the basket.

#15 is the fairway driver special; open fairway into a wooded green. Currently the grave site of someone's CE Valkyrie. R.I.P.

#16 plays much harder from longs then shorts. Both go through a gap and downhill.

#17 plays slightly uphill and around a bend. Good RHFH hole if you have that tool in your bag.

#18 offers one last chance to throw a drive through a gap and downhill.
Cons: -The walk from #12 to #13 is confusing. Several of the tee signs are missing in this area and in other portions of the course. #17 short currently lays face up near the tee. Tee signs in general could use updating and replacement.

-Turf Tee pads are in rough shape. I doubt the city of Brentwood would ever allow cement tee pads in this picturesque park. I understand why, but the poor condition of the tee pads hurts the integrity of the course.

-Some of the baskets are numbered with a ring of PVC on top of the basket, which is helpful when present. Unfortunately, over half of them have disappeared.

-The navigation through the stretch of #12, #13, and #14 can be difficult, especially without basket numbers and tee signs.

-There is also significant fairway overlap between #12 and #13 depending on pin placement.

-Someone new to the course may have a difficult time knowing the difference between #9's and #18's baskets. I could also see someone trying to throw to #18 from #10's tee. Consulting the tee sign should avoid this.

-The walk from #18 back to the parking lot is a decent jaunt. Walk to right side of the indoor soccer complex to avoid going the long way around.

-The open shots can get repetitive. Most of the technicality doesn't come in until approaching the pin.
Other Thoughts: This is solid course that needs some love in the form of repaired tee pads, tee signs, and pin # markers. It's a fun course that I enjoy playing when in town. It's worth a play-through or two if you're in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Maintenance Issues Since Last Reviews?

1    12/24/2017   12/24/2017
Review By: ebreedon
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of woods/ open fairways, good parking, map present at Tee #1.
Cons: Tee pads only worn carpet (or non-existent), signs faded, baskets usually not numbered, overlapping fairway/tee area between #9 and #10?
Other Thoughts: This is a course I had to give up on part way through. Never having played here before, I could not tell which basket belonged to Hole #9-- there were three in the same area. I had just lost my Leopard on Hole #9 in a backyard, and I didn't have a good feeling about the rest of the game today.

With a course that winds back and forth as much as this one, new basket markers are immediately needed. Hole #5's marker is hanging in a tree, apparently tossed up there by a vandal. If I lived here, I'd volunteer to make the improvements myself! It looks like Tee #3 is undergoing reconstruction, so perhaps this course has a brighter future ahead.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Navigation Issues

1    5/15/2017   5/16/2017
Review By: olmster
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Well maintained course, nice scenery over the course. Course map at the beginning, take a photo 'cause you'll need it the first time out.
Cons: The first 5 holes are pretty much wide open field holes with a few large bushes placed to guard holes. It gets more interesting after that. Navigation is a challenge even with the map on the phone as a guide. Back pads are not in good shape. The last 3 holes are hard to locate. On a hot day you will cook on this one.
Other Thoughts: Nice course overall that just needs better signs & directions around the course. (Problem with most courses though).

 Great for driving but offers little challenge

2-4    9/7/2016   9/10/2016
Review By: Pops
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: MikeTheGaolie did a great job summarizing the pros of the course. It did not seem quite as challenging as I had hoped playing once on the normal tees and the second time on the pro tees. The fields are wide open and you can just throw and work on your driving. The fields are actually the best I have played on and were well kept by the grounds crew. Holes 8 & 9 made this part of the course challenging and fun to navigate some wooded challenges.
Cons: If you have never played this course, finding the pads and holes can be pretty challenging. I spent about half my time looking for the holes or having to ask players where to throw. Once you hit holes 12 to 16 it goes from confusing to frustrating trying to figure out where to throw. The signage is pretty confusing and well past it's useful life. Even the main board has seen better days.
Other Thoughts: I travel quite a bit for work and pleasure and love playing a round or two. This course was a great place to stretch the legs and let loose driving the discs. It's more of personal preference, this course seems geared towards beginners. If you're looking for a challenge, I would suggest finding another course. If you are looking for a course to take it easy a consumer some frosty beverages then this is the place for you.

Immaculate rolling terrain

1    7/26/2016   8/17/2016
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 58  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course winds through rolling fields and woods on the southeast portion of Crockett Park. Red/White tees differed typically through added distance with similar lines. Multiple pin placements can give the return visitor a good variety combined with the two tees on most holes. A decent balance of lefty/right opportunities and one or two occasions to pull out the hyzerbomb or thumber. Most well-controlled rec players will see lots of 3's from the shorts with a handful of birdie opportunities. Strokes added from the white tees are usually a result of distance, not technical ability.

The first five holes and most of the back nine are nominally open field shots for the most part with some minimal line shaping due to a copse of trees or elevation change or a pin placement just a few yards back into the woods. Usually multiple paths to the pin. I liked #3's basket placement inside a square of four shaggy trees and #5's combination of downhill elevation and blind pin location behind one of the aforementioned copses. #6, #7, and #8 are true woods holes that have restricted fairways that force you to a more defined line and restrict overhead shots. The elevation change on #7 and #8 were fun and frustrating at the same time. By the time you get to #9, you're pretty much out of the woods. #9 through #15 are field shots with elevation changes or tucking the pin at the edge of woods or just inside. A few pin placements are blind from the tee. #13 has a 'circus' pin on top of a built-up railroad tie pyramid. #17 and #18 are somewhat of hybrids as they are field shots but more restricted with various tree windows and elevation changes to define the lines. Still, nothing that a good second shot couldn't correct for the drop-in par.

Tees were OK, not great. Red/White or Pro/Am tees were usually pretty visible but since they aren't concrete, there was a little bit of guessing at various stages of the round to figure out which tee I was on since the signage wasn't overly helpful. I don't recall seeing the painted wood markers in the photos on DGCR. Baskets were in good shape and pretty visible throughout with a little bit of scouting on the blind shots.
Cons: The course signage is well into its useful life and the hole maps on the signs aren't very helpful. They've faded pretty well and aren't great for navigation. I think a few were missing as well as I didn't notice two signs on every hole. However, having the course map pulled up on your phone helps a ton. The navigation around #12 and #15 was tricky and the rules for #13's 'C' pin placement were odd. Still don't know if I played 12 right. The course kind of crosses over itself in the back nine, however repeated plays would likely iron out the navigation issues.

Holes #8 and #9 are really the only holes that have the potential to involve the walking trail, but you should still be courteous to other park patrons. The walk from #18 back to the parking lot was a tad long, especially in the rain on the day I played. What the online map doesn't show you is that there's more parking near #14's tee that might be a better option for an easier loop.
Other Thoughts: This course is located in an immaculate multipurpose park in an affluent suburb of Nashville. The park has a walking trail, playground, and even a historic structure to visit. There's some real ground covered on this course so don't expect a quick round or easy stroll as the uphill climbs are noticeable. No real bathroom or water fountain opportunities unless the indoor soccer facility is an option. I feel like just a little more work would go a long way with this course. Concrete tees, updated signage would definitely help.

The open field portions of the course are a little repetitive, but coming from board flat Oklahoma, the elevation changes kept it interesting for me. There's no real 'WOW' hole on this course. For me, the closest was #14 red. It really tempts you to empty the bag, has deceptive range, and a pretty decent risk/reward for going for it on the upshot due to the thicket behind the A pin. Still, it wasn't something that I haven't seen done pretty similar on most courses with some decent elevation change available. All in all, a good but not great course in a municipal park. It's an easy find off of I-65 and I recommend it to anyone come through.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent DG course amidst Multi-use

5+    10/2/2015   11/2/2015
Review By: Tailwalker00
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has everything . Perfect mix of Shots and holes make this course among the best. Being located in a very nice park doesn't hurt either. Maintenance is generally perfect considering its suburbia. Maybe only two or three repetitious holes but All in All it is a must play. Roller and Tomahawk course for sure. Loved it !
Cons: Multi use park as always can have some drawbacks like hitting walkers but other than that maybe they could " permatize" it a bit more with the installation on concrete tees. But that impedes on the natural beauty of this park so for now carpet it is.
Other Thoughts: Being only minutes from I-65 this course is a great diversion or distraction to break up a long drive or whatever. Super clean and Safe as there are tons of people around always. But is not crowded as this park is Large.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Improves after first holes

2-4    5/24/2014   5/24/2014
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 75  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is on a very nice piece of land with both open and forested areas and significant elevation change. It has multiple tee locations, with the longer tees labeled "pro," and the signs indicate multiple basket locations. This review is based on two rounds from the "pro" tees.

The course winds through an immaculately maintained park. Lots of ground wood mulch covered what was apparently bare ground. The mulch was dry and was very conducive to having the disk skip well past the basket when I played in late May, 2014. This was a little added degree of difficulty on the shorter, forest holes that I appreciated.

There are a number of holes that require accurate tee shots in the woods and several that transition through narrow openings in to more open areas and vice versa. There are a few holes that utilize the available elevation changes very well, holes 4, 5, 10, 11, 14 and 18 come to mind.
A few holes border wooded areas with some very score-punishing underbrush.
Navigation is pretty straightforward. Next tee positions are indicated on the tee signs and on the bottom of the baskets. There are also park signs pointing to the next tee on some holes. I had no problem navigation this course the first time I played.
Cons: The carpet tee pads are uneven and can and do cause stumbles. This is enough to affect your shots. Of all the things that you might be thinking about when you throw, you should not have to worry about stumbling during a throw when you even take a short run up.

There are a few forgettable and wide open holes. Holes 1, 2, 3, 9 and 13 come to mind.

There is no water out on the course.

The tee signs do a very poor job of giving a new player a good idea of the layout of obstacles not visible from the tee and basket positions. They include multiple basket locations but there is no way to determine which position the basket is in without walking forward.

Basket gimmickry is in use on hole 13. I don't understand the fascination with elevated baskets. However, this one isn't overly punitive and this is more of a pet peeve than a true con. Other than the elevated basket, this is just another wide open hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun course and well worth playing. However, I can't help but think that the design just didn't get all that it could have out of this beautiful piece of property. Much of this probably comes from the first three holes. There is very little challenge there even from the "pro" tees. Hole one is just a wide open, 300 foot hole. Maybe there is a different basket location that gives it more of an elevation change, but when I played, it was downhill about 5-6 feet, i.e., practically no change. Hole 2 is wide open to the right and adds a little length and hole three is wide open with the basket guarded by a few selectively placed tall shrubs/trees that actually make a good target. Hit one and you will have good shot at birdie. They might get in your way if you throw short, but this is a fairly short hole (think "pro" tees).

This is a fun course that makes a poor early impression. The quality of the holes gets better as you get further into the course and I'm certain that I will gladly play it again the next time I visit that area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the challenge

5+    3/22/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: tampabay
Played: 41  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Difficulty - This course is difficult. It really rewards hitting your lines but can punish you for a missed one. I like the challenge of having trees/obstacles within the first 150' before a larger opening (1, 3, 5, 16). I think it really rewards a combination of precision and distance. This course is pretty long, and you will have to throw uphill and downhill.

Elevation - Holes 4, 5, 12, 17, 18 are some of my favorite uses of elevation in all of Nashville. Out of those holes only hole 13 and 18 are true downhill holes. The others have a variety of hills and valleys creating confusing winds and a great terrain for disc golf.

Variety - This course has incredible shot variety. I think a great number of the holes allow you to choose a line (meaning a right finishing shot or left finishing shot). I would consider hole 2, 4, 10, 15, 16 to be left finishing, 3, 5, 9, 11, 17, and 18 to be right finishing and the others really give you options. I love the balance of tight fairways to open bombs with what seems like constant wind.

Pro/Am Tees - I think this am tees are very well placed. There are many holes where I look over at the am tees and quickly envy anyone throwing from them. However, I think they still do provide a fun and challenging course. I have not throw from the Am Tees but I could see a newer player keeping up with someone advanced if they play well from the Am tees. I think this makes Crockett a course that players can really grow into.
Cons: Thorns - The rough is terrible. I always list this (when relevant) just so players know to be wary of the rough.

Teepads - The carpet teepads are okay on some holes, but other holes it's pretty bad. And some holes play from the walking path. Hole 4, 7, 11, 12 are the ones that come to mind that suffer. The carpet tees can be lumpy and difficult to feel comfortable on. If it's even slightly wet hole 12's tee because a nightmare. Hole 12 is really difficult so having a tricky teepad makes it even more frustrating. All in all I'd give the teepads a 7/10 with no rain, and a 4/10 with rain.

Cross Traffic - Between the walking path and a few holes having overlapping fairways (9, 10, 11, 18) it can feel a little tricky at times. I wouldn't say this is a huge issue, but it is definitely something you should be aware of. Also, when you are on the tee for hole 8, you are at risk from people throwing on hole 7.
Other Thoughts: I am reviewing this course having only played the long positions, I have not played the short tees. I think this is a great course and it feels you have to grind away at every hole to get par. I really enjoy the consistent difficulty. I wish it had one or two more wooded holes and I could do without hole 9's super-long tee. Definitely a great course and I appreciate all the work that Williamson County put in on this course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/17/2014   2/17/2014
Review By: Vibramterraius
Played: 35  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2015
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Parking: Multiple lots provided nearby and adequate space.
Maps/Markers: Course map located near first Tee. Holes are pretty well marked the back nine holes can be a little confusing first time played but easy enough to figure out.
Distances: The course offer a reasonable mix of longer and shorter distances. You can air out some drivers on several of the open targets. While working some mid-ranges through wooded sections as well.
Maintenance: Course is well maintained and clean. Once while playing in through the winter months in the lower (muddy) areas the maintenance team had shredded Christmas trees and used the shavings to cover the pathways.
Cons: Tees: This only really becomes a con in the wet seasons. Since the tees are carpet and not concrete and elevated they can be slippery and even muddy. Tees are not a problem at all when climate turns dry.
Other Thoughts: #1) Open for Driver
#2) Driver with Woods parallel on left
#3) (Will continue to finish when time permits)
#4)
#5)
#6)
#7)
#8)
#9)
#10)
#11)
#12)
#13)
#14)
#15)
#16)
#17)
#18)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ditto on Big Arm's Dream

5+    10/23/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: Declarkus
Played: 117  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good signage, pro tees, multiple pins, good flow
Cons: Carpet tee pads can be wet, muddy, slippery
Other Thoughts: I've probably played this course the most. It was where I learned to snap a drive, and where I learned how to battle the wind . Great beginner course from the red tees. Challenging but fair from the tips. Loosely wooded, only a few in the woods. The wind can really mess with you from the 1st hole and the back 9. I really like this course, but there's nothing that makes it great. It's fun from both tees; its almost like 2 courses.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.