Pampa, TX 
Pampa DGC Share
Uploaded By: REignsDchaiNS Hole #4 (Taken 11/2016)
3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 

1    2/27/2018   3/1/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots
Cement Tee Pads
Open holes were longer, the more trees, the shorter the hole.
Tone Pole on #8's fairway,.
Nice city park, course was looking good
Noticed several holes had alternate pin placements.
Cons: Several tee signs were damaged.
Flow is good once you know how the course is laid out. Without the map, I had a few spots I had to figure out.
Worst hole on the course was Hole 2. It was a short turn over shot, however there was a poll listed as a mando, making it a hard right shot.
Other Thoughts: Well, I forgot to print out the map, the cords bring you to what I thought was the parking area and it turned out to be the tee for hole 8. So I figured I would just start there.

First thing I came across was the tone pole in the fairway of 8. After playing several holes, I noticed several old tee markers. I can only assume this was a 9 hole tone pole course when it went in. I am glad they left the one in place.

The course makes good use of what land is in the park. This is west Texas and there is a lack of tree's. But the course does make use of what tree's are in the park. There is a drainage creek running though the park. No water in it today, but then the Panhandle is in a drought right now.

Good use of the bridges in the park, the course is designed where you can cross the creek using a bridge each time.

I am not sure which was the best hole, I think it might be a tie between hole #18, a long turnover shot up a hill, or the tricky hole #7 with OB road on the right, creek on the left and you have to throw around some trees and over a hill to get to the basket. My roller unfortunately rolled up the hill by the basket and into the street for a circle 3. It was a good finishing hole for me considering I started on hole 8.

Would I play here again?

mmmm, good question. The course is good, but not great. It has some good holes I enjoyed playing, but in general, it is not an exciting course. Too open in too many spots. If I was staying in town, yes I would play again. But I am not going to drive out of my way to play here again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/22/2016   10/22/2016
Review By: REignsDchaiNS
Played: 142  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2016
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course in a wide open area. Good use of the land. Plays threw a park in a nice quiet neighborhood. Course flows well once you've learned the layout.
Cons: No benches or bathrooms on site. Some hole signs are destroyed so the course can be hard to follow without printing off the map.
Other Thoughts: got my photos up now for anyone wanting to see the course. If you're in the area this ones worth checking out.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Almost there...

2-4    5/19/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: try122583
Played: 126  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 22.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice neighborhood park in the middle of town.
- Good usage of the whole park for the eighteen holes. You won't feel cramped.
- Once you know where you're going, it does flow pretty well, wrapping around nicely.
- Mandos add a nice challenge to a few holes.
- Multiple pin placements add variety. I've played twice, and I've noticed some baskets were in different spots, so it looks like they try to keep it fresh by moving them around.
- The signage is good, showing both pin placements, feet to basket, and where the mandos are if any are present.
- If it ever rained in the Panhandle, there would be some nice water holes, also adding to the challenge.
Cons: - If you're playing for the first time, it'll be tough to find the starting point without a map. There isn't a billboard or sign telling you where hole one is. I recommend some sort of course map if you're new to it.
- Another reason the map comes in handy? It will help you find the next tee box. For the most part it isn't a problem, but the tee signs, while nice, aren't tall, and therefore not that visible at times. The baskets have marks on them that I'm guessing are there to point you in the right direction, but when the baskets get moved around, they don't take time to make sure they line up with where the next tee box is.
- There are some spots of the course that would benefit greatly from park maintenance. A lot of tall grass needs to be cut. Spent some time pulling needle like grass out of my shoes and socks.
Other Thoughts: While most of the course is pretty open, holes 13-16 are reason enough to check this place out. They're located across the street after hole 12 and don't even look like they fit in with the rest of the course. You'll have to hit some tree gaps on 14-16, which is something missing from the other holes, and if it ever rained, water would become a factor. All in all, this course is worth checking out, and I don't mind making the drive from Amarillo to play it. I will definitely play it again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Loved this course

1    5/15/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: oidhchegaoth
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout, loved the elevation changes, really enjoyed this course, easy to follow the way from hole to hole (even better when some local guy told us that the red wire on the basket points the way to the next tee box) nice mix of short and long holes, and 2 dog legs where nice. Note to all, most of the Tee box signs have been destroyed which does not affect play till hole 18 on 18 need to know that this is the 2nd dog leg hole so go left of the trees not right (which would take you over the street)
Cons: We played on a low wind day, could see how this course would get really hard with the wind blowing. Lots and lots of trash, I think I filled my bag up 4 times with cans that others left all over the course/park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/19/2010   10/24/2010
Review By: tyocky
Played: 51  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park setting, easy to navigate and not a lot of extra walking between holes. The course has a good mix between short and long, technical and open. Power will help on some holes but not all, and accuracy is rewarded on other holes. Good use of available trees, elevation, OB's. A stream comes into play on a few of them. Most holes present you with a number of different possible approaches allowing the player to make risk/reward type decisions as well as deciding between hyzer/anhyzer, roller, etc. It was a lot of fun to play and the kids had a blast at the awesome central playground that resembles a huge fort.
Cons: Tee signs had all been recently vandalized and broken. On the day I played it there was not much water in the creek, but if there had been (like I assume there is at other times) it would have been a hassle to walk all the way to the bridge every time it was crossed.
Other Thoughts: If I lived in the area I would for sure hold tournaments at this course...it cries out as a perfect location for disc golf events.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.