San Marcos, CA 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #4 (Taken 3/2010)
5 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Careful

1    5/11/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Situated in a really nice new park, with garbage cans, drinking fountains and plenty of parking.
-New baskets and the round concrete tee pads are easy to spot and unique (Distance info stamped in)
-Easy to navigate once you find hole one
-Some interesting holes with some elevation changes. (Dont go right on hole #4- you will end up in the brush- best hole)
-#2 is an easy ace hole- very short and straight away.
-Plum trees on the right make for a tight shot on #3, although short distance.
Cons: -Too many people. As other reviewers have said #5 & #6 are difficult to play. #5 really is blind. I drove from up the hill, but I had to wait for the kids to stop playing on the basket. Someone was picknicking on #6 tee and the field was full of kids running around.
-There is ample space across the bridge by the indoor soccer to fit more holes. Once they move #5 and #6 to that side, they should add 3 more to make it a 9 hole.
-I played all as a par 3, contrary to the distances on the marker (#5 should not be a par 5)
-Didn't have a map, had to retrace from hole #6 to find Hole #1.
Other Thoughts: -Not the type of course that I am going to play regularly. Its free and I would definately bring my nieces and nephews out here for fun on the weekend or something.
-In terms of a destination, I would go CSU SM, even Montiel would be a much better choice, haven't played Kit Carson yet.
-Kept rating out of the 1.5-2.0 range because it is unique, has some challenging holes and is in really good condition (good learning spot). Ultimately, it's too small, too few holes, too busy with kids and park patrons, and #5 and #6 (1/3 of the course) is too poorly designed for a good rating.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Nice but avoid when busy

2-4    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: dparcher
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: In a nice neighborhood park with nice views.
Cons: Baskets 4-6 can be hard to play if the park is busy since they're near play areas and/or paths. Tees are attractive and have a nice surface but are a bit short for me.
Other Thoughts: Distances are all fairly short. Park opened February 2010.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good for the kids

1    4/10/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: fifteen
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice pitch-and-putt course around a park that can get busy at times. Great for the kids who are just learning out. Navigation wasn't a problem and it's easy to play. It's also free which is always a bonus.

I would suggest this course for newer players because it will suit their distance. This course seems approximate to expose people to the disc golf scene and a good stepping stone to bigger courses.
Cons: Like I said, the park can get busy at times. I played it on a weekend afternoon which wasn't the smartest thing to do. There were kids and families running around the fairways.

Hole #5 is insane because the big arms will just over shoot the basket and hit the playground.
Other Thoughts: I suggest coming to this course if its on your way to wherever you're heading. If you want to sample the San Diego disc golf scene, head down to either Montiel Park (about 5 miles east) or Morley Field near downtown San Diego.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Clean lil course

1    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 20.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets, all in great shape
-Neat, circular tee pads with the hole length and direction etched into them
-Family-friendly course. No smoking and a fancy play area for the young ones.
-Very clean park setting
-Good use of elevation change. Each hole has an elevation element that one has to shape their shots around.
-Free!!!
-Plenty of parking
Cons: -Dangerous. Not for golfers, but for the masses of kiddies that are playing in the play area. One of the baskets is literally 15' away from a sculpture the kids use as playground equipment, on a blind hole, no less. Serious design flaw.
- Weird pars. One 275' par 5 and another short par 4. On completely open holes. I guess they play if you hit a kid, you get a stroke, which, I'd imagine, is pretty often.:
-Lots of families wandering around the fairways. Hopefully, they'll learn.
-Hole 4 tee is right in front of a fence. Very awkward.
-Only 6 holes!:(
Other Thoughts: Sunset Park is a newer park with a very young disc golf course along the periphery. Hole 5 killed this course's rating for me. I buzzed the tower, almost nailing a wayward toddler (with a good drive), and got yelled at by her mom, never a good sign. What can ya do? it was clear when I spotted it 30 seconds prior. I expect to hear about a LOT of young ones and their parental units getting hammered with discs at this course.

This course caters strictly to beginners. High pars and danger when throwing discs hard (even with appropriate, good drives) mar this pitch-and-putt for anyone that can throw more than 200'. Good for seeking aces and the ego boost of shooting -7 on 6 holes, but that's about it.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Kids Course

2-4    3/5/2010   3/5/2010
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 98  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 14.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Navigation is easy. Nice circular tee pads with hole number, distance to basket and par engraved in the concrete. Brand new Mach III baskets. Very nicely landscaped and maintained with plenty of trash and recycling bins. Decent amount of elevation in play. This park seems like it is brand new. There is a state of the art playground that is completely shaded with a fountain feature. The park also offers two half-court basketbal courts, sand volleyball, a view of the ocean, drinking fountains, restrooms, walking paths, picnic benches, soccer fields, and more. Seemed like enough lights to allow for night play.
Cons: Very short with few obstacles. Only six holes with one tee and one basket each. Hole 5 is unplayable in its current position due to the fact that the basket is within 15 feet of a popular playground feature. This hole is a blind tee shot over a rise and I am glad I chose not to throw because when I walked up over the hill I saw a toddler hanging on to the bottom of the basket. Park is heavily used by non-golfers. No practice basket.
Other Thoughts: Great for beginners and kids. A normal catch and throw disc could be used here. Bring the putters. Not a destination for the serious disc golfer, but fun nonetheless. The 1st tee is on the hillside beind the basketball courts. Go by the volleyball court and up the concrete path. Look for the circular tee pad on the grass.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.