Charleston (John's Island), SC 
John's Island DGC Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #3 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Fun little Rec course

1    12/7/2019   4/21/2020
Review By: pmay5
Played: 205  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 17.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DISCatchers are still in pretty good shape.
Small concrete tee pads and tee signs.
Plays around small pond, nearby but not too close.
Most of the holes are on unused portions of this small neighborhood course.
Pretty quick play.
Please do not feed the alligators sign! :)
Cons: Tee pads are pretty short, not a big issue here since most of the holes are short and they are flush to the ground, but they are short.
#2 Basket has been pulled, and for good reason. It was along the entrance road and next to the parking lot.
#9 basket is in a bad spot, on about 10 feet of grass between the parking lot and park road.
#3 is a strange hole, you tee behind the tennis courts, the fairway is narrow, between the fence and thick weeds, then nearly a 90 degree turn right, then left into a gap in the trees.
Other Thoughts: Short rec course in a small neighborhood park. Several things to do in the park, tennis, ballfields, soccer field and picnic shelters, so I can see this being used by families and parents with kids at practices.
As I mentioned in the Pros, the holes are laid out in areas not used by the other activities in the park. You might encounter some walkers or people going from one area to another, but there shouldn't be too many interruptions. They did a nice job of using about the only elevation in the park, the #1 basket sits on top of that mound for an interesting opening hole.
#4,5 and 6 give you the most chances to encounter the pond. #4 behind the basket, #5 to the right of the fairway and #6 provides the most risk/reward. The tee is right behind two large trees, creating a natural double mando, the fairway is mostly open, nice grass, but the basket is to the right, pretty close to the pond. Speaking of the pond, you know you are playing in the Southeast US when you see "Do Not Feed the Alligators" signs!!
The #9 basket is really in a bad position, since they kept this one, I wonder how close #2 was to the road! It looked to me like they could have backed the tee up several feet and created a little more space between the road and parking lot for the basket.
Fun little course, best as a warm up before, or cool down after, playing the better courses in this part of Charleston.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fast, Fun and Friendly

5+    1/11/2018   1/31/2018
Review By: Sparkles
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *All Innova Discatchers in great shape.
*All concrete tees pad making drives much easier.
*Good variety of distances and use of water.
*Easy to navigate with good signage.
*Great for beginners with shorter distances than most courses.
*Greens up-keep is very nice with great use of limited land.
*Great for Ace Races.
Cons: *Wildlife and bugs can become an issue
*Short holes can bore the more advanced player
*Playground is very close to some holes, with young kids unaware of disc golf.
Other Thoughts: A fast, fun and family friendly course that you can play through in maybe 20 minutes. Great use of limited land space and easy to navigate. A great place to warm-up before playing John's Islands better course...Trophy Lakes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 very short, fun and user friendly dgc

5+    12/10/2017   12/19/2017
Review By: TerribleDiscGolfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find - lots of dry parking - most teepads are easy to find (except #3) - cement teepads - all baskets in good condition - set in very nice community park with other amenities - pond comes into play on 3 holes - great practice course...for upshots, putting, mid-ranges etc...
Cons: very short and a bit too simple for most good players - the basket for #2 has been stolen/removed (we just play to the #9 basket near the tennis parking area) - hopefully the county will replace the basket someday soon...
Other Thoughts: - after playing #2 - walk down the sidewalk between the tennis courts to get to the #3 teepad - very tough little par 3 with a tiny opening in the middle of the trees in which to try and get to the basket
- I have played a lot of higher rated course with dirt tees, no pretty water features, and crappy parking with no amenities nearby...

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 practice course

2-4    6/14/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: jamesdevin
Played: 85  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2015
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great for beginners
Good tee pads
Cons: only 9 holes
mostly short holes
Other Thoughts: Average course that is good for practice. Nothing special but good for a quick round. I've only seen a handful of people on the course so its rarely busy.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/12/2015   6/20/2015
Review By: Qikly
Played: 165  Reviewed: 146  Exp: 8.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: John's Island Park's DGC is a simple, straightforward affair. The light tree cover is used in a variety of ways, providing a low ceiling on 1 and tight windows on 3 and 6. Water comes into play on a few holes, bordering both fairways and pins, factoring in enough to matter but not so much as to create unreasonable risk. 1's hillside pin adds a bit of rollaway potential and further spices up the hole a bit. 3 forces landing zone consideration with its considerable bottleneck. All of these design elements are simple, but executed well enough to create shot variety and engagement relative to a casual round.

The park seems extremely well-tended, navigation is intuitive, and the concrete tees are great.

There's a tendency to automatically call any short rec course a good beginner course, but John's Island DGC really is that. The short hole lengths are kind to beginners, the rough is virtually nonexistent, and there's enough variety of lines and obstacles to expose newbies to ideas of both shot-shaping and risk/reward. I've taken my uncle, who is not a disc golfer, to play a few courses with me, and this is the first course he truly enjoyed: the lines and obstacles were interesting to him, and the distances were well within his comfort zone. I think this is a great course for beginners.
Cons: John's Island DGC is super short and super basic. Holes like 2 are as throwaway as can be, with simply a tee at one end of a small field and a basket at the other. Many other holes have basic line shapes or a few trees in the fairway, but are too short and too open to provide any real threat. The challenge factor here is quite low for any regular player.

Hole 3 plays directly alongside a tennis court and tempts the serious player to throw over it, creating some potential for conflict with other park goers. Ruling out that route, it's an ill-designed tunnel shot.
Other Thoughts: John's Island DGC was quite fun for what it is. Short courses like this frustrate when they're unkempt, hard to navigate, have unrealistic hole design, or factors that swallow discs. John's Island avoids all of these pitfalls while having enough design consideration to expose the beginner to various aspects of the game, so it's a win in my book. My low rating is simply a product of where it stands in my experience relative the the wide spectrum of courses I've played: against the field, it just doesn't stack up, but that doesn't mean it's not worth a visit for a quick, low-key round!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short, fun course

5+    7/6/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 41  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Concrete tees in good condition
- Park is clean & well maintained
- Bathrooms, playground, tennis courts, volleyball, and baseball on site
- Quiet little park without much DG traffic
- Great use of the pond. It is close enough to be on your mind for errant throws, but never forces a carry. There is always a way to play it safe for a beginner.
- The park is fairly open but does a good job with the trees there to force a variety of shot types.
- If offline or in a tree - you aren't punished as there is always a route to save your par (unless you hit the pond).
Cons: - Hole 3. I'm not sure what the thought was here. First it is hard to find and doesn't flow well. Then you look at the shot and wonder what they wanted you to do to play this. IMO the ONLY way to play this as a decent hole is to go over the tennis courts which is obviously a bad idea if they are occupied. If you tried to play it around it leaves several short throws that aren't quality DG throws. Throw ~150' to the corner of the courts. Throw ~75' to the opening. Throw a 75' putt/approach. Meh. Playing over the course makes it a nice more challenging 3 (for the course) but is a no-go with folks on the course, which has happened a few times I played it.
- Hole #9. It is a 175' throw to a small 'island' where you have OB road left and OB parking lot right with a ~25' wide island. There is a tree almost dead center in the way taking a straight approach away. The shot I'd want to throw on this hole is to the right, over the parking lot and letting it fade in. If the OB island were defined by anything BUT road/parking lot this would be fine....but something about designing a hole that is best thrown over a parking lot isn't a great idea. Again ok if the lot is empty...but if they are playing tennis there is a good shot holes 3&9 are drastically impacted.
- Playground comes into play on hole 7 (I think, from memory).
Other Thoughts: Of the three John's Island 9 hole courses, this one is by far my favorite to play of the bunch. It requires a more complete game (for a short 9) with some thoughts on risk/reward on the few shots with the pond in play. Like the others, you can easily get a round in less than 30 mins. The safety concerns I have with holes 3/7/9 have prevented me from giving this a higher rating. I have mostly played this during the day when it was open and I wasn't impacted but when I played an evening round I had people on the tennis courts and the parking lot which interfered with holes 3&9. I was able to "make do" with #9 with a more boring approach to the hole but #3 was out and I ended up making up my own safari alternative.


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 For Starters

1    11/24/2013   11/25/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 9.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I thought this was a nice beginner-appropriate course which is actually a rarity. It's a nice park and there's a pretty lake so it can easily be an enjoyable experience for any discer but for once, someone made a collection of holes that will be both playable and interesting for new players.

The first couple holes are very easy. One plays to a nice little mound. The other is a straight and open shot. From there it gets tougher but not too much tougher. 3 introduces trees as obstacles without making the gaps too narrow. The next few holes circle the lake. None of these holes are too long and they play around the water without forcing difficult carries. Really, the course has everything that a player will eventually encounter, just on a smaller and easier scale.

Additionally, experienced players could play some nice safari here. With some of those basket locations, great carries could be created with some made-up tees.
Cons: There are two problems really. The third tee, which everyone seems to have trouble finding, and which I eventually skipped, needs navigation aids. And the ninth hole is going to lead to discs in the road, regardless of what is declared OB.

Fix those two things and this is a course I would eagerly recommend to those who want to try the game for the first time. It still won't be a course that veterans will find much challenge or thrill at, but rookies need courses too.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/22/2013   10/23/2013
Review By: SmittyDisc
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, concrete run-ups, well maintained park and a fun layout. Good beginner course, but interesting for a seasoned player as well.
Cons: I'm not sure what the thought process was for hole 3, but the teebox is hard to find, and the best approach to the basket is to lob it high over the tennis courts or play several short shots around them. I can't seem to make it make sense in my mind.
Other Thoughts: Great course for a lunch-time 9, you can finish in less than 20 mins. and the park in generally empty midday.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short Course in a Park

5+    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 59  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Innova Discatcher Baskets...always nice.

Actually a good, interesting mix of shots required for such a short course. Requires you to throw high, low, left, and right.

Lots of fields around the course for warmup.

Nice concrete tee pads and hole signs...its always a huge plus to have quality teeing grounds.

Water fountain, Porta-John on site. Always nice to have the basics

Definite ace runs for the intermediate/advanced player, while not being too easy.
Cons: Only 9 holes.

Baskets on 6 and 9 are somewhat bent. The one on 6 is very wobbly.

Hole 3 is a very poor design. It is obviously an attempt at a short S curve hole, but it really leaves nowhere to throw the disc without endangering tennis players.

Hole 9 plays way too close to the road and parking lot!
Other Thoughts: The course's local rules declare something to the effect of roads, walkways, and "recreation areas" being out of bounds. Considering this course runs through a park, that leaves a bit of ambiguity. Is across the road out of bounds? Is the tennis court out of bounds? How about the volleyball court and the parking lot that are involved in hole 9? Overall the local rules could just use a bit more clarification, as they can become a bit vague as you are actually playing the course.

Navigation - course starts near the tennis courts. Look for the green sign. Hole 3 is dififcult to find. From basket 2, walk down the sidewalk between the tennis courts.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun course with a playground

5+    9/10/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: discslinger02
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course, it has all discatchers with all concrete tee pads, very well kept greens. It offers me a 9 hole round and my kids can play at the playground that surrounds hole 7 and 8. It is the best of both worlds if you bring your family. The course also features a water hazzard and hole 4, 5, and 6 offer a little better challenge for control.
Cons: On a weekend their are a lot of kids at the playground, some may wonder into the disc golf path, or fishermen on hole 6 can get in the way.
Other Thoughts: A great course to add to your list.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.