College Station, TX 
Southern Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #8 (Taken 4/2011)
5 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
 Clean and tight little course

2-4    8/15/2019   8/19/2019
Review By: Jordan
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Concrete Tee boxes
- Tee signs are clear and easy to understand (Missing one on 4)
- Baskets are in great condition
- Tight fairways
- Lots of risk reward shots, including a major one on hole
Cons: - Tee boxes face the wrong direction (Not that big of a deal)
- Hole 8 is dumb... Long horseshoe par 5. I played twice and the first time I went all the way around for par, the next time I threw it over the trees and landed a few feet from the hole for a double eagle.
- Tough to find errant shots
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course. I like the heavy tree courses myself. Im not a distance thrower, so the technical shots are my kind of game. This is a very technical course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/25/2017   11/25/2017
Review By: blake833
Played: 142  Reviewed: 119  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2017
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved this course when I lived in College Station. Each hole is unique, and forces you to use a variety of shots to make par.

The course is through a small clump of woods, but you don't feel crowded by the proximity of the other holes since the trees are pretty thick, and the layout is well done.

The forest is cleared out well in the fairways, so if you stay in the fairway you're good.

The holes may be technical, but are short enough, even new players who can throw straight could conceivably make, or get close to par. Almost every hole is aceable for experienced players, birdies definitely possible.

Concrete tee pads are always my favorite.

You will definitely not get lost trying to follow the flow of this course.
Cons: There aren't any big long-bomb throws where you can just let one fly. Even the par 4s, you have to be precise.

A lot of the concrete tee-pads aren't oriented in the right direction. It's such a short course though, you don't really need the whole tee-pad.
Other Thoughts: There's not a lot of elevation. That, the short distances, and the tightness of the fairways are keeping this from a 4, maybe even a 4.5 rating.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9 Hole Course In A New Development!

1    9/25/2017   9/25/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 42.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Southern Oaks Park is a nice little neighborhood park in this newer development. The park has a nice covered play area, BB courts and a picnic shelter. There is a big colored course map at the beginning. Then each hole has a colored tee sign showing the route. And of course, there is a rules of disc golf sign. The baskets are DGA models with the red number on top and the concrete pads are nice sized.

The course starts out with two short technical holes in the 225' range. Neither of these pads actually faces the basket or it's fairway but it's obvious where the route is. But still, I found it slightly discombobulating. (Cool word, huh?). After these two holes, the holes start getting a little longer but are still tight. The rough is filled with these nasty thorny bushes. If I played this course on a regular basis, I would covertly be make no it my mission to trim these thorny little bastards. It wouldn't change the difficulty any but would certainly make landing in the rough more pleasant.

# 8 is the infamous fishhook hole. It takes two well placed shots to have a look at a birdie. It's gimmicky but somehow works here.
Cons: I have serious safety concerns with hole 7 playing blind over the walking path. It would never be a problem with me throwing because I couldn't reach the path but a player with a strong forehand could possibly smoke someone on the path. What if it was a mother pushing a stroller or a small child on a bike?

The prickly plants in the rough are a pain to move about. Hunting for lost discs is the norm here.

A couple of tree pads aren't facing the basket.
Other Thoughts: I was really liking this course on the first few holes but it lost some glam for me on holes 7 and 8. I'm not a big safety nazzi but this could lead to a serious accident. And the infamous fishhook hole will continue to cause players grief beyond words. The course is certainly interesting but not as good as it's lofty rating.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 not a good course, but not a bad course

1    8/1/2016   8/2/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 997  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee signs on all but one hole
Baskets were in good shape
Most of the holes were tight tunnel shots
Cement tee boxes
Course map near hole 1
Cons: The rough is rough
don't care for 2 shot 300 foot holes. The bends on a few of the holes were too tight to make it to the hole in one shot forcing a two shot hole on a short hole.
Other Thoughts: STAY IN THE FAIRWAYS is key to playing this course. I spent more time looking for my bad shots than it actually took to play this course.

This is a simple 9 hole course carved out of a stand of trees.

2 of the holes have hard left shots that were made in such a way that it is almost impossible to park the hole.

1 hole is hard right and is another under 300 ft 2 shot hole.

1 hole is U shaped and even with good shots, a 3 would be hard. (I took a 5)

I did not like the U hole, #1 even though I could not see it at the time, eventually someone is going to clear a path straight to the hole. This hole is listed as 400, and plays all of it because you have to lay up a perfect 1st shot to get a chance at the upshot for a 3.

I did not enjoy the course, a 500 foot shot takes two shots to reach the basket, a 300 foot shot should have a chance for the 2 at least.

I still rated the course a 3 because it was not a wide open short course, it is challenging.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Short and Fun

2-4    7/2/2016   7/2/2016
Review By: brookarnold
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
- Fun to carve shots around trees
- Lots of shade!
- Baskets, tee signs, and pads all in great shape
- High risk/reward holes
- Great replay value!
Cons:
- Hole 8 (giant horseshoe) feels forced.
- There is confusion around holes 6 and 8 whether there are mandos or not, so posted scores for this course can't be compared accurately.
Other Thoughts:
Wear long pants for the many shots you'll take inside bushes.

It seems obvious to me what the course designer intended on holes 6 and 8, and I don't think people should post their scores anywhere if they played without any mandos.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 southern oaks

5+    3/26/2016   4/4/2016
Review By: papabearvas79
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent course. Tee signs and pads present. Well mapped. And for the most part easy to play. I like the challenge of learning the right routes to get maximum experience of the course. This course does require you to think outside the box on some holes.
Cons: The elements. Poison ivy. Some snakes. Some blind corners where you have to hunt for your disc if your shot didn't go according to plan lol. I found a curious squirrel my first time here. Went to look for my disc after throwing first shot on hole 4. I found it in the hands of a squirrel who was half way up a tree with it. Wish I had snapped a pic of it. Hole 4 has no tee sign so if it's your first time. Take a few steps to the right so you can spot the basket before throwing. Folks keep saying the tee pads are lacing the wrong way but they directly face the baskets except for hole 8 which is a big "U" shaped hole.
Other Thoughts: If your looking for a straight line course with big open drives this is not the course for you. If you enjoy obstacles and testing your ability to find new interesting routes then give this a shot. Easy to lose track of your disc though. Pay attention to where you land. Overall great course. I enjoy playing this course. Have fun. Play safe. Peace

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/5/2013   10/10/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 287  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a surprisingly great neighborhood course carved out of a wooded area with tight but fair lines off each tee.

The concrete tees are fair and the tee signs are big and colorful with a big course map at the beginning of the course.

Most College Station/Bryan courses are fairly wide open so this course is a good change in scenery and has a higher fun factor than most courses in the area.

Hole 9 is my favorite hole as it is a 300' straight shot through the woods with the basket outside of the trees. It is a good finishing hole that really showcases in one hole what this course is all about.
Cons: As mentioned before, all of the concrete tees are pointed in the wrong direction. It detracts from a proper run up on some holes, even though a big run up is not needed with the length of holes on the course.
Hole #4 is one of the shorter holes on the course and even a little bit of a long drive can hit the tee box on hole #5. Even if I said Hole 9 is the best hole, too long of a drive on that hole can land on a basketball court that is 30' behind the basket. Be careful of your surroundings.
Sort of a theme for CS/B courses is the lack of parking at most courses. Street parking is the only way to play this course and it probably means you will be parking in front of someone's house.
Other Thoughts: I played Southern Oaks twice and I played Hole 8 the first time all the way around the horseshoe and even if it felt a little gimmicky, I felt cheated the second time I played where I tomahawked it over the trees for an easy two. There seems to be much argument over how the hole should be played and I would say that the player should just play all the way around and get the full experience out of the hole and the course.
All in all this is a great course and not even just for a neighborhood. The course is very well designed and is not too tough but tough enough to keep experienced players engaged.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    1/6/2013   1/8/2013
Review By: Eluwak5447
Played: 63  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2016
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tight lines. Emphasis on shot selection and placement. Quiet neighborhood without a lot of traffic.
Cons: Short course, tee pads face wrong direction, litter doesn't go away no matter how many times you pick it up, snakes are very present in the warmer months, poison ivy too.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 No long drives here!

1    12/16/2012   12/16/2012
Review By: teamtexas
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was clean and laid out well. We played just after a heavy rain and it wasn't real muddy. Easy to navigate.
Cons: Lots of trees and narrow fairways. Good course to work on your thumbers. Some tight corners that are hard to get around and stay close to par.
Other Thoughts: Great signage on this course and I liked the baskets. Quiet location with only street parking.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 technical in town

2-4    12/8/2012   12/8/2012
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice technical course. Small 9 hole, but layed out well for the space. Tomahawk comes in handy on hole 8 and making a double eagle or an ace is possible even though it's a par 5. There are several holes that can be aced. Really fun risk reward style of course. relatively low traffic on the course also adds to the pleasure of the game. Enjoy.
Cons: Someone created a mando on #8 that isn't true. Too see a true mando look at MetCenter course hole #10. Would love to have a larger scale technical course in town that's 18 hole. Need a practice basket.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.