Roanoke, VA 
Fishburn Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 156ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Maybe In It's Heyday

1    5/23/2020   5/28/2020
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 695  Reviewed: 319  Exp: 27.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- The 9 hole course has an okay bathroom at the parking lot .
-- The parking lot will be able to handle the small traffic of park goers .
--- The course is mostly flat ( a downhill shot on #1 is the exception ) with deceptive length .
--Mach 3 numbered baskets , with circular markers for where to tee off .
And , that's about it for the pros
Cons: Now , for all of the cons :
#1 Safety . There is a walking path that runs right through the first 4 holes , and can be a factor in many of the other holes . If a walker does it just right , He/she can walk one way , get hit , turn around at the end of the path , only to get hit again by the same person .maybe only in the back this time . Plenty of people walk this cement path . Try to be careful , even if it holds you up a lot .
#2 . Equipment .No signage , I didn't mind the old Mach 3 baskets , but these old time markers , most of which you will fail to find because the have been buried from mud and rain .are terrible.I know they are a convenience to the mowers , but ,,,,, Really ? The parks believe in this relic of a course so much , that they don't even mention it on the kiosk map of the park .So there is no online map or course map . I had to safari many of the holes .
#3 On the level section of the park forms a basin , which is where almost 90% of the course lies , On any kind of decent rain , the course will be so wet that your shoes will fill up with water by about ,,,, hole 2 . I didn't even try a couple of the back 2 holes . #9 hooks around to the left and goes out into an overgrown field . I didn't know if it was just a giant puddle in the fairway , and couldn't tell because the areas hadn't been mowed in a long time ( 3' high grass ) . Weeds had grown up inside the basket .
mower friendly ? this course isn't one of them . High grass abounds . You are warned .
#4 Almost everything is a right to left shot .
#5 After hole #9 ,There are plenty of trees to climb and throw yourself out of after you have realized that you have literally wasted 30+ minutes of time on this course when there are other course a very short drive from here .
Disc Risk : You are going to shank on this course because the shots are so repetitive , and since most of the players are going to be newbies and the very casual players , and basket placements are under trees , a disc can easily be swallowed up by the trees , or the brush on the back 5 .
Other Thoughts: I am almost always for the promotion of disc golf through its many courses . The course here , because of it's age ( 1992 ) , should be considered a piece of history , Instead it is a piece of something , other than that . I scouted some woods behind the bathrooms that could hold a few holes , maybe taking the pressure off the tight strip of out and back holes that make up this course .
If no one wants to take up the cause , maybe it would be better to pull the course before too many people get hit by discs . This small park was loaded with families and kids using the playgrounds , the paths , sitting on the hillsides . There is just not enough room here for a disc golf course , too . The parks have had 28 years and counting to get this right .My recommendation : Donate the baskets to a bigger park , melt the big metal circle tee pads to scrap , and enjoy the park for the other multi uses it offers . Drive On By .

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Too overgrown to play

1    8/30/2019   9/4/2019
Review By: quailman8907
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
Pros: Good location, nice park overall.
Cons: The grass was incredibly overgrown, to the point that we left and went to play somewhere else.
Other Thoughts: Could use a sign of some sort to help find the first tee, the round markers are very easy to overlook (especially in 1-2 foot grass)

 Dah, Dah, Daaah...Dah, Dah, Daaaaaaah!

1    8/14/2016   8/19/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 42.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just in case anyone recognizes the tune of my Review Title. That would be taps.

I found out later, as I was off playing courses 30 miles away, Roanoke had been hit that morning by three heavy rainstorms. But regardless, this course is located in a flood pain and I think will always have drainage issues.

But I won't apologize for the Roanoke Park's Department not owning a lawn mower. The grass down by the creek was 6" tall and obviously very wet. Trudging through this deep, wet grass was in no way an enjoyable experience.

The round, metal tee signs which look like man hole covers are terrible. Many are overgrown with grass and are hard to locate. On the day I played Fishburn, three were completely submerged, like sunken treasure!

The course starts above the tennis courts and plays five holes heading out and then the last four coming back. There are no tee pads. I don't think you're supposed to be teeing off the man hole covers, are you? The baskets are Mach III with the red numbers.

I did like # 4's basket placement. The basket is set under a large tree beneath the gurgling creek. However, this creek is probably dry this time of year and there would be no gurgling. # 8 was also a cool little downhill shot through the trees. Unfortunately, I was never able to locate the man hole cover tee.
Cons: Grass needs cutting!
Too many holes playing over walking/running path.
Man hole cover tee signs are extremely hard to locate.
No tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Like other reviewers before have noted, this course probably isn't a great idea in the first place and has definitely seen better days. My best advice would be to pull the baskets, sell the man hole tee markers for scrap and relocate this course to somewhere above ground.

And then petition the Roanoke Park's Department to save up their tax dollars and maybe buy a lawn mower.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Needs serious work

5+    9/3/2014   9/29/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 166  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 11.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Out of the available land in the park, Fishburn utilizes it ok for probably 2 of the 9 holes (1 and 8). The other holes all felt contrived.

Hole 1 gets you off to a fun start with a downhill shot to a basket tucked safely behind a tree. The only other fun hole on the course is hole 8, which is pretty unique I must admit, but forces a semi blind shot over a walking path which is in use every time I've been out.

There is water in play, both in the form of a river and surely in your shoes as well! That does create a mild risk/reward element, but no other real challenge to speak of.

The length of the holes are actually long enough that, despite the low rating of this course, requires you to pull out a driver on. Usually courses rated this poorly will be pitch and putt deals, but you'll at least get to let a few rip on a few holes.

Other than the other amenities in the park, there are very little pro's to this course other than holes 1 and 8.
Cons: Where do I begin?

First off, the tee "pads" are merely circular concrete markers, often times overgrown so much with grass they are hard to spot. Forget throwing off of these, they simply serve as a starting point.

The baskets are old and in extreme disrepair. Several of the baskets are bent or are angled awkwardly and simply need to be replaced.

The entire course is located in a flood zone and any little amount of rain is sure to saturate the ground on every hole. This also attracts the mosquitoes rather fiercely in the summer and makes for an almost miserable experience.

I know this course was made a while ago, and I have no idea how the park was set up during its inception, but nearly every hole has the walking path in play. (In fact I'd say only holes 1,2 and 3 are the exception). This is not only dangerous for the other park goers, it's frustrating for the golfers as well as they are forced to wait at nearly every hole for the walkers to pass.

There are zero signs, either tee or navigational. Be prepared to stumble about in the swamp to find a bit of concrete marking the "tee area".
Other Thoughts: I know the back story of this course and I realize it was the only local course for many years. I know there is a lot of emotional ties to the course but that simply doesn't excuse the disrepair it is in.

Someone should really go in and overhaul this course. I wouldn't advocate removing it entirely, mostly because I think any course is better than no course, but it doesn't represent our sport well and would be a complete turnoff for a beginner golfer.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Needs overhaul

1    6/9/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: plubbs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Lots of open fairway space
* Mixed terrain
* Varying play heights and hills
Cons: * Large patches of unmowed land in the middle of the course from lack of funding
* Old/bent holes
* "Natural" tees that are hidden under grass
* No par/course information at tees
* Standing water throughout
* Illogical flow to hole progress
* Crowded design
Other Thoughts: A lot of the cons are related to being a smaller/casual 9 hole course designed in 1992 and just sort of left there as disc golf isn't huge in the area. However, I played this as a kid regularly and after ~10 years away it's pretty shabby even for a casual set. I couldn't even find three of the holes anymore which seem like they may have been removed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Need an 18 in Roanoke

5+    5/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: hobo
Played: 93  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful creek and lay of the land. Like holes #1, #5 and #8. The concrete tee signs are a good idea.
Cons: The flow of the course is choppy at best. Par is way off, i have never seen a clear 350' be a par 5. Tee pads are mud pits after a little rain.
Other Thoughts: This course is screaming for a new design with an additional 9. Roanoke is ready for a Pro 18 hole course and Fishburn has the land to do it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not a Fan

5+    5/15/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 41  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. The tees show par and distance.
2. Good course for beginners.
3. Playground for the kids.
4. Hole 8 is a unique blind throw over a small hill.
5. Used the creek as a water hazard.
Cons: Baskets are old and worn.
Tee 8 is hard to find.
1. The pars are too high.
2. Very buggy because of the nearby creek.
3. Course floods with any amount of rain.
4. Walking path through the course which can be annoying.
Other Thoughts: Installation of better tees would be great. Baskets work but could be better. I really don't like when courses play across walking paths, it just makes it annoying for players as well as people walking the path.
If you have been playing for a while this is a great course to make yourself feel better after a rough game somewhere else. If you're just starting this is an excellent course for you. Try playing as all 3 pars for a better challenge.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 OK Beginner Course

5+    9/22/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: ntguthrie
Played: 103  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Holes 1, 4 and 5 are nice driving holes that make good use of the creek as a hazard
- Can be played in about 30 minutes, convenient for a quick round on a lunch break or after work
- Hole 8 is a unique shot over a hill to the basket
- Decent beginner course, holes are all wide open
Cons: - No tee pads, tees markers are concrete disks in the ground so may not be easy to spot at all holes
- Located in a floodplain, so parts of the course turn into a swamp after any significant amount of rain
- All holes could easily be played as par 3 instead of 4/5 as several are marked
- Poorly maintained
Other Thoughts: This course has definitely seen better days. A little maintenance would be nice (weedeating on holes 7 & 8, fixing broken basket). I think tee pads, even if they are just compacted gravel, would go a long way. Drainage seems to be a major problem.

Overall, the course layout isn't bad, they make good use of the space available. The course provides an opportunity to practice open drives and some shorter placement shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good pitch and putt

1    9/10/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: BlueRidgeMtnMan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variation in holes.
Nice quiet park; no one else was playing.
Nice creek comes into play on a few holes.
Nice concrete tee markers, noting hole # and distance.
Cons: Course doesn't flow very well from one hole to the next. It's very confusing trying to find the next tee. There are no tee pads or stakes to identify next tee, you basically have to walk over the tee markers to find the next tee. The bottom of the course was very soggy. The basket on hole one was damaged pretty severely.
Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be a top quality pitch and putt course. It needs some TLC. Concrete tee pads with markers. Maintenance to the damaged basket. And perhaps a little tweaking to the layout(hole 5 and 6 come to mind).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Fun

1    4/4/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: wvu1867
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy access.
Good course for newer players or recreation for couples.
Relaxing fun
Cons: Tees are not well marked for first timers.
Wouldn't be challenging for advanced players.
Other Thoughts: I met three groups of people and all were helpful and friendly with any questions I had. Nice for relaxing game yet allowed me to practice different types of shots. Need course map at board in parking lot.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.