Disc Golf Center
Port Angeles, WA 
Lincoln Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: murphytown Hole #1 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 346ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 'B' Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Nice Variety in PA

5+    5/31/2017   5/31/2017
Review By: markmcc
Played: 185  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the last course on the Olympic Peninsula if you're heading towards Olympic National Park, and it's a good one.

Excellent variety of holes from wide open to tightly wooded, and from a short as 150' out to 500'. There isn't a lot of elevation to work with, but there is a pond in play on Hole 4 and some wet ditches that come into play an a few other holes.

Two tee pads on most holes, and two basket positions as well. On most holes there isn't a big distance change from the "White" tees to the "Blue" tees, but the lines may be quite different, especially on the wooded holes. And the baskets are actually moved from month-to-month which is great to see.

Decent smallish concrete tee pads and good signage. Innova baskets in great shape, with the yellow band helping visibility in the woods. There are a bunch of "next tee" signs which are
helpful in the woods, as there are a lot of trails and paths that cross.

With the exception of standing water in the spring, the course has been in great shape each time I've played.
Cons: Navigation is a challenge, even with the next tee signs. The course flow is odd with some backtracking and a real tangle of holes in the woods. To get from Hole 4 to 5 you pass the teepad for Hole 7 and the basket for Hole 6. Just keep following the little signs! Also the white/blue pads on some holes are laterally separated enough that they may be down different paths.

The walkout from Hole 12 to 13 is 800' and not intuitive. You walk across a large area of park, past the Hole 16 tees, past an A-frame building and finally over to the off-leash dog area. You'll find the Hole 13 tees there. From there you work your way back into the center of the park to finish. Tricky the first time, but just a long walk after that.

Some of the holes play near buildings and over paths and roadways. I've seen a car parked in the fairway of Hole 15, but haven't had a serious issue beyond that. But I haven't played on weekends when I'd imagine things are more crowded.
Other Thoughts: In early spring this course was pretty wet, but it is drying out nicely as we move toward summer. With a nice variety of hole types, two available tees, and pins that are changed the course doesn't get old with frequent play.

Lots of parking but the restrooms have been locked every time I've played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/18/2017   2/18/2017
Review By: PNWTurnandFade
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full course map.
Sometimes course map pamphlets at the map.
Restrooms.
Good use of terrain.
Good variety of hole shape and length.
Challenging.
Concrete Teepads.
Blue and White tees for each hole adds variety and options. I dont think one is harder or easier than the other, just options. Maybe blue is more advanced... you decide.
Signs on baskets pointing to next tee pad.
A few long open holes you can really let it rip.
quite a few "thread the needle" shots that are very satisfying if you get it right.
Cons: A few confusing intersections where some tee pads are close together.
A fair amount of backtracking and treking across the course in the layout makes for some confusing navigation (4 to 5 is a long walk into the woods, follow the signs on the trees past a few tee pads, and 12 to 13 is a nearly 800 ft walk across the playground past a few tee pads and baskets to the dog park). Seriously look at the course map before setting out. Take a picture on your phone, you're going to need it.
High risk of losing a disc in the pond on 2, or in the undergrowth between heavily wooded holes 5-11.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course, I visit this area a few times a year to see family and I always put it on my to-do list.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid course that's miles from anything

1    1/11/2016   1/20/2016
Review By: b-mart
Played: 60  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're driving up the Peninsula toward Neah Bay or even Canada, Port Angeles is the farthest you can go before you run completely out of disc golf. But if you're up there and only have time for one course? Make sure that this one is it.

Equipment: The baskets are stellar and stand out well in the woods. That's one pro of having DiscCatchers on the course. And there's a practice basket, which is always an equipment pro. The teepads are all concrete, grippy, and more than sufficient for the hole length.

Navigation: There's a kiosk with a map by the white teepad for Hole 1. As always, I recommend taking a picture of it. There's plenty of signage throughout the course guiding you from the basket to the following tee, but it still helps to have a map. Then all of the tees have a sign somewhere that shows if it's the white or the blue tee. Not only this, but the holes that are blind have white arrows hung on the trees that point at the basket. I've never seen this before and I thought they were mandos at first, but I love the idea for first time visitors!

Design: This course has it all. If you've read my reviews at all up to this point, you're used to seeing me point out variety. Well, this course has it. There are open holes and technical ones. There are easy approaches and OB. Water hazards. Slight elevation and flat. Short and long. Low ceiling and high ceiling. Right and left turning. Straight. They really do have everything in the design of this course that I look for. And there are multiple tees and multiple basket placements. So you have your comparatively easy white course that plays very well for an average player, and you have a more challenging blue course for those of you who like more of a challenge. Both courses provide enough challenge, but white isn't going to drive first time players to a shuffleboard tournament either. Although hole 1 is pretty nasty in length for a first timer's noob hyzer. Can't fault the course for that though... Any course with multiple tees that both offer unique looks gets at least an extra half disc out of me in my rating. This one was done so well, and I really wish I'd had more time to play it the day that I was there.

Upkeep: I didn't see any signs of vandalism. The baskets were in great condition, the kiosk wasn't covered in graffiti, and the underbrush was at a minimum. This is the best course within several hours, and they clearly take pride in it. Well done.
Cons: Equipment: No cons to list.

Navigation: I can't complain too much about the navigation. There are some long walkouts that get confusing without the map, but all of them are pretty well signed as well. All of them except for the walkout from 12-13 that is. And you have a map and a camera on your phone. Use them.

Design: I can only find two faults with the design on this course:

1. The walkouts. The worst ones are 1-2, 4-5, and 12-13. 12-13 was the single worst walkout I have ever experienced. Hands down. Sure they warn you with a sign just past the 12 basket that says that you're about to walk nearly 800' to the new basket, but really? 800'?! You walk across two other fairways just to get there! Granted it would ruin the flow of the course if you played 16 first, but you're walking 800'. The flow was already ruined. And I'm sure someone who really knew that property could figure something out...

2. The holes that close the round play dangerously close to the parking lot. Sure, the lot is marked as OB, but how many of us are good enough to avoid OB at all times? Hole 16 actually plays across a driving path, and hole 17 has cars parked in the "OB" behind it. Both have pretty visible approaches so you aren't going to throw and suddenly see a car driving into your flight path, but still.

Don't get me wrong. I love this course. But it's another one that feels like it started so strong and then the designer ran out of space. Holes 13-17 are all interesting holes. I'm not knocking the hole design. At all. But the design of it as an entire cohesive COURSE leaves something to be desired.
Other Thoughts: Despite its issues, this has to be one of my top 10 favorite courses that I've played in the state so far. I'd probably have to bump it all the way down to number 10 because it's so far away from anywhere I'll ever be, but it's fun. It's challenging. It has enough variety to keep you coming back. And the hole design is all very well done.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Tight but technical

1    6/20/2015   6/21/2015
Review By: gongeuzler
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well put together, well played and maintained made for easy disc retrieval even on a bad shank or tree kick in the thick stuff. You gotta put some time into this course before she gives anything back, I like that about a course, gives it personality. Tight, technical, but packs a serious punch, different tee's give good variety.
Cons: Not a hole that you get to really let one rip on. Picnic area/car parking in the middle of 15. Signs kinda confusing, never saw any B baskets, even with map a little difficult to navigate because of distances between holes, but the trails are nice so that's kind of a moot point.
Other Thoughts: I've played some really bad courses that had a similar rating, so I was pleasantly surprised with the course. A RHFH would do very well here. There was some open field area that you could rip some bombs on if you wannna mess around. Lots of blind shots, can be a bit confusing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Good for the location

2-4    7/17/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: jhamilton64
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging holes.
Lots of natural obstacles.
Different tees allow for diversity at each hole.
Cons: Long walk between holes 12 and 13 (780 feet).
Some holes do not have permanent tees.
Can be hard to navigate course without map.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course. For being the only course in Port Angeles, it is a solid course for the location.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 So-so

1    7/15/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: Dday301
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Shot variety
Close to town
Nice baskets
Cons: Tee pads
Flow of course
Other Thoughts: Not the worse course ever but far from the top. Lots of good holes out here but only if you can find them!! Very difficult to find your way around, without the little yellow signs the course would be unusuable (seems that 13 and 14 were just thrown in at the last minute and given no thought whatsoever). So if you can manage to find where your going it's not bad.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/16/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: TheMonger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice teesigns
Techinical shots, favors smart golf.
The ducks
Lots of parking
Good course map
Cons: Multiuse park
Mix of teepads(permenant teepads are on the way though)
Restrooms are dubious(lots of trees though)
Other Thoughts: This winter the course was flooded and 3 holes were unplayable. Luckily this does not happen all the time.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lincoln Park DGC

2-4    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a heavily wooded park next to the fairgrounds in Port Angeles, Washington. The park sees quite a bit of use from non-disc golfers, however they seem to be out of the way most of the time. The terrain is mostly flat with a few hills. A few holes utilize this feature of the course quite well (hole 2 comes to mind). Each hole had two different tee pads and at the very least a white/blue wooden sign with the hole number. Some of the holes had a small metal square with a hole map on it showing the distance and each tee. It's a shame not all of the holes had this type of sign. There are also white signs visible from the tee that point to the basket which are extremely useful. Yellow signs point you to the next tees as well as orange zip ties on the baskets. The course has natural tee pads on most of the holes, but sometimes there are some patches of carpet or even the occasional concrete tee pad. I don't really like natural pads, but these really weren't too bad. The course starts out with four open, moderately long holes. Good warm-up for what's to come. Holes five through eleven are heavily wooded. Each hole still had a clear way to the basket unlike many heavily wooded courses. Holes twelve through eighteen were more of a park-like course. There are still a moderate amount of trees to provide some challenge.
Cons: Navigation. Oh my word. If those yellow signs that I talked about earlier weren't on the course, this would be totally unplayable. Long walks to the next tee on almost every single hole. You're greeted with a long walk between one and two, the walk between twelve and thirteen is absolutely ridiculous, and paths to holes even cross over each other causing some very confusing situations. I highly recommend printing off the course map AND taking a picture of the map on the small building in fifteen's fairway. Natural tee pads are never fun. Unfortunately those nice tee signs were only on a few holes and the other tee signs are quite lacking not even showing a distance for most holes. Some holes cross park roads which can be busy at times. I did happen to find a sleeping homeless man on seventeen's fairway with his dog barking and running at me the entire hole...
Other Thoughts: Overall, I had a really fun time at this course. It's got wooded holes and open holes and it's a nice addition to the beautiful city of Port Angeles. Bathrooms were also on the course and it's easy to find the park. The main thing keeping this course from being a 3.5 or 4 is the lack of tee pads. I'd love to see them added sometime soon!

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Diverse and Challenging

2-4    7/3/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: TexasChains
Played: 72  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I went out for the wednesday doubles and ended up playing two rounds with Roger, one of the designers. I had a great time and found the course very diverse and challenging. There was a good mix of open and wooded holes. The wooded holes were challenging but fair with multiple lines through the trees. The park was very nice and well maintained. The grocery store across the street carried course maps and a few discs for sale. I also played the alternate tees and felt that they were well placed to make it feel like a new course instead of a longer version of the same course. The 100 + yr old cabins on the property added a unique sense of character. The park was well maintained, very little trash and the baskets were in good condition. Overall a great course and it definiatly had the "fun factor"
Cons: The only major flaw was that course navigation was at times tricky. there was a quarter mile walk from 12 to 13 which was not quite intuitive. There were also places where the rough made it quite difficult to find your disc.
Other Thoughts: Roger was a fantastic guide and he could really rip a disc. He also indicated that he is currently working on a new course in Sequim and I hope to come back when its finished.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/16/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: Josh Heideman
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole #1 was easy to find after that its challenging. The Innova baskets were very nice. The old fort buildings were very cool. There is a good amount of different kinds of throws needed here at this course. I didn't loose any discs which was nice. I'd play it again if I was in the area.
Cons: We could not for the life of us find the 13th hole. The sign said 1/4 mile ahead after looking for a half an hour I decided to just skip it. If there was some sort of kiosk with a map that would be helpful for sure.
Other Thoughts: I can see that there been work that people have been putting in. It would also be nice if the tee pads. Had gravel or even some sort of box.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.