Wabash, IN 
Wabash City Park Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #5 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
3:10 To Wabash

1    5/30/2020   6/16/2020
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 676  Reviewed: 300  Exp: 27.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sometimes you can tell the rating of a course by the company it keeps . Wabash City Park 18 hole course is enjoyed by all strengths of players . Getting to the course and hole one is a little different than from the directions . After making the first right after entering the park , stay left ( I stayed right and drove myself right out of the park ) . There will be a shelter on your right as you descend . You cross a small bridge and park on the left . There is a kiosk close by hole #1 but no map in it . You need a map for this one . There is a putting basket close to the lot . Bathrooms are close by , too . The tee pads are cement 4' by 8' sized . The signage is good , telling hole# , par , distance to each pin and a flight path . It also tells which position the pin is in . I don't know for sure how many pin positions there are ( 2 ? ) , but don't pay a lot of attention to the distances on the Wabash scorecard . The baskets are Red Dynamic Veterans , and most have flags on the top . The park was clean and mowed when I was there . There are nice shelters with grills near holes 1 and the #2 tee . benches and garbage cans are present .
#1 which is a partially obstructed fairway and #2 where you tee of from an elevated tee pad next to the bridge , will make you think that this course is going to be all park style and a little uneventful ( on the scorecard , #2 says 165' but more like 300 ), but it takes an interesting turn . #3 tee is a walk up the road hill and left . The course will then dart and out of woods , mixing in shorter more technical but reachable holes . I won't go hole by hole , but give you some highlights .
#3 a short left to right hole into some woods , to an elevated basket on a stump . #7 is a shorter park style hole around a few trees in the fairway , to a hanging basket . There is a hole (12 or 13 ? ) that is a tight woods fairway shot , with a gully at the end and the basket on the hill . #17 is a long 400' uphill drive with road and trees on the right that plays more like 450-500' . #18 is a great finishing hole . It is back downhill , forcing a slight right turn to a hanging basket flanked by 2 trees . maybe 350' + . Picturesque . My signature hole : #14 . A tee pad on a hill down to flat land , trees with canopies forcing a low shot . Your drive eventually has to follow the creek to your left where the basket was tucked in between large bushes and had the creek directly behind it .
This course might empty your bag . A nice variety of shots , right and left . some elevation for several of the holes . Fun factor here was very high . I saw some high level foursomes and even a couple of families playing . It took me a little over an hour to play , guessing maybe 2 1/2 for a foursome .
Cons: #1 safety . 1 throws over what looks like a horseshoe pit , there are people that enjoy the park that can appear in blind spots , Be careful and share the park .
#2 Navigation . The course goes uphill after #2 , can cross roads and the next tees can reappear behind bushes . I had to revert to my map several times , especially on the back 9 . Your Kiosk needs a map . Print your own before playing .
#3 An incredible walk back to the parking lot from 18 . I had to walk all the way back up the hill towards #18 tee , then 1/4 mile with steps on the left back to the lot .
#4 Challenge . Some good players will be way under par for at least part of the course , which only means that the course wasn't designed for tournaments .
Disc Risk : there is a creek you can plunk into , and the brush and large trees with canopies and blind shots can pose a risk . Especially around holes 8-14 . bring bug spray in the summer .
Other Thoughts: Someone in the Wabash area decided to put a 18 hole disc golf course in the town park , ,,,,,, And succeeded . I don't know what the early renditions were , but at some time , some of the holes were lengthened to appease the more seasoned players , and still be attractive to the city locals . I heard that the city tries to update the course every couple of years since it's inception ( 2010 ) , but I say leave it the way it is . The 25+ people that were playing after I was leaving weren't proving me wrong . There is too much fun too leave this course unplayed . Stay and eat in one of the shelters before you leave if you have time ( and food ) .
My recommendation : Pros and great ams aren't coming here unless they live in the city . This course is still great for locals , ( a little hard on families ) some newbies , travelers , the course collectors ( combine with Mississenewa ,Maconaquah and Honey Bear Hollow ) , Play and Enjoy It !!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated Gem

1    12/28/2019   12/28/2019
Review By: atdick
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signage, benches, good hole layouts, not too difficult. Not a lot of water. Scenic, good walking.
Cons: No big ones.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Course

2-4    6/8/2019   6/9/2019
Review By: jaredsnoble
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete teepads
Veteran baskets
Easy flow to the course (made easier with great signage)
Cons: Not a lot of length

Other Thoughts: Solid course overall. Course is great for the land that is available. The course by itself I would say is a 2.5, but the amenities (baskets, tees, etc.) bump it up in my opinion to a 3.

Can really tell the disc golf community in wabash has put in a lot of hours to make it the best possible course it can be.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    11/3/2018   11/5/2018
Review By: sambfwin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice technical course with a mix of long and short holes. There are multiple pin locations for each hole. Nice use of elevation changes. Some really suberb holes are hole 10 and 16, hole 10 being one of the more dramatic hole plottings I've ever played.
Cons: Signage (which I understand is in the works) needs to be improved including signage in the front of the park leading to where the course is. Per the course designer, there are land restrictions imposed by the park so the walk from 18 back to your car is pretty long. These cons are so minor in my mind.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Train Kept A Rollin'

1    6/17/2018   6/17/2018
Review By: LaserGlide68
Played: 210  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2019
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New layout! New DD Veteran baskets!

Shot Selection-need Backhand and Forehand, possible Tomahawk or two.

Dual Basket positions.

Elevation changes, with a few Drives off of elevated-style Tees.

Mix of open and wooded Holes, nice to play on a hot, sunny day, good tree cover.

Although mostly on the shorter side of distance, got some tougher Pin positions, guarded, on a number of Holes. There are opportunities to drive for distance now though-not all duece's on this one.

Some Baskets on small mounds, #18 embedded into a good size rock-uniqueness.

Portion plays alongside train tracks, three trains went by during my Round, blasting their horns-pretty cool.

Benches all throughout, lots of large trash cans.

Nice small town Park, creek running through it.


Cons: With the new layout, there aren't any permanent Tee signs. The temp signage being used is fading bad, some signs unreadable. The signage prior was great, expecting something similar moving forward, not going to knock the Course for it at this time.

#1 plays directly over a Horseshoes court, not sure if it gets any usage.

Almost every Hole had cement Tee pads, 3 or 4 without currently. Pads from the old layout still in place in spots.

Don't know if I played the 'official' #10 hole, there was some confusion with signage. After wandering aimlessly looking for the Tee (per signage) I played what I thought might be the proper hole. Teed off just past #9, in the woods across a road to a random Basket on the top of a hill, with the #11 Tee pad just a short walk away.

Still a long walk back to the parking lot from #18.




Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this Course, taking it for what it is-a small town Park in the middle of Indiana.

It had more going on than most similar type of Courses, with the elevation changes, and decisions on how Holes were laid out. Great starter-to-intermediate level Course.

Really liked #4, #8, #9, #10 (at least the one I created?), #14. Tunnels through wooded lanes, top of the World type of shot on #14-sweet shots.

Course was fully mowed, and the wooded Holes were all in good shape, no real problem with overgrowth.

This area is Disc Golf-rich, with Peru, Logansport, and a bit north, Akron, all having fantastic Courses to play!

*Now features multiple Basket locations, with indicators on the newly installed Tee signs, cement on every Tee pad*

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Deuce or die that needs some TLC

1    7/1/2015   8/3/2015
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 584  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great beginner course with plenty of elevation and unique holes.
Cons: Hole 3 could be unplayable with heavy rain. The fairway is basically a eroded creek bed.

Hole 9 thru 11 area is crammed together. I even threw to the wrong basket. Discs could be buzzing your head when it gets busy out here.

Hole 14 was so overgrown it was unplayable. Like throwing thru a forest. Then go find your disc.

Hole 18 was hard to find with no teepad.

Long weird walk back to vehicle after hole 18.

Eroded dangerous trails and needs updated signage.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun fairly easy course that needs some love to get it back in shape. Like most Indiana courses, the rating is too high.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A great town course

2-4    7/30/2015   8/3/2015
Review By: Eschenky
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Super fun course for the amatuer like me. Great terrain changes, you need to think about risk reward on almost every hole. So picturesque.
Cons: Basket on #7 is missing. I took the time to send the parks manager a note thanking him for the facility and telling him about the basket being missing.
Other Thoughts: Ill try to play this gem every time I pass through.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Through the Woods We Go

1    4/30/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: Gizmotronx
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.5 Years
Pros: Interesting holes, with some fun lines. Lots of trees, so finesse is more important than strength on this one.
Lots of elevation changes.
Park nearby for activities for family/others.
Cons: Not a lot of open holes to really air it out. Can be a negative for beginners, but presents a fun challenge for intermediate players.
Can get frustrating if you start nailing the trees and don't have time/patience.
Other Thoughts: If you like the finesse holes, you will probably like this course. If you play with a friend that can really let em fly, this is a good course to even the playing field.

 This course isn't bad

1    6/6/2014   6/9/2014
Review By: Boomdabah
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros: The scenery at this course was amazing. I loved the view of some shots.



Concrete Tees were nice and in good condition.

Signs - Maps are some of the more accurate that I've seen.

Elevation - Elevation varies and this course is definitely a hike.

I liked the short nature of some of the par 3 holes. It made things fun.
Cons: Baskets:
Not all of the baskets are identical which means that some have one set of chains and some have more. I had 2 spit outs due to the baskets with 1 set of chains. Baskets are all facing their respective tee pads. One basket in particular was in a cement block above ground.

Tees: Only one set of tees for each hole. Could not find tee pad for Hole 18.

Signs: Signs have graffiti and some wear to them. Could not find signs for a few holes.

Had trouble distinguishing baskets between holes 10, 11, and 12. Very close together.

Definitely need to be somewhat accurate or you'll have some difficult shots to perform.
Other Thoughts: I had fun playing this course because it was out of my norm. I didn't think it was in too bad condition but it could use some work on it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for Area

2-4    7/1/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 109  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 14.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very Scenic Course - Hills, Rocky Cliffs, Woods, views of farmland. It is very peaceful here, even when there are baseball games.

Baskets - Spiderweb 3 baskets are very grippy. Some of the baskets on the course are not the same as others through.

Concrete Tees - Large concrete tees on each hole. Only one tee per hole.

Signs - There is a very detailed sign for each hole that lists the distance, par, and has a somewhat accurate picture of the hole.

Elevation - Lots of elevation change, even on the shortest hole here. Hole 12 is an immediate drop off.

Variety - Short and technical, long and open, hills, woods, creek hazard (1, 12, 13, 18).

Most holes require accurate drives and approaches while very few are open bomb holes.

Most of the course is simple to navigate. Typically you follow the path (dirt or paved) with the exception of a few holes.

Very short holes would be challenging enough for beginners and would greatly help intermediate players with accuracy. Most of this course would be an ace run for intermediate and advanced players.

Not many courses that are nearby so this course fills the gap.
Cons: Tees - Only 1 per hole. An alternate tee for each hole would make this course much more challenging. The shortest holes need a longer tee. Most holes just need an alternate angle for the hole.

Baskets - Not all baskets are the same and some are facing the wrong direction.

Hole 9 and 11. It is very easy to throw to the basket of hole 11 from tee for 9. A sign pointing to the correct basket would be helpful.

Some tees are close to the basket / fairway of previous hole (7 and 8. 11 and 12)

Very short holes could be boring for seasoned players but they require a tight, accurate throw.

At times, course can be confusing to find the next tee. Course needs signs pointing to the next tee for most holes. Hole 12 to 13 needs one. Hole 17 to 18 needs one.

Basket for 18 is not near the parking lot. Requires either a hike up a steep hill and through the park or cross the creek and walk along baseball fields.

No course map at start of course.
Other Thoughts: This course is on the way to my lakehouse and I play it at least once a year. It is in a very peaceful city park even though the park is multi-use.

The holes here are very unique and any disc golfer would appreciate the challenge it brings. I would recommend this course to any disc golfer. People who drive out of their way to play it will not be disappointed.

If you want more challenge, go to Mississinewa State Park or Pieradice in Peru.

If the course had next hole signs, alternate tees (longer), a course map, and yellow paint on all the baskets, it would be a 3.5. I had trouble giving it a 3 but the lack of distance prevented me from doing so!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.