Escondido, CA 
Kit Carson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: CubbieBlue Hole #15 (Taken 5/2010)
4 / 448ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Fun course, great park

1    7/11/2017   7/12/2017
Review By: pwolfinger
Played: 49  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Turning off the main drag, there is sign directing you to the disc golf course and amphitheater; its nice when there is an initial sign so you don't have to hunt around.
-The course has two practice baskets right at the lot with plenty of space to putt.
- Its FREE and its 18 holes! Both aren't super common for this area, so one of the best courses locally.
- The park is sprawling, and there are other activities, restrooms, and a disc golf pro shop. I actually played with Matt, the owner; he's awesome and really knows his discs!
- Tuesday night random draw doubles (A/B format) for $5. Starts at 5pm.
- Holes have a lot of nice shot varieties; short/long, backhand/forehand, hyzer/flex lines, good shot shaping with trees, and a creek (dry or stagnant water) that comes in to play.
- There are multiple pin placements on some of the holes. Seems like they rotate regularly.
- The tee pads are well made! Good length/width, and a nice concrete rib at the front for the brace foot.
Cons: - The main con for me was the constant conflict between disc golfers and others using the park. There is a walking path that comes in to play on several holes.
- Some of the tee signs seem out of date. A couple are missing.
- Holes 1-4 are separate from the rest of the course, but really not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: I played the weekly doubles here; everyone was really nice. A lot of the holes are birdie friendly for an amateur player. A couple ace run opportunities.

The shade is nice. If you go after work, starting on hole 5 and getting in the shade early until the sun goes down is doable (assuming there aren't others playing).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

flattest course in socal

5+    12/1/2015   12/6/2015
Review By: xaeLen
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the new tee pads are really nice. on the week days it is not crowded. it is free to play. they have a pro shop that sells discs. there are bathrooms by 6 and 9. there is a mix between long and short. there are some trees making it more challenging.
Cons: the pro shop is really far away from hole one. they do not have a fridge or freezer at the pro shop. on weekends the course is filled with non disc golf players. there are people walking in the way on hole 7. some people have picnics right by the basket or in the way.the walk from hole 18 to 1 is really long.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and fun

1    7/21/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: joecross98
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Huge park setting makes for a nice walk
- Dominated by short, straight shots with few obstacles, which makes for a fun round
- Great pro shop
- Not too crouded
Cons: - The first 4 holes are totally disconnected from the rest of the course. Seems like they just have them to have 18 holes.
- Other park goers pose an additional (sometimes moving!) obstacle on shots. Everyone knows the deal, though, so there is no tension.
- Escondido is hot...
Other Thoughts: A lot of locals play this course daily. Just hang out at the first hole and someone will invite you to join. It can be tough to find the tee boxes if you've never played and don't have a guide.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Kit Carson - Escondido CA

2-4    1/21/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: riles
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of dynamic shots to make. Good balance of long and short holes, as well as, left or right hand shots.
Cons: First several holes the landscaping is basically dirt.
Going from hole 5-6 is confusing for someone who had never played the course. Better signage for that would be good.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course and would go back again. I appreciated the well made signs and indicators for the current pin placement.
I played with the holes pushed out to the farthest placements and it made for some LONG shots. Pretty cool.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 old classic

1    1/20/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: Wilson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: variety of distances and obstacles.
beautiful park in which to play.
excellent signage.
creative design over large acreage.
Cons: the layout encourages some players to skip holes #1-5 and to create a log-jam by starting their round at #6.
Other Thoughts: I didn't realize who he was until after I left and shared a pic of his car/license plate/sticker, but I met THE John Kirkland, the legend. Very cool guy who was beginning his round as I ended mine.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    8/4/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: jtrod
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good course with several different types of holes.
- Long open
- Long with obstacles
- Short open
- Short with obstacales
Good signage and teepads
Cons: Large groups 8+ that play slow
Picnickers and joggers
Other Thoughts: Pro shop in the park

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Kit Carson Review

5+    12/15/2012   12/21/2012
Review By: tu-f-o
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course. Overall my favorite in San Diego so far. But I've only played Morley Field, Montiel, Cal State San Marcos, Brengle Terrace. A good mix of open shots, narrow wooded, maybe just 1 hole that is a true par 4 (strength or weakness?), pretty challenging to get a good low score consistently, many holes have options to go either backhand or forehand, nice park in general.
Cons: Not very many hills at all. 1 downhill shot. The park sometimes has normal crowds like families and kids, but usually they don't get in the way too much. Not as technical as Morley Field, not as big or challenging as Brengle Terrace.
Other Thoughts: It's a good size course, not too big not too small. Just finishing 18 holes is a nice walk. You won't be beat, but you'll get a decent walk. Nice combo of dirt areas and grass areas. And FREE to play. Nice staff at the pro shop. Best pro shop I've seen so far. Good deals.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    11/6/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: Spmurphy23
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is free and easy to access. There are long holes and there are some short more technical holes. It is an intermediate course in my opinion. Not technical but not easy. The pro shop is AWESOME too!!!
Cons: Sundays are hard because of all the park goers. It is also bloody hot in the summer.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park setting

5+    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: Rugball
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tree-lined park setting. Never overly crowded, even on weekends for DG. They added bag hangers on several holes so you don't have to drop your gear in the dirt. Generally clean course, with grassy fairways except for the first 4 holes. Decent mix of longer holes, with some shorter technical holes with trees. The hole locations are rotated on occasion, but it's not always apparent which spot they're using.
Cons: Can sometimes be a hassle when park-goers aren't aware of DG. The park ranger asked one group to move over the last time I played as they were not even 10 yds from one basket, and their kid was swinging from it. A lot of kids will play in the creek running through the course as well, often too close to baskets . No elevation changes to speak of. If you pay attention to the tee signs, there's more OB than you think. At times your corridor is extremely narrow even if you think you've made a good shot into the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Rubber tees on majority of holes. Usually adequate, but could use longer ones on some holes where you take a bigger run-up. There's a nicely stocked DG/skate shop across the parking lot from the course. I like that every time I've gone to this course, I can hit a few practice putts on the way to the 1st tee, and just take off. I've never had to wait more than a few minutes, even on weekends. I'm usually able to get in 2 rounds without too much trouble.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 all about lines

5+    10/25/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: dheathx
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: High variety
Elevation changes
Technical shots required
No wait times
Manicured park
Water hazards!
Cons: Insects are slightly annoying down by the creek.
Some tee pads can be a bit uneven, but not too crazy.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun and is very challenging! Probably the toughest course in san Diego. The course requires you to figure out your lines before throwing the shot. Hyzer, anny, flat, all shots are needed and utilized. Figure out your lines and you will have a pretty solid day of DG.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.