Escondido, CA 
Escondido Rotary DGC Share
Uploaded By: CubbieBlue   (Taken 5/2010)
Practice Baskets



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

5+    11/3/2019   11/10/2019
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 64  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is one of the best, and certainly the most used course in North San Diego County. It plays through a variety of terrain in the huge, popular, Kit Carson park.

-The first four holes are mostly open and play through a disc-golf-only section of the park. In the long position, these holes are a great opportunity to throw full-power drives. Most of the holes starting on #6 play through a well-kept multi-use section of the park. This part of the park is very pretty, with a seasonal creek, green grass, and mature trees.The majority of these holes are mid-range or putter shots, with a few exceptions. Many baskets are placed on the edge of the creek to add challenge.

Best holes:
#2 is a 350' slightly downhill drive with a double mandatory and several trees near the basket to navigate.
#8 is a fun mid-range shot over a corner of the creek with multiple viable lines.
#11 is one of two par fours, playing 500'. The low ceiling drive and creek in front of the basket more than makes up for the lack of distance. Two well placed shots are required to earn the birdie here.

-The tee pads are excellent, large and well textured. Tee signs on every hole list all of the hole locations, however some of the south-facing ones have become totally bleached by the sun.

-Most holes have 2-3 pin locations. When all of the baskets are in the long positions, the course plays three to four strokes more difficult.

-A great practice area with two baskets and space to throw <120 ft shots.

-A pro shop carrying several varieties of discs and accessories. It's located in the community center near the entrance road. Note that it's not very close to the first tee.
Cons: -The course gets crowded, especially on weekends. It's certainly not Morley-level crowdedness, but weekday mornings are the best time if you like to play fast. Hole #11 usually has the longest backup.

-The designated picnic areas are out of the way of play, but park goers sometimes set up in the middle of the course. Hole #14 seems to be a popular spot. Also, watch out for pedestrians and cyclists on #6, #7, and #13.

-After a storm, the creek can be challenging to cross and/or retrieve a disc from. Some parts of the creek tend to fill faster than others.

-The first four holes are a nice opportunity for full power drives. However, the landscape is a bit barren and could use a few additional trees.
Other Thoughts: -The course is very well laid out. There's a good mix of challenging holes and straightforward holes. Although several holes feel like must-birdies, there aren't any really disappointing holes.

-A great course for all skill levels. There's enough length and technicality to challenge good players, but enough short holes that even novice players can score a few birdies. Definitely worth the visit.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Accessible Course in well maintained park

1    9/1/2019   9/3/2019
Review By: Sharknado2
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of parking that's easily accessible from holes 1 and 18
- two practice basket in a decent size practice green
- Excellent hole variety, 1-4, 12, 13, 17 are longer, more open desert style holes. The rest are grassy park style with low ceilings on trees and tighter lines.
- Mandos and OB's on many holes that prevent careless tee shots. Though many mandos are quite unnecessary ("go to the left of this tree that's 5 ft off the tee and going to the right of it would put you in a bush").
- There are creeks (some parts dried up some not) running through most of the park style holes that add a ton of intrigue and OB. Love the holes with baskets park on the edge of the bank to make putts more challenging.
-11 is the obvious signature hole, a tight low ceiling par 4 that plays around 500 ft. There is a clear go for it or lay-up on the second shot as you have to carry the OB Creek to a super tight and small green.
- 13 was also really cool--somewhat of an island green that you can go for or bailout to the right on and take your par.
- Tee signs and concrete tees on every hole.
- Great variety of hole difficulties. 2-4 were much longer bomber holes, honestly should be par 4's considering their length. But then a ton of tighter short holes in the grassy park area. And long tee pads on many holes for advanced players looking for a challenge.
- Hole #6 is an obvious gimme: 134 feet and one tree next to the basket. Don't we all need a birdie sometimes?
-Course did a great job of putting unmissable signs in the mixed use part of the park to warn people of frisbees. I rarely see this, props for this!!
Cons: - Went on a Sunday, some big and boozy groups out there livin it up and slowing down play a bit. Didn't bother me too much as I was in a group too but for the all the single players it seemed like an inconvenience.
- For the most part, no real lines to hit. Generally a ton of options off the tee that will allow forehand or backhand dominant players to lean on their bread and butter. Hole #11, #12, #17, #2 are exceptions: clear risk reward. A line to get parked but you may hit a tree or a line to get to C2 with a bigger gap. Because of that I would say this leans more towards being a beginner course.
-Lots of oblivious park goers in the middle of the fairways on the grassy part of the park.
- Without UDisc navigation would be very challenging to find your way around. Walk from #5 to #6 was pretty long and not super well marked. Navigation from #9 basket to #10 tee a bit confusing and had to cross the creek a few times.
- For some of the longer holes the assignments of pars were a bit puzzling. #3 was playing as an uphill 500' par 3 and the courses only par 4 was 500' and downhill. #4 was a dogleg right 450' par 3. Just kind of strange to have pro-length par 3's and a gimme hole like #6 on the same course...
- Only really poor course design was the layout for #1 and #4. Teeshots for #4 land at #1's basket. Tee shots for #1 land in #4's fairway. Big slowdown on these two holes that I didn't see anywhere else on this course.
- Greens were fairly straightforward. No elevated or lowered baskets. Not too many trees or obstacles to work around. Only hole where I got within C1 on a drive and didn't have an open put was #12.
Other Thoughts: Simply put, I loved this course. One of my favorite's in the SoCal area. Not picturesque like Lake Casitas or great views like Chavez Ridge. Not a Cali OG like Oak Grove or La Mirada. But none of that stuff matters when you have a good variety of holes and a difficulty suited for players of all levels of difficulty. #11 is definitely part of my dream #18!

A SIDE NOTE: If I really try to think about what would make this course a 5 though I'm honestly not sure it can get there. It would need a ton more trees and obstacles to create more demanding tee shots. Probably would need to not be a multi-use area to control pedestrian traffic. Would need elevated baskets and more around the greens.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/4/2019   8/4/2019
Review By: Nate32
Played: 61  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kit Carson Park or Escondido Rotary DGC is located in a large park in Escondido, California. I played this course a while back as well as just recently. This course mainly plays through a dusty park as well as a small Forest sort of area.
-There are concrete tee pads with some what of good tee signs. I believe there are restrooms just because it is a very busy and large park.
This course is flat with the creek running through it. There is no water in it until you get down to holes 10 and 11.
-Personally I threw into the water twice and found my disc both times with out having to get into the grassy shallow water.

The first 4 holes run through a dry dirt bed with a bunch of dead plants. These holes are fun to play because of how much skip you can get. There is a swamp sort of grassy area on hole two but does not really come into play unless you griplock your disc.

There is a Pro Shop kind of not near the course though. The closets hole to the pro shop is 18. I am not sure what they sell there though. From the outside I saw a couple baskets for sale and discs.

Holes 6 though 15 play in the park. The first time I played here I through my disc and then a little kid picked it up and through it back to me. My favorite hole is probably 17 just because the hole plays through oak trees right up to a basket perched on a little mound.

No pay to play here which is nice. Hole 5 plays right by the parking lot. The last set of holes are in the back side of the park over towards the lake.

Most of the holes are Par 3's that run right a long the creek. There are only a couple of par 4's.
Cons: This course can be very busy in the mornings with large fivesomes. I found it hard to find a bridge to cross over the stream. There are a couple all a long the stream but they are located in scattered places.

When I went there the first time there was a huge group of people that walked right in the middle of the hole. It took them quite a while to get out of the way.
Some of the tee signs did not make sense though. They seemed like they were really old sort of similar delaveaga's tee signs.

I feel like there should be a different part of the park for the picnic tables because it would really be fun not to throw your disc next to a birthday party.

The baskets here are Mach 2s or 1s (not sure). You can get some nasty center pole spit outs though.

Navigation around this course may be a little tricky. There are long walks in between holes. So if I were you I wound print out the course map.
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty close to me so I would definitely play here lots just because all the other courses I played here in the San Diego area are short or either not very good. I thought it was pretty nice as well as the park. A few challenging holes made it pretty fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fortunate to have this course in San Diego

5+    12/17/2018   12/17/2018
Review By: fastdds
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ideal weather year around. Enjoyable course, relatively easy but still challenging for players of varying abilities. Course is within Kit Carson Park, lots of green grass (an increasing rarity in SoCal) and trees.
The terrain and shot selection really changes from the dry months to the few wet ones here. There is a river bed that is usually dry, however after the rain there can be a substantial creek making the course much harder. Good use of the available space and mix of right and left handed holes.
There is a friendly pro shop just south of the course within the park with everything you need.
Good vibes from other DG's.
Saturday Doubles.
A bit more centrally located than Brengle to the North.
Cons: Not many places to find drinking water on the course.
Hot in Summer/Fall if you play later in the day.
A few more trees or even a single tree on the fairway of holes 1-4 perhaps.
As mentioned, lots of people on weekends on some of the areas.

Other Thoughts: This is a feel-good course you can play regularly. It is fun, challenging but won't wear you out.
Beware of going right on hole #5, nothing good if it crosses the hidden creek. Be sure to have your name and number on discs, the pro shop will accept found discs for $1 reward and call owner.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    9/24/2018   9/24/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 141  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 10.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice practice basket..the course itself has a Good mix of hole distances with 3 par 4s and some ace runs thrown in as well. Some really interesting holes and a couple cool mandos that give you the option to go for it or layup for your par. Nice tee signs that are kept up showing you where pin is located. Nice tee pads and baskets. Very cool giant snake by hole 6 not sure what it's made of but picture worthy
Cons: The first 4 holes have a desert feel and are very plain the giant rocks around the green are a nice setting but holes themself are not very eye appealing. The walkout from hole 5-6 is pretty long. Park by hole 6 tee pad as 18 ends there drive past 6 tee pad as hold one starts on other side of park further down. Saw signs that looked like they get rattle snakes there so I guess watch for that. Hole 13 to 14 can be confusing just look for the sign and walk through the fence
Other Thoughts: This course uses most the park and has you playing on different terrain from green grass to dust desert style. Overall pretty good course and good mix of distances. Completely worth the stop but not a top tier course

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Free Course

5+    7/29/2017   8/2/2017
Review By: mdespars
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Multiple target placements make for each round being a little more dynamic.
- Not very crowded (Disc Golf player wise)
- Nice mix of long and short holes.
- It's free
- Good Pro Shop
Cons: - Can be crowded with people not playing disc golf. Tends to mess with only a couple holes.
- Stinging Nettle around the first 4 holes. Good luck getting your disc out of it.
- Can get pretty hot during the summer.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice if they made it more apparent that people enjoy playing disc golf at the park. Maybe some type of sign or notification at entrances to inform other park users to watch where you set your picnic up. I remember one time where a family setup a volleyball court right in the middle of the fairway... Other then that this is an awesome course for beginners and advanced players. Picnic season is usually only during the summer, so the rest of the year it is normally wide open.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, great park

1    7/11/2017   7/12/2017
Review By: pwolfinger
Played: 59  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Turning off the main drag, there is sign directing you to the disc golf course and amphitheater; its nice when there is an initial sign so you don't have to hunt around.
-The course has two practice baskets right at the lot with plenty of space to putt.
- Its FREE and its 18 holes! Both aren't super common for this area, so one of the best courses locally.
- The park is sprawling, and there are other activities, restrooms, and a disc golf pro shop. I actually played with Matt, the owner; he's awesome and really knows his discs!
- Tuesday night random draw doubles (A/B format) for $5. Starts at 5pm.
- Holes have a lot of nice shot varieties; short/long, backhand/forehand, hyzer/flex lines, good shot shaping with trees, and a creek (dry or stagnant water) that comes in to play.
- There are multiple pin placements on some of the holes. Seems like they rotate regularly.
- The tee pads are well made! Good length/width, and a nice concrete rib at the front for the brace foot.
Cons: - The main con for me was the constant conflict between disc golfers and others using the park. There is a walking path that comes in to play on several holes.
- Some of the tee signs seem out of date. A couple are missing.
- Holes 1-4 are separate from the rest of the course, but really not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: I played the weekly doubles here; everyone was really nice. A lot of the holes are birdie friendly for an amateur player. A couple ace run opportunities.

The shade is nice. If you go after work, starting on hole 5 and getting in the shade early until the sun goes down is doable (assuming there aren't others playing).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 flattest course in socal

5+    12/1/2015   12/6/2015
Review By: xaeLen
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the new tee pads are really nice. on the week days it is not crowded. it is free to play. they have a pro shop that sells discs. there are bathrooms by 6 and 9. there is a mix between long and short. there are some trees making it more challenging.
Cons: the pro shop is really far away from hole one. they do not have a fridge or freezer at the pro shop. on weekends the course is filled with non disc golf players. there are people walking in the way on hole 7. some people have picnics right by the basket or in the way.the walk from hole 18 to 1 is really long.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fun course with decent variety.

5+    9/17/2015   10/2/2015
Review By: Ninjavitus
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: FREE!

I typically go to the course on weekday mornings to avoid crowds and the heat. I can usually play through a round solo in about 45 minutes (if there aren't many groups ahead of me). I often end up playing 2 rounds in a row.

Nowhere near as crowded as Morley.

In my experiences with groups ahead of me, they have always been very polite in letting me play through. Sometimes I will join up with a smaller groups, which is a nice change from flying solo.

There is a decent variety of holes, with varying pin positions on 1, 2, 3, 4, 6 (although I've never seen it set up on the short pin), 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, & 18. They usually change pins around once a week or so. There's a mix of wide open, slightly wooded, small mandatory gaps, dogleg rights/left, and straight shots.

Sean(Shawn/Shaun?) in the Pro Shop is super friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful.

Baskets are top notch, though I still manage to find ways to hit chains and miss.

Not exceedingly difficult (not sure if that is a pro or con). For me it means fun rounds, with relatively minimal course induced frustrations. My frustrations are primarily self induced.

Public restrooms and water fountains available during park hours.

Cons: I love this park! The cons listed below are really more of a heads up for people, than any sort of complaint. I just wanted to present info on some things that some may see as cons.


Mixed use park can present some human obstacles, but I've never really had any issues with anyone. Sometimes you encounter someone who's oblivious to the course, but not often.

Not super difficult, if that's what you're looking for (see Pros)

Can be very hot. Not really anything the course can do about it, but a heads up nonetheless. Bring some cold water and wear sunscreen.

Dogs must be on leash. Some people think this does not apply to their dog. I haven't yet had one go after a disc, but they are occasionally there.

There's a bit of walking required in between holes 5 and 6, and from 18 back to the parking lot. I don't mind that walking. Overall the course isn't too long.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course

2-4    7/14/2015   7/26/2015
Review By: Owen The Sk8er
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is a very good skill tester for all skill levels. The baskets kept every disc in the chains like they are supposed to do. The creek gave me a very good challenge, but 2 of my strokes flew into the creek. Luckily the creek was dry. Also very nice people. I played with a group of 3 people.
Cons: Trash on the course
Other Thoughts: This course is well taken care of. If you are looking for a course that is very nice and challenging, this is the place. This will be a comeback to place.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.