Escondido, CA 
Kit Carson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Disc Kippler Hole #10 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Favorite Course in SD

5+    11/2/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: SDtoSB
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Excellent for a Free to Play
-Wait times aren't typically that long
-Great hole length variation
-Half the holes have 2-3 positions, some requiring very different drives
-Weekly doubles
-Great pro-shop
Cons: -Park is host to cross-country running events that can block holes
-Lots of picnics in the Summer
-The river can get kinda gross and stagnant at times (don't shank it on holes 9, 10)
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in San Diego county
-More fun than CSUSM and Montiel
-Much faster round than Morley
-As fun as Goat Hill, but not as ridiculously long

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where the Wild Things Are

1    10/29/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: Magiken
Played: 58  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Decent shot selection
Nice park
Tees are good (rubber mat variety)
Baskets are good
Signs are great
Course is easy to find
Water/restrooms
Multiple basket placements
Friendly folks
Cons:
Park people are in play for a good chunk of the course
A few holes are a little criss-crossy
Might be a bit short/easy for your advanced and above player
Other Thoughts:
Tips:
Do read the signs. There are sneaky OBs and mandos out there

Random Thoughts:
I get the impression that this is a favorite amongst the locals as this was the greatest number of disc golfers I've seen at a course, outside of a tournament. That didn't hold up play or anything (in case you were wondering), and I found the folks to be quite friendly. One even asked me to join him and showed me around. As for the course, it really lets you warm-up a bit as the first 5 holes are pretty wide open. True, if you get aggressive, you can go OB, but there's a pretty good amount of room for error. A decent, sensible shot off the tee and you'll be fine. Once you transition to the park holes, that's where the fun begins. Lots of trees, a creek, some OB, pedestrians (ugh) and an island-ish green await. Even though the holes aren't particularly long, you will need accuracy and a variety of shot shaping to get in range of a birdie/par. Having said that, I felt like the course was very fair and there wasn't a time where I couldn't see the intended line.

Bottom Line:
About as good a job as you can do with the space provided, and some interesting use of the 'protected' areas as OB. I also like that there are several types of shots on the course. I would prefer the people not be so much in play but you do the best with what you've got. I'd probably also state that this would be a good course to introduce someone to the game on a non-busy day. Looking forward to a return visit.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/27/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 185  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first five holes play through an open dirt patch with some moderate distance. After that, the course transitions to the grassy main area of the park, and the distances were much shorter. With a couple exceptions, most of the holes felt like a solid birdie opportunity, but not a gimme.

I liked the use of the creek bed. It was mostly dry when I played, but the baskets were situated close by on many holes, so a bad drive or missed putt could leave you putting from the creek bed.

One hole had a cool island hole for one of the pin positions.

I think all tee pads were fly pad except one that was part of the sidewalk. I assume these are recent based on some past reviews.
Cons: The course wasn't even that busy when I visited (a Saturday morning around 9:30), but other park users certainly came into play. Twice I had to wait. One of those times the group in front of me called out to the person walking in the fairway, and the person was clueless and didn't change course. From other reviews, it seems like this is common.

The first four holes are wide open, and holes 1 and 4 basically throw at each other. If you throw RHBH, on the 4th hole you may need to decide between risking turning over your shot into the wildlife habitat, or having your shot fade toward the hole 1 basket.
Other Thoughts: Navigation wasn't bad. The map on the site seemed wrong on a couple holes near the middle of the course, but I didn't need to use it much.

There isn't a ton of challenge here, but I found most of the holes pretty enjoyable. I imagine if I played here regularly, the challenge would be how far under par I could shoot (this is not typical for me!).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/31/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 32  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great for beginners. Decent variety of shots with some minor elevation and technical spots. You get to rip 'em on the first few and last couple holes.
Cons: Signage is weak! A very crowded Park- we had a few near misses of children and picnickers who were oblivious to the course!
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course with a variety of holes and shots. It plays through a fairly crowded public park so be very aware your throws. The first 4 holes are grip and rips in a open dirt fields but after that you head into the trees and the feel changes. Definitely a good alternative to my home course (Morley field) if I need a change- ie: not waiting at EVERY tee box or being hounded.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    8/4/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: jtrod
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good course with several different types of holes.
- Long open
- Long with obstacles
- Short open
- Short with obstacales
Good signage and teepads
Cons: Large groups 8+ that play slow
Picnickers and joggers
Other Thoughts: Pro shop in the park

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

1    4/24/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: Sroberts
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Free
-Tests all skills
-Good lengths of holes
-Awesome pro shop
-Good Course layout
-Nice practice area
Cons: -If you somehow get a disc in the woods good luck finding it
-confusing finding a few holes
-have to be careful of park go-ers
Other Thoughts: Over all a great course and will go back for sure guy at the proshop was really knowledgable and helpful about course Q's. def a must go. 4/5

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Must play!

1    4/24/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: hyper_hippo18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -tests lots of throws
-great scenery
-awesome pro shop
Cons: -pins a little difficult to see, maybe a flag or something
-lay out changes, a little weird to find some holes
-water
-pretty wooded
Other Thoughts: even though there were more cons than pros, the course was awesome. clean, easy to walk. On an overcast weekday, there was no park goers, and just had a great time. Mind the trees and the day will turn out well. Really tests your discs and throws

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Diversity!

2-4    2/17/2013   2/21/2013
Review By: ChubbieRooster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice mix of hole variety. Short, Long, Obstacles.
Played twice and both rounds went by pretty quickly even with larger groups out in front.
Cons: You do have to share this course with other park goers. You do have to keep people informed that you are going to be throwing, but will move without any problem.
Other Thoughts: This course actually had a great pro shop. I usually just see Innova if a course does sell discs but this one kept up with just about everything and wasn't let down with my purchases!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great first time

1    1/29/2013   1/30/2013
Review By: Lackychams
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: this is a great course for just starting out on, i had no real troubles with playing, the creeks were low, so when i did dump my discs in the creeks they were easily to grab.
-most of the holes are short and are easily noticeable.
- the pro shop is great stocked with new discs and used ones, very informative and helpful.
-great practice baskets with enough area to try different distances.
Cons: - goes through a park and some times people walk around in the field.
- 30% of the holes dont have signs to show what hole you are at
- a few of the hole tees where hard to find or hard to access.
Other Thoughts: i recommend to try this course if your in the area, check out the pro shop for anything needed.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Kit Carson Review

5+    12/15/2012   12/21/2012
Review By: tu-f-o
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course. Overall my favorite in San Diego so far. But I've only played Morley Field, Montiel, Cal State San Marcos, Brengle Terrace. A good mix of open shots, narrow wooded, maybe just 1 hole that is a true par 4 (strength or weakness?), pretty challenging to get a good low score consistently, many holes have options to go either backhand or forehand, nice park in general.
Cons: Not very many hills at all. 1 downhill shot. The park sometimes has normal crowds like families and kids, but usually they don't get in the way too much. Not as technical as Morley Field, not as big or challenging as Brengle Terrace.
Other Thoughts: It's a good size course, not too big not too small. Just finishing 18 holes is a nice walk. You won't be beat, but you'll get a decent walk. Nice combo of dirt areas and grass areas. And FREE to play. Nice staff at the pro shop. Best pro shop I've seen so far. Good deals.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.