Athol, ID 
Farragut SP - A.W.O.L. Share
Uploaded By: Odedge Hole #8 (Taken 6/2020)
3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Challenging Well Designed Course

5+    4/17/2021   5/3/2021
Review By: Jah Plastifari
Played: 217  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 38 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Excellent combination of distance and technicality

Great overall flow with both 9's looping back to starting area

Six par 4's that play as two shot holes for the vast majority of players

Some elevation in play, plus or minus 5 to 10 feet on around half of the holes

Good mix of L to R, R to L, and straight tee shots

Trees in play on the majority of shots outside 75' of the basket

Good sized concrete tees

Tee signs with basic info and graphic of the hole, plus some WW II history
Cons:
Single tee pads and basket positions (there are a couple of alternative pins, but they rarely see play)

Tree kicks off the fairway can be very punishing as most trees in the deeper rough have not been trimmed

Entry fee to the park is now $7 per vehicle

Ground can be a little uneven in spots
Other Thoughts:
Very few penalty strokes, not a lot of OB in play. This could be considered either a pro or a con.

The lack of alternate tees and pins would be a larger negative if there weren't four other courses on site for some variety.

I have birdied every hole, except hole 18, multiple times, and I'm certain I have bogeyed every hole, except hole 16, multiple times. This is a course that if I'm playing my best, double digits under par is possible. If my game is off however, double digits over par is also possible. I cannot think of another course I have played where such a wide scoring spread is possible for me.

AWOL is the most well-rounded course at Farragut State Park, and, for me, has the largest fun factor of the five courses.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

AWOL 9/26

1    9/26/2019   9/30/2019
Review By: isualum12
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Combination of a little open play but lots of forests. I found the course challenging but fair. Looking at the various lanes to try and take was a blast. No garbage on the course but I did wish twice on the course that I could find a garbage can next to a tee box. Perhaps I just missed them.
Cons: A couple of large holes that were ankle breakers
Other Thoughts: Amazing complex as a whole. Thanks to Idaho State Parks and Rec.

 Get to Athol for A.W.O.L.

1    8/27/2018   11/13/2018
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 479  Reviewed: 370  Exp: 18 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A.W.O.L. is a tough par 60 course. The layout is really well done, with converging nines, and great variation. No two holes are alike, and none of them are too easy.

The concrete tees were good, there are tee signs, and the baskets are AOK. The grounds of the park were immaculate. A truly beautiful place to camp, I was at the Whitetail campground, very near the disc golf parking and close to Bayview if you need supplies.

Did I mention there are 3 other 18 hole courses right there on site? I only played two of the four, and AWOL was the better of them.

There is almost no elevation change, and no water in play, but the different looks from hole to hole were still good. The fairways are often narrow, and do not offer much room to deviate from the intended line. The pin will be protected with tight gaps in between trees giving limited access. Making accurate drives and leaving yourself with good angles to approach and make putts is crucial if you want a good score.

The rough is usually playable enough to have a chance at recovery should you ricochet off the path a little bit. Six par 4 holes give the course extra distance. They are long, and some have tight dogleg turns, but par is on the table if you make good, consistent throws.
Cons: If you are not camping in the park, there is a $5 daily vehicle fee for using the disc golf facilities. A bargain price for what the park has to offer.

There is no serious elevation change, which I always love to see included. No water in play either. Makes things more beginner friendly, but not quite as much fun. Great for what there is to work with though.
Other Thoughts: Farragut State Park is beautiful. The campgrounds are cozy and clean, and the disc golf is outstanding. Five 18 hole courses, and AWOL will give a strong challenge to most players.

I was fortunate, because the area had been filled with smoke from wildfires just a couple of days before, but it had finally cleared out and the weather was perfect. I only stayed one night before traveling to the next stop, but you could spend all week playing on the lake and camping and not get bored if you wanted to.

Finished with a 65, 5 over par on the only round I got in at AWOL. One birdie, thirteen pars, two bogies and two double bogies. It felt good for first time out on a tricky course. If I had made a few putts I could have been in the neighborhood of par, but they just weren't going in that afternoon. Still me and the dog really enjoyed it all the same.

Kind of reminded me of Magnolia DGC in Live Oak FL, or Chester State Park in SC. Long tree lined fairways that put controlled accurate shots at a premium. Very fun and a good test of skills.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/1/2016   6/26/2016
Review By: Brian_Lowrey
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Baskets color coded by course, Challenging fairways with great variety. Course is well maintained. Camping at state park with some interesting history hre.
Cons: Nothing bad to say about A.W.O.L
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites, worth the drive town of Bayview five minute drive makes a nice lunch stop.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Simply the Best Course in Idaho

5+    3/10/2015   8/21/2015
Review By: seearedubya
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Lots of long, low ceiling, tunnel shots through the beautiful forest of Farragut State Park.
-Well defined fairways, and rough that is playable from for the most part.
Cons: -Not much elevation change
-A few more altered putting greens would be a plus.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 durby800

5+    4/21/2015   4/21/2015
Review By: durby800
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its a well maintained course.
designed for the pro played long fairways.
If your up for a challenge this course is for you.
Cons: Lots of trees, long fairways.
Not for the novice player,would probably frustrate them.
If you are feeling like a great played, play this course it will bring you back to reality.
Other Thoughts: all the courses in this park are top notch. Innova Disc Catchers in every course. Great camping and outdoor activities like swimming hiking fishing mountain bike riding as well.
The best of North Idaho in one location.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 So Many Trees, So Little Time...

5+    7/12/2014   7/12/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 272  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 9 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the longest and toughest of the three 18-hole courses at Farragut State Park.

This course has six par 4 holes, including very challenging beginning and ending holes.

These are legitimate par fours that require hitting a specific landing area with your first drive, and then driving again on a different line to the basket. Two good drives will give you a look at a birdie, but missing either drive will have you looking at bogie or worse.

Most holes are tightly wooded, with narrow fairways. Each hole has at least one, and often more fair routes to hit, but they will punish shots that are even slightly off line. The rough can get pretty tight.

Good risk/reward opportunities on several holes. They offer one tight, straight line to the basket that gives a chance for a birdie, but if missed will take you to bogie quickly. Or another safer line that eliminates the birdie but gives a better chance for par.

Large, flat concrete tee pads, and good Innova baskets. Tee signs are simple brown lathes with hole number, par, and distance. Each basket has a "next hole" arrow, and navigation is simple.

Large parking area with drinking water, restroom, practice basket, and a driving net. The course makes two nine-hole loops so you can hit the restroom, refill water or get to your car after the front nine.
Cons: There is little elevation change on this course. There are a few holes that play up or down maybe 10 - 15 feet, but that is about it.

If you like big, open drives this is not the course for you.

The tee signs are simple hole #, par, and distance. A larger sign with the hole layout would be welcome for first-timers as the basket location is hidden from several of the tees.
Other Thoughts: Farragut State Park is an outstanding disc golf destination. With a family friendly 9-hole course (being expanded to 18) and three very good 18-hole courses, you can play here for many days and not get bored.

Check out the Visitor Center for a very nice selection of reasonably priced discs.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 If you want a challenge and have an arm

5+    8/2/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: MikeHuck
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 30 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very long holes so bring your arm. Nice layout. Not crowded at all. Lots of variety even though there isn't much elevation change.
Cons: Don't expect to do as well as on the other two courses at farragut. Humbles you. No spectacular features (water, cliffs, etc), but still really fun.
Other Thoughts: I like it. Well done. Hope to improve my score on this challenging course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Double Back Diamond

5+    6/20/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: DiscNoid
Played: 22  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The Newest of the three courses at Farragut. A very challenging (sometimes long) and well laid out course consisting of some shorter technical holes along with a few long holes (620 ft for example). One of the things I enjoy most about Farragut is, the parking lot can be full but the percentage that you'll have to wait or even run into another group is very minimal.
Cons: No real elevation changes' mostly level ground unlike Wreakreator. Can be rough if your not in shape due to amount of acreage covered.
Other Thoughts: Improvements are being made and things are looking great!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Accuracy Is A Must Here!

1    5/28/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 43 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The A.W.O.L. course is the third and most demanding of the tri-fecta here at Farragut. It's across the park road from it's sister courses. It is very similiar in nature to Northstar and the Wreckreator courses in the fact that they are all accuracy based courses played through the Northern Idaho Pine forests. What separates A.W.O.L. from the other two is it's 6746' in length which is about 2000' longer than Northstar and tops Wrecreator by just over 1000'. In difficulty alone, this is a 4.5 to 5.0 course. There are extremely tight fairways starting with # 1. Getting off the fairway can easily lead to double and triple bogies. The tee pads are roomy concrete ones. The signs are simple wooden posts with distance and pars on them. I played the first 9 holes alone and was able to navigate fairly easily.

#15 was a pretty hole with kind of a natural looking fairway leading to the basket.

#1 and #18 both standout as classicaly tight "stay on the fairway hope you can throw straight" holes. Both on long par 4's with extreme rough. I was in trouble on both of them.
Cons: There are 18 holes here. All 18 are level with little to no elevation. They are all played through thick pine forests. There is no water. There is not a signature hole. There is not a place for where the big arm player can crank out the 400' drive. There isn't that hole where you are standing on the edge of some ridge watching your drive sail for what seems like an eternity. This course doesn't have the natural "take your breath away beauty" of so many of our NW courses. Standing in the center of a forest and looking at more forest is cool but not my idea of beautiful. I really like breathtaking scenery on my courses.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course. It's a very nice design. My hats off to the course designers. You did a wonderful job here. but while A.W.O.L. is an extreme challenge, it's only an extreme challenge in ONE way. That is-You must be able to throw straight and accurately to score well here. Players with really big arms would be neutralized here. The # 1 rated player in the world would not be able to throw his gigantic hyser bombs.

To sum up, this is one nice course but it doesn't quite measure up to top Northwest courses like Whistlers Bend, Dexter, Milo McIver and Pier Park in Oregon or Cape Fear over in Spokane. They all have the whole package going; courses that challenge you in a variety of ways, beautiful scenery, water, epic downhill holes, scary risk/reward holes.

A.W.O.L. is a great challenge but it's a one-trick-pony.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.