Littleton, CO 
Arapahoe Community College Share
Uploaded By: preton Hole #5 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 208ft.   3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Hole 1 Made it Worthwhile

1    6/2/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a course that I would consider mostly an open field. There are some large and small trees scattered throughout it which the course designers did a quality job of incorporating into most of the holes. Hole 1 made this course worth it for me. If you like bank shots... expect to unload most discs in your bag off of the first tee. The hole starts off of an elevated concrete patio and travels between 175-225 feet. After 30-40 feet there is a large building which spans the length of the hole in which the pin lies 2-3 feet away from the wall. It is a PERFECT bank shot, and a fairly easy one at that. To add a little bit of skill there is a tree right in front of the hole, but that is easily avoided with a nice bank shot. You can also choose to hyzer around the tree for an easy birdie... but the bank is too awesome to not shoot multiple times.

From here, the course is fairly self-explanatory. It is fairly easy to find the next hole if you do some walking around, but bringing a map makes navigating the course easy. Holes 2,3, and 5 all border some sort of alternate property or fenced in area, so accuracy is key if you don't want to lose a disc here (they're easy to get... you just have to hop a fence & trespass). Most holes here are straight shots, but the trees add enough variety to make it a fun yet not-to-challenging round. Hole 6 is the only true straight shot with no trees. Hole 9 was my second favorite hole... not too long, but a small stretch of grass with 7-9 bushes and trees to avoid.

The grass and facilities here are kept very nice, and most people around the campus are very nice to you. Numbers are marked in the ground with purple paint. Each tee is a large purple square (3'x3') with a white number in the middle - they are easier to find than the description on DGCR leads you to believe.
Cons: This course is on Arapahoe Community College campus, so you really have to pick and choose your time of day. The course literally dissects the outdoor "quad" area multiple times, so when students are there it is your job to wait. This means during the school year and in between classes you will have to do a lot of waiting and a lot of making sure people know you're throwing discs. Some people are accommodating... but most are oblivious to the sport of disc golf. Luckily ACC hosts far less classes in the summertime, so there are way less people to come in contact with then.

The course is good considering what they have. It is not very creative, and partially hard to navigate without a map. I threw RHFH on every hole but one, just to show the lack of variety in the park. It is a good course to practice getting close to the pin on, but there is not much technical practice here. Only a few holes have signs, and it is hard to distinguish which basket to throw to off of tee 3. This course is highly susceptible to wind.
Other Thoughts: This is a good practice course for those who live in the area. If I was an ACC student I'd be playing every day. Hole 1 is AWESOME... you don't find too many bank shots out there.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Arapahoe CC

2-4    3/16/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: jwetter
Played: 93  Reviewed: 30
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -fun course that was different from other courses that you normally play
-the holes were all very short so its good to work on midrange and putting
-for being on a college campus it was much better than expected
-very well kept area
-easy to follow and find the next hole (except the basket on 8, we played to 9 the first time through.)
Cons: -there were things to hit everywhere like light poles, benches, and students
-had to wait for people to get out of the way before throwing on many holes
-tee pads were all on sidewalks which was not a problem but you do not know where the end of the tee pad was.
-very short and lack of very interesting shots

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Last Resort

2-4    2/26/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Beef Chief
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great for ACC students, hell I'd love coming out to throw some discs between classes, I don't care how crappy it is! Good course to work on straight throws for your putter and mid-range.
Cons: Students walking by, soccer players by hole #8 sometimes, makes one angry when eager to throw but can't(or shouldn't :D)
Other Thoughts: $5 to whoever tags a slow-moving student walking the sidewalk from hole 3 toward your tee, in the face.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ok for it's location

2-4    2/28/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: WellHungSmurf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: + Short course, can get thru it on a 30min lunch
+ Some shots require accuracy
+ Great for new players
Cons: - real short
- poor layout
- to many buildings/fences where you could lose a disc
- Buzy with soccer and classes, some holes are nearly impossible to access at sometimes during the day
Other Thoughts: Worth a play if you havn't played it

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A putter, a mid and 15 minutes.

2-4    11/14/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 10.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A fun litte course located on a community college campus. First hole right by the main building. Though the holes are short, there are lots of things to shoot around from buildings, trees and pedestrians. There is very limited room on this course so accuracy is needed to get close to the pin for the birdie. Several different types of shots are needed from straight, hyzer, anhyzer and thumber. Teesigns on all the holes that show the basket location and though the teepads are all cement, they use the existing sidewalks for the teepads. Seems to work well and saved them some good money so they could buy the great Mach V baskets, my favorite!
Cons: Another example of why build a course here? Space is very limited and plays right on the campus. You have to throw right next to buildings, fences and hole 7 basket is roughly 10 feet from the parking lot. The teepads are on the sidewalks where other people walk. Fairways cross each other and are generally very close together. Watch out for other disc golf users. Someone or something could easily be hit. I can certainly see many close calls with other campus users. It is up to disc golfers to play with respect and caution to others to avoid this. Honestly I wouldn't be surprised if this course is pulled becasue of such issues. Parking could be a problem, watch for signs where to park. No elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: A fun little course that does offer lots of different types of shots. Nothing extreme, but it will work your short game. No driver needed here. Definate ace opportunies. I would suggest to play this course on the weekend as during the week it could be difficult to play. A fun course that I would come back to play again.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Quick 9

5+    8/14/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: BobbyO
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Enjoyable course, campus mall is kept very nice.
Even Beginners have tons of fun on this course
Chances to ace holes increases the sport of this course
Quick enough to play through multiple times if your time allows
Cons: Hole markers are misleading; poor layout
If you lose a disc and if it ends up in the L&F it's a process to get it back.
Early evening you might find classes around the holes be careful.
Other Thoughts: This is a fast play course and truly is set up for any style or caliber player to play.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great mid-range course

5+    7/16/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: Jason Daves
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is great for working on your short game. There are several different types of holes. The course is compact and can be played in 15 minutes on a low traffic day. The staff in the auto department and maintenace crew are disc golf friendly and will usually help gert lost discs back or call if they find one in a locked lot. Write your name an phone number on all discs!
Cons: The tees could be improved, tee pads would be great. The painted pads get a little slick if there is moisture on the sidewalks or your feet.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun stuff

2-4    7/15/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 92  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This courses uses it limited resources as well as it can. There are great obstacles, and tee box #1 is a blast. This course makes you think outside the box. For a nine hole, it included a couple of decent length holes.
Cons: Beware the Auto yard! The large space is backed up right next to the course, fortunately the automotive teachers were kind and let me look for a stray disc.
Other Thoughts: I wish all colleges had courses.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Letís See How Many Holes we can Overlap!

1    7/8/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 153  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 13.1 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great place to practice you mid-range and putting game. Beginners and novices will appreciate the short layout and few people on this open area of the college. I recommend bringing your friends that have never played to this place and letting them get a feel for the game before heading out to a good course in the surrounding area.

The baskets are in great shape, and the course layout is easy to follow with large painted concrete tees on the walkways. This course is also very easy to spot from Santa Fe coming in, but you'll need to be careful about parking since some of the parking is restricted for the college. Park along the front of the course parallel to Santa Fe and you shouldn't have a problem.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #7
Cons: Where to begin - The biggest negative that the course is too short and dangerous for busy regular play. The whole course comes in at under 2000' and I think the distances markers were being generous. However, I hope this place never is never busy because most holes overlap each other from tee to pin. This is probably the most dangerous layout I have ever played, and assume the designer had no idea what they were doing besides trying to make sure the walkways could doubles as concrete tee boxes.

Plus, as far as the concrete boxes go, the large slick painted numbers made these some of the worst concrete boxes I've ever played. Being a walkway they aren't brushed like traditional boxes and each has a 4' by 4' number painted onto the area, which makes it great to see but too slick to throw from and I was even wearing trail shoes. I recommend throwing from anywhere but the painted numbers.

Finally, the course is simply too short from any experienced player to get a real challenge. This more of an ace run course where every hole could and should be a birdie hole. Also, I've never been a fan to bouncing my disc off of man-made objects and many of the fairways have fences and buildings as fairway obstacles.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately, there aren't many quality courses in south Denver, so you'll have to head up into the mountains and play Beaver Ranch/Conifer Park or Phantom Falls if you want a real disc golf experience. If you're in the area and can't make the trip to the mountains, I recommend skipping this course and playing the mildly more interesting Schaefer DGC just west on 285. It's about the same in length and difficulty, but at least it has a couple of interesting features and doesn't play in such a hazardous layout.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  nice short course, good for practicing accuracy

2-4    7/4/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: mikko95
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its a good short course, where accuracy is quite important. I didn't use my driver much, and it would be possible to do the whole thing with a putter. It only takes 25 minutes, so its nice to do during a lunch hour or for an evening jaunt. the whole course stays in the a small courtyard, so you're never too far away from the starting point, and if its really sunny, there is always some shade. the holes are all in good condition.
Cons: Its really easy to lose a disc, I didn't, but i almost did. there are a couple holes that are right up against a tall fence with barbed wire, so if the disc went over there would be no way to retrieve it. There is also another hole that goes right over a fenced in electrical box, this one would be possible to climb over, but it would be pretty hard. Additionally, the most of the maps near the tee are missing the par number, so I had to guess on a lot of them. The maps are hard to understand, and posts on hole 7, 8, and 9 are missing maps all together, so I ended going from the hole 7 tee to the hole 8 hole.
Other Thoughts: Worth going to, a nice place to brush up on accuracy skills.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.