Duncan, OK 
Duncan Lake - East Share
Uploaded By: Chained Evil Hole #7 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 160ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 great woods course

2-4    3/25/2018   5/7/2018
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -fun layout with lots of great wooded holes
-takes advantage of the terrain and elevation
-all different kinds of technical shots with a variety of minor elevation changes
-the holes are tight but the lines are definitely fair
-the annual DLHO is a great tournament and the best way to play the course
-another great course onsite
-camping, etc right there at the lake
Cons: -the biggest con is that this is practically a seasonal course. it's only really taken care of in the spring just before the annual DLHO. i had stopped by here before to check it out around the end of summer and it was really tough to navigate. i decided to just leave and come back another time for the tournament.
-the signs are lacking for a first timer trying to navigate
-the natural tees are mostly sufficient but a few are not so good, particularly hole 4
-not sure what kind of baskets are in all year, nice colored baskets were installed for the tournament
-the rough is very rough but much better than the pictures show. the course seems to get a little better each year
-the road is in play on a handful of holes (1, 2, 12, 13, 17, 18) but it doesn't get much traffic
Other Thoughts: The East course at Duncan Lake is a really fun wooded course. There are all kinds of technical shots; left, right, straight; that go up and down the minor elevation changes throughout the course. There are a few more open holes (1, 2, 10, 11, 13, 18) where you can open up a driver but the course definitely puts a premium on accuracy and even most of those more open holes have an OB road in play. It's a great complement to the more open Lake course.

Each spring the Duncan Lake Hillclimber Open is held here and this is really the best way to experience the course. The course will be in its best condition, navigation is a non-issue, and the tournament is well-run and a lot of fun. I forget what kind of baskets they had but I don't think they're the same ones installed the rest of the year.

The somewhat seasonal nature of the course makes it tough to rate. As the course plays during the tournament, I'd call it a 4.0 but the experience could be vastly different at other times of year. It seems like the course is getting beaten in over time so it's probably not as bad as it has been in years past, even in the off season. Play the DHLO or shortly after it in the spring or I guess play at your own risk later in the year. If the course is in good condition, it's well worth your time.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tough But Fair

1    12/13/2017   12/14/2017
Review By: MadGame32
Played: 69  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2021
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very technical course
-Good mix of tunnel wooded and semi-open shots
-Can be navigated without a map if you can find 1st tee box.
-I used discs that I never use here.
Cons: -Not cart friendly.
-Dirt tee boxes, but it only affected my shot on one hole.
-No Layout on tee signs. Had to find basket before throwing.
-No welcome sign.
-No map of course.
-If campground is occupied, you have to be very careful with throws on Hole 1 and 18.
-There were 3 different types of baskets on the course. Be ready to miss if you hit high on the chains.
Other Thoughts: Despite the cons, I rate this course as very good. We had a great time playing and really enjoyed the challenges that were presented on each hole.

It would be difficult to install concrete tee boxes due to the terrain and the courses dual use as a horse trail. The dirt was OK.

The course could really use a welcome sign showing layouts and where courses start. It could also use updated tee signs with layouts. It would also be nice to have a course map online. (I will try to make one if I can remember the flow.)

Despite these things, I would definitely recommend playing this course with a friend. I don't think it would be as enjoyable playing alone. I think #4 was my favorite, followed by #9.

3/15/21 Update:
Out of the 66 courses I have reviewed, this is where this course ranks along with similarly rated courses:
Rank-Course, Location
14-Dolly Cooper Park DGC, Powdersville, SC
15-Woodruff Leisure Center DGC, Woodruff, SC
16-Shaver Recreation Center Original, Seneca, SC
17-Foothills DGC, Easley, SC
18-Langley Pond DGC, Burnettown, SC
19-Century Park DGC, Greer, SC
20-Pipeline DGC, Spartanburg, SC
21-Zube Park DGC, Hockley, TX
22-Duncan Lake - East, Duncan, OK
23-Lindsey Park - Red Course, Tyler, TX


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Duncan Lake - East

1    11/18/2017   11/24/2017
Review By: rhutch
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bathrooms near hole 1
Not a lot of pedestrian traffic
Tee signs
Garbage buckets at each hole
Challenging, technical disc golf
Makes good use of woods and elevation changes
Cons: Navigation not easy, thankfully my scorecard app had a course map programmed in
Natural tees, I don't have a problem with them in general but these lacked a toe board to define the tee box, there were flags at some holes, but they were often trambled over
The rough is, well...rough, expect to get into some briars and thorns, I would imagine snakes and ticks would be a factor in the summer as well
If you get into the rough, you may well lose a disc, especially if the wind catches the disc and carries it off
Homemade baskets on many holes don't catch as well as Discatchers, Mach IIIs, etc...
Other Thoughts: This is a technical course that will challenge every shot in your bag, wind is usually a factor as well, welcome to Texoma. It is also important to understand going into this course that maintenance is probably not going to be what you are used to. This course (and especially its sister course Duncan Lake - West) struck me as a hike through the woods where I occasionally threw things. I played both in one day and I felt it at the end of the day (and I'm not in bad shape).

Hole 1 is a long, fairly open hole that plays with road on both sides. Fairly routine and among the easier holes.

Hole 2 is a fairly straight ahead shot, get the birdie here, you'll want to pocket it for later.

Hole 3 snakes through a relatively straight tree tunnel. Get ready, you are going to get a lot of time with tree tunnels.

Hole 4 plays across a ravine with the basket on the other side.

Holes 5-7 are all under 200', short tree tunnels. Once again pick up the birdies while you are can. There is a little elevation in play but nothing crazy.

Hole 8 requires getting out of a wooded area and then hooking around a tree on the other end of a small meadow.

Holes 9-11 work back and forth across a large open field, fairways are pretty obvious as they are the areas without waist-high grass. 10 plays a little uphill.

Hole 12 is a shot across the road, you have to hit a gap between the trees or you can end up OB or with a tough upshot.

Hole 13 is a relatively straightforward, RHBH hyzer shot to a basket nestled in some trees near the road.

Hole 14 is a short but extremely tight tree tunnel

Hole 15 and 16 are two more short but fairly tight tunnel shots, 15 plays over a ravine as well.

Hole 17 plays across the road, playing the road for the skip may be the safest route.

Hole 18 plays across the road and around a bend in it. The distance to get around the curve in the road and too the basket makes it play longer than the 450+ feet that the hole is.

Overall, this is a fun couse and I had a blast. A little maintenance, improved signage, and tee boxes and this course could be a real gem. For me this was honestly the course I had the most fun on, mainly due to the fact that this course was at least maintained well enough to be playable.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Dunca East

1    3/26/2017   7/7/2017
Review By: Lancelot
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation. Technical lines. Some blind tee shots. Tee signs with distances.
Cons: Natural tee pads. Basket quality. Almost impossible to navigate without someone who has played the course. Poison ivy is present. Course is maintained mostly by locals with their own time and money and can be difficult to play durring some parts of the year. This has gotten better as of late due to cooperation from the city.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course. Every year in March people come from all over for a HUGE 2 day B tier tourney (DLHO).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course for a small town

2-4    10/17/2016   10/20/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee signs for all the holes with hole number and distance
Great use of the little elevation on the course.
Good shots are rewarded, bad shots are punished
Cons: Dirt Tee Pads
Several holes are blind, can make it hard to follow the first time.
For cheap practice baskets, they actually catch ok
Other Thoughts: Home of one of the more popular tournaments in Oklahoma, the Duncan Hill Climber, I wanted a chance to play the courses. Unfortunately, the West course was unplayable. but I did get to play the East.

Very good mix of short, long, open and tight holes. Most of the holes are reachable with a good shot, but if you don't hit your line, you are in trouble in the woods.


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet!

5+    3/30/2013   2/14/2014
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 131  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 19.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2014
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super sweet course and an excellent compliment to the west course! I have played this course throughout the years and have watched it change and grow from a temp course to an awesome permanent course. The variety of the shots not only in the length but from the elevation to the techinical aspect. There are tons of birds on this course but there are also tons of chance that your score will climb before your eyes. The baskets are discatcher sports that are rhino-lined so that they last. I really like how this course will challenge every shot in your bag and make you think about every shot before you take it as well. Very high fun factor.
Cons: Navigation can be a little tricky at times but not too difficult if you use some common sense. There are still plenty of thorns and overgrowth that can be tricky at spots.
Other Thoughts: Put these two courses together and its an awesome place to play. Its a must every year for the Hillclimber and it only gets better through the years.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great technical Fun

1    1/15/2013   1/15/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 63  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2013
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good solid natural tees
Good baskets (3-17)
Tee signs with distance
Great use of available land
A lot of tight lines to hit
Some chances to stretch out your drivers
A few open holes with the basket tucked in a nook
Some short birdie holes that you can bogey easily
Great risk/reward
Great variety
160ft-460ft. Work on all shots
Uphil, downhill
Across valleys/canyons, over hills
Some finishing right, left, straight
Good for working on midrange and drivers
If you run at a birdie you might get a 4 or 5
Decent logical navigation
Drains great. No real mud even with rain two days ago
Not crowded
Relaxed round
1, 2, 18 are playable as designed if you have a portable basket
1 and 18 are near the bathrooms/parking
Ample parking
Bathrooms
Trash buckets at most tees
Pavillion near 1 is great for tournements or family get togethers
Awesome for a weekend at the lake
Another great course on location

Favorite Hole (s): #4, #9, #15, 16
Cons: Baskets for 1, 2, 18 aren't permanent yet
EDIT: I'm told the permanent baskets are in now. I will play it again soon and update my review.
Natural tees
Tee signs need layout (basket is not visible from several tees)
Navigation would be easier with next Tee marks
Directionals needed in a few places
Transition from 14-15 needs marked (just cross the road into the trail in the woods apx 100ft)
No benches
Trash buckets are full and running over
Need mowed (not a big deal still playable)
Gets mowed and cleaned up only for the spring tourney DLHO
A couple of holes throw across/near a road (NBD)
Other Thoughts: This course is an awesome compliment to the longer more difficult West course. This course is still a workout while not as rugged as the West course. If you score well you will have to be able to shape your lines. It is possible to play par even if you don't have super distance. But only if you play smart. Every hole has obstacles to go around, through, or over. This course is a must play anytime you pass hrough the area. Stay at the lake and play both courses a few times. Come to the Hillclimber open every spring for a great time.

My "disc rating" is weighted heavily toward fun factor which this course is high in. With a few more amenities this course would easily be a 4.5. Loved this course. I will be back and so will you.

PM me and let me know how I can improve my reviews to be more "helpful."

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.