Kearney, NE 
Cottonmill DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
4 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3

1    9/15/2020   9/15/2020
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 201  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - new veteran baskets
- good tee pads
- good variety of distances ranging from 150' to 700'
- great variety of shots you'll need to throw
- decent amount of elevation change
- beautiful park setting
Cons: - no numbers on the baskets, I was always unsure if I had thow to the right basket
- tee signs are ok, but could really use an upgrade
- navigation of this course could really be improved on
Other Thoughts: Put numbers on your baskets. Great course but could be upgraded to a 4.0 easily.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hidden Gem

1    11/7/2019   11/7/2019
Review By: Scbarr
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Awesome course. Good blend of technical and distance shots. Water traps are a concern on a few pins, but even at bethe primary tees it'sb easy to get over or around them, and alternate tees make them moot. Infrastructure and maintenance are all great.
Cons: Tee pads are a bit small, but not a huge issue. Might benefit from arrows on the basket to the next tee.

 Cottonmill Fits the Bill

1    3/18/2018   3/21/2018
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 461  Reviewed: 354  Exp: 17.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It could be argued Cottonmill DGC is the best the state of Nebraska has to offer. It has versatility, with multiple pin locations on nearly every hole, and short tees on a couple. The layout is challenging, featuring elevation change, water in play and some thick rough that can be punishing. The tee pads are concrete, and they have signs posted for each hole with all of the relevant info.
The baskets were fit for play.

There are a few of really amazing holes, and the quality is consistently very good throughout. Hole 2 is the first real doozy. It's downhill steeply toward the water, with the basket cutting into the woods on the left before you reach the bottom. The fairway is pretty wide, but if you leave it you will be in very thick woods and brush. 3 is the first play over the water, but there is a short tee if you would like to reduce the risk. 4 is a good tunnel shot. Hole 6 plays similar to 2, and features a similar steep drop with heavy rough on either side of the fairway. The pin was placed in a risky spot to the right on the waters edge. Hole 9 plays across the water again, with a couple of good lanes up the hill on the way to the basket. 12 and 14 are shorter holes that are downhill and kind of fun. 12 is steeper and more heavily wooded than 14. 18 gives you a final chance to pick up a birdie with a short hole, but don't overshoot it too much, or you will be coming back out of the woods.
Cons: This course is not for the faint of heart. I was surprised by how thick the rough was, and spent a fair amount of time fighting my way out. This and the lake will both be able to steal a stray disc. Not the place to take a noob.

Hole 15 plays next to the swimming area, but it was drained. I don't know if this is refilled for the summer, but if it is there is likely to be lawn chairs, beach towels and children running around not far from the basket.
Other Thoughts: Cottonmill DGC gave me a hard time, but I would play there often if I lived in the area. It takes a sharp game to play at or below par here. The birdie opportunities are there, more of them on the back nine, but giving shots back is easy to do. I finished at 69, with only one birdie on the day, on hole 15 (in the short position).

I am in the double digits in Nebraska now, and this course is one of the best I have played there. It has superior tees and signage to my favorite NE course, Hummel Park in Omaha. It is far more versatile and difficult than my second favorite course, Kelley Park in McCook. I can see why it may deserve a better rating than the others, but I have to go with my heart. That being said, this is a marvelous course, and do not pass it up if you're in the vicinity. It is definitely unique, and I can not think of a course that is a great comparison off the top of my head.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Nebraska?

1    8/21/2017   9/5/2017
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 335  Reviewed: 273  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2018
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -excellent terrain with big elevation changes, tight woods, and Cottonmill Lake in play on 6 holes
-the holes are designed well to take advantage of the land's features and challenges; lots of fun, beautiful but tough holes
-has a nice mix of shorter birdie holes and longer, tougher par 3 holes, especially when the baskets are in the long positions
-a few places to lay into a longer drive but accuracy is truly the test here; most holes requires an accurate line or a good placement; you will have to navigate tight woods on about half the holes; lots of risk vs reward scenarios
-concrete tees, signs at each tee, Mach baskets in good condition
-two pin positions on most holes
-a ton of other amenities in this huge park
-adequate parking
Cons: -the back 9 is a bit easier than the front; lacks the wow factor some of the holes on the front 9 have and leaves the round ending on a lower note
-the longer holes in the longer positions are tweeners, par 3.5
-navigation is definitely not obvious on this course; you will need to have a map or a local to follow; even then some of the trails can be tricky to spot
-i love the water danger but beginner players will be intimidated; this is not a good course for beginners as it demands accurate drives and water carries
-no indicators on the tee signs for the present basket position
Other Thoughts: Cottonmill DGC is just one of the awesome features of Cottonmill Park, situated around Cottonmill Lake on the west edge of Kearney. The park complex is huge and there's a ton of other stuff to do.

But we're here to play disc golf and this course has to be a contender for the best course in the state. It's got big elevation changes in play through tight woods and the lake comes into play on 6 holes. Holes 3 & 9 have a short water carry over a small inlet of the lake. There are lots of holes to test your accuracy and while the course is mostly on the shorter side, there are a few holes that are stretched a little longer. The longer holes in the longer basket positions play like tweener holes though; not truly long enough to be par 4s except maybe 9 & 10 longs.

The course almost has a double loop design but hole 10 is a ways from both hole 9 and the parking lot. The back 9 doesn't quite live up to the level that the front 9 sets. Not as many elevation changes and a more easy birdie holes. The final two holes do tighten up a bit but they are pretty short, even to the long positions.

There are a number of really fun holes at Cottonmill and the course offers plenty of challenge for most players. It's situated right off I-80 directly in the middle of the state so it's a perfect place to stop for a round if you're driving across Nebraska. It's gotta be the best course on I-80 in Nebraska and probably the best course in the state (not that I've played them all... maybe someday). If you only have time for one course in Nebraska, make it this one.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Must-Play Course!

5+    7/20/2015   8/20/2015
Review By: washabh
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great variety: short, moderate and longer holes that offer unique challenges.
- Elevation: makes even the the greatest think twice about their shots.
- Beautiful layout: lake, swimming pond, foliage and plenty of vegetation to challenge every kind of player
Cons: - Water hazards.
- Some holes are hard to follow your shots so make sure you have a second pair of eyes watching.
- Navigation is a little tricky. There is a large gap between 9 and 10.
Other Thoughts: This is a quality course that will test even the most skilled disc golfers. The layout and length may seem intimidating to a beginner but don't let that keep you from playing one of the best courses in the midwest.
If you can shoot under par on this course you have a pretty solid game. The elevation, shot variety and overall setup of this course makes it fun for all levels. If you have never played a course with elevation I challenge you to play a round at Cottonmill!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quality discing

1    7/14/2015   7/16/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 630  Reviewed: 214  Exp: 10.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of short, moderate, and longer holes.
Excellent elevation changes providing you with both uphill and downhill shots.
Well maintained, adequate signage, and ample tee pads.
Disc golf exclusive course.
Dog leg L/R holes, tunnel shots, and low ceiling shots.
There are a few holes that are Aceable and there are a couple of spots to air out some drives.
Also there are 2 holes with a lake to give you a water threat.
If you don't want to throw across the water holes 3 and 9 offer an alternative pad.
Pine/cedar grinding to help with erosion. Other amenities nearby like hiking, fishing, etc. A kiosk to tell visitors which position the pins are currently in.
Multiple pins placements to keep things from getting stale.
There are benches and trash cans sprinkled throughout the course.
This course provides many lines that need to be shaped and it will test your accuracy and your mental approach as well as your distance and shot making abilities.
There is a lot of risk/reward on many holes.
Cons: Navigation can be tricky in spots so taking the map is highly advised for the first time visitor.
Next tee arrows might help with the confusion for players not familiar with the layout.
Long walk from 15's basket(when it is in the B position) to 16's tee.
Some players might complain about having to walk around the lake on 3 and again on 9 to get to the other side of the fairway, for me this wasn't an issue.
Other Thoughts: This is a quality course that will test even the most seasoned of golfers. Its not overly technical so lesser skilled players can still enjoy their round.
If you can shoot under par on this course you have a pretty solid game and can compete with most players that you will encounter.
The shot variety coupled with the elevation and then add in the terrain make for some excellent golfing. This course has pretty much everything that a disc golfer could want in a course.
I throughly enjoyed my round at this course. If you are close to the area, or like road trips, hit this course up. I'm sure you will find something here to enjoy.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 If you only play one course in Nebraska...

5+    9/1/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: hollman
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20
This review was updated on 9/4/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety.
Excellent mix of left, right, straight, tight, and wide open shots with water hazards and alternate tees.
Great views. Scenery changes throughout the course with meadows, woods, shade, sun, sand, people, wildlife, wild flowers, water, etc.
Lots of good elevation changes.
The course is not at all repetitive or monotonous.
Nicely maintained.
The mature cottonwoods and other trees are nice.
You could have a tough time finding a couple discs and want to scream after a couple throws, but the challenge of the course is not so insane as to make you not want to play it; it is about ideal.

Cons: Tee offs and flow is confusing unless you have played it several times or have a map (print the one off this site before playing). This is sad, because it is a fairly big con, but about the only one I have of this course.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Nebraska and the one we play most often. It never gets old and is the course that really got my wife and I into disc golf. Many avid players consider it one of the best despite the flow being awkward at times. If you want to make an all-day or overnight trip out of it, Kearney has nice places to stay and other things to do. You can also play Centennial and get a park pass and play Ft. Kearny while you are in the area. The Kearney community has an app (Kearney App) that also marks out the golf disc holes and tee offs as part of its "Disc Golf Tour" within the app. This might help locating tee.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging but fun

2-4    7/20/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: bluedvl228
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tricky shots and a variety of throws will be used. The scenery is great as this course plays around a large lake...which also means you will have some water shots for added challenges. Multiple walking paths. I thought the course was relatively well maintained and not a lot of trash, which is refreshing.
Cons: Since this is in a pretty popular park, expect lots of foot traffic from the paths. The holes can be a little tough to find if it's your first time playing.

A little biased, but wish there were a couple more open shots to really throw some long bombs.
Other Thoughts: Overall a challenging course, but this can make for some great risk/reward shots. Definitely a must play if you are in the area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best in NE?

1    9/4/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 395  Reviewed: 383  Exp: 12.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets
-Easy to follow, especially with use of the map printed out on here.
-Some fun water shots that can be shortened or avoided by alternate tees which is nice. One of the water shots skirts the swimming pond so it was comforting knowing that I could safely hop in and find my disc if I threw it in there.
-Multiple basket positions on every hole.
-Good elevation, it starts out right away on hole 2!
-This course goes in and out of wooded areas the whole round and that kept it fresh and exciting for the whole round. There are shots that turn every way or multiple ways per hole. No super long or super short holes but lots of good variety.
-The designers did a really nice job fitting the course in here. It seems like a large area but it really isn't that big.
-Concrete tees were more than adequate.
-Provided a woodsy challenge without having too crazy of undergrowth.
-Good signage.
-This park has all the amenities you need. Other fun stuff to do in the park for the kids like playgrounds and swimming. Bike trails, amphitheatre, bathrooms. Just a nice quality park on the edge of town.
Cons: -A few spots where I was a little confused about the layout. It would be fine if I played again even without a map.
-The ever present problem with multiple pins; where's it at now?! You just have to run up the fairway a bit sometimes. Not a big deal.
-You could lose a disc, this isnt your average city park course but not too easy to lose a disc either.
-A few times on the course you might have to be careful to not hit other park users. A few trails run right around or through the course and the swimming pond borders one hole.
Other Thoughts: This course was great. It had an awesome balance of fun factor and challenge for a player at my skill level. This course is just barely short of a 4.5 in my book and was by far my favorite course played on my recent road trip. This is easily the best course in Kearney and highly worth a stop if traveling on 80. If you only have time for 1 course, this is it. This course felt like a pay to play regional or state park or something but it is free! Thanks residents of Kearney!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely good course

1    7/12/2012   7/12/2013
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 54  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent course! Very professional design and maintenance. Great variety in holes with elevation changes, trees, turns, doglegs, and other obstacles. Surrounded by a nice park. Tee pads, signs and directions are present.
Cons: I can't think of many cons. This is a near perfect course. The water hazard can be a problem for losing discs or having to get wet searching for one.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the best course I have played out of many throughout the country. It really makes you forget that you're in central Nebraska when you're surrounded by scenery that looks more like a forested mountain area. This is a place where you can expect many experienced players to be. University of Nebraska Kearney is also nearby.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.