Winterville, NC 
Covenant DGC Share
Uploaded By: lee76007 Hole #6 (Taken 10/2021)
3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Stay on the Straight and Narrow Path

1    10/26/2021   1/11/2022
Review By: lee76007
Played: 107  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 3.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A church property course with a variety of open and wooded holes. Long range gaps to hit from the tees, and a very short-range gap from the tee. An elevated tee with one elevated basket placement, and a hole with street play. Some water in play, along with wind on a few holes, and a U-turn hole. Obstacles very close to fairways, makes the course very challenging.

-#8 a unique short hole on a three-pillar wooded framed mound surrounded by trouble. At first glance looked like a basket place on top of Noah's Ark.

-#14 was realigned just a few weeks before my round. It's now parallel with #15, and what was before #14 crossing the #15 fairway.

-Tee signs have hole number, map, distance, par, and show two tee pads? Each tee sign has scripture quotes.

-Navigation is clockwise, tee signs have next hole indicator.

-I found the course memorable 2 months later.

-From the bag a variety of mid's, fairways, and drivers.

-Beginners and Recreational players will find the course difficult, and lost disc potential high. Intermediate and Advanced players will be tested by the course obstacles.

Cons: -Overgrowth on the course makes some gaps very difficult specifically #4 trying to hit a gap 200 feet down fairway, and #5 with bushes growing in the fairway, among other places on the course. Most fairways are a tight squeeze. I didn't find the course scenic.

-Tee signs indicate long tees; I didn't see any long tees at all. #18 tee sign is missing.

-There is a road that runs through the property effecting a few holes, just check both ways.

-#9 basket is right center of #10 fairway. If someone makes the wrong turn from #6 basket, they could catch a disc from the #6 tee.

-With tall grass bordering open fairways, overgrowth on other holes, narrow width fairways bordering ditches that could have water in them after heavy rains, most of the holes on the course have high lost disc potential. A player on #9 waived me thru as he was looking for a lost disc in high grass, he had made the remark that he had lost other discs there before. I was waived thru by a group on #15 in the woods and was asked if I had seen a pig on #14.

Other Thoughts: Covenant DGC is my first church course that I've played, and overall, I was very impressed, and the course offered more than I was expecting with variety. Having now played 5 courses in the Greenville area, it was the busiest on a Tuesday morning, so it must be popular. I found the course to be very challenging and said hello to a lot of trees. But with the short distances, not too difficult to recover. With the overgrowth along the course, the course has a trashy feel to it, but it's not, just very little scenery. Maintenance with the overgrowth a few times a year, I could find the hidden gem shining. My biggest personnel con is the lost disc potential, holes 1-2, and 18 you get a pass, but all the others its lurking. I looked a few times but left the course with a full bag. Two others on the course not so lucky.

With the variety of the layout, and the challenge my overall rating is anchored on a 4.5. The time to play with some disc looking, and snapping pictures was one hour.

The U-turn Hole:

-No. 6 at 242 feet is a narrow straight away hole until about 200 feet when it hooks to the left around heavy trees and bushes. If you run thru the fairway there's tall grass waiting for you. The purpose is to avoid walking back towards the tee to reach #7 tee. From the basket keep the trees to your left and you have protection from the tee, and then cross over to reach #7 tee when #6 tee is in your view. Too bad there's not a way to do that with #9 and 10.

Notable Holes:

-No. 5 Par 3 at 277 feet is a straight away hole through a narrow fairway of about 25 feet until it doglegs right in the open at 200 feet. The basket sits in the open, and wind will play a role around the basket. The fairway thru the 200-foot gap is lined with skinnies and heavy brush. There are bushes at the dogleg as well. If you don't make the dogleg clean, you're going to waste a stroke. I wasted a stroke.

-No. 7 Par 4 at 495 feet straight away to the basket with high grass on the left a strip of fairway about 40 feet wide with skinny trees all the way down, street play right center, and another strip of fairway just 15 feet wide with heavy trees and brush to the right. Basket sits in the open on the left fairway but protected by the skinny trees. The street is o.b. I skipped across the street to the right fairway and hit a skinny on approach.

-No. 9 Par 3 at 237 feet from the tee is a 5-foot narrow gap that runs about 40 feet. Past the gap about another 40 feet is heavy tall grass at about 4-feet high. After the gap the fairway breaks into a dogleg right at a 35-degree angle running straight to an open basket. The fairway is only about 30 feet wide, the tall grass on the left and heavy trees and brush on the right. If you make the fairway, you won't know it until you walk pass the gap. I found an opening higher up in the trees above the gap and thru a Star Leopard high with hyzer (lefty). Only about a 130-foot drive, but relived to find it safe in the fairway considering the player ahead of me was looking for his disc.

-No. 11 Par 3 at 210 feet is the only elevated tee on the course at about 7 feet, a straight away and your thinking ace run. Only about 15 feet wide with heavy trees, brush, and extended branches. Caught branches on the left.

Signature Hole:

-No. 8 Par 3 at 174 feet an open tee straight away to an elevated basket on three layers of wooden frames with soil filled around each frame. Very narrow levels of only a few feet, the basket is about 8 feet high. Around the basket is trouble. In the front and around left a wide and deep ditch with water a likely lost disc, it was dry when I played. Around the left of ditch and back is heavy trees and brush. I found myself in the left ditch, very intimidating putt upward and laid up to the lower level.

Trouble Hole:

No. 17 Par 3 at 318 feet is the longest par 3 on the course. Is a straight away hole and narrow only about 15 feet all the way down. To the left is heavy trees and brush, to the right the wide and deep ditch. The basket sits to the left and behind it more heavy trees and brush. After heavy rain filling the ditch with water, this hole becomes very difficult to stay on fairway, and not to lose a disc on either side. With a dry ditch I kept it away from the left, and into the ditch.







10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Really good Church course

1    2/8/2019   2/8/2019
Review By: pmay5
Played: 380  Reviewed: 233  Exp: 19.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good level concrete tee pads. Great signs with hole layout, distance, par and Bible verse. Good Discatchers, a little worn, but in good shape.
Very safe area behind the large church building (gym ?).
Great next tee signs when needed, I never had to refer to the map I printed.
Nice variety of holes left, right and several that were dead straight. Used the open field for a couple of holes, but I would have liked a couple more.
Distance of holes was appropriate for the amount of openness.
18 finishes right back at parking lot, in fact right next to #1.
Nice elevated basket on the very short #8. "
Cons: I would have liked more holes in the open grass area.
#3 - there are several drainage ditches (creeks) on the course, most are small with just a small amount of water and easy to retrieve a disc from. But the one on 3 is the largest, with the most murky water. I can see why they have to use that area for a fairway, but maybe more clearing of the trees on the right, would keep you away from this ditch.
Several of the tight, wooded holes were straight shots. I believe the fairways were wide enough, just difficult to hold a straight line that long.
Not a lot of benches on the course.
Other Thoughts: I was very pleased with this course, a little worried seeing the rating of 2.61, but it plays much better than that. The tee signs are great, they've added a few longer pads and the fairways are clear. Playing this time of year, it was tough to figure how much tighter it is in the spring and summer, but most of the trees were pines, so probably not a lot tighter.
#7 gives one of the few chances to open it up, #8 is short (across the road) to an elevated basket next to a creek, fun hole, #13 (or was it 15?) was fun, tight fairway, the basket just across a creek, #18 was a fun finishing hole, back in the open, forehand drive, with the basket protected by the treeline.
A few of the fairways crossed, but they were usually near the tees, so probably not a big issue, even on busy days.
I've played a few church campus courses, I believe this is the first 18 hole layout. This is the best one I've played, even better than Bethel in W-S. They even have a sign at the first tee to welcome all players and hoping they enjoy the course. So I stopped in the Main Office on my way out to thank them and compliment the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2016   7/11/2016
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 11.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Surprised in a positive way. Reading some past reviews, I wasn't expecting too much from Covenent, but having time play a third course in Greenville, I decided to give it a shot. There is solid variety here for a short course, with one really nice bomber as well as some technical holes, including one that will test how much turn you can put on a disc and a fun raised basket surrounded by a moat. At the same time, there is nothing here that isn't manageable for a new player. The closest is probably the one hole that parallels a canal for the whole of its length. Given the course is at a church, targeting the course at beginners is definitely the way to go. Water comes into play on a few other holes but not in a way that would affect most shots. I'm also a huge fan of the way they themed many of the holes, likening the hole's challenge to a biblical concept. Makes for fun tee signs.
The majority of the course is wooded with a few open holes at the beginning and end. The fairways are a very good width for wooded holes aimed at beginner/intermediate players. Consistent width and with easily spotted lines. No random trees in the middle of the fairway. Pretty good stuff.
Easy to navigate and when I was there at least, well-maintained. From past reviews it may be that maintenance is hit or miss, but everything was mowed on the day I visited and there was little to no problem with undergrowth or overgrowth.
Cons: Not a real lot to complain about here. The level of challenge that would interest a veteran player is not there. The course lacks memorable holes and elevation is extremely limited. Few will walk away from this course and consider it a favorite. It's all perfectly ordinary. Certainly not a destination but a course worth playing if you are in town and have time for a third course.
Other Thoughts:
The tee signs, (look new and fantastic) show long pads that do not exist at the moment. My guess is that the course is currently being upgraded and they decided signs first, then installing long pads. The right order in my opinion as the tee signs greatly enhance the short pad layout.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course for Greenville

5+    5/14/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: anhyzer09
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a good beginner/intermediate course. It can be a little confusing 3-4 and 7-8-9 and as the summer sets in it could use a good trim and I think that will be the trend throughout the summer again.

The front 9 is a little bit of everything, tight/open/up/over and through with some water. The back 9 is mostly wooded and requires some nice straight shots. Really an overall solid course. If it had regular maintenance or an active club, it could be really nice!
Cons: Maintenance, maintenance, maintenance! I hope they can get a group together to keep it cleaned up and I'm not talking about trash, just bushes and branches.

They really need to finished the last few tee boxes and hopefully put in the longer pads!
Other Thoughts: If you are gonna be in Greenville, you might as well play it. I'm sure you'll agree that you've played much better, but you've also played much much worse.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Play it

5+    11/10/2015   12/8/2015
Review By: Pirate35
Played: 52  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not too hard...not too easy

This course is fun to play...it offers a number of different shots. The front nine is mostly open and requires a few different shots. The back nine is mostly wooded...but it is very manageable

The wooded holes are mainly straight at the basket...come with a straight flying mid and you will be set

One hole that is lengthy...but it is wide open

Fun layout

One basket is elevated quite high.

Water running along a number of the holes ads some challenge
Cons: No elevation.

Not many trashcans.

The maps on holes are not great.

One hole does not have a tee pad.

Could use to some TLC. There is a lot of overgrowth off of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Nice location at the church.

Worth playing if in the Greenville area.

Great to pair with West Meadowbrook and the ECU course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 a good course

1    8/1/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: jnadkins
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good balanced course for beginners and intermediate players. Plenty of water challenges. Some floating discs will help. Raised tees mixed in made things interesting and a very well raised hole with a water feature surrounding made for a good challenge. They seem to have some more challenging and longer distance tees planned for the future so I am looking for some reworking that will make it even better! There are good clear wooded areas where there isn't too much underbrush. There is actual ruff in the course instead of just straight fairways or out of bounds areas which is refreshingly nice.
Cons: A lot of straight shot holes. But there are some challenge to some of them like trees that have bent over some guarded holes that are hard to reach and some nice very long distances.
Other Thoughts: Do the upgrades! Add the new tees or whatever your planning.because this course will just get better. I played it on a very rainy day and the big ditch water features help.The course stay clear and nice so many thanks to a well thought out ditch line. Some people might complain but.I see it's usefulness

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ECUDG

1    4/7/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: Rmldchi
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Could be something fantastic...
Cons: I live one mile away and I would rather drive 20 minutes in the other direction. This course is set up as an after thought. Don't go here if your an average player. The first picture of the course is two guys looking for there disc in the water.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of potential

1    11/2/2013   12/1/2013
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 89  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Decent course in a nice area of Greenville.

- Plenty of parking even if you play Sunday morning during services.

- Most holes are easy to navigate and next tees are usually indicated on the previous holes tee box.

- Some really interesting, challenging lines and creative, themed baskets. #8 pops into mind right off the bat as a prime example: Shoot from the tee across the road, over a ditch/creek, up to an elevated basket on a pedestal. Interesting par 3.

- Provides a nice variety of open shots to showcase your power as well as tight, wooded lines to practice your accuracy. It also strikes a nice balance of pin placements, giving you an opportunity to choose between several different types of throws, e.g. L to R, R to L, hyzer, anhyzer, thumbers, rollers, the whole shebang.

- Is challenging enough to keep advanced players engaged, but easy enough that beginners aren't overwhelmed.

- Some of the holes -- especially in the wooded back 9 -- are very pretty.

- Clean. Provides a respectable amount of trash cans too.
Cons:
- No bathrooms available. Not that big a deal when you consider it's a church project, but hey...

- Was a little overgrown when I played it at the beginning of November. For example, on #7 (a wide-open shot across an empty field) I spent a couple minutes looking for my disc in the long grass. Carl Spackler would lose his mind.

- Signage could use some improvement as you have to throw blind from a few tees and it can be a bit deceiving.

- Pathways through the course could be improved. Had to bushwhack our way through #5 after the tee shot because there wasn't any real obvious direction we needed to traverse.

- Played on a Sunday morning and there were some kids playing in the woods on #2 that got kind of annoying, but you can circumvent that whole issue by playing during the week.

- It can get really windy out there (especially in the open holes) and if people are driving to/from the church the road presents a significant hazard to the vehicles. Got to watch out for them since a few holes like #1, #7 & #8 all play along a main thoroughfare.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway. (But it's a church so I'll give it a pass.)
Other Thoughts: All in all, Covenant DGC is a decent course that has tremendous potential with just a little TLC. I give it a 2.5 as is since it's not terrible, but with a bit of maintenance this course could be a real gem. Despite the below-3 rating it's definitely worth checking out if you're in and around Greenville.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Could be Great

5+    4/20/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: siknastyinstalr
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very natural on the property of a church. Is a very difficult course especially for beginners. Very tight fairways on the back 9 is a good trainer for accuracy.
Cons: Course is only maintained a few times a year. Grass can get very tall making it tough to find your discs even in the fairways. Debris and tree foliage on the back 9 can make for a very rough round. Hole #3 has a river along the entire left side of the fairway that if not a floater almost guaranteed to loose it. New concrete pads on holes #5 and #7 are too short and raised up to get an X step. Pads need to either be buried a little bit or made longer.
Other Thoughts: Course has great potential if was maintained a little bit more and concrete pads were made bigger and added on all holes

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I like it!

2-4    2/21/2013   2/24/2013
Review By: Jonathan K.
Played: 87  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are some challenging holes on this course. #3 is tough for RHBH with the ditch running down the left side for the length of the hole. I invested in the Innova Wahoo, which floats, and now if I happen to find the water my disc is sitting on top waiting for me :-) #7 is quite the long hole at 500 ft, but it is wide open field so it lets you really throw it. There are a lot of tight wooded shots with a very thin fairway, but that just adds to the challenge. I certainly knock a few trees every time I head out though! #8 is cool with the hole being on top of a little mountain with the ditch right in front of it.
Cons: The signs are nice, but they just need to add some arrows to them showing the direction of the next hole to guide you a little. A couple times it's a little hard to find the next tee, but usually there is someone else out on the course to help direct you. Also - natural tee pads kinda stink when it's a little wet. Investing in some nice rubber or cement pads would be great.
Other Thoughts: I would say this course is between a 3.5 and 4.0, so I just rounded up! There are several holes with water (3, 8, behind the hole on 10, 13 I think, and then 17, so investing in a floater disc isn't a bad idea! I really like this course and think the previous reviews make it out to be worse than it is.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.