Fort Myers Beach, FL 
Bay Oaks DGC Share
Uploaded By: Roller Coasters Hole #1 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Straight shot through angled tree on right and nearest palm tree on right. The basket is straight ahead in this photo.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Stay At The Beach

1    8/20/2017   10/25/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 192  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 3.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (0.692 Rating) A course littered with issues. Vacationers are best advised to stay at the beach and toss a Frisbee around.
- ACEABILITY - A handful of short aceable holes. If a skilled player ran 50 rounds here, I'm sure they'd have 1 or 2 aces.
- COURSE MAP ON DGCR - Print the map or download it to your phone (see cons, Navigation)
- RESTROOM - Although not related to disc golf, there are nice restrooms and a drinking fountain on site.
- HOLE 18 - The one decent shot out here. A 200 foot water clear. Circle 3 for me. I hit the bank and watched it trickle into the water slow motion style.
- QUICK PLAY - It took me 45 minutes to complete this one solo. I figure a group of four should have no problem completing a round in under two hours if the other park amenities are not in use.
Cons: Bay Oaks has scores of major issues.
- SAFETY HAZARDS - The course is full of shots where property and people can come in the path of fire. Hole (4) I seriously considered skipping as I had to throw over a parked van. On holes (9, 10 and 14) a school comes into play. On (7 and 17) the line to the basket literally goes through the center of a playground area. These are just the worst examples as there are many other moderate hazard examples as well. Only hole (1) avoided property and people, although I question why a picnic table was located 40 feet in front of the basket.
- BASKET AND TEE SEPARATION - Numerous tees are located within 30 feet of the prior basket.
- NAVIGATION - With a printed course map in hand, navigation is doable. However, if you show up here without a map, it would be impossible to follow the layout on your first go around. A few baskets are marked and a few are used twice. The tees are unmarked in most instances and there are no directional cues out here. So download the map or print it out, you'll need it.
- LAYOUT FLOW - Epic fail. If there is more than one group out here you'll need to send scouts out to direct flow. 4 baskets are reused. Fairways are reused and cross. Other park amenities are in play. Thankfully, I got an empty course and an empty park for my entire round.
- CHARACTER - Bay Oaks lacks just about all of the amenities and extras that you'd see on an established course. No benches, no signage (except hole 1), no course map posting, no practice basket, no multi tees and no multi baskets. The four reused baskets are (6/17, 8/16, 9/14 and 10/14). Most of the tees are out in the elements. Baskets are rusting, although they still catch well.
- TEES - Horrible. Most are natural. Some of the natural ones have a 4x4 tee line tripping hazard, but other are without any defined line. A few tees utilize existing sidewalks or asphalt paths and roads, which weren't too bad.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - I haven't rated many courses lower than Bay Oaks. Lots of manmade structures in view, including fences, buildings, shelters, sheds and playgrounds. The tree and shrub coverage is minimal on site except along the north boundary.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Unless there's loads of OB that I'm not aware of, shooting well under should be achievable by most skilled players. Shaping shots is only required on a few holes and the overall shortness will produce numerous birdie opportunities.
- ELEVATION - Like most south Florida courses, this one is flat. No more than a couple feet of change on any one hole. If you are looking for elevation, check out Estero.
- UNIQUENESS - In addition to no elevation, the overall variety is well below average. No tunnel plays, or pocket shots unless you count chain link fences as the boundary element. Most baskets are poorly guarded if at all. All par 3s although the distance variation wasn't too bad, 150 - 450 feet. One dogleg shot on (14) with the tennis court used as a mando. One water clear shot on hole (18) which was a nice way to end this dissatisfying layout.
Other Thoughts: Not a good disc golf experience and my lowest rated 18 hole disc golf course I've played to date (102, 18-hole courses played) The course should be redesigned to be 9 or 12 holes. There just isn't enough room for 18 here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Buggy and short

1    5/30/2017   5/30/2017
Review By: cliffelam
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short holes - should be able to throw a lot of pars and Eagles should abound.

If the mosquitos don't carry you off.
Cons: Course has significantly deteriorated - most course markers destroyed, tee boxes over-run with grass etc. So a lot of guessing where to throw from.
Other Thoughts: We played on an empty day and it was fine - but if there was a basketball game going or people playing tennis - forget it.

Also, some holes on school property, so during school days 4-6 holes are off limits.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Course unavailable

1    4/30/2016   5/1/2016
Review By: t97pete
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: none
Cons: I went to the location from DG Review, no course to be found. Maybe the course does exist but a new sign needs to be installed so that it can found.
Other Thoughts: Based on some of the other reviews that might be a good thing. Best not to have courses where people that are not playing might be hit by a disc.
Bummer it was not there, I was hoping to play a few of the holes, I was planning on skipping the holes that were too close to people or cars.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    1/11/2016   1/11/2016
Review By: reichmusic
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Sorry- can't rate this one good at all
Cons: Course is in a rec area with , playgrounds, walking paths, and parking lots.

This course needs to be pulled unfortunately.


It is very dangerous for park goers. Only played 1-7 17-18 because 8-16 is on a school campus that can't be played while in session.

Dented a couple cars by accident.

It's too bad because It has the potential to be a nice place but- not big enough for multiuse. You can't have a tee in a parking lot with spray paint line and a number- going straight over a playground to a basket right near a tennis court. Too much bad can happen

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/9/2015   10/13/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Great location for those spending some time at the beach. A big open field offers chances to throw unconstructed drives.
Cons: The holes either play through non course activities, equipment or are open chucks back and forth across a field. The first seven holes, and the last two, play around the rec center. This section includes: a hole that plays directly through a playground, a hole in which two sheds have been placed directly in front of the basket, a hole which plays in a narrow strip between woods and tennis court with basket around the corner of the court, a hole which plays over one fence and parking area and around additional sheds, a hole that throws back across that parking area to a basket just in front of the rec center, etc. The stretch of holes from 8-17 is just an open field with a basketball court. Throw across diagonally, than along the north edge, then the east edge, then diagonally the other way. It's not great.
Perhaps beginners might have fun here, but these are exactly the people you wouldn't want throwing around the kind of obstacles that pervade the first half of the course. Damage will be done to something. It also ends with exactly the kind of hole that beginners love, a 180 foot water carry.
And beginners will struggle to figure out where to throw. You absolutely need the map and some navigation skills.
Other Thoughts:
Not recommended. That said, I did enjoy the 18th hole which is a manageable water carry to a 200-foot basket. Pretty safe in the vicinity and it's probably more fun to just throw a bunch of discs across the water trying to ace it than to play the rest of the course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fort Myers Beach

1    8/25/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 122  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2013
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Recreation Park; very clean and well taken care of
Fairways: Mixed Strategic Doglegs, Open air shots, and one water carry
Teepads:a wooded 2x4 buried on its side/painted on sidewalk/Natural tee that you'll have to guesstimate using the map
Maps available at the clubhouse near 1 tee, next to the front door.
Great for beginners, rec players, and those vacationing on Ft Myers Beach
Open field shots, Dog legs, shot shaping on various lines, and turn over shots.
Can be played as a nine hole course during the times when half the park is closed.
Other Activities available at the park as well. Playground, Soccer, Basketball, Baseball, Kayak rentals.
Cons: Subject to Park goer interactions
Plays to close to other activities, a playground, a soccer field and a fenced off area of the neighboring school.
Some tees aren't there . You'll have to make your own teepad.
If other activities are going on, you may have to make your own teepad
2/3rds of the course share a basket
Plays across other activities in the park (Throws across a basketball court)
You'll have to throw around parked cars
There is a funky sulfer smell emanating from the marsh in the woods.
If school is in session, most of the back 9 (8-16) section will be locked down and off limits. Leaving 17 & 18 to cap off a 9 hole course during the closed times.
Other Thoughts: If you happen to be staying in or near Ft Myers Beach, then it's going to be a pleasant course to play. I didn't hate it, as a matter of fact, I found myself having a good time here. Bay Oaks falls into the "It is what it is" category. It's not easily accessed if you are traveling down I-75. On top of that, timing is everything. It's only open when school is out, and if tourist season is in full swing, then expect a lot of traffic congestion on the way to the park. We played here the day before a Hurricane in the off season, so the town was empty, but the park was still pretty active. Imagine what it's like on a normal day.

I did have fun here, but there was way too much park interaction to play around. I don't look favorably about throwing near a playground, and you play near one twice. Also, shot shaping through a parking lot of vans and employee cars is more than nerve racking. Is it worth the drive? Nope! It is a very long drive to play here, and that doesn't include the beach traffic. This course is for the person that lives or is staying in Ft Myers Beach. If you are looking to road trip here so you can add it to your "Played List", then pay attention to the times when will be playing here. If it's too busy, then it may not be worth the drive and/or the frustration.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Urban Warfare Course

2-4    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: thrembo
Played: 150  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 42.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2017
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Located in the Ft Myers Beach area, Which is good if you live there, or are vacationing in the area and can't get to any of the areas better courses.

+ It has good baskets.

+ The tees are mostly grass marked with a 4x4 board set in the ground or marked out on the pavement. Most of the tees are also marked with a metal post, and there are tee signs to aid with navigation.

+ Course maps are available at the main park building. I highly advise getting one.

+ There is a variety of shot types, with several holes offering multiple flight paths.

+ The park was litter free and well maintained.

+ Friendly locals.
Cons: - The course is tight, for the most part, and plays over and around Basketball, Baseball, Tennis, playground, park buildings, sidewalks, roads, and parking lots, intentionally I believe, which makes for a very interesting round of disc golf. Constant attention must be paid to avoid hitting other park users, their cars, the buildings etc.

- Half of the course is only playable when the nearby school is not in session.

- Some baskets are used for two holes.

- Some tee areas are hard to find and/or missing. The tee signs do help though.

- The park had a strong odor about it (like manure) mostly around the perimeter.
Other Thoughts: After hearing all of the horror stories about this course, I finally decided to make the drive down and play it, and have to admit it was better than I expected.

It did have a kind of urban warfare feel to it, with all of the obstacles, but with care, a fun round of golf can be had here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  HORRIBLE!!

1    6/10/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: motomann250
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There are none... ok maybe the park its in is well maintained and nice.
Cons: It seems like whoever designed this course had never played disc golf a day in there life. Or maybe I'm just used to playing in ohio, NC, and kentucky. The only disc needed on this course is your putter. I may go back, when my kids are old enough and need a super simple beginners course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/30/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bay Oaks is an interesting course with a layout you're not likely to see in too many other places.

On the positive side, the park itself was very well manicured when I played. The baskets were all in good shape and easy to spot. While navigation is not always clear, the baskets are aligned in a logical order, so you can figure things out for yourself without much difficulty.

I doubt this course sees a lot of traffic, so you should be able to play at your own pace.

Variety is pretty good here. There are a couple opportunities to use your driver, and various obstacles force you to shape your lines carefully.

#18 is a pretty cool water hazard shot to a basket protected by some hedges.
Cons: The layout here is hilariously dangerous, and the majority of holes are only playable when nobody else is around. It was a ghost town when I played (weekday evening in late May) so maybe this is the case often. Tee shots go around a tennis court, right next to a playground, two shots over a parking lot, directly over a basketball court, and a couple over sidewalks. Aside from possibly endagering non-DGers on basically every tee shot, these obstacles can beat up your discs pretty quickly.

I found tee signs on only a couple holes, and you're pretty much on your own for navigation since there are no teeboxes. Little wood plans in the ground serve as a makrer, but these can be hard to find. As I mentioned in the Pros, you can see the next pin from almost every basket, so it's not impossible to figure it out for yourself.
Other Thoughts: If you're on the island you're probably there for reasons other than disc golf, but it's cool to have the option of packing up early at the beach and discing.

Despite the low rating, it's worth checking out if you have the time, if for nothing else than the novelty of the layout. But again, this place is most likely unplayable if you go when other areas of the park are in use. Check it out with that caveat in mind.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/16/2011   3/9/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 70  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: a pretty fun course, located in a nice park across the street from fort myers beach. theres a decent array of hole layouts, with open long shots, to shorter obstructed shots.
Cons: there are a few holes where you have to throw by cars, and a small playground. the course is not marked well, and the tee pads consist of a board marking the end of the tee area.
Other Thoughts: if you havnt played it, give it a shot, its still a pretty good course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center