Akron, PA 
Roland Park Share
Uploaded By: vslaugh Hole #3 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 450ft.   3 / 450ft.   3 / 580ft.   3 / 580ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Could be great

1    8/11/2017   8/11/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 99  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Roland Park, or "Akron" as many locals call it, is a 27 hole course (10 in the open, 17 in the woods) with a bit of elevation change and a small pond that comes into play on a couple of holes.

In my opinion, the course plays best short to short. It seems like that was the original design, as many of the long baskets simply continue past the fairway into the woods another 20-30 feet, some in the middle of tall grass or undergrowth that isn't kept down. The same holds for the long tees, many of which simply extend the hole backwards another 20-30 feet, often into the trees and through a gap, forcing you to throw straight shot after straight shot, whereas from the short tees you often have enough space to shape a line (but still have to throw different shots depending on the hole shape). Some of the long tees are overgrown as well, to the point where a couple are unplayable. The map, tee signs, and what is actually there do not always match up either, so you may find yourself looking for a tee or basket that doesn't exist.

Back to the short to short...

The open holes all come right at the beginning. There are a couple of interesting shots, but also a lot of wide open holes. The course improver greatly once you get into the woods, where you will need to be much more accurate. This is not one of those all too common wooded courses where every shot feels the same (unless you play from the long tees). There is a good variety of lengrhs, hole shapes, and challenges.the course ends on a solid downhill tunnel shot.

The course maintenance could be better. I know there is at least one person who puts a lot of work into the course, and most of it looks great, but 27 holes is a lot to take care of.

All in all, it's a great course. Could be improved with some tweaks for the open holes and the long baskets / tees, but definitely worth playing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Has come a long way to become a fantastic local course

5+    6/12/2017   7/21/2017
Review By: Shaunjay
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A total variety of shots. Some very short easy birdies, and other very long bombs. Multiple tees and basket locations and 27 total holes. The most versatile course around. This course used to be atrocious with their signage and finding the next t-pad, but a lot of work was put into it and it is now a great place to throw 27 holes.
Cons: Some older baskets and a few blind shots where you can easily lose some time searching for your disc.

The walk from 18 back to your car is usually indirect or scrambling down a deer trail on a steep cliff.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Opposite Opinion

2-4    6/15/2016   6/19/2016
Review By: mbarkitek
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1. Lots of holes / lots of variation
2. Pretty hole over water
3. Probably not going to lose discs
Cons: 1. POISON IVY EVERYWHERE
2. Nice casual short course UNTIL THE WOODS!
3. Some dual basket holes are no longer dual basket. I threw towards the wrong basket several times.
4. Holes 8-10 are confusing
5. I do not consider this a very well kept course. Rough areas are trimmed/cut back, but there is no safe rough. You will be in poison ivy or thorns or just a place where its impossible to find a disc.
Other Thoughts: Look. Its a great course. But I hate playing it.
Make sure to take it easy on this course because gamble shots will not be rewarded.

DO NOT PLAY ON A WINDY DAY. Baskets/holes get crossed, discs go everywhere.

DO NOT PLAY ON A HOT DAY. It will kill you and steal your disc golfing soul.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

rolling roland

5+    4/7/2016   4/27/2016
Review By: PhotoGuy98
Played: 64  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide variety of wooded/technical and wide open shots, good fairways, scenic, nice tees/baskets, great course upkeep, 27 holes, multiple pins.
Cons: ...
Other Thoughts: Been playing this course for 10 years now. It has been redone a few years ago. I still miss some of the old holes but the current course is still a lot of fun.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wolfman

2-4    2/28/2016   2/28/2016
Review By: swolfinger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Twenty seven holes. First 11 are wide open and are more forgiving than the back 16 that gets narrower and woodsy. Alternative tees and baskets on most holes. Course can please recreational players and pros. A must play.
Cons: First 9 fairways can get muddy.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

They see me Roland....

2-4    12/27/2015   1/19/2016
Review By: Afropirg
Played: 31  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - 27 holes
- Good mix of open, wooded, dog leg right, dog leg left and straight shots
- Gold and Silver layout
- Easy to navigate.
- Beautiful park
- Elevation change
- Tee signs with clearly marked OB
- Mando's clearly marked on tee sign
- Hole 3 gold should be the only choice to play. Beautiful window shot down hill shot nearly 600'.
Cons: - Some holes in the mid 20s seem repetitive.
- One hole you tee off from the street leading into the playground parking lot
Other Thoughts: It's hard to nit pick cons about this course.

Very enjoyable course.

This is my ideal disc golf course. Start off with some open holes then you work your way into the woods. Absolutely fantastic wooded holes.

Couple holes play around a heart shaped pond which makes for some interesting shots.

The fairways are fair and well defined. Stay in the fairway and you're golden...stray out and you're battling for par.

Nice elevation change, hole 27's downhill tunnel shot is a great way to end the round.

Baskets on the side of hills like on hole 19, another fantastic hole and possibly battling with Hole 3 gold as my favorite.

I look forward to making the 90 minute trip out to Roland Park again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rollin' Amish @ Roland!

1    5/3/2015   5/4/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 185  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 11.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes with two concrete tees (in open), or two rubber tees (in woods), and most the holes have two baskets (in woods), or two pin positions (in open). Lots of legit par 4s from the long tees and baskets while the shorter tees and baskets provide par 3 and more variety. Nice tee signs, and navigational signs. 3 loops of holes back to the disc golf parking lot by the Lions Club. Some benches in the woods. Bathrooms on the other side of the park.

Course starts off by playing through a mix of mostly open holes over some nice elevation changes with OB boundaries, creek and pond from hole 1-11 coming into play. This is where you get your birdies and get to air out some discs.

Then the course twists and turns upside down as Hole 12 starts in the open and finishes into the woods and the rest of the course plays through some great elevation in the woods. There is very little underbrush in the woods for a course of this size.
Cons: Other park users may inhibit a couple of the open holes especially by the pond. Hole 8 tees from the park road, and hole 12 tees across another park road. The mando on hole 2 is upside down. You have to backtrack around the pond after hole 4 to 5. Hole 18 is a bit too tight. Could use some more benches. There are a couple long tees not on the current map.
Other Thoughts: Roland Park is a little Jekyll and Hyde with the front 11 holes being mostly open and the back 16 holes being heavily wooded. It's almost like to two different courses, but they provide a nice contrast and variety overall. Play only the open holes if you have an aversion to the woods or only play the woods if you have have an aversion to the sun and open. I'd suggest to play them all though.

The wooded holes kept reminding me of Idlewild in KY with the rolling elevation, length and toughness from the longs, absolutely phenomenal holes here! I love being able to rip a driver through this terrain. There is also OB in the woods and marked with rope to help separate fairways. I played hole 17 twice by accident, I didn't even realize I had already played it once and threw a completely different shot, so the course has great replay-ablility. The course ends with a phenomenal downhill tunnel on hole 27. The only thing missing from this course is a top of the world hole, and I did spot a place you could do a sweet safari hole.

Roland actually plays longer than Idlewild(24), Seneca Creek(27), and Tyler State Park(27) and is of similar caliber but I think Roland is the fairest course of them all! The open holes are also well designed with enough challenge from trees or water or OB boundaries.

The demographics at the park were about 50% horse and buggy and 50% cars, so if you are from out of town, there's a good chance you might see your first horse and buggy from the Amish or Mennonites and beware on the roads for them. I started at hole 1 with a local who arrived on horse, nice young lad named Darryl. There was a large group of beginners just ahead of us and they let us play through on hole 3. We played the short tee which is a slightly elevated 450' shot and I got to show off for the crowd as they eewed and awed while I parked it! Darryl showed me around the open holes which is the tougher part to navigate and then he had to leave once we got to the woods. It kind of reminded of the movie "The Village" which happened to also be set in PA, where the village people aren't allowed to cross into the woods for fear of the creature, but there really wasn't a creature (sorry for the spoiler).

I highly recommend Roland Park to any player from beginner to pro. I drove 2 hours to play here and was not disappointed, actually I was ecstatic! I can't really think of a beautiful signature hole here like Moraine/Deer Lakes 15, or Nockamixon 6, but all the holes at Roland are top notch. This course is way underrated due to some recent upgrades from previous reviews and it's now one of the best courses in PA IMO.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Has some of everything

5+    8/17/2014   9/23/2014
Review By: ManUtd
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -This course has a great mix of everything. Open/wooded, uphill/downhill, shots over water, etc.
-There isn't any poison here, and the brush isn't too thick.
-Some holes have different tees/baskets.
-Course has 27 holes!
Cons: The only thing that this course could use is some upgrades such as trash cans, better tees (especially on hole #9), more benches, better signage etc. Other than that, this course is great!
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses as it is in a relaxing, picturesque park. I would recommend this course to anyone as it is quite challenging (especially from the pro tees), yet still fun for the the recreational player.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Roland's Remake

1    10/16/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: adlacro
Played: 100  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes of well designed, thought out disc golf. Good mix of open holes to get warmed up, and the wooden holes for the most part are fair. Nice use of elevation. Baskets are mostly decent. Tees are either concrete or flypads, and all are in fair to good shape. Water holes are not too intimidating. Well maintained. Signage not too bad in most places.
Cons: The gripes I had were that there was no silver basket on hole 22, so you had to play to the gold. The signage in the woods pointing to the next hole should be like arrows that are on the open holes, that could be added and I would give this another half-disc. The one hole in the woods is very unfair, your "pinball" hole. Open holes are prone to flooding but were not when I was there.
Other Thoughts: The redesign is very well done for the most part and is definitely a worthy stop in this beautiful part of Amish country, PA. The course redesigners did a great job expanding and redesigning the course and have to be given many props. This was a gem several years ago when I first played it, now it is even better!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gem off of Route 222

5+    7/8/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: Abrigh1
Played: 29  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great mixture of holes that are open where you can bomb them and others that are through the woods
-Fun factor where you throw over water on 2-3 holes
-27 holes makes it worth it to drive from a little farther out
-Well maintained park with little to no problems in throwing near people except near lake maybe
-Challenging place that requires accuracy and a mixture of all throwing types (back, fore, over)
-The woodsy holes I found to be really fun and make for a great course when playing against others because anything can happen
-Beautiful views of Lancaster Amish country
-Rarely crowded
Cons: -Very few to speak of if at all
-Not the most fun to play when it is super hot
-Some of the rough can be thick in the last 10-12 holes but that makes accuracy important if you ask me
Other Thoughts: -Overall this course rivals almost any in PA with the variety, difficulty, and maintenance
-It really is two courses put together if you ask me. The first 10 holes are out in the open around the pond and are geared more for beginners.
-The last 17 holes meander through the woods and are much more difficult if you ask me. They flow together well but are vastly different so if you detest woodsy holes then just stop at #10, but you would be missing out on the whole package that this place presents.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.