Reedsville, WI 
Lower Cato Falls County Park Share
Uploaded By: jhgonzo Hole #5 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 275ft.   3 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
beautifully maintained, mostly open, on the shorter side

1    8/11/2019   8/11/2019
Review By: Peltier
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 cement tee boxes per hole. Rotating multiple basket placements. Clear signage. Beautifully maintained with short cut grass and few weeds.
Cons: Gnats are heavy and thick. At least they don't bite. Woods are thick in a few places. I lost a disc on each of the 2 rounds I played.
Other Thoughts: Great short course with a few wooded pin placements and doglegs that add a layer of difficulty. Nice layout, not crowded, and beautifully maintained.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

1    7/30/2019   7/30/2019
Review By: Yoda1972
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well laid out 18 hole course Concrete tees Freshly cut fairways
Cons: Need to have a little arrows on each basket which tells you which way to go next.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty course in a pretty park

1    7/17/2017   7/25/2017
Review By: Freebird
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.2 Years
Pros: Very nice location, quiet, in a nice park with good parking, outhouses, benches, nice tee pads, and good baskets. Pretty easy to find your way around. Nice wide fairways so you shouldn't have to worry about tossing a disc into the nasty rough on a drive. I moved this course up from a 2.5 to a 3 just because it's such a nice country park.
Cons: The thing which really stands out for me here is how many runs there are where the players have to walk back across the fairway on the way to the next tee - a poor layout and could result in really slow play if the course was busy. This is yet another course with acres of wide open fairway leading to baskets sitting just a couple feet from rough where you could lose not only a disc, but playing partners, punishing anyone making an aggressive second shot. Several runs could conflict with picnic'ers or other park users on a busy day.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course, even on a windy day, but there isn't a ton of challenge, especially on the front it's mostly throw it down the middle, lay up close because going past will result in disc hunting, make a putt. The back is a little more challenging as it's mostly in the woods. There's a "signature" hole, I forget the number, it plays into the woods and the back basket is blind because it's on a small ledge partway down a cliff. Again, only a fool would try to make that from any distance, because a miss is going to require rock climbing gear to retrieve. (Maybe not that bad, but it's a long way down). This is a decent family course, played conservatively there is little chance of lost plastic. With a little better mowing, (should be able to miss 5 - 6 feet long without being in the weeds) it could be fun to play aggressively.

 Little house on the Prairie

1    11/8/2016   11/8/2016
Review By: tangerinewarehouse
Played: 98  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee pads are in great condition with multiples
Awesome benches and well manicured fairways
Long distances to open up
Cool elevation changes
Scenic beauty and seclusion
Excellent baskets
Super clean
Nice mowed fairways with tall grasses for the rough
Cons: For the most part it is top notch prairie golf
14 thru 17 are really the only 'true' wooed holes and all short
Doesn't demand a huge variety of shots, just bomb after bomb

Other Thoughts: Although everything about this course feels great, easy to navigate, clean and well manicured, it just kind of dredged along for the first half not demanding to much line shaping. The second have of the course heats up with the interplay of the woods along the river valley. The hole with two baskets on it is really cool and kind of see a little bit of lost potential in that the interplay of the woods on the back nine add so much flavor. This course was fun but not super challenging and like I said a little too bland for me. With only four wooded holes and not really and 'signature' holes again this is a course that could easily get lost in the mix with Rollin Ridge and Silver Creek so close. Who ever made this course did a stellar job and really knows their stuff. I feel bad about giving this course a Typical rating because the natural beauty is stunning, the course conditions excellent, pads benches and baskets are perfect, but the 'disc golf' fun factor just isn't there for me. If this was my local course I honestly think I would get sick of it. If the front nine were as good as the back nine, I think I would give this course a 3.5 disc rating.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Easy yet Hard course

5+    7/15/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: Horsman
Played: 183  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 14.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun easy yet challenging course set out smack dab in the middle of no where WI. Lots of fun shots that can reward or kill you.
- On site "bathrooms" Out Houses
- Easy to get to. The course is in the middle of no where so when you see the park you know it.
- Plenty of parking for any situation.
- Nice concrete Teepads that are level with the ground so if you need a run up, you got it.
- Has its fair share of distace along with short holes. While distance isnt really the deciding factor on if you birdie of not.
- Pin placements here are pretty much perfect if yolu ask me. Every thing is in a place where you have to play a good shot to have a look at a birdie. There might only be 1 or 2 holes where you dont have try as hard to get a birdie but even then you can find trouble.
- Large, oversized benches on almost all holes. I love them. Im 6'6" and these things were built for me. They are great.
- There are a lot of holes out there that are very risk reward. You can choose to lay up on a majoirty of them but even then a par is not guaranteed. Because of this there are a lot of 2's out there but also a lot of 4's
- There is some OB that gets put into play on a few of the holes for tournament time and it just ups the risk reward factor. Perfectly placed.
Cons: - There are a few holes out there that have the tees too close to a different pin or fairway. So errant shots might have a chance to ruin someones day.
- Im not sure if wind can be a con but when it gets windy this course get tough. A lot of the holes are completely in the open and with the wind up it gets hard.
Other Thoughts: Theres not too much bad about this course. Since they have been putting work into it you can easily tell how much better the course has gotten. It went from a course that was Meh to a course that is a lot of fun to play. I really enjoy this course now and look forward to playing it every year, once a year for the Silver Cup

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful park course

5+    5/10/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 752  Reviewed: 214  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely stunning park course sort of out in the middle of the country. The first 2/3 of the course is relatively open, taking use of the few obstacles in place. The last 1/3 of the course is wooded, and provides some very interesting shots, especially from the longs.

Great concrete teepads at both shorts and longs. Descriptive tee signs and solid catching baskets.

The park is almost always in pristine condition, which is really a huge part of the allure. What elevation there is here, is used well.
Cons: Tee signs only on one teepad at each hole.

The main gripe with this course is the open nature of a LOT of the holes. Distances do vary, which helps, and the few obstacles are used well. There are some younger trees on the course, so that should help in the future.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place for a round to work on different shots. While it plays open for a good while here, it still holds a high replay value....which is probably due to it's serenity. If you're out here alone, you'll feel alone.

The short tees are great for beginners, and the long tees add distance for intermediate players. I'd have to think advanced players would get bored here after a couple rounds, though. This is definitely not the beatdown some other courses in the area can be.

With Silver Creek and Rollin' Ridge both within 20 minutes, it's in a great spot to be included in a day of spectacular plastic chuckin'.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course, well worth the trip!

1    9/4/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: Bferks12
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: >Good signs at each whole with an accurate picture of the hole
>Concrete tee pads were very nice
>The back 9 offered the most challenge, and this made the course better in my opinion
>Good use of the elevation in the park for the course
>Use of woods was good on the back 9 especially
>The view of the falls were nice
>Offered more risky landing spots with more easily accessible spots, making the course fun to play.
> Hole 6 was the best hole in the whole park in my opinion
>Multiple tee boxes for pros vs amateurs
Cons: >Lots of bugs
>Front 9 was relatively easy, since it did not have any obstacles or trees
>lack of trees or obstacles
>The holes were very straight forward and not many doglegs, since you could see the basket from the tee box on most holes
>Hole 12 had a big cliff that if your disk fell off, the likeness of getting it back is slim.
Other Thoughts: There was some new trees planted on some holes, which will be an improvement when they grow in. This was one of the best courses i have played, and me and my brother had fun playing this course. The only thing we didn't like was that there was a lot of alcohol being consumed during play, especially the people in front of us who carried a 18 pack of beer around with them.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic, Expensive Looking, Mostly Open

5+    6/2/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New course with some of the nicest tee pads, benches, signs, and baskets around. Very well groomed. The falls (more like rapids) are cool to see and you can hear them from most of the course. A couple bomber holes for big arms to flex, and a few tighter, wooded holes tacked on to the end. I have never seen the course even remotely busy.
Cons: Some holes still need time to mature beyond large, wide open fields in order to make a well balanced course. The course and surrounding land are mostly open farmland so the course can be one of the more windy ones out there.
Other Thoughts: Many of the more open holes have had trees planted, so there will be more obstacles and scenery in years to come.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/7/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 262  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 17.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The falls is just a short walk behind hole 13's tee. While it isn't a big falls it's still worth checking out.

Lower Cato Falls has two sets of nice trapezoidal shaped concrete tees per hole, tee signs with distances from both tees and the signs indicate where the basket is on the picture. The baskets are blue and in great condition and there's a practice basket near the parking lot.

The course starts out with a great hole where the basket is behind a large group of evergreen trees and you get to choose either the hyzer or anhyzer route. After that the next 10 holes are mostly open field shots. The last 7 holes are short and wooded or semi wooded holes that force you to hit your line and reward you with a birdie when you do.

There are navigational signs where needed to direct you to the next hole. When I was here, there was plenty of mulch spread around the tee pads and the park looked very well cared for.

The course has slight elevation changes on many of the holes.

The shot diversity is ok, two holes force anhyzer shots. There's a good mix of hole length and dual pads do a good job of catering to players of all skill level.
Cons: The first 11 holes are mostly open and boring.

The 4 holes in the woods are rather short, half of them are 200 ft or less.

From the parking lot, the practice area is off to the right and hole 1 is across the road to the left. It took me a minute to find hole 1, but after that navigation was a breeze.

The short tee doesn't change the shot, but I imagine they're there to shorten the course for new players.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place for new and rec players, but it doesn't provide a challenge for more advanced players. While this course has some fun wooded holes towards the end of the round, the majority are wide open making the course fairly boring.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Courses

5+    10/28/2010   3/28/2011
Review By: discgolfoholicray
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.9 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Great Course. Great Baskets and placements, Great Tees, Benches, layout and nice and quiet.
Cons: More trees should be planted on alot of the open farways and more garbage cans need to be put by the benches. There should also be more alternate pin placements.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.