Raleigh, NC 
Cedar Hills Rotary Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 265ft.   3 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Notable Course!

5+    12/1/2018   12/1/2018
Review By: JoshErp
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is good challenging course that will keep you entertained. The course has great variety. Most of the holes are in the 200-300ft range but there are still a few that are 350ft+. Most holes are moderately to heavily wooded and require accuracy for a good tee shot. Multiple holes have a tunnel like layout to them. However there are a few holes that are open to lightly wooded and trees are not much of a concern. Thee are two legitimate par fours that require accuracy and distance. Most of the course stays under the trees but a few holes come out. The pace of play is quick, I can usually get 18 holes in from the back tees in 35 minutes. The baskets on some holes change every month. The walking distance between holes is short for most of the holes. The tee pads and baskets are in decent shape and look nice.
Cons: The course definetly favors RHBH players. When I play this course (depending on basket position) I will usually throw BH on every single drive. Sometimes, the tee boxes can be sandy and can result in slipping, but I usually try to overthrow. The grass on the open holes will get long from nobody mowing it. The back teeboxes can sometimes be in bad shape from them not being used. I feel like I'm the only player the uses the back teebox on hole 10. But hopefully not. A few holes in my opinion are just straight with trees in the way and show no obvious path.
Other Thoughts: 2 parking lots, a baseball field, tennis courts, and a playground. A nice place to bring a family. Should come check it out if in the Raleigh area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun challenging course

1    3/2/2018   3/3/2018
Review By: Cap-Tan
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots.
Fairways are well defined.
Great upkeep of the park.
Challenging for all levels of players.
Love the water hazard on 7.
Cons: Some of the distances seemed to be quite off on the signs.
Some of the signs had been knocked over or were missing.
Beginners could lose discs on 7.
Other Thoughts: If you have trouble finding the tees download the udisc app. it has satellite imagery of each tee/pin location.
I played almost the entire coarse with just my Roc3 and putters but there were a couple holes that i pulled out some drivers. (It was Oklahoma style windy when I played and had a direct stiff headwind on 7 so I threw my Boss to make it across the pond.)
I'll definitely return to this course anytime I'm in Raleigh.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough course but forgiving

2-4    9/23/2017   9/23/2017
Review By: Poster Nutbag
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: -Primarily tight wooded holes but there are also some nice open fairways to rip a drive into.
-The course is nested in a great park. It is clean and beautiful. The drive through the neighborhood to get here is always pleasant.
-I love the hard, rocky ground on most of the holes. It works well with skip shots.
-The roughs are not too dense so you are unlikely to lose a disc outside of the water hole. You can usually find some window out of the rough so shanking a shot isn't a par killer.
-I will keep playing this course to work on tunnel shots and elevation changing holes. I usually score higher here than I do at other parks due to the long par 3s with baskets heavily guarded by trees. I found myself with a lot of obstructed approach shots which is a nice change from some other courses.
Cons: -It seems to favor the right hand backhand player. I try to play left handed due to tennis elbow in the right arm but some of the dogwood left holes were too sharp to left hand anhyzer.
-Although the tee boxes are a short walk from the last basket, the course could use better signage to the next hole.
-Good chance of losing a disc on the hole with the pond. There isn't a good way to play around the way.
-There is often noise throughout the whole course from the tennis court, basketball court, playground, and baseball fields but you will get this anywhere
Other Thoughts: I would like to go swimming in that pond and find my Mako 3 and probably a hundred other discs! This is one of the only courses I have played where shooting under par seems like it will take work.

Better With Age

5+    7/9/2017   7/11/2017
Review By: DonkeyCopter
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Location! What a great location for a disc golf course, centrally located in north raliegh.

Variety - Mostly woods, but you get wide, narrow, uphill and down, short and longish, doglegs, water.

Challenge - There is enough challenge to keep advanced players interested, yet the course is accessible enough for beginners. Solidly intermediate.

Signage has much improved over the last year, along with upkeep and litter maintenance.

Course tends to play differently in different seasons due to tree foliage.
Cons: During peak times, the course will get crowded, and the location is such that often there will be families with young children throwing frisbees. Some of the holes are near basketball courts/playgrounds and a softball field, so there is opportunity to hit pedestrians passing through to one of those attractions.

On days where there is a recreational softball game going, 11 can be unplayable due to kids/spectators playing in the fairway.

There is moderate potential to lose discs here in heavy underbrush or leaves in the fall. Poison ivy everywhere. Lots of mosquitos due to pond and creek that runs adjacent to many holes.

Some of the tee boxes feel a little bit short for a run up appropriate to the distance of the hole.

Moderate amount of litter, and the bag holders by the tee boxes seem to get vandalized often, rendering them useless.

There are 3 parking lots for this park which all sit adjacent to holes. It can be difficult to find the 1 tee if you mistakenly park in a lot that isn't the one by the 1 tee.

No big ravine tee shots, which are everyone's favorite.
Other Thoughts: There are no recent reviews on this course, so I figured I'd give it a go, as someone who has played hundreds of rounds here. I'm a relatively inexperienced intermediate player who averages around even par on this course, with my best score at a -6.

Despite this being an intermediate course, there are many ace-able holes here for the longer arm, 1, 3, 4, 6 (short position), 7, 10, 11 (blind though), 14, 15. This can make for an exciting round though none of these aces are easy to come by, and its adds additional replayability.

The flow of the course is good, and navigation is pretty easy without a map. Just don't miss 8 which is to the left and up from the pin of 7, it could be easy to skip on through to 9 which is through the tree line behind the 7 pin.

Holes:

1. Short slightly downhill and straight, moderately wide tunnel in woods. Pin just below crest of steep drop off. Don't go long, throw a putter or short midrange from tee. Consider forfeiting the ace run and throw a hammer for a higher percentage birdie chance.

2. Big crescent RHBH downhill hyzer. My best results come from using a super stable long driver and going high and hard on a flatter line, then letting a hard fade and hopeful skip park it near the basket by the creek.

3. Uphill and straight through a mostly wide wooded fairway. I like forcing a stable disc on a mild anhyzer (Thunderbird works well) with a fade left into the green area.

4. Short ravine with pin slightly uphill, and a big tree obstacle in middle of fairway. Good ace opportunity if you work a short midrange (stingray, leopard, putter) into a slow flip.

5. Longer uphill par 3. Go hard at the big tree at end of fairway with a stable driver (RHBH), let the fade bring you to basket. Takes a long arm to park this one.

6. Short pin position is an ace opportunity. Best results have come from using a stable midrange (Buzzz Ti) on a flat release and going to the right of the cluster of trees in front of the tee shot in the middle of the fairway. I'm not a big fan of the trees there, as they are so close to the tee that it can really cut off the line options.

7. Water! it takes 250 to clear the pond (slightly downhill) from the normal tee. Don't be tempted to rip a long driver or you'll end up in the woods behind the pin and have a scary putt downhill with water just behind the basket.

8. Blind dogleg right into the woods behind fenced in power tower. It's best to play this as an island green where not making it over the logs into the wooded area is a penalty. best results come from a RH flick using a very stable disc or anhyzer RHBH with an understable disc to get a lucky roll into basket area. This is a much tougher hole in Spring/Summer as going high enough to float into the green area will nearly 100% get caught up in the heavy tree line foliage.

9. Open uphill. Bombs away! Best results when pin is on the right side position is a low drive over the road that skips off the pavement into bounds. Don't flip it though, street is OB!

10. Basically no one plays the long tee here, so move up to the tee with the bench behind it. Downhill narrow tunnel, short position is an ace opportunity, long position is MUCH more difficult and nearly unfair as a par 3. I like to throw a pro Valkyrie here on medium speed to get a touch of hyzer flip.

11. Uphill hyzer, wide open with pin blind up in left corner by parking lot. Go low and hard when grass is short to get a nice skip to basket, or high hyzer towards the softball field fence.

12. Long downhill, wide wooded fairway. Keep it low because of the distance and OB road on the left side. I like my star wraith here.

13. Long uphill par 4 with a wide wooded fairway. just go straight and long or else you will have a long blind 2nd shot approach up the hill.

14. Short and slightly downhill with a pretty wide wooded fairway. Steep dropoff behind pin. Plays similar to hole 1, and a hammer throw can work well here too.

15. Downhill with a narrow tunnel that opens up to a wider space near basket. This is an ace run for a longer arm and is reachable with a midrange despite the distance.

16. Swamp hole, OB very much in play. Narrow tunnel with OB fence/creek on left, opening up to an area with a leafy tree that guards a hill that slopes up to the right, with the basket perched on top guarded by trees. A long flick could be the way to go here, but a RHBH will have a tough time getting in position to birdie.

17. Short dogleg left uphill with a very narrow tunnel of trees in front of the tee. Best results from using a stable driver thrown low on a hyzer angle and getting a nice skip.

18. From the long tees, its a medium width tunnel uphill dogleg left with a wide tunnel uphill approach. Getting there in 2 takes length and accuracy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/25/2015   4/29/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 130  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/19/2017
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Cedar Hills is a classic Raleigh course. Kentwood is a year older, technically, but Cedar is its bigger brother. It's a very challenging, but generally fair course.

+ Good variety of hole layouts and distances. I've played this course 80+ times and keep coming back. It's not boring or monotonous.

+ Good use of OB, both real (pond on hole 7) and manufactured (pretend water on 8, parking lot on 9).

+ Alt pin placements, so you never know what you're going to get when you play here. Holes 1, 2, 6, 9, 10, 16, and 17 have two pin positions. Rarely are the all in the front or back positions on a given day, so the course is pretty consistent in the challenge that it offers.

+ While I have lost many a disc in the hole 7 pond, I must say that it's a favorite hole of mine. It's one of the easiest, if not the easiest hole on the course, yet the water messes with your confidence. It's a great hole for ace runs. I haven't gotten it yet, but ONE DAY!!!

+ This is a very wooded, technical course. There are a few holes to really air it out (7, 9, 11), but basically everything else plays through woods. Most of the fairways are well-defined and fair.

+ Good mix of downhill holes (1, 2, 6, 10, 12, 14, 15) and uphill holes (3, 4, 5, 9, 13, 16, 17, and 18)

+ Two fun par 4's (13 and 18, from the back tees). Hole 10 plays more like a par 3.5 when the basket is in the long position.

+ Navigation isn't a problem at all. There are several holes where you can start, which comes in handy to beat the crowds. Besides hole 1, the most popular starting hole is 12, which is next to the parking lot at the back of the park, off the Spring Forest Road entrance. You can also start on hole 4 or 5, near the main entrance.

+ Other facilities at the park include a baseball field, basketball courts, tennis courts, and a playground. There are bathrooms, but they're pretty nasty.
Cons: Cedar is my current home course, but I can't overlook some of the flaws:

- The top flaw to me is some of the tees. Some are cracked or not the right kind of concrete. I hear that there are plans to update many of the tees in the near future. This is a fantastic idea.

- This is a popular course and often times there are lots of people playing it. (It's still not as busy as Kentwood.) I've never had much of a problem playing through though.

- If you like to play early mornings, like I occasionally do, be aware that the main entrance to Cedar has a gate that does not open until 8:00 or 8:30. If you play early, try the Spring Forest Road entrance. I've never seen that gate down.
Other Thoughts: Try out this classic Raleigh course!

UPDATE: Parks & Rec is redesigning some of the park, so hole #11 has to be pulled from its current position by the softball field and moved into the woods parallel to the Spring Forest Road parking lot. The new hole will be a long, wooded par 4. Trees are marked with spray paint now to cut down and build the new fairway.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Precision Needed

5+    7/1/2014   11/21/2014
Review By: Stable
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Typical NC course that forces you to become precise and execute tight gaps. One of the oldest courses in the state and is really well put together for how small the park is. I enjoy playing course a lot and it has forced me to become more precise.
Cons: There have been reports of car break-ins around the park. Not a bad area but tends to have some hoodlums floating around.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course and recommend to anyone in the Raleigh, NC area.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 "Sweet Three"

1    10/30/2014   11/3/2014
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 89  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Sweet location. Set just north of downtown Raleigh, this course offers a tough challenge without a long drive. The park is in a nice neighborhood too, so no need to try and fit your nine in your putter pocket on the way out the hood, Craig.

- Awesome layout. Cedar Hills makes excellent use of elevation and the holes have a true disc golf feel to them...which is to say it has a nice mix of uphill and the beloved downhill shots as well as fairly equal righty/lefty-friendly shots. There's even a risk-reward water hole on #7 that makes you pay for wussing out and laying up. (Personally, I prayed to Yolo - the ancient Aztec god of screw-it - and went straight across. Gotta love the Buzzz.)

- Technical. If you're wondering whether or not your upshots and short game can hang with the big dogs, Cedar Hills will tell you that story. A tough par 3, you're going to need a fine touch and a metric butt-ton of accuracy to tame this course. Many of the fairways are very tight so errant shots often end up buried in the woods, while the elevation changes on these tight fairways can cause off-the-mark upshots to roll long enough to turn a birdie attempt into a double par bogie. (That's a quadruple bogie in case you're bad at math.) In short, if you're one of those who's questioning whether or not you should move up from Rec to Am or Am to Pro, Cedar Hills can provide your answer: If you can par this course consistently or your scores on this course are improving exponentially, you're ready for the next level.

- Friendly locals. A big shout-out to Big Scotty and Dan "The Ice" Berg for letting me tag along and showing me the ropes on Cedar Hills. These cats saved me a ton of time.
Cons:
- Poor tees. Most are concrete, but the mold they used is sort of ridiculous. The teeboxes have these weird, long, curved divots in them that look like a good spot to turn an ankle if one were so inclined to do an X-step, nevermind a run-up. Just seems dangerous and not well thought-out.

- Few benches. There were a couple resting spots on the course, but the elevation changes on the course warrants a few more, in this old, fat-guy's opinion.

- Ambiguous signage/navigation. Some holes made it fairly obvious where you needed to go next, but some would've been mad confusing had I not been playing with Dan and Scotty, the local course wizards who offered me a spot on their card. I'm sure I would've found my way eventually, but course-virgins would benefit greatly from just a few small, well-placed signs on the course alerting players where to go next.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts:
Cedar Hills is one of most under-rated par-three courses I've ever played. It may not be one of the longest, loveliest (I call it "The Leanist") courses in the NC state capital, but it certainly provides a true disc golf getaway for those short on time. Sure, it's not perfect, but I've yet to run into a course that is. Bottom line: there isn't much NOT to recommend about Cedar Hills, so if you find yourself in Raleigh and want to give your upshots and short game a run through the gauntlet, you could do a LOT worse. Cedar Hills is worth the stop.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/10/2014   9/22/2014
Review By: Jaydo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging. Easy to find your way around.
Cons: Not a lot of open shots here. Watch out for the water. Very closed in course.
Other Thoughts: I would play again. Only played once and enjoyed it, just wish there were a couple of holes you could air it out off the tee.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course tucked away

1    4/20/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: jeditden
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent mix of open and wooded holes.
-Multiple tee boxes/pins and they had a sign in the parking lot letting you know which pin was set up.
-Hole 8 makes good use of the cell tower in front of it by basically calling it OB.
-Hole 9 was a good open straight shot after a bunch of fairly wooded holes. Good change up.
Hole 11 had a water fountain right next to the baseball field. Perfect place to keep me from getting parched.
-Mostly Concrete tee pads, which always feel superior and make a course feel more "official" IMHO.
-I liked all the different benches.
Cons: -Some fairways seem especially tight. Hole 10 comes to mind. I know it's basically a straight shot, but it's maybe 7-8 feet wide. Hole 4 wasn't much better either.
-Hole 7 makes you cross a skeezy lake if you want any hope of par. I can throw 200' on average and I didn't want to risk it.
-Some of the alternate boxes (Maybe old ones I don't know) were made with paver blocks. But they had this sun groove design carved in them. Not conducive to any kind of walk up shot style.
Other Thoughts: -We went on Easter Sunday and there were a couple of groups out there. I imagine the park sees some good action on non-holidays too.
-I liked the course just fine. Maybe a little general upkeep could be used. Some garbage strewn about. There were also some old bag holders but almost all of them were broken.
-This has nothing to do with the course or rating , but just a general heads up. I use my phone for a scorecard and it fell out of my hand on Hole 17 less than 3 feet to the soft dirt ground and totally shattered my screen. Nuts to me.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 probably best course in Raleigh city limits

2-4    12/17/2013   12/18/2013
Review By: pfpro
Played: 53  Reviewed: 40
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - decent variation. Several holes have multiple pads. There are multiple pin positions on several holes as well. Seems to favor RHBH, but most of the holes are straight, tunnel shots. Mostly a wooded course, but there are a few open shots.
- good use of elevation. Kind of a rolling up or down feel on a majority of the holes.
- there are many access points/parking areas, so if you know the park well (I don't, so I couldn't offer suggestions), you could start, not at hole 1, and play an abbreviated round and end right at your car.
- there is a water hole - shouldn't be too challenging, but if you shank your shot - bye-bye disc. The next hole has a mando cell tower enclosure to throw around. Not too difficult to avoid, but different.
- big thumbs up for the new signs. Hadn't played here in a while, and it was pretty ghetto before the new signs were up. Hope they aren't vandalized.
Cons: - course is a little short. definitely a par 3 course. pins were in short position, but the long pads were not super challenging. Could possibly see some of the long-long combos being a little more challenging, but if you stay in the fairways, you will be fine. I think they did what they could with the amount of space that they have, and keep it from feeling too cramped.
Other Thoughts: I went back and forth between a 2.5 and 3.0. The new signs pushed it up to a 3. There are only 3 courses in the city limits - this gets the nod over Kentwood because it is a much tighter course (so more challenging) It's also about 25% longer. It's a fairly typical Raleigh course: wooded, shorter, not overly technical. It was fairly busy when I played (midday, weekday), there were probably about 6 or 7 groups on the course. Some parts of the course seem to have more trash - am guessing they are local pedestrian paths, so it seems "dirtier" then Kentwood (where all traffic on course is essentially DG) Other courses Triangle that I would consider similar (mostly based on length) are UNC, Buckhorn and Middle Creek. I would consider all these courses better choices (obviously depends on location - since course access plays a big part) for course layout and being more challenging.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.