Raleigh, NC 
Cedar Hills Rotary Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 320ft.   3 / 320ft.   3 / 352ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: Wide open, slightly uphill with OB on both sides.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Solid, challenging course

5+    1/29/2021   1/29/2021
Review By: David_George
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Challenging, heavily wooded disc golf.
+ Attractive park property.
+ Interesting variety of shots.
+ Good use of elevation.
+ One water hole that isn't too daunting.
+ Good signage and well-maintained.
+ Well beat-in course without too much in the way of rough.
+ Doesn't get as muddy as many of the other area courses.
Cons: - Can get pretty busy when the weather is nice, though not as bad as Kentwood.
- The beginner course is kind of a let-down. On a number of holes there are no red tee pads or just a slightly shorter shot. And the red pads are usually short and in bad shape.
- Some of the holes are pretty challenging even for an experienced player. This isn't really a con, but don't expect low scores on this course.
Other Thoughts: Not really a beginner course, but much more enjoyable than Kentwood in my opinion if you are looking for a round in the Raleigh area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Classic woods course

2-4    11/21/2020   11/21/2020
Review By: jeremytf
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 34.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -tests your precision, scrambling, straight driving
-beautiful property
-good use of elevation changes. Many holes play longer (uphill) but also some fun downhill drives.
-good flow and navigation.
-tees and baskets are well spaced. Not many safety issues.
-a couple open holes to give a break from the woods.
-benches, decent signage, amenities
-long tees are decent and concrete.
Cons: Regardless of the description on this site, it doesn't feel like a championship course. It needs more variance in hole length. Essentially every hole for me is fairway driver + approach or putt. The last time I played, I threw a fast driver one time. I threw a midrange disc one time. Some of the holes could be reached with a midrange off the teepad, but that's not my point. The course has a bit too much uniformity on hole length, type, and shape. Most holes are straight or close to straight. The holes that do dogleg don't require much shot-shaping from the teepad, it is more of a straight drive plus a putt to the right or left. The only exception is hole 8 where the basket is tucked back behind the utility tower.

A championship caliber course would have multiple longer holes and require more shaping of lines off the teepad.

The course is generally heavy on the exposed roots, you should watch your footing and don't try to rely on the skip shot.
Other Thoughts: It is a fun course and a classic for the Raleigh area. It is challenging and great precision practice at simply throwing straight! Just leave your fast discs at home for another day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun neighborhood course

1    11/7/2020   11/10/2020
Review By: rwgatorfan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 0.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cedar Hills is a mostly tight, pretty fun course. Some pros:
- Definitely a mature course. Not a lot of underbrush, but not quite as cramped as Kentwood
- Mostly short holes, but there are a few mixed in where you can throw for distance.
- One water hole that is a challenge to traverse, but gives beginners a viable path around the pond.
- Decent use of elevation
- Lots of parking, bathrooms on site.
- Signage and tee pads are decent if not spectacular.
- Very easy to navigate.
- No issues with water/mud for us. This is a big plus in this area.
Cons: Not a lot of cons, but a few
- Very crowded and played very slow for us
- A couple of holes are hell if you stray off the fairway...but that makes it challenging
- Lots of random walkers and dog walkers wandering through the course. You'd think that with a course this age people would know better
Other Thoughts: All in all, a fun course. Not sure if we'll make the drive very often as we have better courses nearby. We thought everybody was over at Diavolo, but alas they weren't :-)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Cedar Hills Course Review 2020

5+    8/18/2020   8/19/2020
Review By: cuhgly
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cedar Hills is what many would call their, "home" course within the Raleigh area. It is one of the older courses in the area and is definitely one of the most played as well. A major pro for Cedar is that it isn't overly difficult nor overly easy. Definitely a step-up from its cousin Kentwood, Cedar Hills provides ample challenge for those who are newer to disc golf and a good tune-up course for those who regularly play. For the sake of simplicity, I'm going to list out all of the pros and cons in bullets my own sanity and yours.

- The course layout of Cedar is definitely enjoyable with each one having a reasonable fairway and not much brush to lose discs. You won't encounter too many crazy shot shapes, but you will be able to use different discs to tackle each hole
- Cedar offers different basket layouts that alternate around each month. This can change a hole from a reasonable par 3 to a borderline par 4 (#10 & #18 for example).
-Each hole typically has 1-2 different tee pads which offer newer players easier layouts for the hole, although I can admit that it only shortens the hole rather than providing a much different experience. The tee pads also have benches, and some even have brand-new ones that are installed by boy scouts or other donors.
- The course can be quite rewarding and quite challenging, as stated before. There are a few tunnel shots, a water hole and many trees that are there to block any errant throw. As previously mentioned, the fairways are proportionate to the distance of the hole, but any wild shot will send you tree purgatory... not exactly jail. Most times you can escape without pitching out, but the pars aren't always guaranteed. There are many birdie opportunities for one who has excellent shot shaping and distance control and many bogies for those who stray from the beaten path.
- Cedar drains extremely well after rain. The course is quite hilly and rocky so there isn't too much mud after even the heaviest of rains. Most troublesome areas have paths carved to avoid any water hazards.
- Parking is also typically very good at this course. There are 2 different start points so you can either start at #1 or #12. The parking near 12 could become a hazard for errant throws so park wisely.
- If you are looking to play in casual weekday tournaments, this course offers different doubles tournaments during the week.
Cons: To begin with the cons, it should be noted that Cedar is more of a people's course. It is old in comparison to other courses in the area and doesn't have the newer amenities that some of us have grown to love. That being said, I will be objective when it comes to the negatives of this course.

- The terrain at Cedar is like many other older disc golf courses, rocky and dusty. This course is quite worn-in and you can definitely see it's age. Your discs will take a beating so don't bring any premium plastic you don't intend on rapidly breaking in.
- The tee pads are older but aren't in bad shape for the most part. They are a little on the small side juxtaposed with modern standards, but are serviceable for most players not named James Conrad. Some tee pads drop off at the end or aren't flush with ground making you hesitant to go all-out on any throw. Additionally, the AM tees are laughably small and non-functional. They have a design in them that's begging for someone to twist their ankle and could only be used for a standstill throw.
- This course is fairly popular so the crowding can become quite trying on some weekdays (during the tournaments) and weekends.
- This course can be somewhat difficult to navigate your first time through.
Other Thoughts: The players here are usually really kind and helpful, as is most of the disc golf community. This course is definitely a must-play if you are in the Raleigh area and is fun for any skill level!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Local Hot Spot

5+    5/16/2020   5/16/2020
Review By: TheBigKahunaNC
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice North Raleigh location, has been my "home course" for 20 years. Plenty of parking especially if you use the Spring Forest entrance and start on #12. Very good variety of woods, and open shots....and some challenging holes mixed with a few ace- able holes. The pond on #7 intimidates a lot of players...and gets skipped a lot. It's really not a long throw. But that pond has drowned thousands of discs! Do NOT go swimming! Decent facilities on site. If you are playing in Raleigh, this is a solid choice.
Cons: Having played this course for many years, I know my way around but it can be tricky for those new to the course. There are a few poorly marked paths to the next tee. Some of the paths have very bad erosion and can be dangerous, especially if damp or wet. As with many public spaces, neighbors walk their dogs here and some don't clean up. Hole 8 can be a minefield some days! Watch your step.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Notable Course!

5+    12/1/2018   12/1/2018
Review By: JoshErp
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is good challenging course that will keep you entertained. The course has great variety. Most of the holes are in the 200-300ft range but there are still a few that are 350ft+. Most holes are moderately to heavily wooded and require accuracy for a good tee shot. Multiple holes have a tunnel like layout to them. However there are a few holes that are open to lightly wooded and trees are not much of a concern. Thee are two legitimate par fours that require accuracy and distance. Most of the course stays under the trees but a few holes come out. The pace of play is quick, I can usually get 18 holes in from the back tees in 35 minutes. The baskets on some holes change every month. The walking distance between holes is short for most of the holes. The tee pads and baskets are in decent shape and look nice.
Cons: The course definetly favors RHBH players. When I play this course (depending on basket position) I will usually throw BH on every single drive. Sometimes, the tee boxes can be sandy and can result in slipping, but I usually try to overthrow. The grass on the open holes will get long from nobody mowing it. The back teeboxes can sometimes be in bad shape from them not being used. I feel like I'm the only player the uses the back teebox on hole 10. But hopefully not. A few holes in my opinion are just straight with trees in the way and show no obvious path.
Other Thoughts: 2 parking lots, a baseball field, tennis courts, and a playground. A nice place to bring a family. Should come check it out if in the Raleigh area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun challenging course

1    3/2/2018   3/3/2018
Review By: Cap-Tan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots.
Fairways are well defined.
Great upkeep of the park.
Challenging for all levels of players.
Love the water hazard on 7.
Cons: Some of the distances seemed to be quite off on the signs.
Some of the signs had been knocked over or were missing.
Beginners could lose discs on 7.
Other Thoughts: If you have trouble finding the tees download the udisc app. it has satellite imagery of each tee/pin location.
I played almost the entire coarse with just my Roc3 and putters but there were a couple holes that i pulled out some drivers. (It was Oklahoma style windy when I played and had a direct stiff headwind on 7 so I threw my Boss to make it across the pond.)
I'll definitely return to this course anytime I'm in Raleigh.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Tough course but forgiving

2-4    9/23/2017   9/23/2017
Review By: Poster Nutbag
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Primarily tight wooded holes but there are also some nice open fairways to rip a drive into.
-The course is nested in a great park. It is clean and beautiful. The drive through the neighborhood to get here is always pleasant.
-I love the hard, rocky ground on most of the holes. It works well with skip shots.
-The roughs are not too dense so you are unlikely to lose a disc outside of the water hole. You can usually find some window out of the rough so shanking a shot isn't a par killer.
-I will keep playing this course to work on tunnel shots and elevation changing holes. I usually score higher here than I do at other parks due to the long par 3s with baskets heavily guarded by trees. I found myself with a lot of obstructed approach shots which is a nice change from some other courses.
Cons: -It seems to favor the right hand backhand player. I try to play left handed due to tennis elbow in the right arm but some of the dogwood left holes were too sharp to left hand anhyzer.
-Although the tee boxes are a short walk from the last basket, the course could use better signage to the next hole.
-Good chance of losing a disc on the hole with the pond. There isn't a good way to play around the way.
-There is often noise throughout the whole course from the tennis court, basketball court, playground, and baseball fields but you will get this anywhere
Other Thoughts: I would like to go swimming in that pond and find my Mako 3 and probably a hundred other discs! This is one of the only courses I have played where shooting under par seems like it will take work.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better With Age

5+    7/9/2017   7/11/2017
Review By: DonkeyCopter
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Location! What a great location for a disc golf course, centrally located in north raliegh.

Variety - Mostly woods, but you get wide, narrow, uphill and down, short and longish, doglegs, water.

Challenge - There is enough challenge to keep advanced players interested, yet the course is accessible enough for beginners. Solidly intermediate.

Signage has much improved over the last year, along with upkeep and litter maintenance.

Course tends to play differently in different seasons due to tree foliage.
Cons: During peak times, the course will get crowded, and the location is such that often there will be families with young children throwing frisbees. Some of the holes are near basketball courts/playgrounds and a softball field, so there is opportunity to hit pedestrians passing through to one of those attractions.

On days where there is a recreational softball game going, 11 can be unplayable due to kids/spectators playing in the fairway.

There is moderate potential to lose discs here in heavy underbrush or leaves in the fall. Poison ivy everywhere. Lots of mosquitos due to pond and creek that runs adjacent to many holes.

Some of the tee boxes feel a little bit short for a run up appropriate to the distance of the hole.

Moderate amount of litter, and the bag holders by the tee boxes seem to get vandalized often, rendering them useless.

There are 3 parking lots for this park which all sit adjacent to holes. It can be difficult to find the 1 tee if you mistakenly park in a lot that isn't the one by the 1 tee.

No big ravine tee shots, which are everyone's favorite.
Other Thoughts: There are no recent reviews on this course, so I figured I'd give it a go, as someone who has played hundreds of rounds here. I'm a relatively inexperienced intermediate player who averages around even par on this course, with my best score at a -6.

Despite this being an intermediate course, there are many ace-able holes here for the longer arm, 1, 3, 4, 6 (short position), 7, 10, 11 (blind though), 14, 15. This can make for an exciting round though none of these aces are easy to come by, and its adds additional replayability.

The flow of the course is good, and navigation is pretty easy without a map. Just don't miss 8 which is to the left and up from the pin of 7, it could be easy to skip on through to 9 which is through the tree line behind the 7 pin.

Holes:

1. Short slightly downhill and straight, moderately wide tunnel in woods. Pin just below crest of steep drop off. Don't go long, throw a putter or short midrange from tee. Consider forfeiting the ace run and throw a hammer for a higher percentage birdie chance.

2. Big crescent RHBH downhill hyzer. My best results come from using a super stable long driver and going high and hard on a flatter line, then letting a hard fade and hopeful skip park it near the basket by the creek.

3. Uphill and straight through a mostly wide wooded fairway. I like forcing a stable disc on a mild anhyzer (Thunderbird works well) with a fade left into the green area.

4. Short ravine with pin slightly uphill, and a big tree obstacle in middle of fairway. Good ace opportunity if you work a short midrange (stingray, leopard, putter) into a slow flip.

5. Longer uphill par 3. Go hard at the big tree at end of fairway with a stable driver (RHBH), let the fade bring you to basket. Takes a long arm to park this one.

6. Short pin position is an ace opportunity. Best results have come from using a stable midrange (Buzzz Ti) on a flat release and going to the right of the cluster of trees in front of the tee shot in the middle of the fairway. I'm not a big fan of the trees there, as they are so close to the tee that it can really cut off the line options.

7. Water! it takes 250 to clear the pond (slightly downhill) from the normal tee. Don't be tempted to rip a long driver or you'll end up in the woods behind the pin and have a scary putt downhill with water just behind the basket.

8. Blind dogleg right into the woods behind fenced in power tower. It's best to play this as an island green where not making it over the logs into the wooded area is a penalty. best results come from a RH flick using a very stable disc or anhyzer RHBH with an understable disc to get a lucky roll into basket area. This is a much tougher hole in Spring/Summer as going high enough to float into the green area will nearly 100% get caught up in the heavy tree line foliage.

9. Open uphill. Bombs away! Best results when pin is on the right side position is a low drive over the road that skips off the pavement into bounds. Don't flip it though, street is OB!

10. Basically no one plays the long tee here, so move up to the tee with the bench behind it. Downhill narrow tunnel, short position is an ace opportunity, long position is MUCH more difficult and nearly unfair as a par 3. I like to throw a pro Valkyrie here on medium speed to get a touch of hyzer flip.

11. Uphill hyzer, wide open with pin blind up in left corner by parking lot. Go low and hard when grass is short to get a nice skip to basket, or high hyzer towards the softball field fence.

12. Long downhill, wide wooded fairway. Keep it low because of the distance and OB road on the left side. I like my star wraith here.

13. Long uphill par 4 with a wide wooded fairway. just go straight and long or else you will have a long blind 2nd shot approach up the hill.

14. Short and slightly downhill with a pretty wide wooded fairway. Steep dropoff behind pin. Plays similar to hole 1, and a hammer throw can work well here too.

15. Downhill with a narrow tunnel that opens up to a wider space near basket. This is an ace run for a longer arm and is reachable with a midrange despite the distance.

16. Swamp hole, OB very much in play. Narrow tunnel with OB fence/creek on left, opening up to an area with a leafy tree that guards a hill that slopes up to the right, with the basket perched on top guarded by trees. A long flick could be the way to go here, but a RHBH will have a tough time getting in position to birdie.

17. Short dogleg left uphill with a very narrow tunnel of trees in front of the tee. Best results from using a stable driver thrown low on a hyzer angle and getting a nice skip.

18. From the long tees, its a medium width tunnel uphill dogleg left with a wide tunnel uphill approach. Getting there in 2 takes length and accuracy.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Oldie but a Goodie

5+    4/16/2020   4/29/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 170  Reviewed: 165  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2020
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Cedar Hills is a classic Raleigh course. Kentwood is a year older, technically, but Cedar is its bigger brother. It's a challenging intermediate-level course, but generally fair course.

+ Good variety of hole layouts and distances. I've played this course 100+ times and keep coming back. It's not boring or monotonous. Fun + challenging: mission numero uno for any disc golf course. Cedar exceeds the bar.

+ Good use of OB, both real (pond on hole 7) and manufactured (pretend water on 8, parking lot on 9).

+ Alt pin placements to add some variety. Holes 1, 2, 6, 9, 10, 16, and 17 have two pin positions. Rarely are the all in the front or back positions on a given day, so the course is pretty consistent in the challenge that it offers.

+ While I have lost many a disc in the hole 7 pond, I must say that it's a favorite hole of mine. It's one of the easiest, if not the easiest hole on the course, yet the water messes with your confidence. It's a great hole for ace runs. I haven't gotten it yet, but ONE DAY!!! There is a drop zone tee at about 150 feet, a white tee at 250 feet, and a blue tee at 330 feet, so you can pick the distance appropriate for your driving ability.

+ Probably my favorite hole is #2. It's a downhill, RHBH hyzer with a narrow, but fair fairway near the tee, widening down the hill to the basket. This hole has the best scoring separation, in my experience, on the entire course. I get a fair share of 2's, usually 3's, a good chunk of 4's, and even some 5's. It punishes bad shots in jail and rewards solid hyzer shots with birdies or pars at worst.

+ Another fun downhill hole is #15. It's a straight shot, about 330 feet, downhill. It's a narrow fairway in places, but a comfortable flat green.

+ Hole #16 is a nice risk/reward hole with the basket perched on a very steep hill. Good chance for roll-aways if you miss a long putt.

+ Several ace run opportunities, especially #1, #4, #6, #7, #10 (in the short position), #11, #14, and #15.

+ This is a very wooded, technical course. There are a few holes to really air it out (7, 9, 11), but basically, everything else plays through woods. Most of the fairways are well-defined and fair.

+ Good mix of downhill holes (1, 2, 6, 10, 12, 14, 15) and uphill holes (3, 4, 5, 9, 13, 16, 17, and 18)

+ Two fun par 4's (13 and 18, from the back tees). Hole 10 plays more like a par 3.5 when the basket is in the long position.

+ Navigation isn't a problem at all. There are several holes where you can start, which comes in handy to beat the crowds. Besides hole 1, the most popular starting hole is 12, which is next to the parking lot at the back of the park, off the Spring Forest Road entrance. You can also start on hole 4 or 5, near the main entrance.

+ Other facilities at the park include a baseball field, basketball courts, tennis courts, and a playground. There are bathrooms, but they're pretty nasty. There are a few trash cans. Nice benches and bag hangers on several holes.
Cons: Cedar is my current home course, but I can't overlook some of the flaws:

- The top flaw to me is some of the tees. Some are cracked or not the right kind of concrete. I hear that there are plans to update many of the tees in the near future. This is a fantastic idea.

- This is a popular course and often times there are lots of people playing it. (It's still not as busy as Kentwood.) I've never had much of a problem playing through though.

- If you like to play early mornings, like I occasionally do, be aware that the main entrance to Cedar has a gate that does not open until 8:00 or 8:30. If you play early, try the Spring Forest Road entrance. I've never seen that gate down.

- As an almost 40-year old course, it has some wear and tear. Erosion is a problem on several holes: exposed roots, holes or gashes. Be careful with your footing.
Other Thoughts: Try out this classic Raleigh course!

UPDATE: Parks & Rec is redesigning some of the park, so hole #11 has to be pulled from its current position by the softball field and moved into the woods parallel to the Spring Forest Road parking lot. The new hole will be a long, wooded par 4. Trees are marked with spray paint now to cut down and build the new fairway.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.