Raleigh, NC 
Cedar Hills Rotary Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 262ft.   3 / 262ft.   3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee: Short hole with a 60' downhill behind the basket.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Cedar Hills

2-4    3/17/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: 1978
Played: 269  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 10 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice park. It can be very challenging. There are a wide variety of hole types and a lot of elevation change. The course plays around a nicely kept community park and is heavily wooded. The course has been played enough so that you aren't completely in jail off the tight fairways. Hitting a line and throwing the right shot are a must here. Some holes are around 200' but unique pin placements make them play much more difficult. The use of the pond, especially from the longs, adds a really nice "pucker factor." There aren't as many "cedars" as you would think but they can be disc eaters on some holes. There are very few places to lose discs except the pond. The course director is good about fishing discs out of the lake and returning them to their owner. Write your names on them people!
Tee pads are generous and fairways are fair.
Cons: The course is not linear and it cuts back and forth. Because of this some of the tee boxes are within harms way of adjacent fairways. In some cases the distance between pin and pad are just too close. This is especially a problem on some of the blind uphill holes. While it looks like erosion control had been implemented in the past it could use an update. Most of the topsoil from the fairways is already gone making them full of large roots and rocks that can gouge discs. Tee signs need to be updated many are missing or just plain unreadable.
Other Thoughts: I liked playing here a few rounds. It is important for disc golf clubs to plan for erosion control in the infancy of a course and maintain that later. You can really see how much soil is lost by looking at downed trees. You can see the amount of soil built up behind them. Soil keeps the trees that "make" the course healthy and alive and shoring up teepads when they are poured prevents movement and breakage in the future.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Partly wooded, partly open

5+    9/1/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open and wooded holes. Nice mix of left to right and right to left holes. Overall a mid length course with only a couple holes that really requires some length. Otherwise, bring your Rocs and mid range discs that you can control with precision. The water hole provides a very nice challenge from the pro teepad. The back nine is very challenging and deuces are very tough to come by.
Cons: A couple holes of "chuck and pray" (defined as holes that are wooded without a distinct path to the basket. No real way to play only 9 holes as the 10th teepad is far from the parking lot. Generally gets pretty crowded, especially on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: For the most part, another great course for dogs to go without leashes. If in the Raleigh area, it's definitely worth checking out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quality, Old School course

2-4    12/26/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 159  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 11 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the older courses in NC and you can tell but the old gal has aged well. It's mostly wooded and makes great use of the available elevation. A few sweet, downhill holes get the blood pumping in ace-run anticipation. Nice park, easy to forget you're in Raleigh. Baskets are still in good shape, fairways are very well defined and during the winter there is very minimal risk of losing a disc in the rough. Very good hole type variety. Benches on nearly every hole. Good vibes. Nice water hole. Hard to get lost transitioning from hole to hole. Some holes have separate tees.
Cons: #11's basket is missing, too bad b/c I parked it today, would have been nice to hear the chains but I had settle for the orange traffic cone in its stead. Tee signs are in pretty bad shape but most of the baskets are visible from the tee so no real problem. Could use some more holes to air out the big guns, there's only 2-3 fairly open holes. Either I've gotten tremendously better or some of these par 5s and 4s need to be 4s and 3s.
Other Thoughts: Favorite hole: 12, a nice downhill, straight run about 372'. Throw a hyzer-flip and watch it glide.
Pesky hole: 17, some sentinel trees guard the fairway a scant 15-20' from the tee.

Other than the basket missing, this is easily one of better courses in the Piedmont. It's just a blast to play and one of those courses that are good for practically all skill levels. It would be nice if the tee signs were repaired. Park has all the usual amenities. Duck flies at midnight.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Raleigh

1    12/15/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 37  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had it all: concrete tees, discatcher baskets, elevation, open shots, tight shots, left shots, right shots. It was mostly tightly wooded, but most fairways were legitmate (though hole 17 had you throw through a 4 foot gap between two trees directly in front of the tee). The woods definitely made you regret an errant shot, but did not make it so that you couldn't recover. The biggest pro for me on this course was that it is a huge confidence booster because there are many par 5 holes that could easily be par three. You don't have to be an advanced player to score well at this course. There are some very nice benches beside every hole.
Cons: Many of the tee signs were either heavily vandalized, or had been removed/stolen completely. Some of the stolen signs had been replaced with sheets of paper that said which hole is was and how long. The signs that were still intact and unvandalized though were some of the nicest I've seen. The basket for one of the holes was missing entirely and had been replaced by an orange traffic barrel. One of the baskets has a busy road right behind it, so if you overshoot (like I did), your disc may get hit by a car.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. It was much more fun than Kentwood and was FAR less crowded. I only saw one other group of players on the course. If you can throw accurately in the woods, you will love this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Average Course

5+    9/7/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 65  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many good holes it starts out slow but gets tougher as you go along. Many difficult shots from the long pads.
Cons: Wear High socks or long pants, ticks are really bad. If you throw over the water and don't make it, kiss that disc goodbye.
Other Thoughts: Designed by Hall Of Famer Carlton Howard. Lots of Great Disc Golfers started playing Disc Golf here, including Future Hall Of Famer Larry Leonard

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I like it!

2-4    8/10/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: rhino21
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has a good mix of shots - short, long, left, right. Multiple tee pads. Pretty easy to navigate. Scenic. Good baskets and tee pads.
Cons: OB in play on some holes. One major water hole. Moderate traffic.
Other Thoughts: If you are not skilled/experienced or do not want to risk losing a disc, then you should not try to throw over the water from the back tees on 7 (?).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Brutal but fun

2-4    6/13/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: laxrulz777
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging
Good length
Very little man made hazard play (i.e. roads, fences, etc.) There are a couple places where this could come into play but it would take a pretty strong, bad throw to make it an issue.
Cons: Occasionally crowded (nowhere near as busy as Kentwood but certainly more than Middle Creek or Zebulon)
A few "random throws through the trees" type holes
Other Thoughts: This is a course that feels a lot longer than it actually is. There are some very long, uphill holes that can be quite difficult. The front nine and back nine very much have their own personality. The front nine is more "typical" with a couple interesting holes (one water hole and one simulated water hole).
The back nine on the other hand really punishes a tired disc golfer. There are 2 or 3 400+ holes including a 450ft uphill left turning hole and another 400+ ft hole that looks like they backed the tee box up just to get an extra 6 feet of elevation change. Definitely a nice course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course!

1    4/11/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: zbyrd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety! Almost completely wooded, but not always shooting through trees. Very challenging in terms of shot selection. Lots of elevation change. Not nearly as busy as Kentwood. Great risk/reward opportunities. There is even a fun hole where you have to throw 220ft over a lake. Not too challenging but it gets your blood pumping, especially if it is your first time throwing over deep water.

Overall this course is excellent because the design is thoughtful and truly challenges your shot selection. Unlike some courses, it never felt as though they just had some land, a bulldozer, eighteen DG baskets, and no idea how to play the sport.
Cons: There are only a couple truly open holes (huge fairway/no woods around) if long bombs are your thing. Like anything in Raleigh, there are a good amount of people relative to non-urban courses.
Other Thoughts: Great course! Go if you get the chance!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 B+ for Bery Bery Nice Tradiitonal Course

2-4    9/21/2005   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 385  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 24.2 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/9/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: CGNecrodice
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good course.. I've been playing on this course since I started playing and it still presents a challenge to me. Great variety of holes present the opportunity for all kinds of shot. I would definitely recommend playing here
Cons: If you go on a nice day on a weekend the course will most likely be packed. Sometimes you have to wait at each hole to throw but as long as you aren't in a hurry, its not a problem.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.