Rolla, MO 
Lion's Club DGC Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #17 (Taken 6/2010)
4 / 523ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Great course

1    5/27/2017   5/27/2017
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 206  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Start with the usual:
Long, solid concrete tee pads.
Excellent signage, with additional post markers and even small ground level signs pointing you toward the next hole. I only had to refer to the map once or twice to be sure!!
Also, A and B basket placements, which if you play there frequently obviously gives you different looks.
At the start, a large mailbox with scorecards and the map on the back.

Despite being a predominately wooded course, it was very well manicured... even the "wooded" fairways were well mowed... in fact, there was a gentleman out there mowing the back nine as I played. As it is operated on the property owned by the local Lion's Club, it is obvious they take great pride in the course appearance.

Wooded holes were definitely narrow fairways, but very fair. And a good blend of right and left bend throw placements. Made me work on my weak right bend shots!!

Memorable hole for me:

#16 Moderate distance right bend throw across a creek with a neat little walking bridge to get to the basket.


Cons: The only real con I have is on a couple of transitions, you walk past several future baskets and tees to get to the next one, ie... to go from 4 basket to 5 tee you have to walk along side 12 basket and 13 tee to get there. From 6 to 7 you go across the 13 to 14 path....

That said, they were easy enough to find, just a bit head scratching.

Playing for the first time it was hard to gauge exact basket locations from the tee. If you're a regular, that problem goes away.

Other Thoughts: This was course 4 of 5 on a St Louis to Rolla I-44 road trip and was by far the best of the lot.

Had a great round going and got lulled in, til 17 and 18!! Both with over 500 foot placements and challenging tee shots!! 17 has about an 8 to 10 wide placement of trees all down both sides of the fairway for about 120 feet then it opens up. 18 forces you to make an "S" throw through its opening to get to the open space. Tough way to end!!

Have done over 70 reviews and this is only the third score of "4" or better I have given. Well worth the travel to get there and even made up for the ones that weren't worth it today!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    4/3/2016   5/29/2016
Review By: discohboy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 29.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I liked the challenge of narrow lanes and lots of trees. It made ya really plan your shot in advance. The fairways in the open fields were pretty with the rolling hills and a nice change from being in the trees and bushes.
Cons: Not well marked at times. Ya had to look around a bit to find the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed playing the course. Well worth your time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

1    10/18/2015   10/18/2015
Review By: bmxtim2001@yahoo.com
Played: 45  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good technical course, easy to navigate, fairways were mowed,
Cons: Some of the signs are facing the wrong direction, couldn't find sign for whole 8
Other Thoughts: Don't let some of the short distance holes fool you. If you are looking for a great course to play, this is one of them.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Narrow Passage

1    9/19/2014   9/23/2014
Review By: jjp016
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Provides the opportunity to practice many different shot types. Nice, long tee pads. Fairly easy to navigate.
Cons: Not much opportunity for alternate routes to the basket. You have one narrow path cut into the trees and you have to hit that line.
Other Thoughts: Very good technical course. Very densely wooded. You will be breaking in some discs.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Sunday Play

1    8/31/2014   8/31/2014
Review By: Pbody66
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice layout. I have played many nice courses and this one surprised me given the location. I have driven by it many times but given that you see several baskets in a field next to a park you think "Wide open". Not the case at all. The course only had one hole that threw me as far as directions and that was number two. After you finish hole one just turn to the right and walk out into the field to the tee box and throw to the cut area behind hole one. Other than that it is very well marked, mapped, and has indicators for the current hole location.
Great mix of holes. Challenging with some par fours that are par fours and not just stretched out par threes. You can air it out on several holes that break into or out of the woods into the fields but mostly a placement course. Fair and balanced.
Cons: A map at the beginning showing the overall course layout would have been great. Not much else.
Other Thoughts: I played 12 holes and on the thirteenth tee met a group of three crossing to playing 5 or 6 and was asked to join for doubles. Having not played in a year I agreed to get in more work. Great guys and turned out they were regulars and one was the prez of the local DG club. Had a great time and was really impressed with the course. Back is killing me right now but what a way to get back into the swing err throw of things. Again very impressed with this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rolla's Prime

5+    8/3/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: Semlly
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Full 18 with a mix of wooded and some clearings. Solid layout and signs that help if you haven't played there before. Multiple basket locations, and a nice mix of length and finesse.
Cons: Some holes seem to be the same layout, being straight and having the basket in the woods off the straightaway.
Other Thoughts: It's definitely a fun course and has everything that you could want to work on for improving or enjoying the game.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course #2

5+    6/19/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: jjacobs445
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - course on well-maintained and exclusive area of park, no traffic with non-players
- very well designed with a few wide open field holes and many tight woods holes
- challenging and technical
- multiple pin positions
- tee signage is very clear with pin positions, par info, distance, and hole layout
- concrete tees
- practice basket with distance markers
Cons: - lack of trashcans leads to a fair amount of trash on course
- dense woods and underbrush make losing discs very easy without a spotter
- pine trees lead to lots of stuck discs and penalties
- can get muddy in places after a rain
- ticks
Other Thoughts: this course lends itself to skill shots and high risk/high reward type situations such as the big hyzer spikes on #2, #12, and #14. holes #13 and #17 require a very straight drive or else you are stuck deep in the trees. a beat in midrange will be your best friend here, as a lot of the holes feature ~200' shots with the basket just off to the right. holes #9, #10, #15, #17, and #18 really allow you to bomb some huge drives, provided you make it out of the woods.

i play this course usually at least three times a week if not more. it's a lot of fun and very technical, so not the most beginner friendly but not that intimidating either. if a few more trashcans are put on the course and not placed in obscure spots, i think the trash problem will subside considerably.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Chalenging, but good!

1    9/25/2012   3/25/2013
Review By: nealyb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great baskets and tees, long, challenging, lots of tree cover, tight fairways, well thought out, and great flow!
Cons: Tough, I don't know that that really counts as a Con. I have no really complaints about anything.
Other Thoughts: One of the toughest courses I've ever played. Most of it is in the trees, which means the wind is less of an issue. It takes a pretty long time to play, but it's worth it!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Odd mix

1    12/22/2012   1/10/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park and doesn't seem to have many conflicts with non-disc uses. Many of the holes play through a wooded area, with shorter but dense trees. A few shots tempt you with up and over routes, but the trees are plenty dense to catch and punish a missed line. The wooded shots offer some nice tight lines and a mix of left and right turning holes. Missing the fairway often leaves some room for creative recoveries but can easily lead to bogies or worse.

The rest of the course plays in open rolling fields. There are really minor elevation changes but overall it feels fairly flat. This part of the course offers some longer shots, with some chances to really air out some long drives.

The alternate pin positions change up some of the holes quite a bit, and at least change many of them slightly. The signage is solid, with hole layout and distance. The concrete tees are a good size and have good grip. Navigation is easy here, with signage as needed and well defined paths.
Cons: The course gets a bit repetitive at times, with lots of short wooded holes about the same length, and some wide open long holes that also feel pretty similar. It felt like there was opportunity to be more creative with the wooded holes and mix up the lengths and hole shapes more. I also would have enjoyed the open holes more if they were more into or out of the woods rather than being wide open with no obstacles.

I wish the pin placements were more consistently marked on the signs, it's always a little annoying to have good signs and to still have to walk the hole to see where the basket is. There are holes in the tee signs with bolts, but a couple were missing and a couple others were in the wrong spot when I played.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course challenging but approachable. It can be a little punishing for less accurate throwers, but it's not a course that's going to eat discs. More experienced players will find some nice challenges and tricky lines to hit, though there's not quite enough variety to make it a top level course. This is a fun layout, and worth a stop if you're in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 College Town DG

1    3/19/2011   12/26/2012
Review By: smokey102977
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.7 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: A decent mix of open and tight fairways with some really tight greens. Close to UMR.
Cons: Blind holes, low ceiling, poor parking location.
Other Thoughts: I only played it once but really didn't get much out of it and it was still under construction.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.