Jasper, AL 
North Jasper Park Share
Uploaded By: AlphaGenerator Hole #8 (Taken 4/2016)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
The Dove

1    11/24/2017   2/7/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 296  Reviewed: 266  Exp: 4.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.395 Rating) A short well kept up city park course.
- ACEABILITY - Even local rec players will likely have multiple aces a year here. Five of the first seven holes are sub 200 feet. I personally hit the basket on (1) and chained out on (14). For me, the run at these baskets kept the round slightly interesting.
- CHARACTER - A bunch of comfort items and amenities. There is an adequate course map at hole (1), there is great hole signage, and there are three or four seating areas and trash cans. There is also a practice basket and multiple pin placements on almost every hole. It would be great to add some longer tees, but I don't think there's any room.
- QUICK TO PLAY - For an 18 hole course, they really don't get much quicker. Most walks between holes were under a 100 feet but yet still far enough to avoid playing hazards. I had this course wrapped up solo in 40 minutes and there were other groups on the course. Figure a group of four should be able to tackle this one in less than 90 minutes.
- NAVIGATION - Flawless. A course map directly adjacent to tee (1). A mostly open layout where you can see the next tee sign from every prior basket. Very well done and informative tee signage that shows the direction to the next tee. The baskets are clearly numbered Mach 3s.
- RECREATIONAL FRIENDLY - North Jasper is perfect for players learning the game and has no doubt produced some new disc golf addicts. At around 4,000 to 5,000 feet depending on the basket locations, this course will definitely please recreational players over the nearby course "The Eagle." Several birdie opportunities for even the shortest of throwers.
- TEES - 4 foot by 8 foot concrete tees that are in great condition. Normally I'd say they are on the short side but for this short layout, many players won't need any more.
Cons: Short on imagination and difficulty.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - The course is way too easy for everyone above the middle rec level (875 rating). As an intermediate player with about a 900 rating I shot 14 down. Although there are a bunch of basket placements above 300 feet in length, 8 holes don't have a placement greater than 250 feet. When the baskets are all in the far position, the length of the course stretches out just past 5,000 feet, but even if in this configuration, the open to lightly wooded layout would still be easy to go well under for skilled players. In addition, the shot shaping on this course is very limited. Players looking for this element should head to "The Eagle".
- UNIQUENESS - Lots of straight open shots with a few trees here and there. The signage notes water in play on holes (12) and (14), but they were completely dry and had grass at the base. So they probably only briefly fill up after a good soaking. The hole lengths do vary quite a bit, from 130 feet to 578 feet which is really good. The 578 foot placement on hole (15) is the only listed par 4.
- ELEVATION - Just about none. Hole (5's) basket was on an elongated mound and will almost always be putted from below the basket. Hole (18) looks to be around 10 feet down or so. The rest all appear to change by less than 10 feet.
- RAW BEAUTY - Although the park is well maintained, there is nothing too exotic along the layout. Most of the holes have around an average look them and not one is was worth pulling the phone out to snap a photo for someone who's played 20 courses. By no means an appalling course, it just doesn't have the tree coverage, elevation, or water features that are present on the courses I've scored much higher.
Other Thoughts: North Jasper Park is a completely different animal than the other course in town "The Eagle." If I had to assign a bird name to this course, I'd call it "The Dove." This analogy works with radio stations as well. It's great that a town the size of Jasper has all of its bases covered for the skill levels. North Jasper will definitely be perfect for introductory players through rec, while the other course will act as the maturing player's course. If I lived in town I'd definitely show up here quite often as I do enjoy hunting for aces from time to time. Also a great place to bring the family to teach the kids how to play the game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Putt for Dough @ North Jasper Park

1    11/4/2016   12/10/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 391  Reviewed: 289  Exp: 15.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick, easy, and all the trimmings of a quality 18 hole course, North Jasper is birdie heaven. The park is small, has light to moderate tree coverage, and very little elevation change. There is also a walking trail looping around, a playground and porto potties. The tees are concrete. There are nice signs, but the holes are mostly short and straight forward, leaving little mystery from the tee. All of the baskets were in nice shape. There are two pin locations on every hole except for number 2, and 3 locations for 10, 12, and 15. Need to have good touch in the short game, control of mid range shots is crucial to set up birdies. If you can get makable putts consistently, you can really clean up here. I threw the first five holes using a putter with no run up on my drives, and birdied 1, 2, and 4. 1 and 2 are almost wide open. 3 has a tree in front of the tee you must go over or around, but is only 130', shortest hole on the course. 4 is under some mature trees, but only 165' long, it is a fairly easy rhbh hyzer shot with the putter that got me under the pin. 5 is slightly downhill and the pin is on the front end of a berm that is a few feet above the approach. There are a few trees to either side of the fairway. 6 is also not long, but has a few more trees, and a window with a low ceiling that makes it tougher than the first few holes. 7 is another easy bird if you can get the right line a short distance between a few good sized trees, I did to get me to -4. Number 8 is a little longer, at 276', and does have a couple of trees to either side that can provide some resistance if you can't hit the drive down the middle. Hole 9 is another nice mid range hole that takes an accurate, level throw to avoid being knocked down by tree branches. The back nine is longer, and you will get a few more throws with the driver, but still plenty of chances to get birdies. 10 is on a gradual downhill slope, with trees on the right, and the walking trail to the left, as well as several trees around the pins. 11 is the first hole to exceed 300' in distance, open on the left, and with multiple good sized pines to the right. 12 backs down to 220, with plenty of airspace to go at the pin. Water was pictured on the sign, but it was dry when I visited, same with 14. 13 is also short, but has a pair of trees forming a barrier halfway to the basket, limiting drives to a couple of different lines. I was knocked down early, and threw a poor second shot, building up to a three putt double bogey, and the most frustrating part of the round. I was able to make up a shot on the next hole, 14 is just over 200', and has 2 big pines early right side of the fairway. 15 is the only par 4, 578', and is a bit of an incline. It does have a lot of room to air out a bomb tee shot, with few trees at any point. 16 drops back down in distance, and features a few lines around a stand of pines that protects the basket. 17 is 300', with a few mid sized trees breaking up the flight lines half way down the fairway. 18 is 295' to the short pin, and 339' to the long position where it was when I played it. It is downhill, and a big tree left of the tee makes the long throw a right to left hyzer. I had my favorite driver warmed up by then and hit birdies on the last two holes to get me to 5 under par 50 on the day. Messing up on 13 was the only thing that kept me from a bogey free round, and maybe shooting a 47 or 48. Very friendly all around for newer disc golfers.
Cons: There is not a high degree of difficulty here. Kind of a yawner to the serious players. Tee for hole 3 is close to the playground. Walking trail is near many of the holes, and pedestrians walking dogs or jogging slowed my pace a couple of times.
Other Thoughts: There are a few good holes here, and if you want to practice the short game this is a great course. The park is tidy and pleasant, and the 18 hole layout makes the most out of it. Not a challenge to average players, and lacking the elevation features and distance to raise the level above mildly interesting. Very nicely equipped and maintained, worth a try if you going to be in the area and have the time, but not the best in the region if you are traveling to play new and exciting disc golf courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great for newbies, a pitch & putt for experienced players

1    11/5/2015   11/6/2015
Review By: AlabamaMike
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.4 Years
Pros: - Very well maintained
- Concrete tee pads
- Nice signage
- Restrooms on site
- Multiple trash recepticles
Cons: - Constrained by available space, a bit too short
- Lack of variety in shot making. Almost every shot is straight, or very slightly curved.
- Some holes are really close to private property
Other Thoughts: I'd bring any new player here in a heartbeat. It's a great spot, especially for the very young who might be bored with a full round (a playground is on the grounds.)

 Great Park Course

5+    5/7/2015   5/7/2015
Review By: AlphaGenerator
Played: 95  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Recent additions of concrete tee pads and longer pin locations make this course more challenging. Course is set on a 12 acre plot of land, so it plays fairly quick. The course really makes you work on multiple shots (hyzerflip distance drives, flick, upshots and of course ...putting). Its a fun course for locals and gets a lot of activity through Grip-and-Rip DG club leagues. Grip-and-rip.com

Restroom on site and plenty of trash cans.
Cons: Its a shorter course due to land constraints. Tee signs need updating (hopefully within the month). Concrete pads are too short on the longer holes.

The walking track gets a lot of foot traffic, so you have to be aware of your surroundings when throwing.
Other Thoughts: Its a good course to meet the locals and play a fun casual round. The gas station (Brown's Grocery) has a small selection of discs, in case you are missing something.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short Shaper

1    8/5/2014   9/15/2014
Review By: tailorholley
Played: 74  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: The pavilion is right in the middle of the course, and not far form the parking lot. So it's never a long walk to a hole whether you are playing a tournament or casual round.
The course was very well maintained when I played back in August. Grass was cut, baskets were in good shape (newer disc catchers if i remember correctly), and sidewalks were well managed.
There is a stretch of holes from 7-12 that are very scorable but also are very technical and challenging. By far my favorite holes on the course.
There is a portable bathroom on the course. Always a plus
Pads are concrete Now
Cons: Some of the tee pads were a little short, if you needed to get a good running start for some longer throws.
The course is really short. 5+ holes are 225 or less. One hole is 110 ft.
It is built around a walking trail that is heavily populated. So there tends to be some down time waiting on people to pass by.
Also, 10 is a very long hole, right after some short holes. It causes quite the bog down when the course is busy.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was satisfied with this short, technical course. All my complaints are minor and petty, but I have nothing to wow and marvel at either. It's just a well kept average course in my opinion with friendly people who play there.

 Good Starter Course

1    3/2/2013   3/2/2013
Review By: Windsor
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept course, good signs, different elevations on some holes so not much of the same ole same ole.
Cons: Too short for a lot of people so it is best for players who are just starting out, not much of a challenge because the course is so open you can have ace runs on over half of the holes, right now they only have dirt teeboxes so if it rains you are screwed.
Other Thoughts: Even though it is a short course and not much of a challenge it is pretty fun to play. When they get carpet for the tee boxes it will be a lot better. If you live close to it you need to play it but if you don't then it's not much worth the drive for right now.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course-North Jasper Park, AL

1    8/11/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: kkoether
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well manicured course.
Extremely open course...GREAT for beginners.
Course map at beginning of course.
Cons: Too short of a course for intermediate/advanced players.
Need to print out map prior to playing. Sometimes confusing finding the next hole w/o the map.
Grass tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Would like to see a hole design on the tee signs. That might help???
Overall, a very nice, well-maintained, young course. GREAT for learning the game. If you're looking for a challenge, this course probably isn't for you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

1    7/27/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: Biggzipp
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We were on vacation at Smith Lake is Jasper and it was close!
Great course for the whole family to play because it wasn't too difficult
Actually used the terrain rather well, I've definitely seen worse.
Cons: The majority of the front nine are all in 200ft or less range, this is a little bit "weak sauce"
Tee pads are grass
Pretty easy, and will get boring for advancing players
Other Thoughts: This course is what it is. It's not horrible, I think it's a great course for newer disc golfers, and to introduce others to the game. It plays rather quick and easy. It could improve with concrete pads and better signage, and maybe a slight redesign of the front 9 to make it more challenging. Fun day with the family though!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I Like It!

1    4/17/2011   5/11/2011
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nicely manicured. There are several ace runs. The designer used the land well. I especially like hole 5 where the basket is on a hillock to the right of an area that collects water.
Cons: There are too many holes that are VERY short. The signs have no maps and a time or two I was confused about where I was throwing to.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for beginners but enjoyable for more experienced players as well.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for beginners...

1    10/1/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 18.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Variety of distances, though most holes on the short side (140' - 380')
2. Good course flow
3. Allows for variety of throws (FH, BH, Hammer / Thumber, etc...)
Cons:
1. No tee pads
2. Some holes too short for intermediate / advanced players
3. No permanent bathroom facilities
4. Limited elevation change
5. Limited benches and garbage cans
6. Pedestrian traffic on walking path
7. Single basket placement / Single tee boxes
Other Thoughts: This is a very young course that is probably intended for people new to disc golf. Most of the trees in the park are small / young, there aren't even carpet / rubber tee pads (just grass without markers for the front of the pad in most cases), and while there is a little elevation change, it's mostly negligible. For a starter course, it's great...but when you compare it to other disc golf courses in the Birmingham area, it just doesn't stack up for players that aren't beginners... Not enough long holes, not enough challenge, no water to throw over, no moderate / extreme elevation changes, and a Port-O-Let.

If you live in the area, this may be the best thing going for you, and there's nothing wrong with that...but if you're visiting from out of town, unless you're a beginner this is one worth passing by.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.