Universal City, TX 
Universal City Park Share
Uploaded By: Guru10 Hole #10 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Varied, Technical Course

1    5/13/2017   5/23/2017
Review By: tst3c
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As I've taken some time to stew over a frustrating round here, I find myself wanting to play this course again after a couple days away. Some of the pro's:

- Elevation: Up in Austin, most courses don't offer any elevation variety. This course has a great mix of hills, valleys, oddly placed baskets and brief hikes. Also the rough is punishing elevation-wise, which adds a great element of challenge

- Technicality: The majority of the holes are weaving through forest or through tree-scape, which makes a round enjoyable not only for the shade but also for the challenge. Personally I'm working on straight consistency, so a lot of the holes that run thin are greatly challenging and rewarding.

- Variety: Decent amount of Par 4's, but the Par 3's aren't shy either. Even the 155ft downhill putter hole #5 is followed by 2 bomber holes. Combined with the aforementioned elevation changes, it makes for a nice change of pace course.

- Shot Variety: I throw everything- RHFH, RHBH, Overhead... I got to utilize everything here, which adds a dimension to a course that's difficult to build. Technically you can throw anyway you want always, but for more skilled players having the options to attack courses with their full arsenal really makes a course memorable.

- Signage: Very rarely did I find myself wondering where the next hole was. Admittedly some need updating, but I won't knock a course heavily for that

- Hole #18: I like to finish strong with something to remember about a round, and having a near 400ft downhill bomber hole is a great example of a personal pleasure about a course- a great last hole.

- Parking: It's easy to access either the park (top of the hill) lot or the neighborhood lot that is really close to the first tee
Cons: Some of where I feel this course can improve

- Natural cleanliness- The lack of trash was great, but the course definitely needs some nature cleanup. There was a lot of overgrowth throughout the course that could be addressed. Best response is to not throw that way, of course, but some of it was really lengthy grass and stickers everywhere

- Signage: Needs updating. Some of the distances were whacky and didn't exactly depict the holes very well. Not exactly a con, but for a first round I believed the signage quite a bit and was thrown off a few times.

- Seating: It would be nice to have a few more holes have some seating. This is for improvement, as many holes do.

- Teepads: I could see some gradual improvement with a couple newer pads, but some are very constricted and old. It'd be nice to be able to have some newer pads that are a bit more modern

- Baskets: Some Innova Discatchers, but some seem older than me. Eventually I see these being replaced, but for now make note that some of the baskets aren't in the best shape.
Other Thoughts: I walked away frustrated at this course, not in quality but in personal play (hungover, dehydrated due to poor preparation, sore arm due to bad/pissed off FH form...). After a week or so I'm looking back wanting to play this course again. DGCR rates this as a 3, which is good, but my real-life rating is about a 7.5/8. If I caught this course on a remarkably clean, trimmed day and more baskets were newer, it would go up. I like this course overall and do suggest visiting

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Course

1    2/26/2013   2/27/2013
Review By: tredway
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Not bothered by wind as much through most of the course.
Cons: Some of the holes are confusing as to where the basket is.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I like this course. I am a left handed player and this course favors the righty which is making me learn how to throw righty. Will be playing this one a lot.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Alrighty then

2-4    6/10/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 131  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 16.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Notta bad little course right here. There is jsut about every kind of shot there is here. This course doesnt favor one player over another. It is very fair and plays evenly for the righy and the lefty. Alot of the short holes here have lines that if you dont hit them your score will skyrocket quickly. Most of the greens have some sort of "trick" to them and you have to be aware of to score well. Not a lot of elevation but where there is it is used to the best. The concrete tees are nice here and make for good footing off of the tees. The fun factor is high here because of the variety of shot selection and hole types.
Cons: The grass was very overgrown and there were a lot of debris scattered throughout the course. Navigation is not very easy for a first timer even though I played the old layout and its on the same land. Lots of blind holes and areas where you have to walk around to find the basket or the next tee. You could use a spotter to save time on the blind holes because of the tall grass/debris.
Other Thoughts: Doesnt seem like it would be very beginner friendly. If the debris would get cleaned up and there wasnt knee high grass throughout, it would rank higher. There are some bells by the baskets on the blind holes tpo ring and let the guys on the tee know your clear.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 An Interesting course....

1    12/4/2011   12/4/2011
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 13.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some of the holes are quite fun to play. Even though there's a lot of short holes, I can imagine this course being a fun course to do an ace race with your friends.

Even though the signage, and navigation could be improved, the layout wasn't too confusing for a first-timer like me. I had a map with me, and it's pretty easy to navigate.

There is definitely enough variety in shot selections for many people here, and that is something that this course have to offer.
Cons: Few of the hole designs are well-meaning, but not quite successful. It does feel like this course was designed by a righty, so the course does not quite feel like it's neutral.

Baskets are quite old, and I noticed that few of them were slightly damaged. I realize that those things are expensive to buy, but compared to other courses in the area, the difference in quality is quite substantial.

Few of the pin placements, to me, were not ideal. I can imagine erosion will be going to be a problem for this course in the future. The first obvious example is the hole #13 with the A pin placement.

Tee pads aren't as good as they seemed to be. I was surprised to see that at least couple of them aren't even level.
Other Thoughts: Who is this course for? I can imagine people with all skills level can enjoy this course, because many of the holes are short enough for people who doesn't throw that far (or beginners) but it can be technical for more advanced players.

The proximity of this course to McClain and Live Oak would be something people would like if they wanted to have a nice, long day of playing disc golf.

I can't quite feel like I can justify giving this a course higher rating than I would give Live Oak or McClain Park. (Hey, I haven't reviewed them yet, but they factored in my mind in how I rated this course.)

I'd come back here again if I'm coming to the city for a long day of disc golf. I think I'd play this as a wind-down to either Live Oak or McClain.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.