The Colony, TX 
Bill Allen Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Marty McFly Hole #11 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 376ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Not for newbs

2-4    7/17/2011   10/27/2010
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2011
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: A couple decently fun holes requiring a wide variety of shots - some power holes, some finesse holes. Many difficult holes to par, and some easy birdies.
Cons: Overall, just too many really annoying holes.
Starting off with #1, and the annoying little tree that is right in the line of fire off the tee.
The pond on #6 is a disk swallower, you either need a consistent 350 ft straight drive, or you should lay up. For players with short, but accurate drives (like my wife), it can be too big to get over even with a layup off the tee.
Holes 9-13 have so many trees and tight throwing lanes, it's easy to get frustrated and run up your score if you are not extremely accurate.
Once you get out of the woods after 13, you'll probably have a tough time enjoying the last 5 holes, which would otherwise be fun.
Other Thoughts: I played this course again, and it was a lot better than I remember, or else I've just gotten a lot better.

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Much Improved

1    9/14/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 391  Reviewed: 208  Exp: 29.5 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow, I was not expecting much, but I found this course to be fun to play.

#1 short, hard left
#2 short, hard right
#3 very short, over the creek, kind of tight. This is a must get birdie.
#4 275 foot hole with a wide open fairway and the basket in the brush with danger on the right.
#5 very long shot over the crest of the hill. This is a good hole with no trees.
#6 Very good hole with a 375 shot across the pond.
#7 Nice open turnover shot. The brush near the basket is unforgiving.
#8 I don't know the line for this one, it is almost a U-turn shot to the right. I bet Thumbers would like this hole.
#9 short little hyzer (almost aced this one)
#10 open shot 3/4 down the fairway with the last 1/4 being about 10ft wide entrance to the green.
#11 very tight slight s curve shot.
#12 Very tight big s curve shot. Impossible 2, lay up for an easy 3.
#13 very hard L shot to the left. Maditory left of a tree to keep you out of the street and parking lot OB on long shots.
#14 most ace-able hole on the course. Short shot over a stinky drainage ditch.
#15 Very nice long hole with trees to the left and right of the fairway.
#16 Nice hole with a lefty and righty shot. The basket is elevated on the side of a hill with a drainage ditch behind it of errant throws.
#17 Nice long hard right shot. Wide open elevated tee shot with the basket past a row of large trees and drainage ditch. .
#18 Nice end of a round with a straight shot though the trees over some OB water (when wet) ditches.
Cons: Tee boxes are crunched granite. The flood last week did some major damage to several of the tee pads.

Some of the hole are just too short. A little more clearing to make some of the holes longer would have been better.

VERY long walk from 12 to 13
Other Thoughts: I will be playing here many more times. I only shot even today and know I can do better. Need to par those tight holes (10-12)


7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good but challenging

5+    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: Nonbigarmed
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The expansion is a very nice change. Many of the holes have become much more technical and challenging, requiring a higher degree of accuracy instead of just being open to the most powerful throws. I personally liked the 11th and 12th holes, and found their challenge to be more like some of the most difficult courses I have played.
Cons: The 6th hole is not friendly to anyone who would be rated lower than white (using the PDGA player rating system). The shot across the pond is too long for these beginning players, and the grass is much too high. An alternate tee position for these players for this hole would help to alleviate frustrations on this hole.
Other Thoughts: This course used to be a nice, easy 9-hole warmup. It is now a technically challenging 18 that will make a player be very precise with their shooting. The abundance of shade on many of the holes is also quite welcome in the Texas summer.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Update

2-4    8/28/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: bumpspeed
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great selection of holes. What used to be a rinky dink pitch and putt is so much better. You will need most of the shots in your bag.

Use your head. Don't just throw for it. Know where the pin is. This course will bite you for a mis-placed drive or approach.
Cons: Mulituse park. Walkers can be and issue on a couple of holes and kids playing in the grass can get in the way. A buddy to watch out for your drives on hole 5 is nice.

I understand wanting to make some tight holes in the woods, but 11 and 12 could be widened by a foot or so to be a bit more playable.
Other Thoughts: Now that it is 18 holes and ALOT more challenging this is back into my rotaion.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better than expected

5+    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 143  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. This is a very clean course with plenty of parking.

2. Layout is very interesting. It requires some good shot selection to make it into some of those small spaces inbetween trees.

3. Makes use of the hills and some of basket palcements create "blind" spots. Elevation shots with dog legs are awesome.
Cons: 1. Like others have mentioned, there really needs to be a bridge on hole 3.

2. People actually use this park for other thing than disc golf. You really have to watch out on some of the tosses, this could add an additional 15 to 20 minutes to a game (for those of yall who really are impatient).

3. Some of the "cattails" may need some trimming around the pond. Makes it even more intimidating to throw over.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course quite a bit. It is nested in a community so you really would not know its there. There are plenty of trash cans, so please do not litter.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course if you just have fun

1    8/27/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: razorsmith.com
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course that winds around a pretty family area park. Great location and easy to get to.

Good mix of left and right playing holes
Long holes, short holes
Wide open(5) and in the trees(11-12)
Water on a few holes. Easy creek shot on 3 made for a fun birdie. Laid up on the pond on 6. (No arm/confidence to clear that bad boy.)
Enjoyed 11-12. Guess since I hit the gaps I will be one of the rare ones that like those holes.
Great teebox signs.

A really enjoyable day.
Cons: Needs the bridge on 3. Shortens the walk around quite a bit, and the poor pallet that is in the water now will not last to long.
The reeds in the pond on 6 are huge. I like the intimidation, however putting a disc in there is a scary thought.
Some of the teepads had 'rutts' in the last 12 inches of runout. Watch those ankles.
The basket on 8 is hidden. Look for it when you walk to the 7 basket, otherwise you will overthrow your teeshot thinking it is farther than it is.
Other Thoughts: Lost blue Z Avenger SS with white stamp on 7 in the bushes to the right. If you find I would love back.

Only getting from 12-13 was odd, however the course signs are great. There are a couple of pinhole shots, but they are really fun. Tunnel shots were great. Would be great to have a port-a-let. Good shade under the pavilion, however I think this is probably taken up any weekend by parties.

Fun course and great location.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 quick review...

5+    8/22/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: danielvstone
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: challenging, good variety, fun...

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS COURSE...
Cons: brand new, so cut into some really overgrown and wild areas... easy to loose discs in brush and weeds.
Other Thoughts: I love to run through this course as often as possible. GREAT, GREAT course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 extreme makeover

2-4    8/10/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 300  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great new layout
-layout flows relatively well
-great tee signs with distance, par, and very detailed map
-mostly brand new DGA baskets, great condition
-some trash cans
-large variety of distances and types of shots, good mix of lefty v. righty
-variety of wooded holes and open holes
-water in play
-makes good use of some elevation
-scorecards at first tee with course map on the back (essential for first timers!)
Cons: -tee pads (crushed rock) are in decent condition now since they are new but they'll probably need constant attention to stay that way
-hole 3 really needs a bridge to cross the creek
-trash cans at each tee would be nice but there are many around the course
Other Thoughts: This course has a great new layout that will certainly make it a much more popular DG destination. I never played the old 9-hole layout so I can't compare but the new one is lots of fun. The course flows pretty well but there are a few spots with tricky navigation and/or longish walks. Long walk between 3 and 4, 9 and 10, 12 and 13. Finding the tee for 9 may be problematic as well as figuring out where to go after 11 and 12. Another thing I didn't like about the layout was the walk from basket 15 to tee 16 crosses back over 15's fairway. Back to back groups will have to wait awhile on that hole.

*Navigation is aided by the trash cans. If there is a tee tucked in the treeline, there is usually a trash can on the edge of the trees indicating where to go.

The tees and baskets are in great condition, for now. Most of the baskets are brand new DGA's but the tee pads are crushed rock and I am sure will get worn and rutted with time. Already some are starting to show the mesh underneath and as noted above. Better than dirt in the long run but still problematic.

I really liked the amount of variety in hole shapes. There are a couple hyzer shots (1, 13), a few big right turns (2, 8, 17), and the most of the remaining holes have many obstacles that force you to shape lines. You throw over a pond on 6 and creeks come into play on 3, 14? (is there water in all those bushes?), and possibly 17 and 18 (dried up in the summer?).

My big complaint here is that holes 11 and 12 are completely retarded. The "fairways" are not fair at all: 10' wide tunnel (15' max on 12) carved through thick trees with heavy rough. This would be okay if the shape were playable but they have awkward turns that mean your only option is to lay up a 100' shot in order to have a shot after that. LAME.

Maybe a little trimming will improve 11 and 12 and hopefully some of the amenities will be addressed with time (especially a bridge on hole 3!!). All in all, a great new addition (kind of) to the north Metro area. I made the drive from Denton and it was definitely worth the 30 min drive.

***Update***
There are many new navigational aids on the course. Signs point the way after holes 9 and 12, the main trouble spots. The fairways on 11 and 12 also seem to be a bit more realistic now. Hole 12 is much better, you just need to hit the landing zone and 11 isn't so bad anymore either, especially now that the tee box is finished. Course is in great condition!


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bill Allen Rundown!!!

1    8/4/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great T-signs
-Scorecards w/ map on back provided for you at hole #1.
-Terrain variety - trees, shrubs, hills, water (creeks and ponds)
-Shot Variety - wide open, xtremely tunneled, low ceiling, drastic doglegs, really short and really long holes Has it all.
-Good attempt at t-pads (crushed rock) and quite large.
-Nice surrounding neighborhood and park.
-Very clean park. Really nice.
Cons: -Non-concrete pads.
-Somewhat difficult to navigate your first time through (otherwise fine)
-Could run in to other park goers
-Still a lot of unnecessary brush that could be cleared out.
-Water crossing in hole #3's fairway could use a bridge for sure.
Other Thoughts: Greaty course to play. Bring your technical/finesse game and your big arm. This course has it all. Not a beginner course to say the least. Love that the course is tucked back away in a nice quiet neighborhood.

Definately worth the stop if you're in the area and definately worth a drive if you're not to far.

Very impressed with this course, it's cleanliness, hole variety, and it's use of the land provided. Great obsticles.

Check it out. You won't be disappointed.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New and Improving

2-4    7/24/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: DGRZ001
Played: 180  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 40.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots - short, long, open, tight. Seems to be good use of available land. The teeboxes are very large and easy to find, once you know where to look. This course, now with 18 holes, is much more challenging and interesting than the previous 9 hole course.
Cons: A few holes seem silly to me, but maybe that is because they are so difficult - Hole #11 comes to mind, mainly the orientation of the teepad, and Hole #14. With the old concrete pads still in place, it is a challenge to navigate the course.
Other Thoughts: I finally was able to finish a complete round out here - I hooked up with a couple other "old men", which helped me to not only slow my pace, but also to help keep me hydrated, which is a MUST this time of year.

This course will challenge you, frustrate you, and have you wanting to come back again. Yes, the course is still raw, and you want to stay on the fairway, but I would rather have the course open now than to wait until it has been manicured.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.