Osage City, KS 
Eisenhower State Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #8 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
I Like Ike

1    1/1/2017   1/6/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 342  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eisenhower State Park on the North shore of Lake Melvern is home to a very nice 18 hole disc golf course. There are some nice views of the lake as you walk the grassy links, but water is rarely in play. Good changes in elevation on a few holes, and lots of room to wind up and uncork some bombs.

There are concrete tees marked with brown posts that indicate the hole number. Each tee is also stenciled with the hole number, par, and distance. The pads are very long, and I was not used to having so much room to run up, often releasing from the middle of the box, with 6 more feet of concrete in front of me. Baskets are Discatchers that were all in pretty decent shape.

There is often tall grass to each side of the fairways, that could hide a disc. Patches of trees can be found here and there, and they can get pretty thick in places, too. I thought the course designers did a nice job using the few trees and elevation changes to create different shaped throws that keep the course interesting and fun.

The shortest hole has the most trees, on the 168' hole 10. It has a very narrow line that favors a RHFH throw. I tried my best, but got cut down half way there and wound up taking a two putt bogey. The longest hole is right after on hole 11, a 578' par 4 that is pretty much flat, straight, and WIDE OPEN. I had a good chance to birdie this one but missed a 30' putt into the wind.

The signature hole, or my favorite one at least, was number 15. It is from the top of a tall hill, over the water in a cove, to a basket 405' away on the other side that is protected in front and to the left by lots of trees. It is perfectly set up for a RHBH hyzer, and I thought I nailed it, but my drive came up about 40' short, safely over the water, but not far enough to get past the trees. Clanged a lucky toss off the bucket for a near birdie, but had to settle for par.
Cons: There are no tee signs, they would be a nice addition, if just for the few holes that are blind from the tee.

There is a $5 fee to enter the park, and you have to stop and get a dashboard/window sticker upon entry.
Other Thoughts: I played the course at Eisenhower State Park on New Years Day on my way home from Emporia. I played way better than I did at the Eagle DGC that morning, but was still +7 (62). I had 5 bogies, including a pitiful miss on a 10' putt on 3, and a double bogey on the last hole. No birdies for me on this trip, but there are some holes where the chances aren't bad.

The wind was pushing some shots around, but I found the course to be a bit more forgiving than some of the others I had played that weekend. Still challenging, but not quite as long, usually with very fair lines and a good mix of looks.

I liked the course a lot, and it looked like it would be a fun place to spend some time doing other things, like camping, fishing or playing on the water. The park was extremely clean and well maintained. I would like to go back for another round, and would say it is worth checking out if you are not too far away.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Day at the Lake

1    4/12/2013   4/27/2013
Review By: DisCat13
Played: 110  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The extremely large tee pads may be the first thing you notice, giving you plenty of room to get a bomb going. You will need bombs too because the length of this course is challenging. Not all holes are long, there is a great mix but the longer holes out-weigh the shorter by a few.

The markers are fantastic. On each pad it tells you the hole number, the par, and how many feet the hole is. Plus each tee location can be seen from a distance due to the brown stakes with hole numbers on them, that sit behind each pad.

The park is extremely well taken care of. The course is trimmed and trash is virtually non-existent.

The scenery is exquisite...as far as Kansas goes at least. Many holes play close to the lake and it is great to just stop every once in a while and take in the view.

Lastly, the uniqueness of the course has to be mentioned. #10 is a tree bruising adventure that is unlike any of the other holes. While #15 is an extreme bomb over a lake cove. Also along the way you will see a few permanent fixtures that add to the uniqueness.
Cons: One con could be the location. Although it is definitely worth it to venture to, you have to travel a bit out of the way to get here.

Pay to play. I never mind spending the $4.00 it costs to get into Kansas State Parks to play a course, but yes there are many other free options.

There could definitely be some more benches and trashcans around. Although the course was pristine, I didn't notice many trashcans at all. There are a few shelter houses that have benches but you only run into these on a couple of holes.

The wind. The wind off of the lake can be extreme. Some might consider this a pro because it adds to the challenge, but it can cause some major frustrations while putting.
Other Thoughts: This course is well worth the visit no matter where you are coming from. Plus, Emporia is not far away with some great courses of their own too!

Probably the coolest thing is to sign and read the guest book. It goes back years and it is fun to see what people wrote about their round from months and years past. It is in the mailbox next to #1 tee.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Eisenhower ST. Park

1    10/9/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: bigboyjones
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great Baskets and really open. Variety of hole lengths. Some challenges. Makes you throw different styles
Cons: Super long course. Gets mowed every 1-2 weeks.
Lake hazard
Other Thoughts: If you dont want to maybe lose discs or get some scratches on you. Don't play this course

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    12/17/2011   12/18/2011
Review By: SteezeOG
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Offers a variety of shots to challenge your game. A great length offering a chance for average players to still compete. Front nine has a great flow to the layout. Well maintained fairways and facilities. Course is never crowded with other players and doesn't intrude too much on the picnic areas. Best concrete teeboxes I've ever played on. Clear distance and hole markings on teepads. Clear signs to the next hole.
Cons: Back nine layout feels disjointed compared to front nine. Newer course with not a lot of wind blocking trees. A lot of the holes are wide open and don't offer much of a challenge except length and wind. State park charges a vehicle fee but it's nominal. On nice weekends or holidays you will have to play around campers and picnic goers.
Other Thoughts: This is such a nice up and coming course. In twenty years when all the young trees have come up it will be amazing. Don't miss out playing this course. Just go on a not so windy day.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice new state park course

1    7/20/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 346  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 14.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good intermediate caliber course with decent length and varying distances. Has all the basic amenities (concrete pads available. Loops back to the parking lot after hole 11. Flows logically. Challenging enough for advanced players to enjoy, but not so overwhelming that less experienced players can't enjoy it. Makes good use of the trees that are available. The cove shot on Hole 15 is awesome, as are the views of Melvern Lake from several of the holes. Its in a remote location, so it won't be crowded.
Cons: Incredibly open for the most part with a wooded perimeter. Not that the trees aren't in play but you see that lefty hyzer shot with trouble to the right hole a few too many times. If you go into the trees, good luck getting it out as the woods are pretty thick. Some orientation problems getting to the other side of Hole 15.
Other Thoughts: This course came about as a surprise in the summer of '10 thanks to the efforts of a local player and starts to fill in a nice chain of courses between Emporia and Topeka providing another good excuse to not take the turnpike. Its a little new and a bit raw right now, but I think it will grow in nicely with some play and perhaps some more trees planted. $4.20 per vehicle fee ($3.70 during off months) to get into the park.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    10/3/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: mm1960
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: all holes have large tee pads. Course is mowed well and kept nice at all times. Course is fun to play because of hills, trees and water.
Cons: The tee pads need to have dirt and grass seed around them
Other Thoughts: Love this course because of it's lake views

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.