Layout Extinct

Venice, FL 
Pinebrook DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: prerube Hole #1 (Taken 12/2016)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Ace runs

2-4    1/14/2017   2/14/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 140  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.063 Rating) A heavily wooded, and extremely short and technical course.
- ACEABILITY - All of the holes are highly aceable, You are probably five to ten time more likely to ace here than at a normal course. A great place for a junior player to get a first ace.
- MAINTENANCE - Most of the non wooded areas appear to be constantly mowed, trimmed and manicured. I don't recall seeing any trash on my visit.
- QUICK PLAY - A single could easily complete a full 9 in under 30 minutes first time thru. Groups of four would probably finish in under 45 minutes.
- CHARACTER - Pinebrook is probably about average in terms of character. There is adequate hole signage showing hole layout and distance. There are multiple pin placements (A and B) at every hole. There are concrete tees. There is a good amount of seating, (bench and picnic tables) as well as a shelter. Most of the tees are well shaded, and there are restrooms in the park if you're willing to walk. Probably the biggest character thing that's missing (other than nine more baskets) is a practice area and course map. (see cons)
- CHAINS - All the baskets look nearly new and have heavy chains.
- CHILL AREAS - There are a bunch of secluded nooks with seating to take a break in..
- SPACING - A surprisingly well spaced out layout with no chance of running one into another fairway. The walk to the next hole is generally not too far with perhaps hole (9) back to (1) being an exception.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Despite the tight fairway lines, I believe this would be a great beginners and Juniors course. No water and a short layout.
- LOCATION - A ten minute drive from I75. Great for a quick 30 minute pit stop and then head for a bigger course.
Cons: Too short for most players
- DIFFICULTY - Too short and not a challenge to advanced/pro level players. Advanced players should have no problem being well under. Pros should be able to shoot all birds from time to time.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. no more than 5' elevation change throughout the entire course layout.
- NAVIGATION - The map on the DGCR site is not current, nor could I find a current version online after my round. It appears the course got a recent update. Holes (1) thru (3) are not accurate to the map. It took me awhile, but I eventually found hole (1) tee north of the tennis ball court..
- OVERGROWTH - A surprising amount of overgrowth despite such a short layout. I was accurate enough to stay out of it, but I could see some rookie players wrestling among the thorns and vines.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves in terms variety are well below average. All the holes are 200 feet long or shorter, except hole 2 pin placement b. There are no water hazards, no doglegs, no open shots, and no overhead plays. I will say however, that despite the short length, using only a putter will not optimize a players scoring. Several holes require a low skipping pocket shot for the birdie and ace opportunity.
Other Thoughts: A great beginners, junior and rec course. Although Pinebrook DGC won't challenge those with a seasoned skill level, it will however provide a bunch of fun tight tunnel ace runs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/11/2015   5/12/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quirky course that borders on what some would consider a novelty course. A few holes are short and open, similar to what might be found at any park rec course anywhere. The others play under a canopy of trees and though narrow wooded paths. These are very short, 150 feet at the longest and require specific flight paths. While fun, they are extremely-based. For a couple, you basically throw directly into a tree and hope to hit a gap between branches. It feels a bit like mini disc golf with branches essentially acting as a windmill.
It's nicely appointed and the signs are accurate proving an interesting introduction to the game for a new players and a unique diversion for a veteran. I can't imagine a round taking more than twenty minutes and it is fun throughout if not ever much of a challenge. A bunch of quick flicks and near-impossible gaps that allow for ace runs if they are hit.
Cons: The pros are the cons here. It's a novelty course at times and uninteresting at remaining times. Interesting to play once while driving down 75 but not worth a second visit unless you are local. To an experienced player this is going to be 3-4 long puts plus an handful of nags.
 

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Better than being bitten by a gator

2-4    4/1/2011   1/11/2012
Review By: Grungedude42
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park was clean, and in a nice neighborhood.
Signage and tees were in good shape.
Thick trees used well as obstacles, helped define the holes.
Tricky layouts help polish hyzer shots, fun ace runs.
Cons: -Short. Leave your drivers at home. I wound up using the nearby soccer field afterwards to stretch out a Wraith and get it out of my system.
-Holes far too narrow, but ok for the little space investment.
Other Thoughts: Played it while on vacation, wished a better course was available nearby. I will likely play it again this year, unless I want to explore.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Break From Beach

1    9/10/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: 1978
Played: 254  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I enjoyed my break from the beach here. Tee pads were sufficient. Signage helped. The park was clean and safe. This is a great beginner park. Even advanced players can practice here with putters and mid ranges trying to hit tight lines. There was a varying array of holes and many looked quite different. This is the perfect place to bring someone for their first round of disc golf. It breeds confidence and the desire to keep playing. I appreciated being able to leave the beach, get some lunch, and get in a quick round that everyone could enjoy, before continuing on to vacation stuff.
Cons: This course is the only one in the area and it is not to the level that would inspire great golf. Holes were all really short. Many offered less than 6' of a putting green. The trees protecting the baskets were neat to look at but too crowding to be on a disc golf course. Even the most overgrown holes were not hard 2's and I could see someone getting bored here quickly. The course doesnt separate players and might frustrate better players who see beginners playing at the same level. The course basically plays around a spot of "woods" counter clockwise...so basically a majority of the holes are hyzers if not totally straight.
Other Thoughts: I'd play here again if I was collecting teeth in Venice..however, I wouldn't detour a trip to stop here. All in all a decent course for the area. I would play here if I lived nearby. It just doesnt hold up in layout, design, and looks to 3 rated courses in more developed disc golf towns.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.