Borger, TX 
Johnson Park Share
Uploaded By: Bassclown Hole #7 (Taken 12/2010)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Wear good shoes, tall socks and maybe pants!

1    5/27/2020   6/23/2020
Review By: Tim_the_Enchanter
Played: 156  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Note: This course has been redesigned since the previous reviews

-Awesome disc golf terrain, lots of elevation and trees in play, cool variety of shots
-Nice baskets
-Plenty of benches
-It seems like the redesign possibly made this a better course
Cons: -Since the redesign, this course is super confusing, a map/udisc is a must. The baskets all have the numbers from the old layout (I assume), for example hole 1's basket is actually labeled as 14. Even with udisc, we spent a lot of time trying to figure out where to go
-Unlike the previous reviews, there were no teesigns
-All tees were rubber mats, but some seemed like they were just plopped down on top of the rocks, some very uneven
-The terrain and rough are very unforgiving, even dangerous in places if your shot goes awry.
-Lots of trash scattered throughout, not just litter but some big things like old broken water tanks
Other Thoughts: Of the courses I played in the Texas panhandle, this was the most memorable. Definitely rugged and adventurous, and really cool features, notably the red cliffs and canyon walls.

I made the mistake of wearing shorts and ankle socks. Several times in the round I had to take my shoes off to pick all the foxtails out of my socks. And the shrubs are hard and stabby (mesquite, maybe?), if you get stuck in one, be prepared for some minor agony.

Most memorable holes: Hole 6 is a long dogleg right that follows the cliffside of the canyon--good to have a spotter in case you go off to the right into the thick rough. Hole 8 plays from the top of 6's cliffside, a cool shot that crosses over the canyon. Hole 12 is an odd one that has a 90 degree dogleg with a mando and OB long, unique to say the least

All in all, a really cool course. If they can get some decent signage, fix the basket numbering, and level out some of the tees, I would give this a 4.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the rough

1    2/27/2018   3/1/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 982  Reviewed: 352  Exp: 33.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee signs on all but one hole.
Rubber tee pads in good shape on many holes.
good map at the parking area of hole 1
VERY good variety of holes
great use of natural fairways
Cons: area is not your typical park, it is not mowed on a regular bases for most of the holes. That makes the rough, rough.
#7 did not have a tee pad that I could find. I finally figured out the construction took out the original tee box area.
Other Thoughts: I did not expect this when planning this trip.

What a layout, what a variety of types of holes.

you start off on hole 1, from the parking lot, you have a cement tee pad throwing down across a grassy area with the basket on the other side of a small creek.

#2 throws back to the side of the hill by the parking lot.

Then you start to go back into the interesting area. #3 was in the B position today and made for a nice hyzer.

#4 longer hole in the B position up a dirt rode around the end of the pool buildings.

Then you get into the very interesting area. #5 was over some rough, could not see the basket from the tee. Lots of clear areas, but you might wind up in a tough bush to throw out of.

Hole 6 is similar to 5, but you have a nice hill to the left.

Good thing I had a map with me, this part of the course is little tricky. There is a "for fun hole" near #6 basket listed as "hole 19" Don't throw this yet of there are others on the course.

Based on the map, hole 7's tee is in an area they are doing construction. I have no idea where people are tee'ing off from now. I looked all over the place. Saw several good spots you could tee from at the top of the hills, almost threw one from up there too. I would up just throwing from the street but played the hole as a island hole with the rocks surrounding the basket.

Hole 8 throws back across the road, down a dirt road. In the B position, you can make a run for it even though you can't see the basket, there is a backstop of a hill behind the basket.

Now go to hole 9, this is where you can make a quick throw for hole 19 and finish the hole later. My classic rock literally was under the basket. Short elevated shot across the canyon of a creek to the hill on the other side.

Hole 9 is almost a signature hole. Nice natural dogleg to the right with a cliff on your left and a drop to the creek on your right. I had not played here before I just threw a straight Roc shot into the cliff, I had an easy up shot from there to the basket that was past the lift station building. Fun hole.

Hole 10 is fun too, from a little hill across the dirt road, up a big hill. Almost a 45 angle up the hill. With the wind, this was a tough shot.

Hole 11 has got to go down as the signature hole on the course. From the top of the hill, the highest in the area, across the canyon to a hill on the other side of the creek. Not too far, but you better make it. The rough is bad on both left, right and short of the hill.

After those last 3 holes, the next several were on the boring side.

#12 was to the left of the tee pad, hyzer shot landed near the basket
#13 was a pitch and putt shot to the left
#14 decent shot up the middle
#15 nice long shot along the creek
#16 boring shot over a dirt field
#17 boring shot back over the creek. long, but still an easy hole.
#18, hard to find if you don't know where it is, back up the hill by the pool, tees down the side of the hill behind where basket #1 was.

Then the long walk back to your car. I have had worse, but I hate it when the last hole is not near the parking lot. I threw hole #2 again just because.

Would I play here again?

Oh yea, I want to play here again, I would even consider driving out of my way to play this course again. This is the most challenging course in the Panhandle area i have played.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

1    5/7/2017   6/1/2017
Review By: thechriswaterman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful to look at very fun and challenging layout. Definitely my favorite course I've played.
Cons: There is one hole that is hard to find its a 100yds away.
Other Thoughts: Wear good shoes,don't play it in or after rain,take plenty of water. There are probably 3 holes that shouldn't be played if your a beginner or are afraid of losing a disc.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Epic Course-Must Play

1    7/27/2014   7/29/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 59  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of different terrain and obstacles. Three great signature holes in a row, 11 being the best. Great use of terrain, elevation, limited trees (it is the panhandle), Creek (mostly dry). Variety in length as well.
Cons: Not much. It is tough terrain, but that is not a con for me. Could be cleaned a bit. Sometimes a little tough to find next teebox.
Other Thoughts: This is a course in an out of the way place. You would never expect a course this good to be in this place. There are elevated shots and shots from below and around and through things.
You do need to be in some kind of shape to play this course. Good signage but tough to find the next teebox sometimes. Make sure you have the map with you and it makes it much easier.
I have heard about signature holes and even played some, but never really thought there was much special about them. But not here. Starting with 9-Long shot along a cliff with a steep drop on the other side down to a creek. 10-220' drive up a cliff to a basket on the edge of a cliff. 11-Epic shot across a canyon.
Great variety. No hole is extremely long just to make a long ridiculous hole. Seems to be purpose in the length of every hole.
If you are even close to this area it is a must play. I would give a five but I have never seen a perfect course. But this is close. Will play this every time I am up this way.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    3/19/2014   3/23/2014
Review By: txdive88
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Unique and challenging course. Several holes use the terrain to force you to use a shot you may not normally use. The course is mostly secluded, so there's rarely any interference to your play.
Cons: It is a very rugged, long course. What makes the course great, also may make it challenging for players that are in poor shape. Forget bringing a push cart or a stroller. You will most likely find every sharp, pokey type of plant known to man on this course. It's a long couse, so a quick round will take approximately 1.5 hrs.
Other Thoughts: If you are passing even remotely nearby, you'd really be missing out if you didnt come play this course. I've met lots of players from other states that go on and on about what an awesome course this is in the middle of nowhere. If you're looking for something other than a stroll through a park style course, this is it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What a place to start playing!

5+    12/29/2010   2/4/2011
Review By: Bassclown
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tough course that makes you use ALOT of different throws! Punished for bad throws. Very good workout and challenging!
Cons: Not for the newbie at all! During the summer you really need to watch where you step (snakes)!
Other Thoughts: My first 5 rounds ever where at this course and it was a living nightmare for me! But it was a lot of fun! I learned a lot about trying different throws because I had to. Very good workout especially if you throw as bad as I do. Accuracy is the key here!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/20/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: tyocky
Played: 51  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: EXTREMELY CHALLENGING. I've played a lot of tough courses but this one takes the cake. I gave it a score of 4 out of 5 based solely on it being so challenging.
Cons: The terrain is extremely rugged and difficult to walk through at times. Steep cliffs, landslide type hills, every type of thorny, prickly, blood drawing plant imaginable. Just getting through the course is an accompishment in itself and quite a workout. Any players who have physical limitations due to health or age will have a lot of trouble with the terrain.
Other Thoughts: Firsty, be sure to get a map from the proshop building up above 18's basket. The course starts off pleasant. Throwing from an elevated tee over a pretty grassy meadow to a basket tucked into some trees. It was a nice and "normal" level of challenging. The next hole or two are about the same level but the terrain gets a tiny bit more rugged with each. By hole 6, you are way back into the wilderness and then suddenly the course turns EVIL and INSANE. It became more of an endurance test and not so much about making good disc golf shots. Honestly by the end I was kinda pissed. Granted I had my kids walking with me but they were actually pretty good considering. Don't bring your family on this course and be sure to bring a lot of water and good shoes. I'm glad I played it but I doubt I will ever play it again. The Pro shop should sell some kind of t-shirt or sticker saying "I survived Johnson Disc Golf Course" I would have bought one.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  watch for wild life

1    9/18/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: South_Paw
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: lots of change in elevation and the view was beautifull the corse just got better every hole.
the wild life is nice to see something you dont get to see much of. There is always danger in every throw. Getting across the water was very easy thanks to the bridge
Cons: tee pad not mark well. and direction to the next hole are not mark well. you did more looking for the disc then u do playing the hole sometimes. WATCH FOR PORCUPINES.
Other Thoughts: could use more trash can and a bathroom also would be nice to have a display bord with a garphic of the corse map

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Very Hard

5+    7/5/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: truckergemi
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very difficult course for anyone looking for a real challenge. Great baskets and a beautiful course.
Cons: Can be very difficult to find your way around the course if you have never played it. The course is WAY too long. Every hole is a par 3 but there is several holes that would be rated par 4's at any other course. Can be very very frustrating for anyone who is not a pro.
Other Thoughts: Hole 11 is one of the coolest holes you will ever play. You throw from an elevated cliff side down to a lower cliff side across a valley.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.