Disc Golf Center
Wyandotte, MI 
Wyandotte Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: MisterJ Hole #7 (Taken 5/2017)
3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Needs Work

2-4    5/9/2017   5/10/2017
Review By: MisterJ
Played: 30  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 0.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic - I'm not saying this is beautiful park by any means. There are a few tree, some grass, it's a small Wayne County park, and it was clean. I just couldn't say it was a CON.

TeePads/Baskets - The baskets are fine, easy to see, most/all have the hole number well written on them. The park is known as a grass teepad park, so knowing this, the teepads are all right. Having said that, I believe at least 5 of the Tee-Offs are near walking paths which run in the same directions as the hole which allow for asphalt tee-pads. Overall, teepads and baskets, not too bad.

Fun - It's a real struggle to say fun was a Pro for this course. There weren't too many people during the school week at lunch in the spring-time, but there were enough to cause disruptions in your game. The ground was soggy and sloshy, and with a lack of variety and lack of people to talk to or things to look at, it is tough. Based on my couple of visits, I had fun exploring, but that would wear off quick if it stayed like this forever. But I assume I can help some of the easy short-comings, and some wetness will subside and the fun level will increase as the weather improves.

Maintained/Bugs - This is probably the brightest star. No bugs at all. They cut the grass, blow, trim trees, this place is very well cared for. I would be surprised if you see debris for long as well. But the one CON on this, too much maintenance, their are work trucks parked all over the course and driving down the walking paths.

Signage - The signs are just barely passable as of May 2017. They are 4x4 posts signifying the teepads. They have been marked and painted to signify hole # and direction of the basket. They aren't great, but with a small course this is just enough to make them passable if they hold up.

Locatability - First off, the park is marked, but I came in a one way entrance into the parking lot. And leaving the park is a maze of one way streets that luckily I paid attention to, I'm not used to one way streets or even watching for it. That in itself isn't as easy as most parks. There is now a course map, and the posts are labeled enough to help guide you along and with the shortness of the course, I believe just about anyone should be able to get around this course.
Cons: Challenge - Not too much of a challenge. Flat, no water (except for the ground being soggy). There are some strategically placed trees, and oddly enough I hit more trees hear than in a densely forested course. The biggest challenge is avoiding walkers, grass-cutters, ball-players, and city trucks parked in the middle of the fairways. But if you wait a while, all these things move on their own and the challenge subsides.

Variety - If by variety you mean (1 tree, straight and flat) or (2 trees, straight and flat), or (3 trees straight and flat), or (2 trees and a building/fence) then yes there is variety. Otherwise, no... no variety.

Congestion - I am saying this is a CON. I was only here a couple times, for very short periods of time yet I had to skip over holes due to work trucks parked in the fairways (FYI my picture is proof). I almost got run over right after my drive off 6 when walking down the walking path as another work truck drove right at me and didn't flinch playing chicken (I lost). I had to wait on multiple holes because walkers wouldn't take too kindly, or may not even know what to do when I yelled heads up or four, so I just waited for all of them to be well clear.
Other Thoughts: What's holding it back from higher rating - Keep the course as 9 holes, but make it longer, there is more room, or move some of the holes in such a way that more holes are away from the walking paths, and after moving it, if the holes could be positioned by walking paths or concrete pads could be added, this would result in another .5 increase. I don't know if much else can be done as this is a multi-use park. (As of putting this review in I have completed some of the above items, but not enough to change my score)

Kid Friendly - Yes, this is definitely a kid friendly course, relatively short and easy, with lots of other things to do, bring the kids to this course for sure.

Older/Less Active Player Friendly - Yes, this is not a bad choice for the less active older players. Because there are walking paths to get around, and there is always and easy way back to the parking lot, and the course is short and flat and the only issue would be the soggy ground.

Rookie Friendly & Average Player Friendly - Couple friends have 30 minutes free to play some disc golf, perhaps they may choose this place. It's not the best choice unless they are in the area and can't get anywhere else. But there are so many shortcomings, you could do a lot better elsewhere.

Pro Player Friendly - I would have to say no, there is no challenge here, nothing to see, unless you want to throw some discs, and then hit the skate park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Flatlanders

1    4/8/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 298  Reviewed: 287  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays around a multi-use park. plays very very dangerously close to ALL amenities. Dear god be careful!

Baskets-- all in good repair and accounted for.

Routing/nav-- pretty easy actually. I was prepared for a nightmare but it wasn't to be.
Cons:
Teesignage-- the most basic possible. most tee numbers are missing or bent to hell. but finding your way to the next tee is easy.

Variety/Challenge/Danger-- plays down paths, near amenities and near parking lots. a lot of danger here. the course is entirely flat. no elevation and very spotty trees provide little to challenge.

Risk v Reward-- Not for disc golfers, maybe for walkers!
Other Thoughts:
not good.
not good at all.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 FORE!

1    8/19/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 227  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 19.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very clean play no rough
- Well mowed and clean
- A few shots with trees in the way but not for a pro
- Good baskets
Cons: - Almost every hole has parking lot/skatepark/baseball field/bathrooms or walking paths in play, very hard to throw without risking hitting someone if it's busy there
- There are only about 3 different lengths- 480ft, 305-325ft, and 240-250ft. of holes
- Distance marked on signs off by 35+ft. sometimes
- Last holes shoots over fenced in area can't retrieve discs and if you throw to the pin you can't see if there's someone off to the right in harms way (takes 350ft to get there)
Other Thoughts: There's really nothing here to be worth the stop- Riverview is minutes away and has more trees, less risk of injuring a kid

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 not a fan

5+    6/13/2012   6/13/2012
Review By: PerfectPair
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Neighborhood. Course easy to get to. Ample parking near course. Park is pretty clean, not alot of trash or broken bottles near the tees like at some courses.
Nice for some basic shot practice, or for working on your short game.
Cons: Layout can be very confusing, especially for newer players and course newbies.

Certain holes are difficult to do during ball games because of spectators walking through course, and sitting in bleachers nearby.

Tees are not very informative as to which way to the pin. Pin not informative as to which way to next Tee.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great idea, POOR execution

2-4    5/10/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: MikelNovack
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Innova baskets.

Very very well kept park.

Water fountains along the course.
Cons: Pretty much everything, it's a waste of 9 good Discatcher baskets. I think they could've put the course elsewhere in Wyandotte and had great success.

During the spring/summer it's nearly impossible to play in the afternoon and evening. The chance of injuring an innocent bystander is extremely high.

As mentioned by others the bike/walk path goes right through the course. There are three (IIRC) baseball diamonds which if in use draw lots of people that easily interfere. The skatepark is a huge downer for me, it's always packed in the summer with skaters. Which is great for them, but is really unfortunate that the disc golf course is so close..

Other Thoughts: I've played the course 3.5 times all well before noon and have only seen one other golfer. I unfortunately had to cut one round short due to a truck aimlessly driving around the course (park maintenance I assume).

I don't like the course, makes me nervous with how many people could possibly get injured. It's not very playable in the afternoon due to all the people.

If you're in the area and it's not in the afternoon give it a shot. I'd suggest going right down Sibley to Seitz Middle School to play Riverview Grasslands though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 HEADS UP!

1    3/28/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: otherguy14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
Pros: Lil tee numbers
Good baskets
Plenty of parking
Free
Cons: Bike path going through most holes
In the middle of bussy park
No obsticles no real curves to holes mostly straight on shots
Have to shoot around people
No real tee's
Other Thoughts: Quickly built course without much thought or work put into it. The only thing that makes this course worth it is you can combine this course with the one a mile down the road in riverview to make a decent 18 game

 Skip at all costs

1    3/13/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: Robocision
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New baskets
Cons: Most poorly laid out course I've ever seen. People walking through the fairways, rollerblade paths crossing fairways, the skate park mentioned by others.

No tee boxes at all. Just a single post in the lawn indicating where to shoot from. Not even a patch of dirt.
Other Thoughts: You may be thinking this course is worth playing once. It is not. Skip this course at all costs.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Bad layout

1    4/23/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: HeyYoNick
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2011
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Clean park, decent baskets
Cons: Everything its a waste of 9 baskets
busy park with everything too close (right in the middle) to the DG course
Other Thoughts: Its nice to see more courses in the area but this was really disappointing. The concrete walking paths as fairways is probably the dumbest thing ever and trashed one of my new discs.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 MEH

1    11/6/2010   11/17/2010
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 90  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: "Park" is really a well-kept area in a grade school's side yard. You play around the jungle gym for the lil' kids (hole #2), the skate park for the teens (holes #6 and #8), and the baseball field for the jocks (hole #4). Tees have no pads but are marked with 4X4 painted stakes in the ground showing hole number. Baskets are bright yellow and easy to see on the flat terrain. Course is laid out fair enough, as you play in a giant circle around the aforementioned obstacles. There are several mature trees that come into play, and absolutely no brush/schoal to ruin your day.
Cons: Stakes in ground do NOT point in the correct direction on many holes. See the pics I posted for a visual. Dunno if the installers were drunk or what. Fortunately, the land is flat and the baskets are bright yellow. Everything is fairly open so it is quite difficult to aim at the incorrect basket.

Course is not very challenging. I have a feeling that kids play this at recess or for P.E. class. Awesome beginner's course. And by beginner I mean under the age of 15. Still, for what it is it was enjoyable to play through. No major flaws in design, just very simple.

I played in the early morning so there was nothing going on, but I can imagine if it's a summer afternoon and the park busy you will have to play conservatively around the playground and baseball field.
Other Thoughts: Comparable courses: Riverview Grasslands is more secluded and layed out quite a bit better, but this is a nice compliment to play a full 18 in the downriver area. Lenawee Christian School also plays in a school's backyard, but the holes are very short there and not all baskets have metal chains (plastic). Wyandotte Memorial is a step up from that one in Adrian, MI.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Eh...

2-4    9/2/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: Viper124
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice new baskets.
- Simple layout which pretty much circles the entire park.
- Fairly open shots on every hole.
- Clean.
Cons: - Safety was over looked. There are some shots where you could tell that one bad throw or a sudden cross-wind could result in injuring someone.

- The baseball diamonds come into play on three holes. A bad throw could result in your disc landing on the infield.

- The skatepark comes into play on two holes. A big gust of wind happened on one of my drives and I nearly nailed a little skater kid.

- The markers are a bit confusing. On hole 8 I shot towards the buildings thinking the basket was tucked behind the old swimming pool. Little did I know, the fairway was literally the track that goes between the building and the skate ramp.

- There's a bench right next to the hole 1 basket. I had to bogey the hole because I was afraid of hitting the guy taking a nap.

- The little skater kids. These little 10 year olds were too busy swearing ("F my bike. It sucks." "F you!" "F I hurt my knee."), that they couldn't hear me yelling for them to watch out. Then when my disc landed next to the ramp they just said, "This is an f-ing skatepark, what the hell are you doing, man."
Other Thoughts: I'm sure if there was absolutely no one at this park, it would have been ok, but people were just oblivious to what was going on. There were three people walking their dogs, two guys jogging, and kids on bikes coming in and out of the place.

- It seems like they planted some new trees, probably to make the course a little more challenging once they mature. Though, I think I would rather drive the extra two miles to play the grasslands.

- Tee off for hole 1 is located a few feet from the hole 9 basket.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.