Winchester, VA 
Jim Barnett Park Share
Uploaded By: Jimb Hole #4 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 165ft.   3 / 179ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Short Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
surprised me, in a good way

1    8/11/2017   8/11/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 99  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: Jim Barnett is another mixed course with a combination of wooded and open holes. I really liked a couple of the holes, including the artificial island (although it was a little short). Some of the greens had very fast landing zones.

This course surprised me because it started out with a series of very short holes, and I thought, "okay, pretty good pitch and putt type course". Then I moved to the back nine, which got more difficult and had some longer holes.

I thought it was a fun course, with some nice elevation change and variety. There are a couple other nice courses in the area, so I may make the rip out again sometime.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Some solid holes here

1    7/30/2017   7/30/2017
Review By: rudy1337
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Every hole has two tee large tee pads except for #15 in which I could only find the blue pad. (there may be a white one somewhere, but it was not obvious to find.
Variety throughout the course in which I could find the basket before I threw on every hole. Plenty of opportunities for various lines for most throwing styles. Most holes seem to play to RHBH with few shots for RHFH.
Cons: #17 feels like it was a forced hole. I assumed the blue teepad to have been buried under dirt as it is essentially in the creek bed. All uphill and sidehill. Not the greatest of designs.
#18 could be good, but no real obvious lines. I felt it was more of a throw and hope type of hole. A little bit of work and this hole could be nice.
Other Thoughts: Not sure what the deal is on the "par" score is for each hole. Most of these holes should be par 3 and not the 4's and 5's marked.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jim Barnett

1    6/11/2017   6/12/2017
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 255  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jim Barnett Park was a surprisingly simple, yet well executed, course layout. The course might not have any top-level holes, instead offering one solid hole after another.
- I thought this was a well-designed course. From the long tees, it's a 6600-foot layout, giving us noodle arms a chance to still offer respectable scores.
- The course's biggest strength is that it plays throughout a series of rolling hills, weaving in and out of wooded portions of the park.
- You get a taste of that immediately. Hole #1 is 410 feet, starting in an open field, through a gap in the trees, to a slight uphill basket. An interesting aside: four holes are longer than 500 feet. Besides those holes, #1 is the only other hole on the course longer than 400 feet.
- The course ebbs and flows from more challenging, take-your-par layouts, to shorter and/or easier holes. There were several times throughout the round, I'd get back-to-back 3s where I felt one was a great score and the other was a letdown.
- Hole #6's gimmick layout actual worked perfectly on this course. It's a fake island green, 198-foot layout where players must land inside the artificial 'green' or be considered OB. Normally, I wouldn't like this layout. In this case, you can either have a long walk between #5 & 7; have a simple, wide-open layout; or take a chance with this type of design.
- The course peaked with a wonderful five-hole stretch from #12 - 16 that best reflects this course's best features. #12 is a slightly wooded dogleg. #13 is a sweeping downhill dogleg that starts in a field to a basket in the woods. #14 is a long multi-shot layout that starts tight and ends in an open field. #15 is a wooded, uphill layout. #16, at 574 feet, will reward two solid shots with birdie chances. Sadly, the final two holes are a letdown after this stretch.
- Great tee signs. They're very descriptive and helpful. Tee pads are also solid.
- This is a large multi-use park that offers a wide variety of activities. Throughout the round, you'll play alongside the walking trails, picnic shelters, horseshoe pits and the dog park.
Cons: My biggest issue with the course is the complete letdown you get with the final two holes. Both need some major love and attention. #17 starts in front of a mudpit/mini-swamp that seems to collect every nasty smell from the entire park. #18 is a 560-foot hole that offers no discernable fairway. I threw my brightest colored disc, hoping it would be easy to find in the middle of the fairway. What a dud that I could just throw a putter 175 feet 3 times in a row then two-putt for an easy 'par' 5.
- In addition to those two holes, there were several other spots on the course where the grass was needing to be cut down. It was essentially the wooded holes that were being neglected - #5, 8 & 9 come to mind as most egregious.
- Signage could be better in a couple of places. Going from #15 to 16, for safety reasons, signs need to discourage players from trying to walk up a steep hill, and point them around the corner instead. Going from #16 to 17, there's a long walk that could be aided with a couple of arrows.
- The entire course is one long loop around the park. There's no easy spot to bail out early. If you're coming for a round, prepare to play all 18.
Other Thoughts: Jim Barnett Park offered a fun round of disc golf. The course got progressively better for 16 holes, then it came to a screeching halt for the final two holes.
- #17 could be a fine hole if it's cleaned up. As it is, it's a simple par 3 that can be considered a victory if players avoid the cesspool. #18, on the other hand, even if it were cleaned up, doesn't seem like it has the cache you'd want for your closing hole.
- I enjoyed how the course flowed from wooded to open layouts; from flat to uphill & downhill shots; from straight to dogleg layouts. With each hole offering different combinations of those variables, you get a great variety.
- I feel that if I played this course multiple times, I'd have a different favorite hole each time. It's a course that will reward good shot making, but won't punish you too much if you're having an off day.
- Not sure who Jim Barnett is, or was. The top 3 Jim Barnetts on Google were a former wrestler, basketball player, and recurring character on Baywatch. Just a hunch, but I don't think the park was named after any of those 3. Now, if it were the Hobie Buchannon Park, it would all make sense.
- There are several good courses in this stretch of I-81 from Virginia, West Virginia, and Maryland. Of the six I played in this area, Ditto Farms in Hagerstown was my favorite and Jim Barnett was second. This is a solid 3.5 rating in my book. I'd gladly play here again if afforded the opportunity.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

It's a Big One!

1    9/30/2016   11/5/2016
Review By: Discette
Played: 410  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 21.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This 18 hole DISCatcher course is sprawled out in a sizable community park. The course has a mix of open and wooded holes with some elevation in play. I played this course as part of a disc golf road trip where I played 12 courses in 12 days. This was the only course I played in the state of Virginia.

I used bullet points for those that don't want to read the entire review.


Variety
This course winds through some open areas of the park, but also plays through some lightly wooded areas. The gently rolling terrain also provides some shots with elevation. Although there were some blind holes, it was a pretty straightforward design. There were no random trees in the fairways to frustrate advanced players. Big arm players should enjoy this course as there are plenty of opportunities to go for big distance.

Amenities
Each hole had two fully developed concrete tees. The longer Blue tees had professional tee signs with full color graphics. The Blue and White tees had blue or white paint patches on the back corners to denote which tee. Only one or two Blue tees had benches. Only a few tees had trash cans, but there are plenty of trash cans located throughout the long walk.

All 18 in a row
Once you tee off on Hole 1, you do not make your way back to the parking lot until the end of the round. It is a long hike and it took nearly 2 1/2 hours to play this course on my own. Partially because of some backtracking, but mostly because it is a very long walk even if you stay on course.

Upkeep
Overall, the course was in good shape. Most of the tee signs were in good shape and free of graffiti. Only a few of the DISCatcher target bands had stickers or Sharpie signatures from players that got aces. The wooded fairways were a bit shaggy in the rough areas and could use a little trimming. Overall, a very clean course.

Kids and Strollers
You can absolutely bring kids, carts and strollers. There are a couple of rough patches with some roots and a small creek on Hole 15 to navigate. The course is a fairly easy walk, but it is a long walk. This will wear out the kids if they walk or play along. Probably only older kids will have enough attention span or energy to play all 18. There You don't get back to the main parking area until after you play Hole 18.

Nice park
I played on a rainy weekday afternoon and had the entire park to myself. However, I can see how some holes would easily become unplayable on a busy weekend or if there are other events in the park. I played in the rain after it had been raining in the area all day. I was surprised how well the course played in such conditions. Most tees drained properly and there was very little standing water. I was unable to fully play Hole 15 as there was water on the tees and fairway from the creek.

Disc Friendly
It would be pretty tough to lose a disc on this course. There are a couple of rough areas off the fairway that could make it tough to find a disc. It could be possible to lose track of a drive on some of the blind holes, but that would be some terrible luck.

Restrooms
There are restrooms near the parking lot and near the shelter at Hole 10.
Cons:

Big Walk
There was a lot of (unnecessary) walking. Even though I had a map and there are accurate tee signs, it was hard to navigate at times and I was forced to backtrack and wander about looking for the next tee.

Average
Sad to say, but this was one of the least memorable courses I have played. This was just an ordinary disc golf course in an ordinary city park.

Blind Holes
I don't mind one or two, but it is bothersome when you are playing a course for the first time and have no idea where the target it located. The problem was compounded by the size of this course. I simply didn't have the motivation to add more walking to see where the pins were located.
Other Thoughts:

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Apple Blossom Festival

2-4    4/20/2016   8/21/2016
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 185  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two concrete tees with good signage and a Discatcher basket for each hole. Very nice variety of open and wooded holes in city park setting. Great use of the available elevation providing some fast greens and diversity of fun and tough holes playing up and downhill as well as flat. Good mix of pars and distances from ace run islands to some decent multi-shot holes mixed in. There is some navigational signage to help in spots and benches.
Cons: Beware of other park users in the fairways and festivals may temporary close the course like the Apple Blossom festival where I got chased off the course by security my first attempt playing here and there was no signs anywhere saying the course was closed. Trash and bottles on the course. Poison ivy and underbrush control is not the best here. Only one big 18 hole loop back to parking main lot. Course is not in own separate disc golf only area of park.
Other Thoughts: As the review title suggests, the Jim Barnett Park is host to the Apple Blossom Festival in the spring which is a pretty time to visit, but not to play. Being from the DC area I'm more familiar with the Cherry Blossom Festival downtown, and so the Apple Blossom Festival was something I'd never heard of before and those dates don't match up either and can change each year. It is best that the course is closed during this festival because the course plays through shared park space and there would be some issues. I came back park another day and this is a very good course overall, not quite destination worthy, but if you are in the area should be enjoyable for most players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not what I was hoping for

1    7/17/2016   7/17/2016
Review By: JKPage00
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Will challenge most player.
Has a couple of big arm holes, as well as some for those whom play with a bit more finess.
Multiple tee pads
Good signage - even when you need to make a longer walk between holes. Signs have accurate information
Cons: While signs are accurate - cannot see the pins from majority of tee pads. Flora and fauna cause sight line issues. DiscCraft baskets have a yellow ring up top - perhaps a red one might be better. Maybe flags above baskets for those holes that are down and away

Course upkeep - some holes are well maintained (6, 7, 10-13, 16) while others looked horrible (5, 8, 9, 17) - to much debris or undergrowth.

Some holes make no sense - the ending hole should a memorable one - the design is just all wrong. Completely blind off tee pad. Down hill tee shot, back up narrow lane, basket can't be seen until the other hill is reached, and then your still hammered by over growth.
#6 is artificially designed as an ace run (cute- but not needed)




Other Thoughts: Heard about this course while playing Rockland earlier this year. Made the trip out, and 4 of us played the course.
It took 3 hours. Yes we had some errant throws (we all do) but a skip off a tree shouldn't be hole killing shot.

Played from the Blues - (75-76-78-84) I shot the 75.
If out this way again, may give it another shot, but would not make special trip.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun and challenging course!

1    2/6/2016   2/7/2016
Review By: thirtydirtybirds
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jim Barnett park is a very large park in the heart of Winchester VA. The whole park is well maintained, and full of activities.

The disc golf course is a pleasant mix of open and wooded holes. It offers a fair variety of challenges, from obstacles to island greens to elevation change. i found the pseudo island green (number 6 I think?) to be quite fun, and there is plenty of opportunity to air out your drives.

I very much enjoyed this course. It has a good mix of challenges. It doesn't favor technical play or wide open bombing, but rather having a complete game.
Cons: Being a newcomer to the course I found navigation to be a bit tricky at times. There are a few holes that have longer walks to get to, and sometimes aren't marked extremely clearly. That said I didn't get lost, just had to backtrack once or twice.

It has been a wet winter in this area, and as such the course of as very muddy in a lot of spots, and even submerged in one area. It's nothing that made it unplayable, and it may well dry out in the warmer months.

Not a lot of cons really.
Other Thoughts: I like this course quite a bit. I work very close to it now, and look forward to the after work rounds. The local club seems to do a good job with upkeep, and it's a clean course that is a lot of fun to play. The group of friends I played with ranged from playing for a couple weeks to playing a couple years, and we were all challenged and had a great time.

If you are in the area, it is worth getting a round in!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Loved it

1    10/13/2014   10/13/2014
Review By: ARIK HANZIN
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Good variety of Field and wooded holes.

- Wooded holes utilize clever shots and windows; not just a bunch of random trees in the middle of the fairway.

- Open holes encourage specific lines and strategy; not just a basket in a field.

- Many par 4s and 5s, (subjective, but I see this as a pro)

- Course utilizes a variety of shot type, especially a nice S curve. It constantly put my hyzer flip to the test.

- Good use of elevation and landscape.

- Helpful and detailed tee signs.

- Beautiful landscape.

- Generally good, concrete, tee pads. Many tees have benches or tree stumps as well.

- Many holes really let you rip the disc; Something most courses don't let you do enough in my opinion. Even the wooded holes ask for some mustard.
Cons:
- Par info makes some of the short tees ridiculously easy.

- Pedestrians on course, though most of them seem to know what's up and will get out of your way when they see you.

- Hole 17 pro tee pad is a swamp.

- Course flow was tough to follow at first, but most baskets show the direction to the next hole, and there are signs guiding you on the longer walks.
Other Thoughts:

Many holes appear to be easy birdies or even eagles, but there is a steep hill behind the basket. Not noticing this or failing to adjust will land you in some really unforgiving rough.


All in all, this course is just short of perfect in my book. There wasn't a tee shot, short or long, that I didn't like. I plan on attending as many tournaments as possible at this park.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Place

1    10/15/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: JMcCon
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Beautiful Park
-Nice variety of holes
-Easy to read signs with two tee pads
Cons: -Flow of the course can be difficult but the next tee signs on the baskets helped alot.
-A couple tees were muddy and somewhat covered.
Other Thoughts: I was in town for the day so stopped by and put a game in. Overall great course and would love to play it again. There are not really any cons unless you are just that picky over little things. If you love disc golf and like to have fun or looking for a challenge then you will like it here.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  like the course dont like the upkeep

5+    8/18/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: adamisawesome777
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course to play at. Makes for a good hour to hour and half play. Good mix of short and long holes.
Cons: You run the risk of hitting someone with a disc. Its in the middle of the public area where people could be anywhere and you might not necessarily see them. The grass on holes 5, 8, and 13 needs mowed always. I and people I know have lost discs in the middle of fields because the grass is so high on some holes. And there's usually litter at every hole. Not a lot but just enough to wonder what the park and rec people actually do.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. I live right down the street from Jim Barnett park. I play here all week long and do enjoy every round I play there. But something has to be done about about the upkeep of the grass on some of the holes. It would be a lot better if there wasn't the chance of losing a disc in the middle of a field (which happened to me the other day).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.