Astoria, OR 
Lower Columbia DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #1 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 231ft.   3 / 159ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
If You're In Astoria, Go Play!

1    10/3/2017   4/2/2019
Review By: williams363
Played: 51  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of uphill and downhill.
Good layout, some long throws, but mostly short.
Beautiful views when you get uphill.
Cons: #6 was really overgrown, I lost a disc.
Flat area on #9 was a bit wet, just be careful after rain.

Other Thoughts: I love 9 hole courses; I believe they can be just as fun without having to take a lot of time.

I was in town on a cruise (so limited time) and I was so glad i played here. You'll just need a taxi there and back to town.

I'm really glad i played here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun varied course

5+    7/23/2018   8/15/2018
Review By: mtor
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Snapshot: Lower Columbia DGC is a beginner to an intermediate course (distance 160ish feet to 300+) that is remarkable for elevation changes and a variety of shots (wooded, downhill, uphill, dog-leg) that requires both backhand and forehand throws. Hazards include water (#1 back, #3 (insignificant creek) #8 shank right, #9 right), and thick foliage (blackberries, large trees, and grass on most holes) for errant to slightly errant shots (esp #5, #6 on the left side).

Some good things about this course are...
-A and B tee pads.
-A diversity of shots, going from almost tunnel to wide open, and creeks in play.
-#6 is challenging and you have a good likelihood of losing your disc if you go left, or long (try a flick for right-hand throwers).
-#9 you throw over a creek and requires precision (someone recently removed many of the blackberries).
-Shows beginners what a well-designed course is without being too challenging but some shots are intimidating (easy to lose a disc).
-Good tee signs on A tee pads.
-A good map at the beginning.
Cons: This was a fun course to play.

-While good to show to beginners due to the variety of shots (besides flats) this course can be intimidating due to the very real possibility of losing a disc (#5, #6, and #9).
-Some hidden water features, I'm looking at you #1 (Pond about 30 feet beyond the hole).
-Blackberry bushes galore, although someone cleaned up #9.
-Lots of foliage makes finding your disc difficult...But on the upside, you will likely find someone else's disc especially on holes #5 and #6
-Tee pads are brick and not completely level, but serviceable as long as you watch your step.
Other Thoughts: Who would like this course: This course is best for intermediate to beginner players. Experienced players would likely enjoy this course for 1 to 2 rounds but would probably find it a bit short. Intermediate players can practice a variety of shots including tunnel (#2), flicks for right-handers (#3, #6), accuracy (#5), and throwing over creeks (#1, #9, possibly #8 if you shank right). Overall, a good course.

Possible Improvements:
-Tee pads are currently brick, they would greatly benefit from being poured cement and perhaps a bit larger.
-Possibly cutting a hole in the trees so you can see the #5 basket from the tee.
-Clean up some brush, unless you enjoy the thrill of chasing discs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

fun time

2-4    10/18/2017   11/6/2017
Review By: palfalvy
Played: 39  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: * good for an intermediate player like me -- challenges but many par, even birdie, chances.
* elevation changes
* a couple of holes in the woods -- don't lose a disc on #6!
Cons: can't really think of any...it's at the fairgrounds...might be a pain during a fair or rodeo

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

5 out of 9 holes are Downhill

1    8/28/2017   9/4/2017
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 59  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lower Columbia DGC is located in the Clatsop County Fairground in Astoria, OR. It plays in a couple of large fields, through a small orchard, near a horse barn, and in the edge of a woods. The property is quite hilly for the coast.

-Effort was put into building a nice course. There's an informational board near the parking area, two brick teepads, and two locations per hole for the Chainstar baskets. (Sidenote, I've never had a problem with spit-outs on Chainstars, so it's not a problem with me)

-The course is well designed. No two holes are the same. My favorites:
#1, 4, and 8 - all fun, open, downhill midrange shots.
#6 - a blind downhill float putter shot over several young conifers. I don't know what will happen to this hole once the trees grow in, however.

-Every hole had a nice tee sign at the long tee showing the distance from each tee to each possible basket location
Cons: -The course looked as if it is not frequently used or maintained. Several of the brick tees, especially the short ones, were uneven and had weeds growing through them. Don't bother with the short tees. The course is not that long as it is.

-Hole #8 basket was completely destroyed. It was tilted and the cage was warped downward. It looked as if a 300 pound person climbed on it.

-Seasonal issues. 1. The course is closed in the summer for a week during the County Fair. 2. Holes 8 and 9 play in a low area that looks like it might be a swamp in winter.

-The tee signs showed the distance to each hole location, but there was no visual suggesting in which location the basket is in.
Other Thoughts: -Hole #7 is a short, downhill low ceiling shot through a small orchard. It's tempting to go up over the top on a spike hyzer. Don't. The trees are very thick and will catch many a disc (Including mine).

-This is one the only disc golf course in Clatsop County, and worth the stop if you're in town. It's a fun, nine hole course suitable for a wide range of skill levels.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Go play this course!

1    3/21/2016   3/22/2016
Review By: kyleocean
Played: 124  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 21.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout, wonderful use of space, great flow. I think the designer did a great job with the space given, the holes flow very well from start to finish. Nice to see two tee-pads and multiple pin positions on every hole.
Cons: The tee signs are nice, however instead of a photo of the Astoria Column, it would be nice to see a simple shot route IE dog leg left, right, straight etc. At least three of the holes could not see the basket and this improvement could help.
Other Thoughts: DON'T OVERLOOK THIS COURSE, ITS GREAT! I've played a lot of nine hole courses whenever I travel because sometimes that's all there is available. This is probably in the top five I have played. the use of the space here is great and I can't think of a better way I would have used that park. A few of the holes are short and could be longer, but that is to be expected with the space at hand. There is a great balance of challenging obstacles and some shorter open holes. Astoria is awesome and I'm so glad to see a nice fun course in that town and I plan to play it again every time I visit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lower Columbia DGC - Where the Goonies Play!

2-4    4/7/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 230  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 19.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Lower Columbia DGC is a fun nine hole course located in the beautiful city of Astoria, OR. Although designed more for the recreational/intermediate player, this course incorporates enough elevation and creativity to make it fun for all! The terrain is a mix of open grass fields and tighter wooded areas, adding enough variety to keep it interesting throughout the round. Par for the course is 27, with holes ranging 180-311 ft from the red tees and 141-255 ft from the whites. The course does not have a lot of distance but at least the designers tried to give more than one look per hole. The flow of the course seemed to move well and the navigation made easy due to the informative tee signs and Chainstar baskets.

Favorite Hole(s): Hole #5 - Start from an open field teeing off into the woods. One of the few holes on the course that demands both accuracy and placement in order to birdie the protected pin. Also, Hole #6 - Fun downhill ACE shot in the woods that desires an accurate landing.
Cons:
Lower Columbia DGC was designed on a beautiful piece of property attatched to the Clatsop County Fairgrounds. Because of this, it is closed to disc golfer when there is an event. Although this only happens a few times a year, it could be quite inconvenient for those whom are traveling from out of town.

The degree of difficulty for the adv/open level player may leave much to be desired. There are a few holes that are challenging but there are also a few that are wide open (#1, 4, 8) on this course leaving little to no challenge. However, the designers did a terrific job using the land they had and have done a great job maintaining the land as well.

Least Favorite Hole(s): Hole # 4 and Hole #8 - both somewhat boring downhill shots with not much risk.
Other Thoughts:
I was pleased to have had the opportunity to play this course as I was headed on my way from Seattle to Cannon Beach for a long weekend. I was able to walk around with my family in a safe area and play a very fun round of disc golf. Astoria is such a wonderful city and I always enjoy my time here when I am visiting or just passing through. I do hope that disc golf continues to pick up in this area and that someday they will be the second city on the Oregon coast to have an 18 hole course next to Wilder in Newport.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/29/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 61  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Surprised at how much elevation this course has. You'd think beach = flat, but almost ever hole had 25+' of elevation change. Uphill, downhill, across hill shots.
Cons: For the first timer a couple baskets are hidden & takes a second to find them. Trail on 6 needs cleaned up. Basket area on 9 is seriously overgrown, it needs a haircut.
Other Thoughts: But pleasantly surprised with the cool little 9 hole course that Astoria has to offer!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great place

1    5/26/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: mpeters
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find
Clearly marked
Great tee signs
love the two tees (wife really liked shorter tee)
Mix of terrain and elevation
Cons: Short holes
Hidden water danger (nearly lost a couple disc)
Other Thoughts: Really fun little course that uses the little bit of land they have to their advantage. Lots of up and downs on this course. Although the holes may be short the wind plays a big factor in creating a challenging environment to throw. may not be the best park for an expert, but if you are on vacation near this course you would be a fool not to stop and play a few rounds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Gotta Love The Downhill Throws Here!

1    3/8/2013   3/9/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1413  Reviewed: 1360  Exp: 41.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tucked away in Astoria, OR, Lower Colombia DGC is a pleasant little 9 hole course. I'd call it a solid recreational level course. Advanced to pro players wouldn't find enough challenge here. The course sits on the grounds of the Clatsop County Fairgrounds and unfortunately, is closed during major fairground events. The terrain is partially open fields, partly through the wooded area, and with all of it playing up and down hillsides. I enjoyed having five (1, 4, 6, 7, & 8 ) of the nine holes throwing downhill.

The Chainstars baskets were new and caught well. Teepads were made of building blocks and could have been a little longer. The signs were great, colored, with distances for both the Reds and shorter White tees. Each of these tee posts had two hooks to keep your bags off the wet Astoria ground and a cup/can holder. Now you don't have to set your beer on the ground and worry about it spilling. There were also a few newly cut wooden benches. Navigation is easy and natural and makes a loop back to the start.

My favorite hole was # 6. It's 195' and the steepest downhill on the course. Not quite a straight shot but you have to put it between a tree and some bushes with some touch and just a little hyser.
Cons: # 1 and # 4, although downhill, are both shooting to baskets sitting out in wide open fields.
I would like to see the pads be a little longer. An old man like me needs a longer run-up.
#8's fairway field, especially will be pretty wet and marshy most of the year. Plan on getting your feet wet.
Check the fairs schedule for times when the course will be shut down.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised with this course. The enjoyment factor was there for me. Having all the downhill shots is always fun and there are plenty of ACE opportunities. I believe much of the course has been cleared and opened up since the previous reviewers wrote their reviews.
My compliments to the designers! I'm impressed with what you've created here and the improvements you're continuing to make.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Late Fall Fun

2-4    11/24/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: klassikstile
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The varied terrain kept us guessing on our first round. The ups and downs make it interesting and fun as well.
Good signs helped us navigate the course with ease.

Cons: This place can get SOGGY! Watch out for the stream behind the first hole, saw a guy fall in trying to get his disc! He was fine, just wet, and did get his disc back.

Too short. Nothing you could really unleash on.
Other Thoughts: Decent little course with some varied terrain and technical holes.
Very easy to play negative at this course
Can get a round in quickly

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.