Course Extinct
Astoria, OR 
Lower Columbia DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #3 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 288ft.   3 / 156ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 Worth a look

2-4    2/20/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 241  Reviewed: 230  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2011
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lower Columbia DGC is located on the outskirts of the town Astoria on the Oregon coast and the course is played on, and around the Clatsop County Fairgrounds. The designers of this course did an excellent job of designing a course that is well suited for all types of players. There are alternate pin locations and also a set of long and short tee pads. New players will have fun playing the short tee pads and open holes but also will still find challenge with the more wooded holes and elevation changes but up and down hill holes while more advanced players will be challenged by the wooded holes and the long tee pads. The tee signs are all new and undamaged and each tee pad has a bucket hanging from it for trash disposal. The course is very easy to follow as the basket to the next tee pad(s) aren't too far away. The brick tee pads were just fine.
Cons: Not a whole lot of cons other than a few field holes were filled with water when we went. The open field holes are open so not much challenge to be had and they are short as well but the local area players who are just getting into the game will enjoy this. It was a bit muddy and there are some spots where you could lose some plastic.
Other Thoughts: The designers did just about the best they could with this piece of property and I think the local players have a good little course with some fun throws on it. I found myself several times (on both tee pads) throwing multiple discs because the shots were just so fun. I played with Cefire and he got an ace on the downhill long tee pad, hole six!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Short but solid

2-4    2/20/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 707  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 20.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located more than a bit off the beaten trail in Astoria, Columbia Park makes good use of limited space and the few interesting terrain features available. One of the best aspects of this course are several holes with multiple lines (2,5,6,7,9). Those with game are going to find most holes too fundamental but trying out an unothadox line or two will probably be enough to keep things interesting. Columbia also has plenty of variety With several holes playing up, down, and across the hills, low ceiling, high ceiling, and a tight hooks.

Hole Profile:
While hole 7 is probably the most unique shot out here, I'd have to say hole 5 is the most interesting and possibly most challenging of the bunch. Hole 5 plays along a side hill moving down/right and is lined with thorns on the right and several large guard trees which provide nice protection for the pin. From both tees, there are at least three viable lines off the teepad all of which have little bonuses and challenges. From the short tee, I felt like a short flexing sidearm would have given me birdies most consistently although the hyzer was probably the easiest way to get to 30' or so. From the long tee, my selection was nearly entirely different and the big, bombing turnover well left of the defined fairway seemed like the best option because of the much higher ceiling. As I learned on one of my practice shots, missing the window on the right side can also get you into big trouble and painful thorns. In addition to the big turnover, a tight hyzer and a really powerful sky hyzer offer a safer way to attack the hole.
Cons: The biggest con of this course are the number of holes that play across open fields. However, the location pretty much dictates that more than a few holes would have relatively few obstacles. The course designers have done a nice job adding a little challenge to these with elevation and side hills. That said, advanced and pro players are only going to find a few holes out here very challenging. (ex. 3,5)
Other Thoughts: Again, this was a solid little 9'er and well suited to the beginner/casual player. The short tees are easily short enough for even the newest of players and would make a great place to learn about throwing with elevation and wind!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Bag

1    9/25/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: Leroy
Played: 194  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course climbs up a hill and then back down for lots of elevation changes. A few of the holes are wide open and a few use old forest and parts of what look like an orchard for variety. The maps were easy to read. The brick tee boxes were of an average size.
Cons: Hole 8 crosses over a swampy area that was a couple inches deep. Hole 9 literally goes through a thorn patch. When I got there I saw a group completely skip hole 9 and I wondered why, then I found out.
Other Thoughts: This is a good basic course, but several patches of thorns off hole 1 and completly all over hole 9 make this a bit more of an adventure than I'm used to.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    8/26/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: senatorjoe
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Finally a course on the coast!

Each hole is fun and a little different from the others.
Great use of the space and elevation.
Tee and pin position labelling is the best I've ever seen. A map of the course on every tee sign makes it easy to see where you've been and where you're going.
Multiple tees and pin positions offer a variety of designs to choose from.
Ace runs on every hole, depending on pin position.
Cons: Short and fairly open. Wind and elevation provide the main obstacles on the course. Even at the longer tee/pin positions, I never threatened to score a bogey.
Couldn't find the alternate tee for #9. Of course, it's not open for another two months, so they've got a little time.


Other Thoughts: Community seems invested in this course-- when I was out there a crew from the jail was doing maintenance and the sherrif's deputy even threw a few discs with me. Clatsop county and the designers deserve a lot of credit for getting this in.

The course gets 3 chains, not because it's difficult, but because each hole is fun to play and the design and execution of the course are amazing given the area they had to work with.

I think #7 should be nicknamed "Plinko."

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.