Suffield, OH 
The Hangar Share
Uploaded By: Mike C Hole #1 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 253ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Suffield's Finest

1    8/6/2017   8/6/2017
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, big shoutout to the volunteers who who make this course possible, keep up the great work!

The Hangar is a beautiful course right in the heart of Wingfoot Lake State Park. Lots of beautiful rolling hills and mature trees.

Terrific tee signs and baskets!

Navigation is really easy, there is navigational tape on the bottom of every basket as well as a few signs for additional guidance.

No shortage of fun holes here! I loved holes 4, 6, 8 and 11. The last few holes are fun as well.

Plenty of variety. Good mix of open and wooded holes, with some really fun elevation changes along the way.

Really liked the way the course was laid out. The design takes advantage of every aspect of the park.

Multiple sets of concrete tees. The short tees can be played by just about anyone and still be fun. The long tees make this course I decent challenge, even for advanced players.

Flows really well, both #9 and #18 end at the parking lot.

Nice little kiosk that includes maps, a disc return, and a practice basket with distance markers.

Restrooms can be found to the right of the kiosk.

Plenty of things to do other than disc golf within the park.
Cons: A few of the holes on the front nine had a few fairways and baskets a little too close together. #7 and #8 pretty much shared fairways.

#14 Long should just be eliminated. It's 50 feet shorter than the short tees, and kind of took out a fun Downhill shot.

A portion of the course is closed Friday-Sunday, as well as holidays. However, I went on a beautiful Sunday afternoon and had no issues with the range. Nobody was using it.

Mosquitos were really bad, make sure you bring your bug spray with you.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I had a really fun time at The Hangar. The course provided a little something for everybody, and provided a challenge that I wasn't expecting. Come check this place out, seems like they invested in some improvements!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous park!

1    11/20/2011   11/20/2011
Review By: plattertoss88
Played: 83  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in Wingfoot Lake State Park. 18 holes with brand new chain-star baskets. Very nice practice basket right by parking lot. As of 9-10-13 the Zeppelins club has poured long and short tee pads!! Course has also got a revamp on holes 5 through 8 as well. Front 9 is gonna be a little shorter and with slight elevation with 2 water holes. The back will be a bit longer and have some pretty fun elevation changes. #4 is a great little ace run playing down hill with a very low ceiling. #10 is an awesome downhill longer low ceiling tunnel shot with a basket sitting right in front of a row if thick pines, making an good up shot go bad quick. #14 is another awesome open downhill shot playing over 350. Course definitely offers a bit of everything with some amazing scenery.
Cons: Only trash cans in park are the red dumpsters by the practice basket and by #17's tee. Lake is suppose-ably contaminated with blue algae. They have done recent tests on the lake and they found the levels are low but still possibly harmful. #5 and #9 play parallel to a low traffic road. #1 plays pretty close to tennis court.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy coming to Wingfoot and showing a new player the sport. Its a great place to grab a bunch of birdies and a huge confidence boost. Park obviously offers a lake, open to boating and fishing. As well as some soccer fields and a very nice pavilion with a huge BBQ pit and well maintained restrooms. Lots of parking available.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 THE HANGAR IN SUFFIELD

5+    7/1/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: innovajohnny5
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice variety of distance holes and challenging tees in the woods. IT'S NEW! OPENED IN MID 2010 and it still has that new park smell. VERY ENJOYABLE COURSE. It's local for me so I play 6 times a year here.
Cons: There are no multiple tees. Other courses have the black (Advanced Tees) and Yellow (Intermediate Tees). Or Red/White/Blue Tees. A little thought would have to be put into making multiples but it can be done. There is enough space to do it. The tees are dirt or mulch instead of concrete. Makes it difficult when wet. The lake inlet loves to eat discs - - LOST 3 DISCS.
Other Thoughts: Hole #1/#12 watch out for tennis players and spectators. The high school tennis team practices and plays competitions there. Holes #2 thru #4 are skill holes: use the tomahawks, thumbers, and grenades. #5 is 366ft so let it rip. LOOK OUT! Hole #5 throw towards the trees or your disc is gone - ker plunk. Also #6 looks like a RHFH to get over the Lakes Inlet but if the wind grabs it, it's ker plunk. @#14/#17 - Practice your backhand long distance throws. #15 is a straight shot with a 5' drop to the basket at the end. #11/#16 is a RH hard sidearm throw uphill. I can't make it 2 so Good Luck Out There!!!! I woul d recommend this course for Beginner to Intermediate. The Advanced players may find it too easy.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated and fun for all skill levels

1    5/7/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 153  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 15.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seems like it would be fun course to play for any and all skill levels

I've never said this about a course before, but I think the land they used was not good land for a disc golf course but they somehow squeezed every last bit of good they could from it and made an excellent course. Excellent job of turd polishing!

A shot for everyone here, up hill, down hill, tight, open, left, right, short, long, water hazards, elevation changes, and one top of world bomber hole (14 if I remember right) that I absolutely loved!

Park is clean, trash free, well maintained, and it just looks pretty.

Cons: Crowded, not the course itself but it's located in a park that has many other activities on site. Look out for non-disc golfers before you throw.

Other Thoughts: What a nice little course that offers something for everyone. It's located in a park and when you first pull up you think all the holes are gonna be crammed together but you soon learn how wrong you were. It was surprisingly big. Your never very far from the parking lot you started in but it feels like you travel a long distance.

The most impressive thing about this course was the variety of shots. They really did a great job with the available terrain. After the first four holes you think it's gonna be a really short beginner course but once again you are quickly proven wrong. It starts out, short and hilly but then it moves out into some longer shots, then some water hazard shots and the eventually opens up into some big open field shots some of which sport some excellent changes in elevation. The course never goes into the woods but many of the holes are wooded.

I'm nearing the end of my quest to play every 18 hole course in Ohio and lately I've been hitting up the North Eastern side of the state and so far have been impressed. Very underrated up there and I still have yet to hit up Euclid and Ashtabula. But I would definitely recommend this place for anyone who lives anywhere near this one. If your looking for a road trip, then combine this one with Roscoe Ewing. Great Job guys


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Family Park

5+    2/5/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 43  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New park. Plenty of parking and grade A facilities. The winter event there was housed in a closed pavilion that had two large fireplaces!
- Amenities! Playground, putt-putt, basketball, volleyball, picnic tables!
- Billboard at hole #1 has a map posted along with course information
- The map is accurate and very helpful your first trip!
- Practice basket
- Wood chip tees with wooden kickboards are in good condition
- Next tee signs are helpful
- Baskets are in excellent condition and well marked with bright orange stickers
- There are poles clearly marking each tee
- This course requires a variety of shots but does favor the right turning thrower. After a few trips here I have had to use every throw in my arsenal.
- The scenery and landscape are beautiful with rolling hills
- There are only a few walking paths on a few holes so the traffic is mainly just other disc golfers
- Bathrooms are located at the pavilion
- There are trashcans and the course is very clean
- There is no vandalism
- Excellent upkeep and maintenance
- The water hazard on #6 & #7 really adds to the courses difficulty. For #6 all you do is throw (RHBH) out just over the edge of the water and then fade back toward the basket. The shot seems simple enough but I've seen A LOT of discs in the water!
Cons: - Most of the poles by the tees are in Horrible placement. You could easily slam your hand into them (RHBH).
- Could use a few more benches
Other Thoughts: - Fun family park
- The distance is a little short overall but the elevation changes and wooded holes are wonderful. No holes reach 400' but there are 4 holes over 350'.
- The overall flow is a little awkward and it can be a little difficult your first time out. The land available really was used to it's potential though. Kudos to the developers!
- Watch out for kids sledding on hole #11 in the winter. Get's very busy there. And just walking up this hill is difficult in the ice. I had a miss put slide 80' down the hill!
- Semi challenging course overall
- The most challenging hole is #10. Downhill on a small path with trees on either side make this a very technical hole.
- My favorite hole is #5. It's simple, but the tee is elevated higher which makes this 366' hole a possible ace if you can do a slight anhyzer shot.
- This course is worth planning a trip here but I would not label this a destination course. I would consider this course beginner friend even with the dangerous hole #6.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good little course

1    12/29/2010   12/31/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 224  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 10 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
New Chainstar baskets with nice orange stickers on the poles make it easy to spot the baskets from a distance. Nice tee signs on wooden posts make spotting the next tee location easy. Though the navigation can be tricky in places the "next tee" arrows that hang from the bottom of the baskets are excellent to pointing you in the right direction for the next hole; follow the arrows and you'll have no trouble. The course makes excellent use of the elevation at the park and there's a great mix of lefty vs. righty holes in play. Hole #14 from the top of the hill lets you chuck a disc an easy 375' and lets even weenie arms feel good about reaching a far off basket. There's a course info board with maps/scorecards as well as a practice basket right next to the parking lot. The course starts and ends at the parking lot for minimal walking and the first nine holes also loop back to the parking lot allowing you to restock if necessary or start on the back nine if you desire. There appears to be a nice mix of open holes vs. wooded ones, but that's somewhat tough to judge in the Winter. I still want to play this course in the Summer.

The course is at a great family friendly facility. There are basketball courts, playground equipment, volleyball courts, picnic lodges, tennis courts, even an 18-hole putt-putt miniature golf course. The parking is abundant and right next to the first tee. The other reviews mention a disc sale shop, but it was understandably closed in the Winter.
Cons:
Hole #6 is tailor made to eat discs: 300+' down a narrow (~30') wide fairway with water the entire length of the right side and behind the basket as well; the left side is a wooded border with an OB fence just beyond. Not a beginner hole at all. Luckily for the two people I played with the lake was frozen or at least three discs would have been goners. Hole #7 is also over the water (left side) and even tougher for RHBH throwers because of the natural fade, but it's shorter in distance and allows a safer lay-up around the outside route. These aren't necessarily significant CONs for the course as they're good holes depending on what level of player you are. Hole #11 is one of the best holes on the course, but is unplayable in the Winter if there are any people sledding down the sled hill. Hole #6 does have a flow issue requiring players to backtrack down the fairway after completing the hole.

Unlike some of the other reviews I didn't think the tennis courts came into play unless you had a really horrible shot.
Other Thoughts:
I played this course in the Winter and the tee boxes were covered in snow so I didn't get a good feel for what the pads play like under normal conditions. It's a beautiful park and a family could easily spend most of a day here. The DG course is a pretty good REC/INT level course, but ADV and up players will probably get bored after a few rounds. If you don't like the posted par on the tee signs, just ignore it and play however you want it's really not a CON or a big deal. Probably not a destination course, but consider it one to hit if you're in the area. I played with family when I was there, including a newbie and we all had a good time.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.