Tulsa, OK 
OU Schusterman Share
Uploaded By: Heathen Hole #3 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

1    5/31/2017   7/13/2017
Review By: armiller
Played: 104  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-good baskets are by far the biggest strength
-location: it's nice to have a course by the campus and fairly close to places you might already have to go in Tulsa
-extremely beginner friendly (maybe too much so) and a decent course for introducing brand new folks to the basics of disc golf and throws
Cons:
-some tee signs are missing
-tee areas aren't marked particularly well
-all I remember about the holes is that they were fairly short and open; in short, not a particularly interesting course
-I'm not all that creative, but maybe the school could plant some additional trees?
Other Thoughts: I know quite a few students and a couple employees at OU's Tulsa campus. This was one that I knew I'd have to bag, but I also wasn't expecting too much. It is what it is: 9 baskets placed in a fairly open area next to the campus. There isn't much in the way of obstacles or line requirements, though I did manage to throw onto the street/driveway on the last hole. Only a couple holes really have trees to avoid, but hey... that's better than none!

If I were a student here, I would spend a LOT of study breaks on the course putting, trying for aces/throw-ins, creating my own "mix and match" course, and working on various lines and throws. As it is, this is a course I'll only play again if someone in Tulsa really wants to play but can't stray too far from this campus. It's definitely worth bagging, and is a solid practice course... but it's probably not worth playing a bunch since Tulsa has so many worthy courses.

Although that wasn't overwhelmingly positive, many thanks to OU Schusterman for considering disc golf worthy of basket purchases! Here's to many health profession students getting hooked on disc golf because of this course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

nice midtown course

1    5/18/2017   5/18/2017
Review By: Trip68
Played: 31  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 0.9 Years
Pros: good short course
not crowded, college campus not crowded.
Mid range or putters only.
nice grounds
great baskets
Cons: Course needs new tee signs.
Dirt tee pads, not bad... but concrete would be nice.
Short course is not a bad thing, work on your approch and putts.
Other Thoughts: Nice short course. Central located. Has potentail of being a really nice course.
If you could have concrete tee pads, make a few holes longer, maybe increase to 18 holes, this would be a great city course!

Good course, for what it is

5+    2/10/2017   2/10/2017
Review By: L0rv-
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has all your basics for beginners:
-learn to throw right or left
-working your way around trees
-avoid other obstacles
Cons: Definitely not for advanced players:
-holes are very short
-pretty easy for long throws to go in someone's yard
Other Thoughts: This is a cheap short course, but it's where I learned the basics. It is very good for what it is - a practice course. Do not come here if you want to play a long full game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  beginners only

1    4/11/2015   4/11/2015
Review By: ncriswel
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: there were baskets and it was a short distance from my hotel. grass was cut decent. easy to find.
Cons: natural tees weren't even flat. baskets are the crappy kind. tee signs weren't readable and hole 7 was missing
Other Thoughts: concrete tees would really improve the place

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Just another notch in the belt

2-4    3/14/2014   5/2/2014
Review By: homeskule87
Played: 62  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.1 Years
Pros: Nice baskets
You will almost always have the course to yourself
Cons: Dirt tee pads
The signs have literally no useful information on them
9 short, open, easy holes
Other Thoughts: I've had more fun putting in my backyard then playing out here. You will not need any type of driver and could easily go putter only.
I played it just to say that I have and that is really all it's worth.

 Schusterman course

5+    5/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun if you want to play a quick/easy 9. Great for P&A practice, over if you want to shoot an ace - I got my first ace on the third hole.
Cons: Extremely short. I would estimate the average hole about 230-240, maybe less. Not particularly challenging by any means. Flat and basically no trees, except for the 5th and 6th playing through a few small trees.
Other Thoughts: If you've got 20 minutes to kill and want to catch nine, then come play this course. If you're looking for any sort of a challenge - go elsewhere.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Decent for Beginners

2-4    6/24/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: Jesse_Beeler
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: never anyone else out here, decent challenge over hills
Cons: HUGE DIRT PILE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE 4TH (lost my disc in it but went in and found it)
no direction in what basket you are to throw to. no guide to next tee
Other Thoughts: fun course to play durning quick lunch break

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for a lunchtime round

1    4/11/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 346  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 14.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent recreational level course, and also great for P & A practice. Hole distances are good for what its design was intended for. Lots of ace runs if you're into that sort of thing. You can also make up safari holes very easily to liven things up. Plenty of barking dogs in the neighboring yards to the south to heckle you on holes 7 and 8. Hole 5 is a nice hole for its short length.
Cons: If you're looking for major challenge here, keep on driving. Course has some orientation issues. No cements pads and it seems as though the signs are off kilter a bit. I ended up throwing to the wrong basket...twice. Holes 3 and 6 (assuming that I'm playing them right) have crossing fairways. Hole 6 also comes dangerously close to a campus road.
Other Thoughts: A great course for a lunchtime nine, but not for serious play. I wasn't really expecting much here, and I think its good the students have a little course like this to play on. Still, I think this would be a little better if they'd detail the signs somewhat. Not a must play by any means, especially with plenty of other quality courses in the Tulsa area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short Course

1    3/10/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: tenkiller
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All grass. Not a lot of difficult shots, but enough to find a few challenging. Very open. Trees start to come into playing the second half of the course. Short course good for getting the arm into shape to start the season. Surrounding houses shelter the course from wind.
Cons: Maybe too short. Dirt piles in the 4th fairway, but not too much of a problem. Drainage ditch runs through a few holes, but no water only a little muddy. Signs at each hole ares misleading on which way to hole.
Other Thoughts: Good course for a quick nine.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/27/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: Heathen
Played: 188  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a short course on the south end of the OU Schusterman campus. The course is easy to locate and right next to the south end of the parking lot. It's very easy to navigate as it simply plays in an anti-clockwise circle around an open field.
There are 9 tee signs and 9 brand new baskets.
Cons: Although there is a sign at every tee, there seems to be no rhyme or reason for the direction they are oriented. Some are angled one way or another or even turned 90 degrees to the direction of play. While the signs show no par or distance information, they do showcase the hole sponsors very nicely.
Most holes are completely open and unobstructed and the few holes that do have some trees in play still offer very little in the way of challenges.
This is not a course for even a semi-serious game, but it would do very well for a lazy Sunday afternoon with a beer in one hand and a radio station giveaway frisbee in the other.
Other Thoughts: If you want a real game of Disc Golf, don't bother coming here.

If you want a place to take the kids, this would be a good spot.

If you just want to add another course to your total in under 20 minutes, this is a 5 star choice.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.